Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Drum And Monkey

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Worcestershire > Upton On Severn > The Drum And Monkey Reviews

The Drum And Monkey
Newbridge Green
Upton On Severn
Worcestershire   (Browse area)
WR8 0QP
Tel: 01684 592758
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Denz63 7 reviews from this member

Very nice site. Lovely welcome from Liz the owner. Good pub, with a nice atmosphere.

Easy walk into Upton on Severn, not much difference between walking the main road and cutting through the fields. Everyone on site seemed friendly.

Will definitely visit again.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gees Simon 1 review from this member

An excellent site at bag of a lovely pub with great manager with great staff. Toilets and showers lovely and clean.

Only issue were some inconsiderate dog owners but it's understandable they can't be monitored all the time. Definitely go again soon.

Fees are good, £10 and £15 with hook up. Full marks.

Gees

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sutor edward 1 review from this member

We have just stayed at the Drum & Monkey for a few nights after reading their good reviews. Sorry to say we were not very impressed with site. Very uneven ground.

Grass had just been cut so the grass was every where, all through awning and in van. As for the toilet block, please take flip flops if you intend to use the showers, as hard plastic: what ever it was hurts the bottom of your feet.

Chemical waste area was very poor, it was in the hedge row, as was one of the drinking water taps. Nobody controlled their dogs either, all let loose to do what ever.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KayakJon 3 reviews from this member

I stayed at this site over the bank holiday weekend.

Our little group of campers could corral nicely, without being ordered to be on specific pitches (ala caravan club stalag). Those of our group that needed hookup, got it. We were near to the 'new' toilet/shower block. I was paying £10/night for my tent, with free use of showers and wash-up area.

The camping area is at the rear of the pub, with easy access for me and my Outwell Fusion 300, up to Big Marks' american mansion on wheels and Guzzis' Airstream caravan.

The pub and site is run by one lady, so she isn't always there to give you warm welcome. However, the pub has great ales and cyder. They also do fantastic meals. Can't wait to go there again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Harihari 2 reviews from this member

This site is a great one to stay at, Liz and her staff plus the locals gave all of us a very warm welcome on each visit to the pub. We were a group of three couples all in touring vans and we had a weeks stay.

The site was not crowded and we had a pleasant time exploring the area. We did see couples with children who also seemed to be enjoying the site.

The food served at the pub was great so good in fact we invited more friends to join us one evening for a meal, they are now spreading the word in their area.

Upton on Severn is interesting with more quaint establishments and nice walks along the river, so something for everyone's taste, we would certainly go back.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janine1947 43 reviews from this member

We booked this site last minute all other local sites were full. The site is behind the drum and monkey pub, easy to find from J 8 on the M5. The instruction board advises prospective campers to call at the pub before pitching, as the pub is only open 12-2. 30 and 6-11 campers need to arrive during these times.

There is a hard standing area behind a building or the open grass site with open views. Only the grass area has EHU. The grass is uneven and leveling blocks will be needed. The toilet block appears fairly new it is fairly clean and basic. The washing up sink is out in the open behind the toilet block. The 6 hook up points are around the edge of the grass area. The water, waste and elsan point are also at the edge of the grass area.

There is a small local road to one side of the field but road noise is not intrusive.

Upton on Severn is a short drive away with bus services to Tewksbury, Worcester and Malvern. There are two small supermarkets, lots of antique shops, riverside cafes and pubs. The site is also convenient for the three counties showground.

The pub serves a typical pub menu.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Feather62 1 review from this member

This was our fourth time visiting the drum and monkey. The new toilet block is a welcome addition, very clean, efficient lighting and background music.

The all grassed site is a little lumpy but well tended and we had no problems with our van. Liz the landlady is a star and the food etc in the pub is wonderful. The site is quiet, just 10 to 15 minute walk to the actual town.

I would definitely recommend this site nice clean and quiet. We are booking again for April and it will definitely not be our last visit this year.

Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Colin4unow 6 reviews from this member

This has to be one of the best of the best sites ever.

Toilets / Showers spotless. They even have clean fresh towels hanging up to dry yourself yes I have never seen this before. Also the heating and radio come on when you enter and water is nice and hot and to top it all the showers are free

The pub itself is also great and the food to die for. To be honest if your in the area and you go else where your a fool

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pollyclements 2 reviews from this member

Found this site in the Caravan Club 'New Sites' section. The site is lovely - a grassed flat field adjacent to the Drum and Monkey pub. The toilets and shower block were not finished but looked really nice and we were advised they should be ready within days. Beware there are a few lumps and bumps in the grass and care should be taken when siting your caravan.

The pub is a delightful traditional 'olde worlde' building, having been originally established in the 17th Century. The landlady and staff are really friendly and welcoming. The food is delicious and very reasonably priced.

The site is very close to the lovely town of Upton on Severn with its lovely shops, restaurants, etc. Worcester, Gloucester and Tewksbury are all within easy travelling distance and for those who enjoy walking the Malvern foothills are close by. We will definitely be staying here again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M+mrachel 19 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site, first been in april for a rally and this time an over night stop before going to the malvern show.

The Landlady is really friendly and so are the staff. We had a warm welcome on both our visits and we were able to find our own pitch when we visited in August.

The site is a little uneven to say the least so take care when accessing the grassed area, don't be deceived by the plush look of the grass as it it hides the dips well!.

Unfortunately the shower block wasn't finished so cannot comment on those but the building looks good so lets hope the same can be said about the finish inside.

We paid £10 a night for hook up and we were informed it will be £15 a night when the toilet block is finished, hope to return when they are finished.

The food in the pub is excellent as we ate there on both visits and not over priced. If they have the pie's on the special they are really lovely all home made too. The also have a bitter called Butty Bach that we can recommend as when we were there for the rally they ran out on the friday night as everyone seemed to be drinking it.

All in all I would recommend this cl site and will definitely go back again.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Worcestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5399 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019