Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Boleigh Farm Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Penzance > Boleigh Farm Site Reviews

Boleigh Farm Site
Boleigh Farm
Lamorna
Penzance
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)

Tel: 01736 810305


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 12
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 10 Reviews
                5/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PBAllen 2 reviews from this member

I fully concur with Dikips. I'm not a glamper by any means, but £10 for a 1-man tent/night? Really!? I was walking the coast path & was glad of the hot water, and the shower did work, but the cleanliness and quality was very poor. In the same week I paid less on a number of sites which have invested in decent washing, toilet and laundry facilities.

It's a fair old slog up the hill from the coast path too, if you're walking with a pack.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Merrymaiden 1 review from this member

I have been coming back to Boleigh farm every summer since 2014 - it is in a beautiful location, with basic but very adequate facilities and surrounded by lovely fields, very close to the sea. Derek and David who own the farm and campsite are friendly and welcoming. The site has the advantage of being in a lovely spot just walking distance from lovely Lamorna Cove and the Lamorna Wink pub, and the 1a bus, which takes you around many different beaches and good daytrips in that area of Cornwall passes right by the campsite, which is ideal for me (no one in our group had brought a car). At night, the campsite's peaceful setting means you can see a gorgeous night sky - even a great view of the Milky Way on clear nights. There is a wonderful standing stone, The Piper in the next-door field and the Merry Maidens, a legendary stone circle is five mins walk away.

All in all, I always thoroughly look forward to returning to Boleigh farm for camping in summer, and would heartily recommend it to anyone wishing to explore the natural, magical side of the southwest of Cornwall.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dikips 6 reviews from this member

Have stayed on this site a few times. The price has gone up 50% for 50% less. The toilets are really poor now. Loo seats old and broken. Loo roll hardly replaced have to take my own. Loo had dirty and old toilet brush. Lock on door not working and other toilet flooded. Shower tray still rocking about. There is no cleaning of the amenities although a woman spends a lot of time watering her garden and feeding the many cats. A bit of time and care would make a difference. £15 per night is way too much compared to other campsites in area that offer sea views and lots more amenities.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mustang75 22 reviews from this member

We were advised about this site by some friends of ours so we booked 3 nights, however we only stayed 2.

This is a very basic site on a farm field next to a working dairy farm, with 2 ladies toilets, 1 mens toilet, a small washup area and 1 electric shower. The pitches are sheltered by a large hedge and behind the camping field are 2 impressive large standing stones - further on is a standing stone circle.

The toilets were comfortable and always stocked with paper but no soap. The shower was a pay unit and 20p lasted a long time. The shower was clean and hot but I'll agree with previous campers that the shower room could do with a clean as it wouldn't do for an arachnophobe haha!

We went out for the day into North Cornwall, and after seeing the traffic on the way there, we were reluctant to come back for our final night so we head off into Devon (as we were on our way home).

The main gripe at the site was actually the other campers, there was a dog that wandered the site the whole time and did it's business where it pleased. It also kept coming to our van to bother our dog and try to steal her food. Needless to say, my dog does not take kindly to this and it meant shutting her in the whole time. There was dog muck by the van when we pulled up on the first day.

At £10 a night, this is a cheap site within reach of some amazing sites, but for campers who don't mind it basic.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

We needed to stay near Lamorna Cove to complete this section of the South West Coast Path and this was the only camp site we could find in this location. This site is on a working dairy farm and this is where all the effort goes. The site itself is well positioned on the bus route, and we were able to catch the bus to Lands End – in fact it is on the 300 open top bus route. The bus stop is a short walk up the road by the Merry Maidens stone circle. We didn’t have electric hook up although I saw on a business card advertising the site that it was available.

This is a very basic site – 3 toilets, a wash up and one shower. The amenities are very cobwebby and could do with a freshen up, but we were only there with one other tent using the facilities so this was not a problem.

Hot water for washing up is 20p and there was plenty of it and nice and hot. The shower which was an electric shower and fully adjustable was also 20p on a timer. As it rained whilst we were there I would have preferred the grass to be shorter, but for our location requirements, this site fitted the bill. There are no shops nearby so you need to stock up in Penzance before arriving.

Also, there are some standing stones in the next field and in the evening we had hopped over the hedge to take a look and whilst looking we had a real treat watching a barn owl circling. Staying here was worth it for that alone.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Escapers 3 reviews from this member

A proper field site, proper field camping and with this in mind facilities are basic. We don't want the all singing dancing type sites so this is ok for us for a long weekend to do some walking and stuff. The local pub and cove all within walking distance. Quiet site and oh yeah no great amount of light pollution so great for star gazing and also saw a few moving sats (no they weren't planes)! Okay for a proper camping experience with no frills. Had our dog with us and found the area outside the site dangerous for the toilet tracks! but he was free, so can't grumble!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tphb 3 reviews from this member

A quiet and basic field campsite. I like this sort of place. It would be perfect if the shower was a little better.

As a treat half way through our coastal walk we had a half day laden walk to Boleigh farm, and then an evening's walk to the Minnack Theatre. This is about 9km down the coastal path. This is great, but prepare for a couple of hours walk back in the pitch black along the roads. Take a flashing light for your safety.

Tired the next day, we took the bus from the bottom of the hill (Lamorna Turn) to Land's End to continue our walk.

Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahdares 1 review from this member

I found this site a lovely, unspoilt, natural place - a real treat for anyone who appreciates camping in real countryside rather than on an over-manicured lawn. The views are spectacular and the site's proximity to Lamorna and the coast path is ideal. The local pub is within walking distance down a beautiful river valley and its driving distance from some great beaches. We saw loads of wildlife and the subtle site lighting meant we could even see the stars at night. The owners were really friendly, helpful and pleasant. The facilities are pretty basic but clean and well managed and in keeping with the simplicity of the site.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Majik 23 3 reviews from this member

It was 2004 actually, It's the sort of site you can stay in for a night if you're in a tent. Longer than that and it's not that well equipped. It's not easy to get to and bus the stops right outside if you ask in advance. The owners are friendly and helpful, but don't really offer anything in the way of real help. Worth it for a night if only to see the maiden stones in the next field.

Reviewer: Jennykevin 5 reviews from this member

July 2005
We found the campsite via a mention in the Sunday Times and this website, which we took to be a good recommendation.

We were slightly disappointed as the loos and shower could do with some routine maintenance and the wash-up area was very poorly thought-out as there was no room to stack your dirty/washed dishes. There was very rarely any toilet paper in any of the toilets and no soap provided in the hand wash sinks. There is only one shower for the entire campsite (30 pitches), the temperature was unpredictable and the shower area needed a good clean.

Having said the above, if you had a caravan with your own facilities it is a great location for visiting West Cornwall. Not so good if you are in a tent.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4022 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019