Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Embers Camping Bentley

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Embers Camping Bentley
Bentley Wildfowl And Motor Museum
Halland
Lewes
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN8 5AF
Tel: 0345 257 2267
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 7 Reviews
                8/10 from 7 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Seancharles 1 review from this member

My wife and I arrived to a very warm welcome at Embers Bently. The young warden/ranger could not have been more helpful and provided us with all the help and information we could need.

He came over and checked we were ok once we had pitched camp and also explained the best method to light our outside campfire.

Very good facilities and Bently Estate itself has many attractions, including a miniture railway, (1 for 20 minute ride) and being on an enclosed private estate great for the children to enjoy the freedom and explore.

Although somewhat on the expensive side, we were very impressed with the whole setup and will be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charlie-B 1 review from this member

Great campsite - lots of room for all the tents in our group, no queues in the very clean & smart shower/toilet block. Lovely to be able to have a fire in the fire-pit provided with the pitch & the bag of firewood provided was plenty for each evening. The free pass into Bentley while staying at the campsite was great too, adults & kids all enjoyed it. There was also a great 'wild' area beyond a stream in some woods for the kids to explore & play in.

Our allocated pitch was about as far as was possible from the showers/toilets & office/shop, so a good 5 minute walk, but that was no hardship.

They allow cars onto the site to unpack/pack up, which definitely kept the noise down, but did mean we couldn't use our car boot to store the food in.

The shop was open most of the time & sold great local eggs/bacon/sausages, but is quite a way to any other shops. One night we got fish'n'chips from Ringmer which were great.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lukeydukey10 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a weekend at Embers in Bentley

We had a great stay (3 dads + 3 x 3 year old boys)

The toilet block, washing up area is brand new and well equipped

The campsite is huge and well spread out, cant see it ever feeling crowded

The fire pits are great as well

Would definitely recommend a visit

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Firemonkey 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at Embers Bentley for 2 nights. It's a spacious field and the pitches are a good size. It's nice and flat for pitching your tent, although there are a lot of prickly shrubs around, so not great if you happen to be running around in bare feet. You need shoes on at all times!

The facilities are nice and new. The site was virtually empty when we were there with it being out of the summer peak season, so we never had any problems with queues for toilets or showers. I don't know if it would be the same if the site was full - there are a lot of pitches and in the middle of the summer with all pitches taken, I suspect that 4 showers and 3 toilets (in the female block) might not be enough. The first night was lovely and peaceful and we had great fun sitting around the campfire (fire baskets provided in each pitch).

However, the second night was a different story. There was a wedding taking place in the next field - a giant marquee had been erected along with a powerful pa system. It started around 6pm with the wedding speeches which we could clearly hear. After that, there were 2 live bands and a DJ - it all went on til after midnight. It felt like we were right in the middle of the dancefloor. The music echoed round the whole field. It severely ruined our stay. We go camping for some peace and quiet and to get away from noise. The last thing we were expecting was to be listening to dance music and drunken revellers all night.

We spoke to the lady at reception the next day, and she told us that they get prior warning if there is going to be a festival held in the next field (which someone else told us is just as bad with music going on til the early hours of the morning), but for private functions, they have no control over what happens. In light of this, I would not recommend this site at all. If they have no control or information on the events in the adjacent field, then you could have a peaceful night camping, or you could be stuck with hours of very loud dance music as we did. We were thankful that we didn't have young children with us - there's no way they would have been able to sleep through the noise.

It's an expensive campsite in comparison to other places, but we were hoping that the price would be justified. It was not. Very disappointing. We won't be back.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daringdiva 1 review from this member

We stayed two nights with our next door neighbours and received a good welcome and friendly help. The site was peaceful and pleasant. The toilets were clean but there was never an adequate supply of toilet roll. I believe seasoned campers bring their own. But they shouldn't have to. We could have done with one additional shower per sex in the shower block. I feel the blurb is also misleading as it implies you can access the play area from the campsite whereas in fact you have to pay to go there as it is part of the house and museum side of things. The trailers were useful and fun for kiddie rides.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richardlaird 1 review from this member

Our trip to the Embers' Bentley site was our first camping trip with our children (5&7) and we had a magical time staying there for two nights.

The Embers' set up really captures all the best bits of what we like about camping. The site is in a perfect rural setting on the Bentley Estate, set in the South Downs. The field itself is vast with pitches around the outside and as such it feels very spacious but still allowing all of the kids to run wild in the middle. We barely saw the children and it was fun to see the spontaneous games with all of the others

Testimonial's speak for themselves.

Archie (Aged 7) 'I have never been camping before and Embers showed me what it is all about and I can't wait to go back'

Alice (Aged 5)'I really enjoyed making friends and hope we can go back soon'.

All of the pitches come with a solid and highly efficient fire pits which they provide grills for. You can buy firewood and kindling at the site office which is a safari bell tent positioned at the site entrance. They also sell key essentials like bacon, eggs and butter which is handy particularly if you don't have a cool-box.

You can pitch your own tent or hire. We actually did the latter, which for a few nights and with youngish children, was very handy.

There is loads to do in the vicinity and we barely scratched the surface over just two days. We visited the castle in Lewes, the Firle Estate and got down to the coast.

We hope to return next year with friends.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cairomick 1 review from this member

We arrived on Friday afternoon - there was plenty of space and unfortunately my satnav didn't recognise the postcode - search for Harveys Lane and look out for Bentleys Motor Museum (embers isn't signposted).

The site is in a large level field with the plots set in a square there are around 30-40 pitches each with their own metal fire pit.

You really are in the depths of the countryside here and it's dark and quiet at night. There are male and female showers (2 per container)with a washbasin - the shower was hot and clean. There is a male and female toilet block portakabin) with around 5 toilets and washbasins inside.

There is one member of staff to help from around 8am-8pm (longer actually) who remains mostly in a tent at the entrance to the site and sell wood, maps, bread, bacon, eggs, milk and really are very helpful and pleasant allowed me to charge my phone and helped another family with inflating their airbed). The bacon though was not from a local supplier but packed in the EU which was disappointing. We did enquire about the bush craft courses and quickly realised they will just give you a phone no for someone local who runs kayaking/bush craft/horse riding and isn't on site at all.

The nearest pub was an interesting walk through some bridleways and roads - a good 40 mins in which you traverse some muddy bits, horses and an extremely unpleasant ram in the last field. As he was snorting at us on our return we chose to take the nettles and barbed wire option. But the Halfway House pub was pleasant with good food and very affordably priced. I really would not like to do that walk in the dark.

There was a music festival going on nearby - though we never did find out what it was and it didn't play too late. There is a small classic car museum and a very large wild fowl park with a variety of ducks, swans and flamingos which you receive free entry by camping, oh and a miniature railway that runs at weekends for 1 a trip that lasts about 25 mins. There is a small - not very exciting play area for children and a very expensive cafe. You can look around the house (we didn't) and the gardens which were quite lovely. Its about a 30 min drive to LEWES and slightly longer to Brighton which is something to do if it rains.

So if you are looking for campsite that is quiet, remote but driveable to Brighton, Eastbourne, Lewes this is the one for you. However (though I am not a regular camper)I suspect they are just starting up and things will improve in due course - but a few more facilities would make it stand out from the crowd and not be a field in the middle of the country.


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in East Sussex   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2439 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938