Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Catgill Farm Camping And Glamping

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Catgill Farm Camping And Glamping > Reviews

Catgill Farm Camping And Glamping
Bolton Abbey
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 6HA
Tel: 01756 710247
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mat74 3 reviews from this member

 Nice and friendly campsite. Large pitches, and great views.

The dog field is well fenced in which was reassuring due to the sheep on the other side of the fence.

Toilets always clean.

Shop and food store good.

Having no cars on the camping fields put our minds at ease with the kids running around. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: TheBigPL 12 reviews from this member

 Nice weekend with family.

Showers and toilets were good.

Easy walk to Bolton abbey.

Great shop/cafe on site with croissants and pain au chocolat.

Football field for the kids, good dog walking field. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: KGandR 1 review from this member

 What a lovely campsite, strongly recommend. So many well thought out little touches and great staff that just made the whole experience wonderful. We'll be back!

- The toilets and showers were immaculate and well maintained

- Coffee and pastries on offer in the morning and pizza in the evening for that little treat/luxury (the most amazing gluten free pizza I have EVER) but make sure to order early on a weekend as they ran out on the Saturday night we were there.

- Fridges and freezers available to store food

- There's a microwave and kettle available in the wash up area which was perfect for a mid pack up cup of tea.

- There are some picnic benches should your wobbly camp table start to drive you nuts.

- The fire pits for hire were a nice treat, especially as it was still rather cool in the evening and perfect for marshmallows.

- Bolton Abbey is in easy walking distance for day trips.

- The cars are kept in a separate car park which made the aesthetic of the site much nicer and safer for children to run freely (you can drive to your pitch for loading and unloading only).

Some of the pitches are on a bit of a hill, not a surprise considering the area and easily overcome if you think carefully about the angle you put your tent. 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Billyboo 6 reviews from this member

 One night visit, but wish we could have stayed longer. Staff very friendly and helpful. Large pitch with nearby water tap, water taps are plentiful. Took a while to find EH as they are hidden in bushes.

Our pitch was level, although I do believe there are quite a few pitches that are not.

Facilities where good, and spotlessly clean. There is also a kitchen type area with sinks, fridge, freezer, kettle and microwave. Cafe on site, but was only doing pre order take away.

Able to walk to the small hamlet of Bolton abbey, couple of lovely tea rooms and a shop, then onto Bolton abbey itself, takes about 15 mins from site with only a small portion on the road.

Plenty of other walks, check google for more information. Wonderful views from campsite, and I think theres some sort of open farm attraction within walking distance, Heskeths Farm.

Site had made an effort for Halloween, which was nice, random scary things in the trees and big spider webs here and there. Fellow campers where lovely too.

Very small section of road leading to campsite is quite narrow, but I managed it it my campervan and its the 1st time driving it, so not really an issue.

We found this to be a great site in a good location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Amandatowns 1 review from this member

 I honestly cannot recommend this camp site any more than this, it's so clean and I mean super clean, when they drive through with a tractor they they walk back and pick mud up from its tyres!

The shower and toilet blocks are sparkling and great space too, huge full size toilets, large shower rooms with a push button shower that you just keep pressing (they were wey to hot for me or the children but we just like cooler showers) 5 hooks on the back of the doors for all you dry things then a shower tray on the wall for shampoo, if you leave anything they put it on a shelf as you walk in. There are plenty of sinks for the busy morning rush and tea time clean up.

They have a fantastic kitchen room with a huge seating block in the middle, 2 fridges and a freezer to keep your items in and even labels to keep everything fresh, these were a godsend as it was roasting when we went.

There are another block of portable toilets for a quick wee too on the way to the actual site,

They have a tiny coffee and cake shop that sell hot breakfast cakes and cold breakfast bars and proper real coffee! It was open 7 till 9 when we went but I think that varies if its out of season, they also have a tiny shop in reception for essentials and neither shop nor coffee shop are expensive, we needed some tent pegs and they were 2! Huge coffee cups were only 2. 50 and they have some tables and chairs to use if you eat there too, perfectafter a hot night in tents.

The site it's self is amazing, car free unless your unloading or packing up so it's super safe for the kiddies to run around, dogs are not only allowed to camp with you but there free too! They do have to be on leads but there are walks in every direction. You can pick where you want to pick on standard pitches and your given certain ones if you want electric hookup, there are so many drinking taps everywhere that you don't need to walk far at all.

I've never been to such a well run campsite with such lovely friendly helpful staff and such amazing facilities where we have felt safe and had so much fun we stayed on extra just so we could explore more.

By far the best campsite for miles around and well worth a visit too.

Thanks you Catgill farm for an amazing holiday with great memories made.

Amanda and 2 very happy grandchildren. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nicola cotterill 2 reviews from this member

 I recently visited Catgill camping site this is my 5th visit now.

I love this site

The facilities are very clean, hand sanitizer on site of the toilets

It's a very quiet site which I love as I have a busy job.

There's plenty to do and places to visit.

I've met some lovely people every time I've visited. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Frankie Owens 6 reviews from this member

 It's a beautiful location and the facilities were clean. As an experienced camper who has stayed at 6 campsites in Yorkshire in the last year, I think it is over-priced. However, we had three children aged 2-4 in our group and there were several safety issues which concerned us. The field in which we camped had a stream - as advertised - but there was a steep drop down to this with a very basic fence which the children wanted to sit on but could very easily fall through. Another steep drop was hidden behind some long grass, without any fencing or warning. However, what concerned us most was when the owner came hurtling past the tents at 15mph (at least) on his quad bike - despite the 5mph speed limit. His attitude - when approached - was shocking. It really spoiled our holiday and is a real shame, as other staff were very friendly and helpful. When the owner's response to a genuine safety concern is, "Go away and don't come back!" then I think the only option is to do exactly that. We won't be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Wetwellies 17 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site for kids - there is a rope swing on the site, and its only about a ten minute walk to Bolton Abbey with its fantastic stepping stones. There is a nice pub near Bolton Abbey, again 10 mins walk away.

We liked that you could pitch anywhere, and that they sold coffee and pastry items in the morning - yum!

You can hire fire pits, which seemed very popular. There was a good mix of different ages and groups at this site, lovely atmosphere. Showers clean and nice and warm.

Although the site was very busy the site team were brilliant at making sure everyone was quiet after 11, we heard them telling someone off. It has a nice spacious feel to the site, and the staff were lovely.

A disadvantage is that a lot of the site slopes - I guess it depends how busy it is when you get there as to how annoying this would be. Some of the site feels quite a way from the loos - although we noticed portaloos for busy times.

Our kids loved this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Agis 1 review from this member

 The campsite has fantastic views and location, it is really magical to just sit down near the tent and soak up the view while children roaming around. Our family camped at Cargill with friends and their children three years in a row, but next time we will book in July.

It is great when is sunny and warm but a bit difficult in wind and rain, because there is nowhere at the campsite to go and get dry.

The campsite would really benefit from converting one of the massive outer buildings into a communal space with some heaters and long tables for families to play board games and socialise when the weather is raging outside.

Cafe or restaurant with a simple menu or just a warm space with tea and coffee to recover from the elements? I am looking forward to booking it next year or trying the glamping part with hot tubs and wooden huts and bell tents.

Right next to the campsite there is a fantastic Hesketh Farm with great space for a picnic and lunch, but because of the pandemic, it was booked up. The surrounding Bolton Abbey estate has a lot to offer.

There are some fantastic walks with accessible public footpaths. Shower facilities were clean and easy to access. There is a take away cafe with coffee/tea and pastries open 7. 30-9. 30 am every morning at the site.

I am looking forward to coming back there next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Doddy1979 1 review from this member

 Wish wed been able to stay longer than one night! But it was our fault for booking so late.

The site is wonderful, facilities amazing (best ones weve used I think), little coffee shop on site selling pastries which were lovely.

In such a great spot with so many things to do close by.

Definitely one well be going back to, but booking further in advance to get more night!

Lovely place, defo worth a visit! 
via mobile


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Catgill Farm Camping And Glamping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Catgill Farm Camping And Glamping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Catgill Farm Camping And Glamping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43422 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement