Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gamrie Bay Cl Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Site Reviews

Gamrie Bay Cl Site
Easter Cushnie
Gamrie
Gardenstown
Banff
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB453HT
Tel: 07811595324  or  01261851475
    Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 7 Reviews
                10/10 from 7 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes (no tents) and is for Club Members only - you can usually join on arrival.

Reviews:  7 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ridgebacksontour 11 reviews from this member

What an absolutely delightful site. The owner arrived just after us armed with information leaflets for the site & surrounding area. She greeted us most warmly, apologizing for the on pitch water supply being frozen and offered to bring out the fire hose from the adjoining shed if we were in need of fresh water. Each pitch not only has it's own water supply & grey water drainage but the owners have taken it a step further - the taps are fitted with their own hoses and there is a coil of pipe available to drain grey water directly into the drain too - genius! Why do not all sites with fully serviced pitches do this, it's such a good idea. To cap it all there is free WiFi too. The whole site is immaculately clean, spick & span. What more could you want?

The local area has much to offer; Gardenstown (known locally as Gamrie) is still a working fishing village with a lovely harbour. There is a beach at the western (Seatown) end of the village - are you brave enough to drive along the sea wall which is barely wider than a car in places to get to the small car park at the end?

From the beach there is a steep, grassy climb up to the remains of St. John's Church. The ruins date back to the 16th century but there has been a church on the site for around a thousand years. From here are excellent views of the old village with it's winding, narrow paths, themselves worth investigating. There is still a thriving religious life within the village comprising of a mix of an Independent Church & several Brethren Meeting Rooms.

The local Spar is well stocked with local produce available though not licensed (nearby MacDuff has a Co-op & Spar).

When the tide is out it is possible to walk from the harbour, beneath the cliffs to the next village of Crovie. From here it is a nice stroll of a mile or so back up to the Bracoden rd and thence back into Gamrie. Also nearby is Pennan, where the iconic scene by the telephone box was filmed in 'Local Hero'. Both Crovie & Pennan have very steep approaches by road and the last couple of hundred yards should be covered on foot or bicycle-if your bike has good brakes!

There are two golf courses in nearby Banff & MacDuff plus a good variety of takeaways and restaurants. MacDuff has a good Aquarium that children of all ages will enjoy. Just around the corner is a very good wet fish shop. For birdwatchers Troup Head RSPB site is a must.

This CL is a gem of a site in an often overlooked yet beautiful corner of Scotland.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sunseeker40 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for 12 nights in mid September 2015. Had a lovely welcome from Linda on arrival, she couldn't be more helpful. Informed us of all we needed to know about the site and gave us a few leaflets on the surrounding area.

We have a 31ft motorhome and small car on trailer, 46ft in all and had no problems on the surrounding roads. Good access to the site from the road and plenty of room on our pitch for our set up. No shower/loo but fresh water/electric and grey on each pitch with the c/d and recycle bins close by, wifi available as well.

We had a great time exploring the area and had a good look round Aberdeen which is only around an hour and a half away.

Gardenstown and many of the other small villages have lovely little harbours where we just sat and watched the world go by.

A great little site in a good spot and with the hardstandings would be perfect at any time of the year.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jeannette13 1 review from this member

This was our first visit to this CL and we received a warm welcome from Linda who was very friendly and gave us a number of brochures and information on the area. The site has an open aspect overlooking rolling hills and we walked into Gardenstown which is roughly one mile away. The site is very well maintained and each pitch has its own servicing facilities and free wi fi, which is an extra bonus! The site is well situated for visiting the nearby RSPB site and other quaint villages dotted along the coast line and we were delighted to see dolphins on our last day. We would certainly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cromartyfirthlad 1 review from this member

Our first stay in this location and what a outstanding CL. We have never had a fully serviced pitch before and what a difference it made to having a relaxing time. This CL has been very well thought out with hardstandings and a large grassed area overlooking a beautiful landscaped garden and fields. The welcome pack of local leaflets is a excellent thought as is the free wi-fi. Linda and Michael could not have been more helpful. The local Spar store in Gardenstown was well stocked and long opening hours.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tuffins 4 reviews from this member

We used the site for an overnight stop.

Lovely warm welcome from Linda & Michael who run the site.

Fresh water - Grey Waste - Electrics - Available on each pitch.

Nice level pitch and very clean site.

We walked from the site into Gardenstown and had a lovely walk along the coast.

We hope to visit again sometime soon.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AlnMo 4 reviews from this member

Selected this site as a base for touring the Moray Firth area.

On arrival were met by the owners who gave us a very warm welcome to their site, informing us of what was available locally.

Site very quiet, clean and tidy, pitches have their own mains water and drainage, just what we were looking for.

We will visit again to explore more of this area.

Previous     7 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Aberdeenshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2793 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0859