Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Catgill Farm Camping And Glamping

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Catgill Farm Camping And Glamping Reviews

Catgill Farm Camping And Glamping
Bolton Abbey
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 6HA
Tel: 01756 710247
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 100 Reviews
                9/10 from 100 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  100 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Amandatowns 1 review from this member

 I honestly cannot recommend this camp site any more than this, it's so clean and I mean super clean, when they drive through with a tractor they they walk back and pick mud up from its tyres!

The shower and toilet blocks are sparkling and great space too, huge full size toilets, large shower rooms with a push button shower that you just keep pressing (they were wey to hot for me or the children but we just like cooler showers) 5 hooks on the back of the doors for all you dry things then a shower tray on the wall for shampoo, if you leave anything they put it on a shelf as you walk in. There are plenty of sinks for the busy morning rush and tea time clean up.

They have a fantastic kitchen room with a huge seating block in the middle, 2 fridges and a freezer to keep your items in and even labels to keep everything fresh, these were a godsend as it was roasting when we went.

There are another block of portable toilets for a quick wee too on the way to the actual site,

They have a tiny coffee and cake shop that sell hot breakfast cakes and cold breakfast bars and proper real coffee! It was open 7 till 9 when we went but I think that varies if its out of season, they also have a tiny shop in reception for essentials and neither shop nor coffee shop are expensive, we needed some tent pegs and they were 2! Huge coffee cups were only 2. 50 and they have some tables and chairs to use if you eat there too, perfectafter a hot night in tents.

The site it's self is amazing, car free unless your unloading or packing up so it's super safe for the kiddies to run around, dogs are not only allowed to camp with you but there free too! They do have to be on leads but there are walks in every direction. You can pick where you want to pick on standard pitches and your given certain ones if you want electric hookup, there are so many drinking taps everywhere that you don't need to walk far at all.

I've never been to such a well run campsite with such lovely friendly helpful staff and such amazing facilities where we have felt safe and had so much fun we stayed on extra just so we could explore more.

By far the best campsite for miles around and well worth a visit too.

Thanks you Catgill farm for an amazing holiday with great memories made.

Amanda and 2 very happy grandchildren. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nicola cotterill 2 reviews from this member

 I recently visited Catgill camping site this is my 5th visit now.

I love this site

The facilities are very clean, hand sanitizer on site of the toilets

It's a very quiet site which I love as I have a busy job.

There's plenty to do and places to visit.

I've met some lovely people every time I've visited. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Frankie Owens 6 reviews from this member

 It's a beautiful location and the facilities were clean. As an experienced camper who has stayed at 6 campsites in Yorkshire in the last year, I think it is over-priced. However, we had three children aged 2-4 in our group and there were several safety issues which concerned us. The field in which we camped had a stream - as advertised - but there was a steep drop down to this with a very basic fence which the children wanted to sit on but could very easily fall through. Another steep drop was hidden behind some long grass, without any fencing or warning. However, what concerned us most was when the owner came hurtling past the tents at 15mph (at least) on his quad bike - despite the 5mph speed limit. His attitude - when approached - was shocking. It really spoiled our holiday and is a real shame, as other staff were very friendly and helpful. When the owner's response to a genuine safety concern is, "Go away and don't come back!" then I think the only option is to do exactly that. We won't be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Wetwellies 13 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site for kids - there is a rope swing on the site, and its only about a ten minute walk to Bolton Abbey with its fantastic stepping stones. There is a nice pub near Bolton Abbey, again 10 mins walk away.

We liked that you could pitch anywhere, and that they sold coffee and pastry items in the morning - yum!

You can hire fire pits, which seemed very popular. There was a good mix of different ages and groups at this site, lovely atmosphere. Showers clean and nice and warm.

Although the site was very busy the site team were brilliant at making sure everyone was quiet after 11, we heard them telling someone off. It has a nice spacious feel to the site, and the staff were lovely.

A disadvantage is that a lot of the site slopes - I guess it depends how busy it is when you get there as to how annoying this would be. Some of the site feels quite a way from the loos - although we noticed portaloos for busy times.

Our kids loved this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Agis 1 review from this member

 The campsite has fantastic views and location, it is really magical to just sit down near the tent and soak up the view while children roaming around. Our family camped at Cargill with friends and their children three years in a row, but next time we will book in July.

It is great when is sunny and warm but a bit difficult in wind and rain, because there is nowhere at the campsite to go and get dry.

The campsite would really benefit from converting one of the massive outer buildings into a communal space with some heaters and long tables for families to play board games and socialise when the weather is raging outside.

Cafe or restaurant with a simple menu or just a warm space with tea and coffee to recover from the elements? I am looking forward to booking it next year or trying the glamping part with hot tubs and wooden huts and bell tents.

Right next to the campsite there is a fantastic Hesketh Farm with great space for a picnic and lunch, but because of the pandemic, it was booked up. The surrounding Bolton Abbey estate has a lot to offer.

There are some fantastic walks with accessible public footpaths. Shower facilities were clean and easy to access. There is a take away cafe with coffee/tea and pastries open 7. 30-9. 30 am every morning at the site.

I am looking forward to coming back there next year! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Doddy1979 1 review from this member

 Wish wed been able to stay longer than one night! But it was our fault for booking so late.

The site is wonderful, facilities amazing (best ones weve used I think), little coffee shop on site selling pastries which were lovely.

In such a great spot with so many things to do close by.

Definitely one well be going back to, but booking further in advance to get more night!

Lovely place, defo worth a visit! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Siebellis 21 reviews from this member

 Camped over Bank Holiday weekend. Never seen a campsite so busy so unsure what it would be like without restrictions in place.

The camping field was very muddy due to the recent weather, more importantly very uneven regardless, not many places to pitch that were level.

Facilities were good. Extra toilets have been brought in due to C-19.

Coffee and pastries served in a morning

Close to Bolton Abbey.

Don't bother with the pub nearby as it really wasn't friendly with a poor selection of beers etc.

Would I go back? Maybe 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Yvonne Wainwright 1 review from this member

 Stayed in the Duck Glamping Pod, everything you might need included for your stay only need to take food, great additions were hot tub and bbq with pizza oven.

Beautiful scenery, lovely clean site and plenty to do with children who are aged 6 and 3 in close vicinity, we went to Hesketh Park Farm and Bolton Abbey.

We would highly recommend this site, it is quite expensive for a weekend away but I feel worth it and would go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Louise Iris 1 review from this member

 We had a great time as a family this was our first camping break and yes we would do it again,

The site was clean and tidy with hot water in the shower. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Mum of 5 1 review from this member

 We arrived as a group of 5 tents equalling 22 of us 13 kids and 9 adults to be told to find our own pitch which we did. we were also told not to pitch at the electric points as we had not paid for that which was fine,

It was 32 and putting up tents were hard work with starving bored kids enough without the owners coming and telling us to move them as we were apparently too close to the electric pitch. If they could have been bothered to locate us a pitch in the 1st place I probably wouldn't be writing a crap review, it really ruined our 1st night. Apart from that it was ok clean and tidy.

We won't be going again as all the camp is on a hill and you roll or slide down your air bed at night.

Still a day later feel were on a hill very weird.

Parking isn't very good as it's on a hill and cars get stuck very easily.

Access in and out is horrendous only room for one car so nearly impossible to pass and the lane is long so a nightmare if a few cars are using the lane at the same time. 
via mobile


Previous     100 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Catgill Farm Camping And Glamping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Catgill Farm Camping And Glamping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Catgill Farm Camping And Glamping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2276 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement