Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Pondside Camping & Accommodation

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Lairg > Pondside Camping & Accommodation Reviews

Pondside Camping & Accommodation
Shepherds Croft
4 Tirryside
Lairg
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4DL
Tel: 01549 402109  or  07902 947331
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: March - November

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 22 Reviews
                10/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mike Warr 1 review from this member

Arrived to a nice welcome by Sasha & Craig who showed us the Facilities & the Camping Fields. OK to camp anywhere, plenty of room

Facilities Great, Washing Up area, 2 Toilets with Basins, Showers with Basin, covered BBQ Area, Free Wi Fi & good EE Connection, Games Room.

Used the on site Chimnea for some outdoor cooking.

We treated ourselves to the Apartment / Flat for our last night, it was very cosy & welcoming, Lounge with real fire if needed & plenty to read if weather is bad, Bath/Shower & Comfortable Beds

Great location, Great Scenic & Night Sky views, very quiet, very relaxed atmosphere, enjoyed our stay very much & would recommend this perfect little piece of Scottish Heaven.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JeanetteBol 1 review from this member

A wonderful, small campsite run by kind and thoughtful owners. The pitches give you plenty of space and this little croft has been carefully designed with a pond, covered BBQ area, and decking with chairs. The washing up and shower facilities are perfect: clean, covered and functional. The peace and quiet with stunning surroundings are my idea of camping heaven and a world away from large, noisy, impersonal caravan parks. Sacha (I so hope I get this right as my memory for names is dreadful!) was warm, exceptionally welcoming, and friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Englishsmith 1 review from this member

This site was perfect for our little old vw campervan and even more so for my wife who is not always the most enthusiastic camper. We were warmly welcomed and given us a guided tour of the site. We were able to select a lovely spot and connect to the electric hook-up with ease. The site is small but perfect for what we were looking for and also beautifully maintained. The facilities are well thought out and private and also extremely clean with lots of nice personal touches. The owners are super friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We will certainly return and next time we'll have everything crossed for better weather!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Weaselmaster 2 reviews from this member

Great little site, still a work in progress, but a work of love. Owners Sacha and Craig have created a joyful space in their field. We stayed for 4 nights whilst hillwalking nearby and found the warm welcome something special.

There are a choice of tent pitches and space for campervans. There's also a static van and a large static tent. We had visits from the hens, ducks and cats during our stay.

Facilities are basic but clean and functional - at present there's only 1 toilet and shower for the campers, although this is to be expanded soon. We didn't find this caused any problems during our stay. There's a games room, a covered eating/barbeque area with gas barbeque for those that like that kind of thing. There's also a football pitch by the house and I imagine kids would adore the experience of a few days here.

The location is convenient for the Corbetts and Grahams up Loch Shin/Loch Stack. It's only a couple of miles into Lairg where there are shops, restuarant etc. There's virtually no noise overnight and the big, big skies of the far north to enjoy.

Sacha was extremely helpful, lending my partner walking poles (as I'd forgotten to pack our own) and offering anything else we might need. A special site this one.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Battie72 1 review from this member

What a fantastic wee site! My favourite kind of place. Small but perfectly formed, with everything you could need. Nice hot shower after a day in the hills and a comfy sun lounger to snooze on while getting my tea made.

Sasha and Craig made us feel like old friends and I could happily have stayed longer.

Made use of the games room when the midges were biting but declined a shot of the trampoline, can't jeopardise the hills. Loved having the animals around, including a visit from one of the cats, made me feel at home.

Sasha even gave me the use of her walking poles when she realised I'd come without mine, my dodgy knees will be eternally grateful. If you're looking for a peaceful and friendly campsite in a great location look no further.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahr87 1 review from this member

This is a really good camp site. Sasha was a great host, we received a warm welcome, she was very friendly and helpful. We called up early evening and she was more than happy to accept us at short notice, she also went out of her way to call the local hotel to make us a restaurant reservation for that evening which we really appreciated.

The camp site is a great location, we found it lovely and peaceful. The facilities are great, not only are there shower and toilets but they also offer board games for those rainy days. Fully recommend staying at this site. Thank you - Sarah & Matt

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gilraena 1 review from this member

One of the most amazing campsites we have come across in our journey from Land's End to John O'Groats! Sasha and Craig are fantastic hosts, very hospitable (they literally saved us from wild camping when they agreed to take us on for one night, despite of the site being pretty full) and the most friendly. The campsite itself is lovely, it has everything you need (and more!) and once the new shower block is finished it will become even better!

Thank you again Sasha and Craig!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Madaboutakitas 1 review from this member

Just spent 3 weeks at this amazing Site. The couple Sasha and Craig are Amazing So helpful nothing too much trouble could not do enough for us

18 Acres of land peaceful and so quiet surrounded by Lochs Rivers and such beautiful scenery. Lairg is 2 miles away with few shops.

I highly recommend this Caravan Site it's a must stay if you are visiting Scotland. Shin Falls and Casserly Falls are a short drive away but the beaches at Dornoch and Durness are not to be missed.

Will go again to stay. Friendly family run Site

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicky Mather 1 review from this member

My husband and I were given a very warm welcome by the hosts Sasha, Craig and their children. Sasha offered us lots of useful local information including a running route for my husband and the best point of access to Loch Shin for my open water swimming. We loved the peaceful campsite with views to Loch Shin. We were surrounded by countryside and recommend this site for those wanting to get away from it all and back close to nature. For those who love animals there was the added bonus of meeting the newly arrived lambs, ducks, horse, cat and chickens who live on the site. We also enjoyed the BBQ hut and a beer in the sun loungers whilst we watched the sun set. Thew weather was so good we didn't need to use the games room but on a wet day that would have been amazing! Nearby the Pier Cafe at Lairg was excellent and only a short drive to Scourie where we were heading next along the loch with great views. We will definitely come back when next in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Logger 1 review from this member

Great little campsite, very friendly and helpful owners. Quiet location. Open views. Lots of wildlife. Stayed in static caravan, saved having to unpack tent etc, all clean and tidy, well provided with crockery and pans. Had the place to myself. Several level pitches for tents separated by pond and stream with little bridges. Showers under construction. Small, simple and unpretentious. Recommended.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lairg      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3754 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder