Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Smytham Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Torrington > Smytham Holiday Park Reviews

Smytham Holiday Park
Smytham Manor
Little Torrington
Torrington
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX38 8PU
Tel: 01805 622110
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45
Open: 10/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 32 Reviews
                9/10 from 32 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Scilly Boy 23 reviews from this member

 'Holiday Park' sites are not our choice of site as a rule as they have a tendency to be crowded and noisy. However, for our stay that was not the case, as the site seemed largely vacant.

The static vans are kept over to one side of the site and the tourers and campers on another area. We had chosen a 'posh pitch' which is known as a fully serviced or super pitch on other sites.

It had its own water supply, electric, grey waste and tv hook-up. If you want to watch TV then you will need the hook-up. Very good sized pitch, but the circulatory road was giving the site a scruffy appearance.

The grass areas were in need of a cut. There is an amenity block which looks very new and was spotlessly clean and tidy and we were happy to use it. Good pressure in the free showers and plenty of hot water too.

We had chosen this site for the Tarka Trail specifically.

We had seen other reviews regarding access to the path which seemed mixed so we gave it a go. Access to the trail is direct, but is not easy.

You travel down a gravel path through a wooded area, across a narrow bridge, and then up a steep slope and onto the Trail. The journey on and off the site was the most difficult part of the trip.

We did not use the swimming pool, bar or games room.

The site is not a favourite for us, it served a purpose and was adequate for our needs. I don't see us returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Kit kat fox 2 reviews from this member

 Brilliant camp site. Great heated swimming pool, playground, indoor play area, on the tarka trail.

Plenty of sanitising stations and measurements in place to keep covid safe.

10/10.

16amp electric with tent pitches 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor57 68 reviews from this member

 We were keen to cycle & walk on the Tarka Trail so thought we would give this site a go. Access is directly off the A386 and there is a long driveway before you reach the reception.

Not a good start when we arrived as we were allocated a grass pitch despite our booking showing very clearly we had booked a hard standing but to be fair they quickly sorted this out. However we were in the older area of the site which was not as good as the newer part and looks a bit neglected in our view.

The site has a small swimming pool, bar, shop, playground and a games room. The sanitary block was dated but clean but struggled to cope at peak season but they are in the process of building a second one.

The new part of the site is far better than the old with excellent hard standing pitches including some with their own toilet and washing up facilities. However the new motorhome service point is one of the most poorly designed we have ever seen!

The site is set in beautiful well kept spacious grounds and handy for using the Tarka Trail but the track is a bit rough and up & down and not very well signposted so needs some updating. There are a lot of static caravans on the site but these are in two different areas so do not impact the camping sections so this is well designed.

Would we stay again? Maybe, but as motor-homers we would book a service pitch next time and they would have to improve MH service point and update the Tarka Trail access. Not a “top site” in our view but has the potential to be one. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 51 reviews from this member

 Grass pitch with electric in the walled garden; reasonable price. Nice views from were we pitched. Lots of other pitch options for tents and motorhomes. Some pitches with toilet and shower on the pitch.

Small well stocked shop selling beer and wine. Bar on site but closed when we were there.

Direct access to the Tarka Trail from the site (up and down a couple of steep banks!).

Small open air swimming pool which was a really nice addition. Clean and well maintained as were the facilities.

The majority of the site is made up of holiday park statics but they don't really intrude on the camping experience too much. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: EmmaP1504 15 reviews from this member

 The only downside to this site was we only booked two nights !

Everything about it was excellent, we had a fully serviced hard standing pitch, not too far from the toilet block which is newly built and my goodness is it luxurious.

The on site shop is in reception and quite well stocked with essentials, the laundry room was very reasonably priced but the best bit for us was the outdoor heated pool, kept very clean and central to the site our children had a wonderful time.

The games room was also a great feature for our children who are a bit big for play areas and we had lovely views across the park and the surrounding area.

Such a wonderful site in a great location, we will definitely be back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nothome 5 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit over the years. The site has completely changed with more pitches blending into the countryside. Large pitches.

Some even have their own en suite where you have your own toilet and wash up. Such luxury.

The views are amazing. Very friendly owners and very helpful. Dog friendly. Lovely town of Torrington nearby.

Cycle hire from Torrington cycle hire near the Puffing Billy cafe. Access onto the Stark’s Trail from the site but we didn’t try it. Ideally situated to explore north and south Devon 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Donz1985 2 reviews from this member

 Having been here last year and enjoyed our 7 nights so much we decided to stay for 14 in the end we returned this August for 7 nights. On arrival we discovered our pitch was on a slope under some trees and although we asked if another pitch was available they said unfortunately there was not so we put the tent up on the pitch allocated. The next day the family next to us moved pitch because of the slope and constant shade (why were we not offered this?)

The site is handy for using the Tarka Trail and is set in beautiful well kept grounds. There is lots of space for the children to play and ride their bikes. All the staff were friendly and the kids loved Meg the dog.

The children were excited to go for a swim in the site pool but were unable to use it at all because it was so cold. Last year the pool wasn't very warm but once you were in it was ok, however this year it was terrible and after chatting to other campers they said the same. As the pool was one of the reasons we chose to come back to this site we have since decided we will not be coming again. It is unusual to find a lovely well positioned quiet family site with a pool so I am quite disappointed; why not be a little less frugal with the heating.

The shower blocks are always warm and clean as were the washing up areas. Rose or gardens is within cycling distance and there are plenty of towns near by to drive to. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pennine Plodder 24 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site.

It is a delightfully well kept site. The owners are friendly and helpful. The facilities are good, the toilet/shower block is clean and heated. The touring pitches are OK, not particularly large and there was only one water tap which we were aware of for all the touring pitches as per the site map.

The grounds are lovely, however, be aware the site is set on a hillside so probably not great for some folk.

You may be wondering why I have not marked the site as high as other campers. It's a niggle and you may well say it's because you're from the north: however call me names if you wish, but I'm not thrilled about being charged extra- and a fair amount extra - for use of the broadband which is available on site. The reception for TV, phones and WiFi on this site is rubbish, you are therefore at the mercy of the proprietor. Broadband starts at £5, bet you're thinking - that's OK for a week, so would I, the £5 is for either 1hour to be used over a few days or 24 hours consecutively.

An additional cost is made for the somewhat small hairdryer in the toilet block.

This is not an inexpensive site to begin with and we were not visiting at the height of the season.

Oh just another FYI, the site is at the top of a hill, from whichever direction you come but for heavens sake DO NOT take the Umberleigh route across country if towing, the steepness caught out a Polish lorry driver, who was stuck in the bottom of the dip unable to go either forward or back. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bouncy71 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here just for one night to be close to our nieces wedding.

Very impressed with the site. Staff fantastic, shower blocks spotless, lovely little bar on site we used in the evening.

We would stay here again for sure. One of the best sites we have stayed on.

There is a pool which we did not use, but did go and have a look and looks nice. A games room with pool tables etc and a play area for children again did not use but had a look and again very impressed.

A Top campsite ! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paladin0414 1 review from this member

 I would agree with the great majority of other visitors to this site and recommend it without hesitation.

We are a retired couple and visited Smytham Manor with our daughter, son-in-law and 7 year old grand daughter who was fully occupied with site facilities and the wide open spaces provided. Great.

If you can try to book your pitch within the old walled guarded, very nice and sheltered. This area also holds the outdoor swimming pool.

The site is a short and eventful bike ride to the Tarka Trail not to be missed.

There are all the usual facilities on-site which are all maintained to a good standard.

It rained heavily during our visit but this did not affect too much from our enjoyment of this quiet rural site right on the doorstep of RHS Rosemore Gardens.

Wouldn't hesitate a return visit. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Smytham Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Smytham Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Smytham Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Smytham Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Torrington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3622 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement