Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ayr Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Ives > Ayr Holiday Park Reviews

Ayr Holiday Park
Ayr
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR26 1EJ
Tel: 01736 795855
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 91 Reviews
                9/10 from 91 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: David2 1 review from this member

 Very good site, friendly staff and very clean,

While not the cheapest site around you do get darn good facilities, showers are some of the best we have had in UK sites,

Well worth a visit and we will be coming back 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daviesic 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely, great views, spacious, waste drains that are actually lower than the Motorhome,

Close proximity to StIves,

What is there to dislike!

Back again next year! 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daviesic 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, lovely people, we will return!

Great views of the sea, good large pitches! Go for a serviced pitch as plenty of space!

Didnít visit the bar. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ninoc1 1 review from this member

 Very nice, people friendly, it is a very simple site with everything you need.

The location is very strategical, to reach any interesting city and town in about 20 minutes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mhairi 1 review from this member

 Closest campsite to town within a 5 minute walk.

Close to beaches, cafes, shops and excellent views!

Caravan was modern, clean and had plenty of facilities.

Handy laundry on site and friendly staff. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lascers 3 reviews from this member

 Love the location so easy to get to each and coast path. The walk into town is steep but not long and the campsite has some great facilities. Nice reception plenty of information available

Most pitches have hard standing and electric although some not level.

Was a bit noisy near children's play area as some parents happy to send kids there 9am or 9pm.

Busy site in peak season, and pricey. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Musaaf 1 review from this member

 Highly recommend this place really helpful staff.

Location is alright,

It has a time limit to leave and enter the site which is 07:00 to 23:00.

Facilities are really clean. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Great location no question, our pitch was 9 or 19, middle row at the end near the facilities. We had a fully serviced pitch, and free fast WiFi so happy with that.

I thought the pitches at the front only for small vans was very thoughtful, our view was a good one.

Negatives

Two Dogs for Three nights £22 ouch

Most shower heads were dirty and blocked

Shower cubicles were tiny

For safety, stepping out of a shower cubicle onto the normal floor with wet feet was lethal, pls take extreme care, I notified the site.

Overall a great site in a great place, we enjoyed it. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Al1977 5 reviews from this member

 Expensive but weíd definitely return!

We stayed on pitch 14 which is a hard standing in the 2nd row back from the front with great sea views. Not the biggest pitch there but we were able to set up our caravan and awning. We have a smaller caravan, an awning and 2 bedroom annexes for the children. On this occasion we could only put up one of them. There were other pitches with more space that were more level, but it wasnít a problem on this occasion using just the one pod so we were perfectly happy. We needed the site provided blocks on the pitch and used our own as well to get level.

We paid for the kids to use the pool one rainy afternoon (£3 per swimmer) while we sat in the attached bar area at the Garrack Hotel. The pool is not huge but the area is well laid out we were able to sit right next to the water while the children swam.

We walked into St Ives every day and although the hill is very steep, it is manageable. We walked it in torrential rain and blazing sunshine. We considered taking bikes but Iím glad that we didnít bother!

The site facilities were well looked after and generally we found the site very peaceful. The kids made friends at the play area and spent lots of time there. We walked from the site along the coastal path to west beach one evening. This didnít take long and was a more gentle stroll back to site than the road walk.

We found that the approach to the site was absolutely fine following the site directions - just donít make a wrong turn and find yourself in the town centre if youíre towing - youíll be stuck!

St Ives was very busy in the evenings and I would recommend booking a table if you want to eat between 6 and 8 in school holidays. On our first evening we couldnít find anywhere before about 8. 45. There is a shop not far from the site that sells essentials. We also used the co op in St Ives and carried essentials back up to the site. We drove to a co op and also Tesco once while we were away. We never found a particularly close to site large shop but we didnít really look too hard!

We were lucky with only 2 rainy days in our week away. We loved the site and St Ives and hope to return in a few years time. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 40 reviews from this member

 Location is everything! You're basically in St. Ives with wonderful views from the campsite and a short walk to the beaches and centre (very steep walk back!).

Had a grass pitch with electric, shared tap and a decent view. £41 per night for two adults. Obviously very expensive and much more than any other site we stayed at over two weeks in the south west.

Prices go up further in the summer holidays. If you want a space on the terraces with the best views and handy for the facilities you will need to book a long way in advance, probably the previous year if you're booking ahead for a busy period.

There is a mix of outfits and people staying at Ayr. One night was disturbed for a few hours late on by a drunken group of campers falling out with each other, shouting, screaming and swearing. Nice.

We last stayed here twelve years ago and since then the site has expanded. Twelve years ago, we thought the facilities were superb, but now just one block is really not adequate; there aren't enough showers, loos or sinks. You have quite trek to the loo from many pitches. We've stayed in many sites with much better facilities for less money.

One of these new loo cassette cleaning machines has been installed at £3 a go. Didn't use it myself but was interested to note that a very smart site near Glastonbury only charged £2 for the same machine.

Ayr Holiday Park has a captive audience who simply want to be as close to St. Ives as possible and accordingly they can charge higher fees and more for services knowing that punters will return. A bit cynical and didn't really leave me with a good feeling about the place. 


Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ayr Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Ayr Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ayr Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ayr Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Ives      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2063 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement