Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Headland Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Tintagel > The Headland Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

The Headland Caravan And Camping Park
Atlantic Road
Tintagel
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL34 0DE
Tel: 01840 770239
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 60
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rueth 2 reviews from this member

The site was much better than some of the older reviews led us to believe. We had a motorhome pitch on one of the landscaped terraces. The site is run by an older man and his son, both were helpful and had a sense of humour.

We liked; ease of access for a large vehicle, proximity to the cliff path, view across the countryside, proximity to the town, small reception shop staying open all day. Ease of access to motorhome service point.

It is next to a working farm so there are animal smells which didn't bother us but might upset those unused to them. For those on the main field the view on one side is obscured by very large cattle sheds and the ground slopes. Vans would need levelling chocks. The loos were clean and in good repair and the showers a good temperature although the style is old fashioned.

We didn't like the small pitch size, a medium van and awning fill the pitch. This only applied to pitches with electric hookup. For everyone else it was pitch where you like.

Having said that the coastline is amazing and we would go back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dave53 3 reviews from this member

I have visited this site many times, the location cannot be faulted, easy access to the town, the coastal path is just a stones throw away.

I have always enjoyed my stay here no matter what the weather, campers need to be aware it can get very windy at the Headlands.

The downside is the toilet and shower block, while clean and functional, they badly need to be upgraded.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JamesPL 9 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one very wet night, just a big field with a few statics on it. There's a reasonable chip van that calls 3 times a week, not that you need it though as its right in the heart of Tintagel which has everything. Clean but slightly tired washing up, toilet and shower facilities but at £19 a night for two adults and two dogs excellent value for money.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Deba 14 reviews from this member

Although there are car parks in the village where motorhomes can park for the night we thought having electric this late in the year would be a good thing. This campsite ticks all the boxes. Excellent location, no need to use a car as shops and buses all available a stone's throw away in the village. The views are to die for and lots of walks from the campsite lead you to Arthur's castle, caves, glens, and pasty shops! Very good value at £20 per night with electric and a dog. Showers are available at 20p but we used our own, bit nippy in the morning to walk to! We loved the free wifi and good phone reception and highly recommend this campsite for it's services and location.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Foleys 2 reviews from this member

Good points: Great location with lovely views, small children's play area Not so good points: Outdated toilets. Outdated shower block - Only 1 shower block per whole campsite - 4 ladies, 4 men's and 1 unisex shower. Only 5 showers out of the possible 9 were actually working! Had to queue every morning. 20p for 5 mins, never quite knew when the water would suddenly stop! No ' FREE' wifi connection available. No doors on the dish washing block, first wash in the morning encountered a lovely collection of dead flies over the sink and draining board. Would love to see the facilities updated and another shower block would make all the difference.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Andy1100xx 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of August. Booked and paid in advance, £21 per night including hookup so not bad value.

You have to drive through the town to get to the site but there are no issues with access and the site location can't be bettered bieng only a 5 min walk in to town and great access to the wonderful walks in the area and of course the castle

Our check-in (and all subsequent interactions with the warden) was business like verging on unfriendly. We were given a pitch close to reception which appeared to be the only hard standing pitch on the site (and there seem to be very few hook up pitches altogether). Unfortunately it was in the shade of the house and lost the sun a good 2 hours before everyone else but this just seemed to be our bad luck, most other pitches seemed ok. For the two days we were there the weather was fantastic with temperatures in the mid 20's but it blew a gale both nights - do not leave your awning out!

As other reviewers have mentioned, the facilities are ok but tired and no more than adequate. Showers 20p for 5 mins. Site did have a great play area for kids however. There is a fresh water fill up point close to reception and various chemical and drinking water points spread around but there was no grey water drive over dump so a long hose is required.

Overall, not a bad site but let down by the unfriendly warden and dated facilities.

As an aside there are also two good car parks in the centre of the village that provide overnight parking for motorhomes for around £3 per night if you don't mind not having any facilities. We didn't use these as we expected them to be full given it was the height of the holiday season but there was plently of room so we would probably use these if we visited again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Devonjules 2 reviews from this member

This was our first ever family camping trip and this site didn't disappoint. When we arrived we were told we could pick our pitch and opted for the far field which was fairly quiet so we had loads of space but we were within a very short walk of the nearest loos. Facilities were good and kept well cleaned. 20p for a shower which gave a good 5 minutes blast of hot water and 20p for the hairdryer. There is a nice little play area for kids and there is a very relaxed attitude towards families, including dogs.

The location is brilliant, being right on the edge of the town and all it has to offer. And a footpath next to the site takes you on a great coastal walk up to Tintagel Castle. A great base to explore the surrounding area. Would definitely recommend and will be back.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Simbadog 12 reviews from this member

Good location close to the town & the footpaths. However, we thought that whilst clean, the toilets are very outdated & nowadays we expect better, plus there aren't enough. Pretty hemmed in with not a lot of room between pitches & they all seemed to be on grass. The advertised wifi didn't seem to work at all.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wolfwalker 1 review from this member

Nice clean dog friendly site. Gently sloping site, choose your pitch well. Showers / toilets nice and clean. Shower is 20 pence timed. Take 40p. Very handy for town, 5 mins walk. All main tourist attractions close by. Some beautiful coastal walks on the doorstep. Dog friendly pubs with good food in town. King Arthurs Arms well recommended. Only problem we encountered was courtesy of mother nature. It got very windy one night and we lost the porch ! Will still go back though.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aromass 5 reviews from this member

Very disappointed, have been here lots of times in the past and really looked forward to our visit, Booking in we were asked how big our tent was, it is a 5 meter bell tent, I was then told if the guy ropes made it more than this size we would have to pay an extra £6 a night, which we have never been asked for on any site before.

This really made no sense to us as we were paying for a flat electric pitch that was marked out and was probably about 9 meters x 9 meters. If we had been in a large motor home it would have been the same price and an extra £4 for an awning, not £6 like they wanted for our guy ropes.

Short of grabbing a few children to hold the sides of the tent I was unable to see how we could have not used the guys.

And couldn't believe they charge for showers

As a consequence of this instead of staying the 4 nights as planned we only stayed one and will not be returning but trying another 5 minutes down the coast

Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5658 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019