Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of St Ives Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Ives > St Ives Bay Holiday Park Reviews

St Ives Bay Holiday Park
73 Loggans Road
Upton Towans
Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BH
Tel: 0800 317713
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 89 Reviews
                9/10 from 89 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Acouns 2 reviews from this member

 I have got to give this site top marks. The staff were lovely and the site and facilities were spotless.

Also a massive bonus was a bus going to St Ives town centre every hour and returning every hour.

We will definitely stay here again.

We didn’t take children but if you do there is a wonderful park for them to play in.

Thanks for a wonderful stay

Angela & David 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rachae 1 review from this member

 Great facilities, toilets and showers were extremely clean.

Only criticism is they allow too many in the pool and tourers and campers dint get told about the entertainment guide.

We will be going back:-) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bugze 1 review from this member

 Location is great, park is set amongst the sand dunes. Sunsets are amazing at the beach end of the park. A bar and terrace overlook a children's playground with great views down to the beach and over to st ives bay.

We stayed on a pitch located in the centre of the park. Pitches are large enough and are generally divided by small hedges (this was the sun-sun ehu section)

Toilet and shower facilities were good and were cleaned a couple of times daily by an outside company. The club featuring entertainment is at the entrance end of the park,

Close to reception and a nisa shop (expensive) at the beach end is the sands bar which used to be adult only but is now open to any age.

Also located here is 'bay bistro' don't be fooled by the name, this is over priced cafeteria food at best but it fills a gap if needed.

An indoor pool is also located at this end of the park, as well as a surf school where lessons, boards and wetsuits can be hired. The beach is stunning, miles of golden sand and is also supervised by rnli lifeguards during the summer.

The walk down to the beach is severe to say the least and is completely unsuitable for people with disabilities or that generally have problems walking.

The park is now under the ownership of away resorts and consequently the prices for food and drink reflect this. They will no doubt be flexing their corporate image on the place soon enough.

All in all we had a lovely stay, met some great new friends both campers and tourers and the kids had a wonderful time.

I would recommend the park to young families and older couples alike.

The park is actually located in Hayle and not St ives as the name suggests. A bus departs every 30 mins from outside the park to st ives at a cost of £18 return for a family of 4.

The park is located well for travel to other parts of Cornwall as the A30 is only a 2 min drive. Hayle town is very close and offers a good selection of pubs and restaurants as well as supermarkets etc 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Happycamper1963 2 reviews from this member

 Very nice thank you, great place to stay

Great beaches nearby and very spacious so social distancing not a problem,

Will visit again sometime in the future 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Moon5 1 review from this member

 Chalet Wed to Wed not clean to good enough standard. Also very very dated.

Site itself looked OK.

Security very helpful in moving us after 2nd chalet still no good. Paid additional £. For a clean caravan instead.

Local shops close to site very good.

Security far more customer service driven than reception.

Whats not pointed out is Wednesday to Wednesday bookings are all destined to the worn out areas despite paying for a week. If you book Saturday to Saturday you are given the refurbished accommodation. That is an important point which should be made clearer.

I did submit photos and a complaint email but have never heard anything back.

Due to the awful weather (not their fault). With the noise of the heavy rain and whistling winds we sadly packed up and headed home. Glad of our decision. Maybe we shall return to the area another year? 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Billy 11 reviews from this member

 We stop here every time we visit west Cornwall mainly to visit partner’s relatives but it is a nice area to visit anyway. Whole area is too crowded in summer & school hols so we always visit outside those times. We booked a fortnight Sunday to Sunday & when we arrived there were only about another half dozen caravanners on site. On the bank hol Saturday day before we left the site became completely full in one day.

We tend to like practicality rather than scenery with a campsite & this site is practical enough. Pitches are flat & easy enough to site a caravan on. The large toilet & shower block near us worked well enough with hot water & kept clean.

This of course is with very few on site & we left when it got busy. It is a very large site with several camping areas all with fairly adjacent sanitary blocks. Off season site is quite cheap as well. I think we paid under £17pn for pitch with ehu. Price doubles at holiday time though.

There are a large amount of mobile homes on the site as well. It is very steep climb down to beach but beach is really nice with views across to St Ives. There are life guards there in holiday season.

At the beach end of site which can be 5mins walk from some camping areas is a large block containing reasonable sized indoor pool which is lifeguarded & a restaurant & bar area partly in a very large conservatory which is quite nice.

I noticed a change though due obviously to new owners Away Resorts which is a large group. Previously you could sit undisturbed in the conservatory & use the free wifi but now you are prompted at all times by staff wanting you to buy food & drink. Prices for food & drink have risen considerably as well with average £12. 50 for a fried brekkie or dinner like scampi & chips.

However it is only about a 2 min drive to a Lidl with Asda & Home Bargains in Hayle only minutes away. Also nearby is large out of town shopping area with Mark’s & Sparkes & Next etc. Also a Brewers Fayre reasonably priced restaurant with MacDonalds near there also.

So all ok & would recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Campingrevisited 4 reviews from this member

 Great site, security second to none, patroling every hour, friendly staff and the site is kept clean. Government guidelines stuck to and social distancing was well maintained.

One thing that wasn’t clearly marked out was where to empty the waste water, no one seemed to know where so all used the same drain. But apart from that it was as good as we remembered from taking our own children there years ago.

Beach is great even if it is a trek down the sand dune and even harder on the way up, but well worth it for the amount we paid for the week it was definitely worth it.

Only other down point is a leaving time of 9. 00 am which if you have little ones and rain it could be a bit of a rush, we packed up the night before and left after breakfast.

But all in all if you get the chance visit you won’t be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy Cook 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a two week camping holiday at St Ives Bay Holiday Park. First impressions were that it's well organised and well set out. There's a gate-house with barrier so nobody gets in without the correct sticker on the car windscreen. Staff patrol the site regularly so you see the St Ives Bay Holiday Park vehicles milling around all the time.

All the facilities are as described by other reviews. All good. We didn't use the bingo, cabaret type entertainment but many people did.

The pitch we had was grass over sand so “sand pegs” are recommended. Our pitch was a bit uneven and lumpy but not the worst. It was a bit windy when we were there so the normal wire pegs didn't stay in the ground. You can push the pegs in with your hands at points so good sand pegs are a must because we saw one tent blow over (they sell them at the shop for about £5 for ten).

There is a fair amount of walking because the attractions are split in two. The swimming pool was chocca-block every time we had a look. The beach is amazing but the walk back surprises you because it seems easy going down. On the way back the steep fine sand gives way under-foot so you take a short uphill step only to slide back half a step. It soon gets your heart pounding and your legs wishing you were somewhere else. All good fun.

It wasn't noisy unless you count the seagulls at dawn. There was a family above our field in a caravan who were feeding them. Huge flocks arrived as a false tanned deep-orange coloured lady fed them shouting, 'my little birdies'. It tended to be the caravanners and their children who produced the most noise at night and early morning. I don't think they realise we campers can hear them more than they can hear us.

Another negative for us was the bright pitch bollard-light. I have a new tent with blackout bedrooms so I was hoping for darkness when I settled down for bed. Unfortunately these low bollard-lights made the inside of my tent light up as though it was morning all night and with the lamp-post above us we found it hard to get our Grandson to sleep.

Lastly the showers. Although they were nice, they were often cold. Twice they went cold for my Grandson and I after we covered ourselves in soap and quite a few times they were cold before we even got in. We started asking people if they were warm before attempting to use them. One lady had a disabled child in the disabled shower and the water had gone cold. She was running around in a bikini between the disabled shower and the Women's toilet block trying to get help because the child was very distressed, refusing to go back into the water and presumably naked. So in proportion I had it easy.

Our electrics went off one night so I walked over to reception to inform them. By the time I got back to the tent someone was already dealing with it so we lost nothing in the fridge.

All in all we had a good holiday. Just a shame it was wet, windy and chilly. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dellyb 9 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit as we also stayed Aug 2016. Great family site, on Hayle beach, a lidl is close the the site which is pretty handy, it's coastal location can be tricky in high winds in a tent but we survived & had a a fabulous time.

Really close to St Ives & a good location to explore. Staff came around the site in advance of winds to give us a 'heads up' in case people were unaware of the forecast due, great service.

I would return again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawn0102 1 review from this member

 We are family of 5 and our children aged 7, 9 & 12 thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay at this site.

There is beach access which is a little hard on the return as it is uphill but steps have been put into the sand to help. The beach is beautiful, lovely sands and plenty of surf. 2 of my children enjoyed body boarding and I felt safe for them as there were lifeguards on duty and they were made aware that they must always be within the flags to keep safe. There is also a surf school on site should you wish to have lessons or hire suits and boards.

Lovely swimming pool with toddler area, lifeguards also on duty.

Sands bar and bistro sells the usual hot snacks, drinks, ice-cream and overlooks the bay, stunning views. There is a play park, amusement arcade, cinema room and family room with pool tables. The bistro bar itself is for adults only. The bistro is also a big hit with the older children as there is free wifi, so they are often seen with their devices plugged in on charge while chilling with their mates.

The dynamite bar has an enclosed play park and there is also an amusement arcade. Bingo is every night and the cash prizes are really good if you are lucky enough to win, approx £100 for a full house.

There is a resident DJ and entertainment. The entertainment is a bit hit and miss but it depends on what you enjoy.

The toilet block and showers are clean, a few more shower cubicles wouldn't go amiss but rarely had to queue foe long. There are a couple of free hair dryers and a few plugs for hair straighteners of your own hair dryer. Toilets are frequently deep cleaned and are shut for 3 hours but the disabled cubicle is available or there are other toilet/shower blocks on site.

There is a bin collection every day which is good as they get full pretty quick. People also put next to the bins anything which they feel can be reused, there were often buckets and spades, body boards, chairs, tables, wind breaks, these were also cleared away on a daily basis.

There is a shop on site selling the usual newspapers, bread milk, beer, wine, ice-creams also body boards and suits and the usual buckets & spades ecr. It also has a bakery in store so nice for French stick, pain au chocolate, croissants ect.

There's a launderette should you need one.

We chose our own pitch but were told which field we were in. We had electric hook up and were a 2 minute walk from toilets and showers. Near to dynamite bar and park. Within walking distance to the pool, beach and bistro but far enough away to use car if we wished.

There is crazy golf and tennis available and is free of charge.

There are supermarkets nearby but not really within walking distance, lidl is the nearest and there is a Tesco in hayle.

The only downside I can see with this site is that you have to be off at 9am in the morning, impossible if you have a large family tent and all the equipment to go with it so majority of people left Friday night.

Overall a lovely site, which has everything you need and a great location to visit local attractions. 


Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is St Ives Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does St Ives Bay Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to St Ives Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is St Ives Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Ives      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3038 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement