Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Higher Penderleath Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Ives > Higher Penderleath Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Higher Penderleath Caravan & Camping Park
Penderleath
Towednack
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR26 3AF
Tel: 01736 798403
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Juliamc1 1 review from this member

 Overpriced for the facilities

Very friendly Covid aware staff but no hot water in ladies and run down looking site tatty signs

Very overpriced for what it is which is a great shame as staff lovely 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Janemash 1 review from this member

 We stayed for 6 nights in a tent. The pitches were of a decent size, although ours wasn't perfectly flat it was fine.

We found the site to be quiet with a lot of nationalities. There is a shop, games room, bar and food options. We didn't use these facilities but did view them. Unfortunately we found, as other reviewers also have, that these amenities need updating. Alongside this we found the toilets and shower blocks dated also needing updating.

It could be a fantastic site but does, in our opinion need money spending on it to bring it in line with other campsites we have used ( which were cheaper) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mrcampa 5 reviews from this member

 Great little site that was quiet when we arrived the week before the main season.

As a site it offers a lot but is in need of a little TLC.

Toilets could do with a clean more often and are looking rather tired but adequate.

The games room could do with an overhaul as it was in quite a run down state.

The staff were friendly but quite hard to locate.

We were paying what I would say was a premium 35 per night for a pitch without power not on the flat.

This site may well be near St Ives but its not close enough to warrant the fee, it needs to raise its game. A bit more effort put in off season and you would have a premium site. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whitenet 1 review from this member

 Very enjoyable stay. We had lovely weather but as the toilet/showers are only cleaned once a day they were a bit sandy after people came off the beach also,

The toilet blocks were a bit dated. We would stay again.

We found that we could access the north, South and West coast with ease from the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arline 3 reviews from this member

 Camp site is well positioned for the beaches of St Ives and a regular bus service into town picks up from just outside camp.

Campsite was really busy. We were camping in the higher field. Almost sea view, but quite windy. Unluckily as it was busy and we had a lot of rain (all of July's in 24 hours)! Meant the toilets and showers were not always terribly clean. I think they were only cleaned once day which given how busy and weather was probably not enough and my other half said the men's loos frequently missed loo paper.

Useful little shop and there is a bar and take away although we didn't use.

Campsite has a quiet after 11 policy but a very noisy caravan group just on the other hedge (there were 18) disregarded this so had to complain.

All in all to be honest a little disappointing site. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandy12 1 review from this member

 Spacious site layout. Grass well maintained nice design of park.

Although not spacious the showers were very clean as were all the facilities - a mop and bucket would have been handy for those rainy muddy days.

The Hayloft Bar has a cosy warm atmosphere with reasonable prices and friendly staff, we enjoyed a few drinks there.

Owners and staff very helpful and friendly.

Access to the site for a short distance is narrow however on our departure (first day of school holidays) staff offered to check that no vehicles were coming in as we were leaving.

Quite close to St Ives and Penzance there was so much to do we will look forward to a return visit to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mohawk5 7 reviews from this member

 Not having visited the area before we were really unsure as to where to stay: we wanted a rural site with a 'dark sky' and views but didn't fancy being stranded in a wet field (even if we could have had a campfire!) We opted for Higher Penderleath and were really glad we did.

Just too far to walk into St Ives but with a really handy bus service from the campsite into town - last bus back in high season is 11. 20pm! Also a pub: we know some camping purists are happy to hike a mile or so for a pint (or just to get in out of the rain) but these are definitely not pedestrian-friendly roads.

Although the bar on Higher Penderleath is a 'campsite bar', it's small and cosy and a great place for a game of dominoes. It really does the job when you just haven't got the energy to go out - or fancy a nightcap after your bbq. Plus the food is good - funnily enough the best scampi I've ever tasted. Showers and toilets fine -

Possibly a little busy at peak times and with only one block the walk from the tents in the top field is a bit of a stretch. Having said that the little shop on site stocks buckets with lids! The site itself is really very attractive with a choice of generous pitches: top field pitches have the best views but the most wind. The ground is well drained short grass.

No gripes at all really except possibly the electricity question: we didn't have hook-up but at 30 per night we felt that a plug or two in the communal areas would be nice. 50p in the ladies for the hair dryer too was a bit steep: on all 3 occasions I used it I didn't use anything like 50p worth.

They offer phone charging but that's 1 and you have to abandon your phone in the office for half a day or so. All in all however, we really enjoyed our stay and the site was obviously much loved and well cared for. We would definitely stay again and recommend it as an ideal spot for exploring the area and visiting St Ives. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjclem7 1 review from this member

 Visited site in July, very friendly and welcoming. Chris, Mandy, Lou, Em and Tom all made me feel welcome. Good facilities, clean and tidy. Well kept fields. Toilet block and showers very clean.

Bar and food excellent. Will visit again! 10/10 Fantastic service, great location which is good for touring st ives and area. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camp girl007 1 review from this member

 WOW. What can I say about this campsite!? Just blew our minds! Lovely owners Chris and Mandy, their son and their staff were just amazing. The facilities were great. It has a coffee shop, a games room, a pub with provides a takeaway service and restaurant food.

The shop they have is well stocked of everything you need. They have a bus service that runs 7 times a day. ( you catch it from the bottom of the campsite) they have a launderette and station to wash your dirty dishes. Toilets and shower blocks are spotless!

Will definitely be going again next year and the year after that and the year after that! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BEARDSELLS 1 review from this member

 We have just enjoyed over 2 weeks stay here and have had a fantastic relaxing holiday. The owners were very accommodating and friendly - couldn't do enough to make sure you enjoy your stay. The pitches are very spacious (with selection of hook ups and none hook ups), have hedges partitioning areas off to help with wind block and the most beautiful views. The site is kept neat and tidy, with plentiful facilities kept clean.

They are very fair with pricing and are not 'money grabbing' - no adding of additional costs to things that we have found on other campsites - eg. Freezerblocks freezer, showers and use of electricity to charge phones free (1 fee if guarded in reception). The shop is well stocked with reasonable prices and the owners support the RSPCA with some things they sell.

There is a children's playground and space for children to play in other areas in full view of adults, making this a safe environment to bring children into. This site is suited to all ages and groupings whether couples, multi family groups or small family units. We met people of all nationalities while we were there and found the whole atmosphere to be really friendly and up beat.

Thank you again for a lovely holiday - we certainly recommend this site to anyone wanting to visit St Ives. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Higher Penderleath Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Higher Penderleath Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Higher Penderleath Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Ives      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


588 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements