Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carlyon Bay Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > St Austell > Carlyon Bay Camping Park Reviews

Carlyon Bay Camping Park
Cypress Avenue
Carlyon Bay
St Austell
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL25 3RE
Tel: 01726 812735
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/04 To 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 142 Reviews
                9/10 from 142 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  142 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Marshyson 1 review from this member

 Good size pitches, plenty of space for tent, gazebo, car etc.

Toilet/shower blocks small, but family room available.

Only negative was that some of the lights in the toilet area go out at 11pm, so had to take a light in order see after 11pm. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Retired of IOW 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed here last year and loved the location and site so much, we came back, which we don't normally do. Site is ideally located for the beach, local pubs and shops.

Site is kept clean and tidy, has a lovely heated swimming pool, laundry and pleanty of showers. Shower block was kept clean. Showers are push button, hot and plenty of hooks for clothes, with bench to keep everything dry.

Owners and family are really helpful and friendly.

Pitches are big and site is well laid out. Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kgilman 3 reviews from this member

 This is a well laid out, sheltered site with mainly level, large pitches. Not much lighting at night, take a torch! Surrounding roads are flat and wide, none of the tiny, narrow, steep Cornish roads, access isn't a problem.

Pros: plentiful hot water, maybe showers are a bit too hot, but that's probably just me!

Only had to wait for toilet /shower once and only for a couple of minutes.

Drainers at the washing up sinks.

Clean toilets, showers, sinks.

Some entertainment but not too much and didn't go on too late, finished around 9. 30pm.

Generally quiet.

It rained quite a bit while we were there, our pitch was well drained.

From what I could see the washing machines / dryers were available 24/7 and they take coins 3 for washers, 1. 50 for dryers so reasonable prices compared to other sites.

Shop pretty good, a little expensive but I've seen worse. The morning croissants are a little disappointing, either from a packet or the fresh ones are chewy (first world problems here haha!)

10 minute walk to (gravel) beach.

Cons: Could do with floor squeegees in the toilet blocks rather than a mop.

We were in Veryan which is a quieter part of the site (and a bit further from the toilet block, probably a 2-3 minute walk). The tarmac runs out and you have to walk down a path which turns to mud in the rain. I spent the whole time with muddy feet and it got tedious. Especially taking the kids to the toilet at 3am.

The water tap was situated right next to where the large wheelie bins for the site are stored. I'd say this part of the site needs more work (speaking to some people though in the past the pitches have been all mud and this wasn't the case at all, they were better drained than other parts of the site so they've obviously done a lot of work already. Plus it's a really sheltered, private area, so if you have your own toilet and want to be a little away from the play area then it's perfect).

Because of the cons I've subtracted 2 stars but if they fix the path to Veryan then it would be 9 stars. It's a nice site and I would go again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bailey tourer 2016 2 reviews from this member

 We never really have the time to leave site reviews when we return home after a long trip but feel like I'd like to share feedback so here goes-

Has a wonderful Holiday at Carlyon Bay and to say it was supposed to school Holidays the whole site felt really chilled out and peaceful. The shop on site is great and well stocked,

The couple who run the site our so lovely and can't help you enough. Great playing facilities for our little boy specially the Pirate ship. Great Location, beautiful beach within a 10 minute walk. Lots of different Europeans on site which I liked.

Great shower facilities and great swomming pool for Kids. We have booked again for next year, what more can we say.

Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Anphro 7 reviews from this member

 This site has everything you could want, really.

It is a 7 minute walk from a sandy beach, the pitches are spacious (and they don't tell you how to park your caravan), between the rows of caravans they have planted some beautiful shrubs to make it seem secluded and scenic, it has a nice swimming pool, a large pirate ship to play on.

There is a small restaurant with a limited menu of reasonably priced and tasty food, and a pleasant courtyard to eat in.

It is located not far from many local tourist attractions (Eden project, Megavissey etc).

Family who run it seem really dedicated to their visitors.

We visited at the start of the summer holidays just before the crowds came, and for me my best caravanning experience so far. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Dm999 3 reviews from this member

 This campsite has really excellent facilities for campers, it is well maintained and clean and tidy. However, the place is not without it's faults.

One lady on reception had the customer service style of a headmistress who has just caught you smoking in the bike shed.

To put the tin lid on our visit someone stole our cool box full of food from outside our tent during the night.

If you want a peaceful stay, avoid the nights of the Eden Sessions. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: B and R 3 reviews from this member

 Great camping ground. Clean amenity block and great showers. Staff are very friendly and helpful with local knowledge. Advised us to use taxi to go to Eden Project and then the next day to Charlestown. This made visiting these two places easy instead of trying to get our motorhome down some narrow roads, also a cheap option. Enjoyed our stay - this was our second visit.

Visitors from Australia 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Penwith 1 review from this member

 I stayed here with my 6 year old daughter for 5 nights at the end of August/beginning of September and we had a fantastic time.

We used the site as a base for day trips we had planned to the Eden Project and to visit family and it was perfect. The pitch was well maintained and level, the washing up and bathroom facilities were lovely.

We only used the pools twice but enjoyed it both times. The only thing which would have made it better would have been to have had some changing facilities in the pool area. I'm a bit self conscious out of the water in my swimmers. But I coped and it was a real plus having the pools on site. The second time we used the pools only the largest was heated (we had gone into Sept) but it was still a pleasant temperature and the small girl was happy in the unheated pools too.

We also really liked having the play equipment and free crazy golf to hand. Both were a little tatty in places but it didn't curb our enjoyment and it was the end of season so I would expect some wear and tear.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and the shop very well stocked, although it didn't open until 9am which was a little late for us to use it regularly.

We didn't use the on site cafe but other guests commented on the quality and value.

We will definitely stay here again next year. Probably for longer. My main requirements were for a site where I felt safe, which was quiet at night, and was close to the Eden Project and this site hit all three perfectly.

We really loved the Eden project and because we were less than 15 mins away were able to arrive at opening time and stay all day. We did this for 2 days running and would have done a third if we hadn't had other commitments. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campaddicts 3 reviews from this member

 Wow! What an absolute gem of a site!

We were greeted with a smile (even in the pouring rain) and things explained clearly and concisely so we could get started with pitching as soon as possible. We had 3 pitches altogether and one of them was particularly soggy so we were given other options close by if they felt better under foot.

After pitching 3 tents in the pouring rain we were beginning to wonder what we had done, but the children got the chance to have a swim in the heated outdoor pool in the rain so they were very happy to stay. We decided to eat on site that evening and weren't disappointed - although it might seem a little pricey the portion sizes were great and service was quick.

We woke the next morning to glorious sunshine that stayed with us for the duration of our stay. In the sunshine the site looked EVEN better than it had in the rain. It is a lovely site for families with a lovely relaxed feel everywhere around the site. The children enjoyed the free crazy golf, the parks, the table tennis, pool table, table-top football and most of all the heated outdoor pools (also thoroughly enjoyed by the adults in our group, with the added benefits of sun loungers).

There are 3 toilet blocks that were all checked out (of course) and all were found to be clean, tidy and well stocked with toilet roll. Free hot showers with vanity cubicles too, which is great with small children. I never had to wait even with the site very busy.

Washing up areas were always lovely and clean and there was plenty of these around too so never had a wait here either.

The location is perfect. We had days out at Cornucopia, Eden Project, Flambards, Hidden Valley, Mawgan Porth - all within an hours drive. So many more places to visit close by that we could happily have stayed for another couple of weeks. A variety of supermarkets close by too, but if you're caught short then the site shop was small but fab - it sells all of the essentials and lots of local produce which is always lovely to see.

A short walk to the beach, if you check the directions first and don't get lost like we did (the children loved the mystery tour really). We chose a windy day for the beach so didn't stay long, but there was some lovely food outlets there, and the sea was enjoyed by the younger braver members of our group.

Overall, the site is very well run and maintained and the staff are very approachable, with nothing too much trouble. Grounds were checked and grass cut regularly. Toilet blocks and washing up areas were regularly cleaned.

We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blackwolf1000 7 reviews from this member

 We spent a week here in our tourer with 2 other families one in a caravan and the other in a tent. We found the staff very welcoming and friendly and we were booked in efficiently and politely.

The initial impression of the site was very good being clean, tidy and well maintained.

The on site shop although small was well stocked and the fresh baked items were very nice.

The shower and toilet facilities were also nice and clean and the washing up area was also very good.

There are a couple of play areas for the kids and the swimming pools are a nice feature although being outdoors they could be a little cold.

The site is nicely laid out and the pitches in our area were terraced and quite flat particularly for our friends in their tent.

The beach is a short walk away through the neighbouring golf course and was enhanced further by the addition of a couple of food outlets and the Offbeat Bar which we understand is there until october.

The location was good and access is very straightforward. There are plenty of things to do in the area and with a couple of supermarkets within a short drive if you need any groceries.

Overall we were very pleased and would recommend the site and it is one of the sites that we would consider returning to.  


Previous     142 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Carlyon Bay Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Carlyon Bay Camping Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carlyon Bay Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Carlyon Bay Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Austell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6818 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement