Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Ayr Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Ives > Ayr Holiday Park Reviews

Ayr Holiday Park
Ayr
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR26 1EJ
Tel: 01736 795855
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 88 Reviews
                9/10 from 88 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ninoc143143rta 1 review from this member

 Very nice, people friendly, it is a very simple site with everything you need.

The location is very strategical, to reach any interesting city and town in about 20 minutes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mhairi73414xxa 1 review from this member

 Closest campsite to town within a 5 minute walk.

Close to beaches, cafes, shops and excellent views!

Caravan was modern, clean and had plenty of facilities.

Handy laundry on site and friendly staff. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lascers 3 reviews from this member

 Love the location so easy to get to each and coast path. The walk into town is steep but not long and the campsite has some great facilities. Nice reception plenty of information available

Most pitches have hard standing and electric although some not level.

Was a bit noisy near children's play area as some parents happy to send kids there 9am or 9pm.

Busy site in peak season, and pricey. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Musaaf87766tbv 1 review from this member

 Highly recommend this place really helpful staff.

Location is alright,

It has a time limit to leave and enter the site which is 07:00 to 23:00.

Facilities are really clean. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Great location no question, our pitch was 9 or 19, middle row at the end near the facilities. We had a fully serviced pitch, and free fast WiFi so happy with that.

I thought the pitches at the front only for small vans was very thoughtful, our view was a good one.

Negatives

Two Dogs for Three nights £22 ouch

Most shower heads were dirty and blocked

Shower cubicles were tiny

For safety, stepping out of a shower cubicle onto the normal floor with wet feet was lethal, pls take extreme care, I notified the site.

Overall a great site in a great place, we enjoyed it. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Al1977 5 reviews from this member

 Expensive but weíd definitely return!

We stayed on pitch 14 which is a hard standing in the 2nd row back from the front with great sea views. Not the biggest pitch there but we were able to set up our caravan and awning. We have a smaller caravan, an awning and 2 bedroom annexes for the children. On this occasion we could only put up one of them. There were other pitches with more space that were more level, but it wasnít a problem on this occasion using just the one pod so we were perfectly happy. We needed the site provided blocks on the pitch and used our own as well to get level.

We paid for the kids to use the pool one rainy afternoon (£3 per swimmer) while we sat in the attached bar area at the Garrack Hotel. The pool is not huge but the area is well laid out we were able to sit right next to the water while the children swam.

We walked into St Ives every day and although the hill is very steep, it is manageable. We walked it in torrential rain and blazing sunshine. We considered taking bikes but Iím glad that we didnít bother!

The site facilities were well looked after and generally we found the site very peaceful. The kids made friends at the play area and spent lots of time there. We walked from the site along the coastal path to west beach one evening. This didnít take long and was a more gentle stroll back to site than the road walk.

We found that the approach to the site was absolutely fine following the site directions - just donít make a wrong turn and find yourself in the town centre if youíre towing - youíll be stuck!

St Ives was very busy in the evenings and I would recommend booking a table if you want to eat between 6 and 8 in school holidays. On our first evening we couldnít find anywhere before about 8. 45. There is a shop not far from the site that sells essentials. We also used the co op in St Ives and carried essentials back up to the site. We drove to a co op and also Tesco once while we were away. We never found a particularly close to site large shop but we didnít really look too hard!

We were lucky with only 2 rainy days in our week away. We loved the site and St Ives and hope to return in a few years time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 40 reviews from this member

 Location is everything! You're basically in St. Ives with wonderful views from the campsite and a short walk to the beaches and centre (very steep walk back!).

Had a grass pitch with electric, shared tap and a decent view. £41 per night for two adults. Obviously very expensive and much more than any other site we stayed at over two weeks in the south west.

Prices go up further in the summer holidays. If you want a space on the terraces with the best views and handy for the facilities you will need to book a long way in advance, probably the previous year if you're booking ahead for a busy period.

There is a mix of outfits and people staying at Ayr. One night was disturbed for a few hours late on by a drunken group of campers falling out with each other, shouting, screaming and swearing. Nice.

We last stayed here twelve years ago and since then the site has expanded. Twelve years ago, we thought the facilities were superb, but now just one block is really not adequate; there aren't enough showers, loos or sinks. You have quite trek to the loo from many pitches. We've stayed in many sites with much better facilities for less money.

One of these new loo cassette cleaning machines has been installed at £3 a go. Didn't use it myself but was interested to note that a very smart site near Glastonbury only charged £2 for the same machine.

Ayr Holiday Park has a captive audience who simply want to be as close to St. Ives as possible and accordingly they can charge higher fees and more for services knowing that punters will return. A bit cynical and didn't really leave me with a good feeling about the place. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Surfgypsy 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Ayr for the 3rd year running, we love St Ives and its surrounding areas and beaches.

The swimming pool was clean and was lovely and warm.

The pitches are a good size.

The toilet block was half closed in both male and females, half the hot taps weren't working and a few times there was no toilet roll.

The showers were dirty.

I hope that the owners will look at this review and make some well needed changes to this site. Although this is quite a negative review I will still be returning to Ayr mainly because of the excellent beaches and the fantastic meals on the site. 


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

 We visited Ayr Holiday Park out of season, this was the first time that I have stayed at the site, we choose this site a firstly it opens all year and secondly we spend a lot of time in this area and this site had been on our list to stay at due to itís proximity to the coast path.

The first thing to note is that the entrance way into the site is quite narrow, unfortunately there was a van parked along the road and whilst we were trying to squeeze trough we scraped the side of our van on the rocky wall the other side, something to be careful of! The hardstanding touring pitches have fabulous views although some are a little sloping so chocks are required.

The showers /toilets are housed in a large modern block, they are clean and very well thought out, I was really pleased to see the full length mirrors in the ladies block!

Walking is easy off of the site due to itís proximity to the coast path and St Ives and there is a small local shop about 5 mins away from the site which was packed to the ceiling with everything you could ever need, I was very thankful for this as the walk into St Ives to pick up the provisions I had forgotten would have taken a bit longer.

A great site for a winter stop over. 


Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a long weekend in early February. The views from the site and the close location to the South West Coast Path were the main reason for choosing it, and on both counts it didnít disappoint.

On the first night we were on the lower tier of pitches which are very sloping. Even with the use of their giant chocks, we couldnít get level and it also made it quite tricky getting in and out of the van given the large amount of extra height gained by the front axle. It is strange that they go to the effort of putting hardstanding in but donít make it level! You also had to cross a very muddy churned up bit of Ďgrassí the access the pitch.

On the second day I spoke to reception and we were able to move to the top tier and had a nice level pitch without the need for chocks. The facilities were clean and warm; however, the shower cubicles are a little small. The separate toilet/shower rooms solve this though, so used them after the first shower.

The views really are very nice both out to sea and also looking down on St Ives. On one of our coastal walks off around Carn Nuan Point, we were lucky enough to watch the seals playing in the surf.

The cost has stopped us visiting in the past, now weíve been once, weíll certainly return, but it will be when the low season prices are being charged and when we can make sure weíre booked on a level pitch. 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ayr Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Ayr Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ayr Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ayr Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Ives      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6008 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements