Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carlyon Bay Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (East) > St Austell > Carlyon Bay Camping Park > Reviews

Carlyon Bay Camping Park
Cypress Avenue
Carlyon Bay
St Austell
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL25 3RE
Tel: 01726 812735
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 27/04/2024 to 15/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 151 Reviews
                9/10 from 151 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  151 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracy+Charlie 26 reviews from this member

 Great little site. When I arrived I explained that we needed to leave a day earlier than booked and they insisted we didn't pay for that last night and it didn't matter what time we left the day before as our pitch wasn't needed.

Very flat site.

2 shower/toilet blocks - always immaculate.

5 minute walk to a great beach with lots of pop up food wagons. Bar, shelters at one end, then very quiet at the other end.

Short walk to Britannia Inn which had lovely food - best to book in advance. Par market. Nothing to write home about.

There are some nice gardens Pinetum Gardens, just up the road worth a visit and of cause ideal location for visiting the Eden Project 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 87 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site this is. Easy access off the A390 St. Austell road via the roundabout with The Britannia Inn next to it, the A3082, then past shops and industrial area then right onto Cypress Avenue and the site is on the right.

Carolyn Bay Camping Park really has something for everyone. It is in an excellent location with a lot to do in the area and on site and is extremely well run by the family that own it.

There are a variety of pitches to choose from which you do at the time of booking and they are all fairly spacious and well laid out although on most you will need levelling blocks.

The site was kept clean at all times and has 3 facilities blocks, 2 swimming pools (one heated), an on-site shop, a courtyard area, crazy golf course and a play area for the children which includes a large ship.

There is a Motorhome Waste Point for Motorhome owners who use them at the top of the site. There are also plenty of water/waste points and rubbish/recycling bins dotted around the site.

The aforementioned Britannia Inn has an excellent menu and we ate there twice. Also there is a very good coffee and lunch bar called AJís not far away. Both will take you about 10/15 mins walk.

Charlestown is just under a 2 mile walk away and is well worth a visit and there are bus stops nearby that can take you to Fowey, Mevagissy and St Austell. There is a beach about 10 mins walk away but it should be noted it has a steep access.

We highly recommend this site and will definitely be visiting again in the near future. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elizabeth Holden 2 reviews from this member

 Great site. Very clean grounds and facilities. Caters for everyone. Large supermarkets nearby.

Would definitely go back. Large field for walking dogs.

Lovely play areas for children, super outdoor pools and a crazy golf area.

I was really sorry that our holiday had to end, we really enjoyed our stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Zoema4 1 review from this member

 Canít rate this site highly enough. We had a fully serviced pitch and it was huge. Plenty of room for our motorhome & awning with room for the kids to play and be away from neighbouring pitches.

The facilities are kept in superb condition including the swimming pool and surrounding area. 2 pools plus a splash pool for very young children make this site perfect for families with children of all ages. Thereís a laundry which we used to dry towels £1. 50 for 30 minutes dried 6 towels.

10 minute walk to a great beach with a bar, coffee shop and water sports. The Britannia pub is also a 10 minute walk with a great menu and garden for kids to play.

The campsite is run extremely well by a fantastic couple who are only too happy to help with any questions including where to go and things to do.

We took bikes however it was quite hilly to get to most nearby places with children (10 & 14)

The coastal paths are great, Charlestown is less than 2 miles and weíll worth the walk.

Thereís a bus stop right outside the campsite making it easy to visit Fowey, Mevagissy and even Newquay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 15 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Midge62 1 review from this member

 This campsite is the perfect place for visiting places in cornwall

The staff are very helpful and friendly

The shop has most things you need including fresh meats ie bacon sausages plus fresh bread.

The pitches are a very good size.

Plenty for young children good open spaces and only 10 minute walk to beach 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dpsl13 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, all staff very friendly and helpful, pitches are of a good size and close to all amenities.

Will definitely consider this site if we are in cornwall in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andydi 2 reviews from this member

 This site sorted us down to the ground. The location is excellent with a bus stop at the entrance for Fowey and a small 15 minute walk for the other bus routes.

We received a nice welcome from the owners. The pitches are very large ours had a little bit of hard standing for our van.

The pool was a bonus and we spent sometime in there. The shop is very well stocked.

Al the facilities are very clean and kept to a high standard. Everyone was very friendly and we would recommend this site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 57 reviews from this member

 Would imagine this site is very lively indeed in high season, but it was a pleasant and peaceful place to be in a rainy May week. Pitches closer to the loo blocks are more sheltered, we were in a more open area, and it is generally very spacious.

There are some beautiful grass pitches on the hill but they were not in use when we visited.

The location is great - literally 5 mins walk from the beach although it is up a hill; big Tesco 10 mins drive away and a food hall and market plus a kids attraction and even a branch of the Range within walking distance. Itís also only about 15 mins from the Eden Project.

One pool was in use but the driving rain put me off! Thereís a nice covered courtyard area next to the pool which is a good place to take your food and drink if you need shelter or shade; apparently there is entertainment in this area in high season too.

Thereís a small shop which we didnít use and ample loo and shower facilities which were spotlessly clean.

We got a friendly welcome and staff were round and about keeping the bins tidy despite three atrocious weather. We had hard standing on our pitch, which we used as our Ďporchí although interestingly the grass didnít get at all muddy and we were able to walk around the site in trainers throughout. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Elton3 26 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful site this is. 5 minutes walk from the beach, which is big.

The owners are lovely and very helpful.

Loads of facilities, including 2 pools. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Marshyson 1 review from this member

 Good size pitches, plenty of space for tent, gazebo, car etc.

Toilet/shower blocks small, but family room available.

Only negative was that some of the lights in the toilet area go out at 11pm, so had to take a light in order see after 11pm. 
via mobile


Previous     151 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Carlyon Bay Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Carlyon Bay Camping Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carlyon Bay Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Carlyon Bay Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Austell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53397 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement