Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of St Ives Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Ives > St Ives Bay Holiday Park Reviews

St Ives Bay Holiday Park
73 Loggans Road
Upton Towans
Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BH
Tel: 0800 317713
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 250
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 81 Reviews
                9/10 from 81 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy Cook 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a two week camping holiday at St Ives Bay Holiday Park. First impressions were that it's well organised and well set out. There's a gate-house with barrier so nobody gets in without the correct sticker on the car windscreen. Staff patrol the site regularly so you see the St Ives Bay Holiday Park vehicles milling around all the time.

All the facilities are as described by other reviews. All good. We didn't use the bingo, cabaret type entertainment but many people did.

The pitch we had was grass over sand so “sand pegs” are recommended. Our pitch was a bit uneven and lumpy but not the worst. It was a bit windy when we were there so the normal wire pegs didn't stay in the ground. You can push the pegs in with your hands at points so good sand pegs are a must because we saw one tent blow over (they sell them at the shop for about £5 for ten).

There is a fair amount of walking because the attractions are split in two. The swimming pool was chocca-block every time we had a look. The beach is amazing but the walk back surprises you because it seems easy going down. On the way back the steep fine sand gives way under-foot so you take a short uphill step only to slide back half a step. It soon gets your heart pounding and your legs wishing you were somewhere else. All good fun.

It wasn't noisy unless you count the seagulls at dawn. There was a family above our field in a caravan who were feeding them. Huge flocks arrived as a false tanned deep-orange coloured lady fed them shouting, 'my little birdies'. It tended to be the caravanners and their children who produced the most noise at night and early morning. I don't think they realise we campers can hear them more than they can hear us.

Another negative for us was the bright pitch bollard-light. I have a new tent with blackout bedrooms so I was hoping for darkness when I settled down for bed. Unfortunately these low bollard-lights made the inside of my tent light up as though it was morning all night and with the lamp-post above us we found it hard to get our Grandson to sleep.

Lastly the showers. Although they were nice, they were often cold. Twice they went cold for my Grandson and I after we covered ourselves in soap and quite a few times they were cold before we even got in. We started asking people if they were warm before attempting to use them. One lady had a disabled child in the disabled shower and the water had gone cold. She was running around in a bikini between the disabled shower and the Women's toilet block trying to get help because the child was very distressed, refusing to go back into the water and presumably naked. So in proportion I had it easy.

Our electrics went off one night so I walked over to reception to inform them. By the time I got back to the tent someone was already dealing with it so we lost nothing in the fridge.

All in all we had a good holiday. Just a shame it was wet, windy and chilly. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dawn0102 1 review from this member

 We are family of 5 and our children aged 7, 9 & 12 thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay at this site.

There is beach access which is a little hard on the return as it is uphill but steps have been put into the sand to help. The beach is beautiful, lovely sands and plenty of surf. 2 of my children enjoyed body boarding and I felt safe for them as there were lifeguards on duty and they were made aware that they must always be within the flags to keep safe. There is also a surf school on site should you wish to have lessons or hire suits and boards.

Lovely swimming pool with toddler area, lifeguards also on duty.

Sands bar and bistro sells the usual hot snacks, drinks, ice-cream and overlooks the bay, stunning views. There is a play park, amusement arcade, cinema room and family room with pool tables. The bistro bar itself is for adults only. The bistro is also a big hit with the older children as there is free wifi, so they are often seen with their devices plugged in on charge while chilling with their mates.

The dynamite bar has an enclosed play park and there is also an amusement arcade. Bingo is every night and the cash prizes are really good if you are lucky enough to win, approx £100 for a full house.

There is a resident DJ and entertainment. The entertainment is a bit hit and miss but it depends on what you enjoy.

The toilet block and showers are clean, a few more shower cubicles wouldn't go amiss but rarely had to queue foe long. There are a couple of free hair dryers and a few plugs for hair straighteners of your own hair dryer. Toilets are frequently deep cleaned and are shut for 3 hours but the disabled cubicle is available or there are other toilet/shower blocks on site.

There is a bin collection every day which is good as they get full pretty quick. People also put next to the bins anything which they feel can be reused, there were often buckets and spades, body boards, chairs, tables, wind breaks, these were also cleared away on a daily basis.

There is a shop on site selling the usual newspapers, bread milk, beer, wine, ice-creams also body boards and suits and the usual buckets & spades ecr. It also has a bakery in store so nice for French stick, pain au chocolate, croissants ect.

There's a launderette should you need one.

We chose our own pitch but were told which field we were in. We had electric hook up and were a 2 minute walk from toilets and showers. Near to dynamite bar and park. Within walking distance to the pool, beach and bistro but far enough away to use car if we wished.

There is crazy golf and tennis available and is free of charge.

There are supermarkets nearby but not really within walking distance, lidl is the nearest and there is a Tesco in hayle.

The only downside I can see with this site is that you have to be off at 9am in the morning, impossible if you have a large family tent and all the equipment to go with it so majority of people left Friday night.

Overall a lovely site, which has everything you need and a great location to visit local attractions. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Daves mate 21 reviews from this member

 This is a massive family site but has none of the commercial aspects of some other similarly sized places and due to the way the camping fields are situated it never feels too big. We were on the unreserved pitches field which is by far the biggest. The facilities block on this field is perfectly satisfactory if a little out dated, there's at least 1 brand new block on site so this one may be earmarked for a refit soon. The pitch was a good size, as others have said the light on the pitch is a bit of an irritant, an option to be able to turn this off would be good. Due to the site's location the ground is very sandy. I was using Rock pegs with Delta ground anchors on the guy lines, I had to re peg at least 4 or 5 times during our 1 week stay, if we visit again I'll bring sand pegs. As this is the biggest field it stays a little lively in the dark hours but hey, if peace and tranquillity is your thing you don't come to a big family site in the middle of the school holidays.

We found the shop reasonably priced, we bought a windbreak while we were there and paid about £2 less than the average price in the local shops

The main clubhouse gets busy (again, it was middle of the school holidays) and we struggled to get a table some nights. It thinned out a little after the bingo in time for the cabaret. There was a comedian one night who was quite good but most of the acts were low budget singers who, in my opinion, weren't very good. It seemed most folk agreed as on these nights the club emptied very early. The bar/bistro at the beach end is nice. We ate here on the patio watching the sun set on our first night. Food was a decent standard and reasonably priced. There's also an additional play area outside plus arcade inside.

Next to the bar/bistro is the pool. Pretty basic but clean and tidy.

The star of the show here though is the beach. Me, the wife and our 2 kids walked from our pitch (pretty much the other end of the site) in about 20 mins. The beach is lovely and even at low tide the water is never far away. The dunes are good fun and the view over to St Ives is nice.

Would we come again? Mrs DM is booking for next year as I'm typing this! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stromo 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site and we have already booked for next year, brilliant site all the pitches are in small seclude spots around the site, mtr beach is one of the best I've been on all be it a bit if a trek down the sand dunes to it, but believe me it's worth it, the food in the bistro is a good quality but a tad expensive, the beer is cold and well kept, the facilities were spotless all the time and the staff are all great, so all in all a fantastic site for all it her with or with out kids 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jenny L 5 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a week stay on a ehu unreserved pitch Sat-Sat. Could not recommend this site more, as we were travelling from the midlands we decided to drive down on the Fri night to avoid the awful m5 traffic and arrived there about 12:30 access to the holding area was really quick and there was a toilet there for campers to use. In the morning about 8:20 a member of staff knocked on the caravan to say they were going to start moving everyone on to site in approx 5 min, check in was so easy didn't even have to get out of the car and straight on to the unreserved field to choose a pitch. Not all the pitches are the same size so have a good look before choosing your pitch, we had 308 and 309 which were good sizes. The toilet and shower block was always lovely and clean and only had a short Que once for the showers. The showers were lovely and big with lots of shelves and hooks but the floor could get very wet. This field is the furthest from the beach took about 10min with kids and all beach gear which we didn't mind. The beach was a hard walk back up the sand dunes but just meant we felt justified in enjoying the cream teas so popular here! The beach is stunning and the bay bistro has gorgeous views of it. The swimming pool was a lovely temperature and so clean, there is a shower outside to wash the sand of and we found the child's pool the perfect depth for teaching our 4 year old to swim. The prices at bay bistros were reasonable and the food nice but you couldn't buy drinks from there once the bar opened at 7 and the same drink would suddenly cost more! We only went to the dynamite club once and our children aged 4 to 11 enjoyed the kids entertainment. Lidl in hayle was a 2min drive away and a large asda approx 10min. We drove to nearby Godfrey beach which was gorgeous and also took the train one day into st ives which was very busy, here we did a boat trip to seal island (we saw more seals in the harbour than on the rocks they took us to). Overall we loved this site, the location was stunning and for the same price as other nearby sites you get a pool and entertainment which US a bonus when you can't rely on the British weather! One day we drove to the lizard area and must say the beaches there have nothing on the golden sands of st gives bay! Also on the Thursday there was a weather warning for wind and they came round and personally warned everyone. We will definitely be returning. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hoopersriding 1 review from this member

 Just returned from another amazing holiday at St Ives Bay. This is the third time we have visited, and before we left booked for 2 weeks next August. The site is situated in the most amazing spot. Sand dunes on two sides and a breath taking beach. Lifeguards on the beach all day, who are very friendly and so helpful. What more could you need for a holiday? Toilet blocks are small and clean. Lots of site staff around who are very helpful. Site shop which we didn't use. 3 supermarkets near by. Pool clean and well staffed by lifeguards. Has a very safe feel for families. The best site we have ever stayed on, and there have been a few! If you are looking for a holiday in this area look no further! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eggyteapot 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely week I camped at st ives bay holiday park for a week during the summer holidays. The site is on a big hill over looking the sea absolutely beautiful view but a little bit of a walk to the beach. But our EHU pitch was a nice level grass pitch with easy access to water. The washing up facilities were good, nice strong showers, clean toilets and showers. The site is very large keep that in mind so you do need to walk a bit. We didn't mind this but some may, they had a lovely play park entertainment and also a lovely indoor pool. Which is handy entertaining children on a wet day. Whats really useful is down the road from the holiday park there's a lidl, m&s, boots or mc donalds what ever takes your fancy within easy reach. You could be quite happy spending most of your time here or st ives a short drive. Newquay not a bad drive either if you want to go to the zoo there. We had a good time and hope to go back some day 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sunderland1 1 review from this member

 Just came back from this site and would go again. We loved it. The short walk straight onto the beach was fantastic. We were worried about it being a big site but had no need to. The site was patrolled regularly by security, the brand new toilet/shower block was cleaned daily. The club house had bingo and entertainment every night. The kids loved the indoor heated pool which was free to use allday. The pitches are clearly marked with firebreaks inbetween. There were several little parks including one right nxt to the club house so the kids could enjoy themselves outside whilst still being kept an eye on from inside. There was also and adults only bar but we didn't use it. The bistro was nice, friendly but too expensive. Only ate there once and if it had been better priced would have eaten there again. There was also a burger van near the entrance which served reasonable food. The sand dunes were nice and there was adequate shelter if it did get breezy. We all enjoyed this site a lot as it has something for everyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martanna2003 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for our second visit here in July and had another great visit.

We had a pitch in the unreserved EHU area which is located just inside the main entrance of the park.

The toilet / shower block and washing up area was okay but having had a walk around to look at the other blocks on the site it looked like the others were much better. Not sure why this is as the prices are the same for reserved and unreserved.

There are two bars on site. The one located at the beach end is adult only but there is a small family area attached to it with an arcade and film room. There is a great decking area outside that is fantastic on clear evenings to catch breathtaking sunsets.

The Dynamite bar is a family one with entertainment on every night. There is normally bingo on (very popular with some) most nights so if you're not into this then time your arrival for when it finishes.

The shop is okay and has standard sort of prices for on site shops. I would recommend the fresh bakery produce, we only found it towards the end of the week but will definitely make use of it the next time we visit.

As others have said, I don't particularly like the permanent light above the EHU as it is bright and does shine into your tent at night.

Liked having security making regular walks around the site.

A quick mention for the security gate / reception staff as they were very helpful and welcoming.

TIP: because of the location of this site it does tend to get quite windy at times. While we were there we saw a number of wind breaks and gazebos flying around so make sure they are anchored securely. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NuCampers 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week's stay. This is our 2nd time at St Ive's and it was as good as the first.

The site is huge and has plenty (we think) to do for everyone. The kids are free to ride round on bikes, go play football on the football pitch or go play on the swings etc infront of the clubhouse.

We pitched near the entrance which is very close to the shop, clubhouse and takeaway van (which we didn't use). The shop is well stocked with food, drink, fresh bread and tent essentials and is reasonably priced. The clubhouse is ok if that's your thing, which kind of isn't ours now that the kids are a little older and just leave us sitting whilst they go play out. The acts are ok, again if that's your thing. I would say that the Sat night entertainment was better for us as it was geared more towards a younger crowd and the bingo wasn't on which meant you could get a seat. On Bingo nights it looked like people were queueing to get in from around 6. 45, which is definitely not our thing so avoided it.

The pitches are great, loads of space and very well marked out. The pitch this time we found to be very sandy and pegs weren't staying in as good as on fully grassed pitches but bought some you pegs and that did the trick perfectly.

The toilet/shower facilities are great, about 6/7 toilets, 6 showers, maybe 12 sinks and all work and are cleaned daily. Always seemed to be hot water and washing up facilities are great too.

There's an indoor pool beach end along with a pub and bistro bar which serves very good quality food and is reasonably priced. There's also a surf school that you book lessons through. The beach is huge, it's a big of walk down and back up again but in lovely weather it is well worth it.

I can't really criticise the park at all, it ticks all the boxes for us and is well worth the journey down. The only negative comment I could have is a personnel one which is that they serve nuts at the bar in the clubhouse. I have a nut allergy, as does my daughter and we find this a bit frightening as the staff serve the nuts and then don't wash there hands. I have mentioned this but nothing has changed but that's just a worry on our behalf. 


Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is St Ives Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does St Ives Bay Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to St Ives Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is St Ives Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Ives      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4810 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements