Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seagull Tourist Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Padstow > Seagull Tourist Park Reviews

Seagull Tourist Park
St Merryn
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8PT
Tel: 01841 520117
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 28
Open: 25th March To 30th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 31/12/2020 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 31/12/2020 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Anniliz 1 review from this member

 Site in a pretty area near to the sea, we found it rather bumpy to the lead up, large plots for vans and nicely kept, the handyman was very friendly and helpful.

We were not happy with the showers rather weak and not hot enough and a 1 is too much for what you get, the area where you dry gets wet and slippy I needed a seat, also it needs more hooks and a shelf for your bits and bobs! launderette was a bit pricey too, we only used it because the dog was sick on bed clothes!

As for the shop it is non existant as far as stock is concerned, we had to make sure we had it all before getting back from day out, lighting was not too good at night and if you forgot your loo paper it was a right pain!

For ourselves there was no walks close by, too far on foot for shops, a bit too basic and roads a bit scarey with camper as very narrow everywhere. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Clarkex2 1 review from this member

 My wife and I were badly let down after arriving at our holiday destination, a bungalow not too far away from this site. We paid over 600 to stay there for one week. We stayed not one night. It was shabby, damp and in some areas dirty. Wendy, the site owner at Seagull came to our rescue as she had one caravan available. She was helpful and friendly and gave good advice regarding our earlier problem. The caravan was so good, clean, modern and well equipped. The site itself well tended, pleasant and spacious with plenty of room for children to play. This is not a big site but for us it was just great. Susan and I are very grateful to Wendy. Thanks to her, in the end we had a very enjoyable week. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Spudley0 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site, friendly managers, Pete can't do enough for you, any problems just ask and he will try his hardest to help you out.

Lovely and quiet and not too much (apart from sweets) for the little ones to spend money on. Close to fantastic beaches, what more could you need? Nice and cheap site, you do have to pay for showers and bring your own loo roll. 10/10 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Got the tshirt 14 reviews from this member

 Very cheap and cheerful but no hot water or toilet rolls!

Shame really because this site is in a great place 2 mins from St Merryn and the famous Fryer Tucks chippy and 10 mins from Padstow!

Loads of amazing beaches nearby and stunning sunset views over the camping field!

The toilets and sinks were clean, we didn't use the showers at 1 a go, we werehed in the sea!

The temporary manager was very friendly and helped us pitchup as we are relative newbies.

There were lots of kids playing together on bikes and having water fights, they were having a blast as they should be but were all quiet by 10 and not up too early!

Would I go back? Actually yes I would for a short break, it made me smile it was a bit like Hi di hi :-) If you can imagine what camping was like in the 60's I guess this comes close. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jupiter30 1 review from this member

 We love Padstow and had 5 peaceful, happy days at Seagull. Prices have gone down so its really cheap to stay. We paid 45 for 5 nights, that's 2 adults, 2 children our touring caravan and a dog! Amazing! The shower tokens cost 1 for a good 7 mins. Toilets were spotless and the tumbler dryer and washing machine really cheap to use. My parents booked a luxury hire caravan- like new inside, infact they are thinking about buying it!

If they do then we shall leave our caravan in storage and come down more often and pay an annual fee of 550. Its very easy access for towing and although we had a bit of rain, the site stayed dry underfoot. Colin and Anita make you very welcome. Wonderful beaches, cliff walks with the wow factor. Lots to do and see. Went home refreshed and relaxed. We shall be back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Happy-caravanners 1 review from this member

 Stayed for a long weekend in a lovely new static caravan - booked it last minute and negotiated a long weekend rate.

We have a touring caravan and wanted to come down for a recce to see the area and the site but didn't want to tow it miles for a long weekend so stayed in a bit of luxury for a change. Van was very clean and smart - almost nicer than my house! All facilities included in the van so no need to use the toilet block - I did have a look around and it was clean and tidy. Also there is a washing machine and tumble dryer if you are staying longer or need to use it.

Great value in a really lovely part of Cornwall - really close to lots of golden sandy beaches with lifeguards for safe swimming. Lots of rockpools for paddling in with the children.

The caravan site is based in the middle of a farm which was a WW2 airfield; so really quiet and rural - just the noise of the skylarks chirping away!

We are thinking of leaving our touring caravan in storage here as it seems really good value.

Apart from the reception there are no other entertainment facilities on site (keeping it nice and quiet!), however there is a well-stocked Londis, pub and restaurant about 10 mins walk away.

Lots to do nearby - from cycle trails to theme parks.

We are hoping to come down again in our touring caravan for a longer stay before too long! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joro1 1 review from this member

 This is superb friendly site. My wife and I have been coming to this quiet well located site with our two children for the past 13 years and would consider it to now be at its best. It is well run under its current management and the shower blocks and toilets are immaculate.

It is well located for beaches, there are quite literally seven bays for seven days. St Merryn village offers plenty of places to eat and there are some nice shops and restaurants in Padstow.

The Royal National Life Boat Institute is worth a visit and you can watch the boat launch on Wednesday evenings.

Overall a good clean well run basic site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Niall75 8 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here a number of times and find it to be a basic but quiet and well located site.

My main criticism is with the shower block - the tokens for the showers have increased from 50p in 2008 to 1 in 2009 to a whopping 1.50 in 2010 for a trickle of water for 6 minutes! Despite being painted this year the block is also dark and full of insects and cobwebs. You have to take your own soap, towels and toilet roll. If you want to wash up you have to pay 20p for 5 minutes of hot water. No mirrors for shaving either. Ok this keeps the nightly rate down but it is an inconvenience having to find money for all of this all week.

And now the positives - quiet site as it is mainly weekend static caravans and an excellent location - surrounded by farmland with views of the sea, 5 minutes from St Merryn and shops and fish and chips and just 15 minutes from Padstow. Amazing sunsets! Go for a week and you can literally visit a different beach every day. If like us you have children pop to the campsite next door for a good play area and bar. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Don Mega 1 review from this member

 The site is set in some scenic farmland with holstien cows grazing in the fields next door

If you are a keen birdwatcher keep your eyes out for barn owls, falcons, kites, swallows, house martins and more!

There are some great old wwii pill boxes around the old airfield. (do get permission before exploring the farm area!)

The facilities are rather basic and the shop seemed almost empty to me apart from all the penny sweets and cans of fizzy drink oh and they had local farm eggs.

The toilets where clean but no toilet roll!

Or hot water in the toilet block except for the 1 six minute shower.

The site is quite small with only 60 pitches and it has gravel tracks running to the pitches the ground is very hard so bring heavy duty groundpegs

And bring a long hook up lead as the hook ups can be quite a distance from the pitch!

Overall this is a great site for a quiet time in Cornwall!

There is not a clubhouse or bar on site!

But there are on surrounding sites maribou is within walking distance and boasts a tandoori restaurant clubhouse and a small friendly bar above the tandoori. (3 min walk)

I recommend harlyn bay for a lovely beach and great rock pools. (10 min drive)

If you like fish & chips try fryer tucks in st merryn village 10/10 for taste and service

7/10 = value for money

Well worth a try but get there early to avoid the queues.

Tescos is in padstow 15min drive 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hookneye 1 review from this member

 This is a great site for peace and quiet and if you get a pitch in the field overlooking the fields looking towards the sea, its great countryside views. You have to drive down the concreted farm road for about a quarter of a mile.(it used to be a busy world war 2 air and navy training airfield, some very interesting history here.

It is a working farm now, so be aware of where you wander) Although the facilities are simple, you have plenty of toilets and showers, deep sinks and a washing machine and big tumbler dryer. You get what you pay for, quite literally. So where can you go for such a cheap pitch so near to the beaches, which are really amazing.

Its very clean, the grass is short and you are made to feel welcome. My family are third generation campers here! The best bit if it rains, its not boggy like a lot of fields. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seagull Tourist Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seagull Tourist Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Seagull Tourist Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Padstow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6304 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement