Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lower Pennycrocker Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Lower Pennycrocker Farm
St Juliot
Boscastle
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL35 0BY
Tel: 07967605392 01840250613
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 1st April To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jesusarmy 2 reviews from this member

Spectacular views from almost everywhere on this peaceful and spacious site. Remote countryside location down narrow Cornish lanes. It is only a few minutes walk to get on to the amazing coastal path and a short drive to Boscastle and Tintagel.

The friendly site owner Colin was non-intrusive but was around the be seen each day.

The facilities were modern and clean with free hot showers, and a covered washing up area with hot and cold water. However, the showers, although otherwise excellent, ran out of hot water on several occasions during our stay though it was back on in 5 minutes.

The small honesty shop with fresh milk, a small selection of tinned goods and essentials was a welcome touch (even though my honesty appeared to be being checked by CCTV). The shop also housed a small freezer, useful for refreezing freezer blocks.

The major downside of the spectacular views is the exposed position with little escape from the wind, which damaged our tent and destroyed others during our stay. Obviously, I can't tell how windy the weather is usually, but be prepared!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: H Family 3 reviews from this member

We stayed on a cool windy evening which showed how exposed to the wind the site is, but apart from that it was a lovely little site. We made use of the honesty shop which stocked a variety of essentials

The toilet block was also clean

Nice chilled out Cornwall site

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: EricTheRed 9 reviews from this member

This site is in a good location with good views over the sea. It is conveniently located for Boscastle, Tintagel, the coastal path and other attractions.

The manager was friendly and the price very reasonable.

The toilet/shower block was good and clean although as it is located at the corner of the site getting to it would be a bit of a trek for anyone camping on the far side of the tent field or the top of the caravan field.

Overall a good basic site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ehnie 1 review from this member

2 miles from Boscastle - We loved this site- the middle of summer and a lovely field with the most amazing views and not jam packed. Great facilities - hot showers and clean loos all stocked with plenty of loo rolls! Small honesty shop selling all the basics including milk and fresh farm eggs, all at a very modest price. Freezer available for ice packs. Buses stop at the top of the road and a path at the bottom of the site leads to the southwest coastal path. Colin is a very friendly host and we would not hesitate in returning to this campsite again and again. And at that price a bargain. A rare find.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tim501uk 1 review from this member

Camped in none electric field. Plenty of space and told to pitch where I wanted. Laid back campsite- but that doesn't mean it's noisy at night as we observed a group of lads being told to keep the noise down, which they dutifully did ! Toilet block and shower block - very clean and loads of hot water in the showers. Honesty shop with useful goods - under the watchful eye of a camera. Very friendly staff. Overall I would recommend it. Short distance to dramatic cliffs and apparently a beach but I couldn't find the steps to go down ! I will return one day. It was 7 pound per head and my dogs went free.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Matt4666 11 reviews from this member

We have used this site many times before, and have always enjoyed our stays, This time we stopped off on the way back from another site. Colin as ever is the most friendly and welcoming person you can want to meet, and is always on hand to help and assist. The new toilet block and washing up area are a real bonus, simple and functional. The showers can be a bit fierce and need a bit of fine tuning. As for this sites most specular feature it must be the amazing views over Boscatle, Tintagel and the Atlantic. The Kids enjoyed the large open grass field in front of our van to run around and let of some steam, even though there is no playground as such this serves perfectly for the children to play in. As for value for money well I don;t think I know of a site offering so much for so little cash in return. The perfect site for those on a budget wanting that all important sea view to wake up to in the morning.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Strawhat 1 review from this member

Really enjoyed our stay. Nice clean facilities, that included separate gents and ladies toilets and showers where there was always a plentiful supply of toilet paper, and the water was nice and hot. The people all had a ready smile, were really friendly, relaxed and well organised. There is a beautiful coastal path walk that went from just down the road, into Boscastle Harbour (via the Boscastle cafe - a very welcome stop-gap). If you like walking it's a great way to spend the day. For those not so much into walking, only a five minute drive to the harbour, well worth a visit. Only criticism of the campsite would be shower floors are untreated concrete (wouldn't mind tiled floor) and the hand dryer in the loo could be a bit stronger. But that's it. Otherwise great. Can't comment about child friendliness as I didn't have children with me, but those that were there looked happy enough to me.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zzeul 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here for four nights this July in a small tent. The site was surprisingly quiet so there was loads of room for us to pitch wherever we wanted in the large flat and well groomed camping field. The toilet and shower blocks are quite new, in very good condition, numerous and well kept and the showers were free. There is a small shop which operates on HONESTY. There was fresh homemade cakes and biscuits and eggs ect, freezer block facilities and a small range of provisions available

This site is a good way out from Boscastle and I don't think you would want to be walking there and back unless you were 'making a day of it'. Its a very rural setting with wonderful views to Tintagle and beyond.

I would definitely go there again, and I recommend 'The Horseshoe Inn' in the nearby village signposted from the road.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Npea 9 reviews from this member

Lovely, friendly campsite within 5 minute driving distance of Boscastle. Owners very nice and came round to collect the money the next day. Quite a large site with only one block of toilets (although plenty in the block) which means if you choose the furthest away area it does feel like your walking miles but they are clean, warm showers for free and pleasant. Site itself is a mixture of caravans and a tent field, which is flat and with lovely sea view. It was quiet whilst we were there and not particularly busy. You can walk out of the site and join the coastal path but otherwise you'll need a car to get to places. Small shop on site, with basics in if need be and a very small freezer drawer that was fine for us to re freeze our ice packs but if the site is full you won't have a hope of getting them in there. Dogs accepted for 1 a night. Lovely quiet campsite

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Landrover boy 1 review from this member

We arrived at the campsite and were advised where the best field was to pitch our tent, though he said we can go anywhere we like. We chose the little paddock off the main field which was quite sheltered. We drove down to Boscastle shop every morning for a paper and milk. The sites got great views looking down at the valley to boscastle the sea and general countryside.

Toilets were basic but clean with plenty of toilet roll though my partner didn't like not having handwash supplied.

Showers again basic but very hot water and good pressure Tho my partner didn't like them cause there's no where dry to get dressed.

Well recommended though and I will be visiting again.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


172 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!