Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Polmanter Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Ives > Polmanter Touring Park Reviews

Polmanter Touring Park
Halsetown
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR26 3LX
Tel: 01736 795640
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 240
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 167 Reviews
                9/10 from 167 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  167 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Split ends 8 reviews from this member

 Bit of a windy pitch but it was huge. Lovely views. So well managed. Usual cleanliness cant complain about this. Great site and only site that's close to St Ives with pool.

The people I met were polite and friendly. Luckily it was peaceful by 11pm and little noise before 8am so that suited us. The behaviour was spot on.

Negatives

The shop is very basic prefer if they had more to offer especially with meat. Shuts at 8pm bit early imo.

The showers are too small and not sure if the site needs so many. As usual everything get soaked (took mat) Pressing the button became a flippin nuisance that could be extended to longer.

Its ok for younger children but my older boys were a bit bored at some times. This isnt a commercial site offering entertainment big play rooms. The older boys were struggling in the evenings.

Be nice in 2022 they can offer set days for say Archery or football skills. I understand that post Covid it was difficult. Be nice if there was a bit more in the evenings for the teenagers than hanging around the swings.

Pool is ok nothing special. Perfectly safe.

The location is brilliant for getting around a little busy on the roads.

All in all excellent site will be returning.  


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Moggssue 21 reviews from this member

 Great site, very convenient for the town. Easy 25 minute walk in via a footpath but it is an uphill return so we were grateful for the bus which picked us up in the centre of town and dropped us in the site - perfect!

We were travelling with friends and had no problem pitching 3 motorhomes together with space between to stretch out. Clean and tidy facilities even though the site was busy.

We prebooked dinner in the Stable Bar one evening and it was clear that the site is struggling for staff, not their fault but we did have to wait for food and drink orders.

Good little shop for basics you forget in town. Didn't use the pool etc but it all seemed popular with the youngsters.

We would return, maybe at a quieter time of year. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Aniseedvan 2 reviews from this member

 Despite it being in a pandemic, we had a lovely holiday here on the basis of a personal recommendation.

Picking a pitch beforehand, we secured a huge corner pitch which was great, with plenty of room to park the car away and cooking room, etc. Water points are plentiful and the electric was fine, the grass was in good order but possibly less used than normal bearing in mind the site would be have been shut for the normal early season.

We weren’t comfortable using the bus service but it did look convenient to take once things are a little more back to normal. We walked into st Ives a few times and back, with the Tesco for food being a short drive.

The camp shop was stocked ok, I would have expected it to be a little bigger based on the size of the site, but the usual items were all readily available.

Shower blocks were spotless, and the cleaning heightened even further with extra sanitising going on.

My personal favourite was being able to use the pool in the morning - first hour for adults only so managed to get some lengths in, bearing in mind indoor pools had been shut since March!

I would definitely come back here again, one lady I swam with had been coming for 10+ consecutive years. Having been myself I can see why, 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Retired of IOW 14 reviews from this member

 What a great site.

The pitches are set out with privacy in mind and tiered so most get sea views.

The site is kept clean and tidy and has excellent recyling bins.

Plenty of water and disposal stands.

There are three big shower/toilet blocks. All have family room and disabled facilities. There are bench seats in all and although they are push button, the flow is strong and hot and plenty of them, so no waiting for a shower to become free. The blocks were kept clean and tidy at all times.

There is a big reception building with a well stocked shop, where you could buy newspapers, fresh rolls and had a well stocked fridge unit, selling local butter and meat products.

The swimming pool was heated and a good size, suitable for doing lengths. There is a small pool suitable for children.

The laundry has plenty of washing machines and dryers.

The icing on the cake was the stable restaurant/bar. This is a nice cosy, comfortable place to sit and eat/drink, serving excellent food, at reasonable prices and a range of beers. There is a conservatory type addition to this, with plenty of tables to sit at and eat/admire the views out to sea.

There are also comfy settees in here, so if the weather is not too good, it's a great place to sit and have a warming coffee/hot chocolate. There is a takeaway menu, which we saw a few people use.

It's a big site, but it never seemed crowded, due to the set up.

All the staff are friendly and helpful and although this was towards the end of the season and they must be slightly frazzled, they didn't show it and made us feel very welcome, particularly in the bar.

The bus is an excellent service running every hour into and out of St Ives. We used to walk into town, about 30 mins, downhill and get the bus back up to the site. We also hopped on the train, the station is ideally situated in St Ives and a couple of stops you can change and it's a short trip to Penzance, also worth a visit.

This was my first visit to St Ives and although busy at times, I loved it. We got tickets to the most wonderful theatre, called the boathouse, seats 30 people and watched a mad murder play, wonderful!

The seafront in the evening reminded me of the Mediterranean. Outdoor eating and drinking and sitting looking out over the harbour.

Would definitely go back to this site, highly recommend it, if you want the convenience of public transport, shops and somewhere to eat, but don't want a full on clubhouse. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chingforddean 1 review from this member

 Cleanest site visited so far this year

Only down side was allowing dogs in restaurants eating area, (1 night there was 10 dogs in there). I love dogs but not where I'm eating. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NuCampers 9 reviews from this member

 Absolutely amazing site.

The campsite ticked everything that we needed - dog/child friendly, massive pitches, pool, shop, fantastic clubhouse, close to St Ives/Penzance and very modern and clean shower facilities.

Dogs are welcome around the site and also in the conservatory part of the clubhouse with as much room as the main bar area (choice of probably between 12-16 tables to eat), the food is very good and reasonably priced.

The staff all around the site are a credit to the owners, work so hard and with pride in how the site looks. It's absolutely spotless.

The campsite run a bus to and from St Ives all day (payable) which is a god send as parking is near impossible.

All in all the site is fantastic, would highly recommend and will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JackieHarvey 8 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous site. It's got everything, and it's near Carbis Bay. What more could anyone want?

Our friend tried the shower block and said it was wonderful.

The restaurant served tasty food, with decent portions, great drinks. Their customer service was perfect.

We could see the sea from our pitch.

All I would have added would have been less rain and more sunshine, perhaps I should visit during summer. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ghart386 32 reviews from this member

 Absolutely wonderful stay here and will definitely return.

Showers and toilets some of the best we have visited.

Friendly staff and check in very easy.

Good pub at end of the road, didn't eat at as booking seems essential, though food looked excellent.

Food on site also very good as we ate there on two occassions.

Bar and restaurant immaculate and very well run, only spoilt by the fact that on one evening, we were just about to order our food, and a massive thunderstorm knocked all the power out. Can't blame them for that though.

Location is good and the sea views are marvellous, fog allowing!

Excellent bus service into St Ives from site. Walk too much for us!

Very dog friendly and good walks for them.

As I have already stated above, we will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Moggssue 21 reviews from this member

 We spent 5 nights here as part if a touring holiday and what a lovely site. We don't usually go for sites with bars etc but were swayed by the proximity to St Ives. Large pitches, spotless amenities which, on our visit at least, were cleaned at 1am so as not to close in the daytime! To be fair the bar was pleasant enough, can't comment on the food but it looked reasonable. They had a quiz night on the Tues which was a giggle. And tv screens showing the European Championship matches.

We used the bus from the site into St Ives and back. £1. 50 each way and very reliable with friendly drivers. There's also a friendly pub a five minute walk from the site, Hasletown Inn, where we had a good meal on the Saturday night but I would advise booking (we only booked a few hours in advance but while we were eating they were turning people away).

St Ives is a lovely friendly town with plenty of places to eat, pubs with live music, 3 or 4 beaches in walking distance, and we even saw a seal in the harbour. Despite initial reservations when booking, due to the size of the site and bar, I would definitely return snd hopefully fairly soon! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tonyzobe 1 review from this member

 This is the best campsite I've visited so far. It's extremely well thought out, immaculately clean, and everything looks as if it were brand new.

It's within walking distance of St Ives and has wonderful views of the sea and surrounding countryside. We would definitely come here again.

If I had to make a criticism it would be that the shop could carry a wider range of stock, but the staff are very friendly, and there are a multitude of other shops close by 


Previous     167 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Polmanter Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Polmanter Touring Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Polmanter Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Polmanter Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Ives      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3890 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement