Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Carlyon Bay Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > St Austell > Carlyon Bay Camping Park Reviews

Carlyon Bay Camping Park
Cypress Avenue
Carlyon Bay
St Austell
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL25 3RE
Tel: 01726 812735
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 149 Reviews
                9/10 from 149 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  149 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elizabeth Holden 2 reviews from this member

 Great site. Very clean grounds and facilities. Caters for everyone. Large supermarkets nearby.

Would definitely go back. Large field for walking dogs.

Lovely play areas for children, super outdoor pools and a crazy golf area.

I was really sorry that our holiday had to end, we really enjoyed our stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Zoema4 1 review from this member

 Canít rate this site highly enough. We had a fully serviced pitch and it was huge. Plenty of room for our motorhome & awning with room for the kids to play and be away from neighbouring pitches.

The facilities are kept in superb condition including the swimming pool and surrounding area. 2 pools plus a splash pool for very young children make this site perfect for families with children of all ages. Thereís a laundry which we used to dry towels £1. 50 for 30 minutes dried 6 towels.

10 minute walk to a great beach with a bar, coffee shop and water sports. The Britannia pub is also a 10 minute walk with a great menu and garden for kids to play.

The campsite is run extremely well by a fantastic couple who are only too happy to help with any questions including where to go and things to do.

We took bikes however it was quite hilly to get to most nearby places with children (10 & 14)

The coastal paths are great, Charlestown is less than 2 miles and weíll worth the walk.

Thereís a bus stop right outside the campsite making it easy to visit Fowey, Mevagissy and even Newquay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 15 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Midge62 1 review from this member

 This campsite is the perfect place for visiting places in cornwall

The staff are very helpful and friendly

The shop has most things you need including fresh meats ie bacon sausages plus fresh bread.

The pitches are a very good size.

Plenty for young children good open spaces and only 10 minute walk to beach 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dpsl13 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, all staff very friendly and helpful, pitches are of a good size and close to all amenities.

Will definitely consider this site if we are in cornwall in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andydi 1 review from this member

 This site sorted us down to the ground. The location is excellent with a bus stop at the entrance for Fowey and a small 15 minute walk for the other bus routes.

We received a nice welcome from the owners. The pitches are very large ours had a little bit of hard standing for our van.

The pool was a bonus and we spent sometime in there. The shop is very well stocked.

Al the facilities are very clean and kept to a high standard. Everyone was very friendly and we would recommend this site. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 34 reviews from this member

 Would imagine this site is very lively indeed in high season, but it was a pleasant and peaceful place to be in a rainy May week. Pitches closer to the loo blocks are more sheltered, we were in a more open area, and it is generally very spacious.

There are some beautiful grass pitches on the hill but they were not in use when we visited.

The location is great - literally 5 mins walk from the beach although it is up a hill; big Tesco 10 mins drive away and a food hall and market plus a kids attraction and even a branch of the Range within walking distance. Itís also only about 15 mins from the Eden Project.

One pool was in use but the driving rain put me off! Thereís a nice covered courtyard area next to the pool which is a good place to take your food and drink if you need shelter or shade; apparently there is entertainment in this area in high season too.

Thereís a small shop which we didnít use and ample loo and shower facilities which were spotlessly clean.

We got a friendly welcome and staff were round and about keeping the bins tidy despite three atrocious weather. We had hard standing on our pitch, which we used as our Ďporchí although interestingly the grass didnít get at all muddy and we were able to walk around the site in trainers throughout. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Elton3 15 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful site this is. 5 minutes walk from the beach, which is big.

The owners are lovely and very helpful.

Loads of facilities, including 2 pools. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Marshyson 1 review from this member

 Good size pitches, plenty of space for tent, gazebo, car etc.

Toilet/shower blocks small, but family room available.

Only negative was that some of the lights in the toilet area go out at 11pm, so had to take a light in order see after 11pm. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Retired of IOW 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed here last year and loved the location and site so much, we came back, which we don't normally do. Site is ideally located for the beach, local pubs and shops.

Site is kept clean and tidy, has a lovely heated swimming pool, laundry and pleanty of showers. Shower block was kept clean. Showers are push button, hot and plenty of hooks for clothes, with bench to keep everything dry.

Owners and family are really helpful and friendly.

Pitches are big and site is well laid out. Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kgilman 3 reviews from this member

 This is a well laid out, sheltered site with mainly level, large pitches. Not much lighting at night, take a torch! Surrounding roads are flat and wide, none of the tiny, narrow, steep Cornish roads, access isn't a problem.

Pros: plentiful hot water, maybe showers are a bit too hot, but that's probably just me!

Only had to wait for toilet /shower once and only for a couple of minutes.

Drainers at the washing up sinks.

Clean toilets, showers, sinks.

Some entertainment but not too much and didn't go on too late, finished around 9. 30pm.

Generally quiet.

It rained quite a bit while we were there, our pitch was well drained.

From what I could see the washing machines / dryers were available 24/7 and they take coins £3 for washers, £1. 50 for dryers so reasonable prices compared to other sites.

Shop pretty good, a little expensive but I've seen worse. The morning croissants are a little disappointing, either from a packet or the fresh ones are chewy (first world problems here haha!)

10 minute walk to (gravel) beach.

Cons: Could do with floor squeegees in the toilet blocks rather than a mop.

We were in Veryan which is a quieter part of the site (and a bit further from the toilet block, probably a 2-3 minute walk). The tarmac runs out and you have to walk down a path which turns to mud in the rain. I spent the whole time with muddy feet and it got tedious. Especially taking the kids to the toilet at 3am.

The water tap was situated right next to where the large wheelie bins for the site are stored. I'd say this part of the site needs more work (speaking to some people though in the past the pitches have been all mud and this wasn't the case at all, they were better drained than other parts of the site so they've obviously done a lot of work already. Plus it's a really sheltered, private area, so if you have your own toilet and want to be a little away from the play area then it's perfect).

Because of the cons I've subtracted 2 stars but if they fix the path to Veryan then it would be 9 stars. It's a nice site and I would go again. 
via mobile


Previous     149 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Carlyon Bay Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Carlyon Bay Camping Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carlyon Bay Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Carlyon Bay Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Austell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3341 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window