Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Penmarlam Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Fowey > Penmarlam Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Penmarlam Caravan & Camping Park
Bodinnick By Fowey
Fowey
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL23 1LZ
Tel: 01726 870088
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
                9/10 from 80 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ged600 18 reviews from this member

 We arrived to a warm welcome with a choice of pitches to chose, we drove around the site and chose the best one for us. The site is well laid out with spacious pitches, the shop is well stocked and showers and toilets clean.

The gents and ladies are full of posters of motorcycles which I love, I think the owner sponsored a team. Covid was around but the toilets and showers were cleaned a lot and there was wipes and spray on entry.

The town around a mile away down the hill is lovely Bodinnick with a pub the old ferry inn which we visited and had a meal good value. There’s a ferry across to Fowey and another to Polruan both beautiful towns with loads to see and do.

The ferry is more expensive as a foot passenger than with a car full of people, odd. Lantic bay is a national trust place and is not far away.

There’s walks all around the area, we had two dogs no walk on site but down by the boat yard there’s a lovely walk across the fields to Bondinnick.

Beautiful area the weather was lovely the whole time. Certainly return. We drove back to Lancashire on the hottest day of the year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Brownj 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful site beautiful views and the most well kept showers and toilets I have ever used in 35 years of camping!

It was a quiet site and just outside Fowey. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davesharon 13 reviews from this member

 We had a great stay at this lovely campsite. We have never visited Cornwall before and this site was perfect.

Really nice pitch which we chose when we arrived facilities clean and tidy and very safe with lots of hand sanitizer and social distancing in place.

We took an inflatable kayak which we launched at the slipway, although be prepared for the gradient down to this. We paid to park the car down there but it was very simple to arrange and so convenient.

There is a small cafe down there, very friendly people. There is a village hall nearby which on the Saturday had a local produce market where we had lovely Cornish pasties.

On a Wednesday there’s a fish and chips van by the hall, really good. We visited Fowey, we went across on the ferry which takes minutes.

Some nice shops and places to eat. We had cornish ice cream. We walked up to the castle area. We cycled to local areas which were really pretty and quite hilly.

Charlestown was nice with the huge old ships.

So much to do and see. We will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Liz+ ant Slade 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed here summer 2018.

Lovely site with friendly staff. All grass pitches and some have a bit of a slope and not that flat in places.

Facilities and shop ok

Location wise its about a fifteen minute walk into lovely Fowey, using the ferry which I think was £2 a person. There is a lovely pub at the ferry landing in Boddinick but it is a bit uphill from there to the site.

Will defo be going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bikes 3 reviews from this member

 Used this site a couple of times. Facilities always clean and tidy, shop which stocks food and hardware. Pitches well marked out, some pitches have slight slope but not to bad. Staff friendly and helpful. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Simbadog 13 reviews from this member

 Quite a nice location above the village of Bodinnick although it's a stiff walk back up to the campsite. Welcome friendly enough although we thought it a little strange that arrivals are from 12 noon on & the shop shuts at 12 noon! Had to wait a couple of times as there are only 3 male toilets, they seem to be cleaned regularly though. If you want to go over to Fowey it's £2 per person each way as a foot passenger & I think it's £5 for cars. Every night we were there I was woken by barking dogs that went on & on, that's not acceptable & extremely annoying. No hard standings so fine if it's dry but not so much in the wet with a m/h. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dream Catcher 21 reviews from this member

 It’s so nice to visit a privately owned site where the owner takes some pride in the site. Offering a warm welcome, clean facilities and well spaced pitches that are beautifully maintained. A fifteen minute walk into the village (down a rather steep hill that you’ll have to walk back up again) takes you to a lovely pub offering good food. Or you could pop over the river into Fowey itself. A gorgeous little town with loads to offer. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cclcfc 18 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Penmarlam as part of a Motorhome holiday.

Arrived just after the 12 o’clock arrival time and had a nice choice of pitches. Wardens very friendly and helpful with both information about the site and also the local area. We had our dog with us so we were given information on the best places to walk the dog (both for quick walk near the site and further afield).

We had a serviced pitch which was very large and we had more than enough space.

There is a nice shop on site with everything you’d ever need and the shower and toilet blocks were very good. Everything nice and clean and never had to queue.

The great thing about this site is the location. It’s a 10 minute walk down to the ferry which takes you across to Fowey in about 2 minutes. There are no set times to the ferry (just a start and end time) and it keeps going all day long.

We had a nice walk around Fowey but came back and did a lovely walk around the estuary along Hall Walk. Nice safe walk for the dog off the lead with lovely views back over Fowey.

Once we completed our walk we had a lovely meal in the Old Ferry Inn in the village. Everyone really friendly and excellent food. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TentnTrailer 6 reviews from this member

 East to find and ideally located for those that wish to launch their boat but the interesting side of the river is a ferry trip across to Fowey. At the price point for the pitch, the facilities were clean but there could have been more than three male toilets and queuing and lack of toilet paper was a bit of a problem at busy times. No problem with the female toilets.

The site shop had a good range of items to satisfy most shortfalls until you can get to the supermarket.

Our main grip was the short term pitches were not in a good state. A large amount of pitches were taken up with seasonal touring caravans and they also had the best positions. On arrival, we were shown on a map a choice of three pitches and told to go and pick one. They were all on undulating ground with muddy patches and at £36. 50 per day was not cheap. Like some other campsites, there was an was an extra charge of £2. 50 per day for an awning. However, the pitches were a fixed area so awning or not you still took up the same space!?

We would probably consider other sites in the area before using this one having seen the location. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purplenel 18 reviews from this member

 My views on this site are mixed. We stayed for the May half term week.

We had no choice of pitch due to arriving later than we wanted but that isn't a big deal. However, the pitch we were allocated was between two other units - a camper van and a tent. The owners of the tent had their broken down car in our space so pitching was tricky. When we were told to pitch we were told, as I suppose everybody is, that the number post is in the middle of the pitch. Unfortunately that means that people think the middle of the tent should be on the post. This of course leaves no room for cars. It meant that we felt quite crowded during our stay. I think the pitches with hedges are better buy the owners should make more of an effort on the unhedged pitches to make sure that people stay in their own pitch.

Also the site is supposed to be quiet between 10pm and 7am. The family group over the path from us, consisting of three units, did not adhere to this at all. At no point did they use 'tent' voices, even when returning from nights out after 10pm. They had many kids racketing around until 11pm at least two of the nights. The owners should police this better. The kids spent most of their days racing their bikes around the track, not that peaceful!

However, the showers were generally clean and I never queued for a shower, sink or toilet. The washing up sinks were also clean and I never queued there either.

The Old Ferry Inn in Bodinnick is a good pub with some good food and dog friendly. A tip is to book your table then you get to choose from the restaurant menu too. All the food and beer we had was top notch.

We made good use of the ferry into Fowey. There is one about every 15 minutes. Most pubs were dog friendly. Both pubs in Polruan are also dog friendly.

Overall we had a good time but wouldn't stay there during main school holidays again. I'm sure that out of season it is much quieter and relaxing! 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Penmarlam Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Penmarlam Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Penmarlam Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fowey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3039 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement