Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tregavone Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Padstow > Tregavone Farm Touring Park Reviews

Tregavone Farm Touring Park
St Merryn
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8JZ
Tel: 01841 520148
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ellie Benson 3 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site, lovely and helpful owners. Basic but very clean and everything you need. Went for one night and stayed for four, we were sad to leave. A good base for visiting Padstow which is lovely and Port Isaac which is magical ! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iggyg 5 reviews from this member

 This is our second stay at this site. Firstly the positives - This is a lovely site with an extremely large field. On a night watching the stars is just wonderful. It is very close to all the main things you would want to see in Cornwall.

The campsite is well priced and very peaceful and relaxing and safe for the children to play.

However - the showers were a real problem - lack of hot water at times. We went in several times and ran out of hot water in the middle of a shower.

The other issue is that the owner seems to want to cram everyone into a small space on his massive field! We like to spread out and have some distance between our tent and the next person but the owner was reluctant to let us do this. The field is huge and it would be great if you could spread out a little more.

Would probably stay here again as it is a lovely site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sugarbelle 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to 'Farmer John's' as the regulars call it and we had mixed feelings. On the plus side, the owners were friendly and were always around if you wanted to ask anything. There wasn't any road noise and the field was large - non hook-up pitches were generous but the hook-up ones were less so. Because of the slope by the hook-up pitches the owner positioned you a distance from the hedge, which meant you had people/cars moving both behind and in front of your pitch.

The main ladies and mens loo blocks were old and dark affairs, with one shower in the mens, and then a separate (unisex) shower outside. A second ladies only shower block with two loos and two showers was newer and brighter and much better. I only came across this by accident a day after we arrived as there is no sign and it wasn't pointed out by the owner - I thought it was just part of their outbuildings. The facilities were only just about cleanish, but on the plus side they were never 'closed for cleaning'. There is also a smaller field called the 'Meadow' which has four pitches, but close together, but at least it is sheltered as the main field is quite exposed when windy.

There is no shop, and there were always queues for the washing-up sinks (one washing-up sink and another sink in the laundy room). The laundry room contained sink, iron and ironing board, hairdryer and spin dryer (all coin-slot), there is no washing machine.

The field was not as well-maintained as some sites, with very long grass and breeze blocks left in the grass to mark pitches were a hazard for cars. We paid 20 a night for the 3 of us and caravan, it is one of those sites though where the extras add up - extra for an awning, extra for gazebo, etc.

We found this site well positioned though, only a few minutes to beaches, Padstow, supermarket, etc. , but didn't tick enough boxes to make us want to go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Super7tc 1 review from this member

 Unspoiled peace. John and Ethel are so friendly and helpful from arrival to departure. The hook ups are on a very gentle slope but hardly noticeable.

With free showers, hot water, decent facilities, helpful hosts and the sound of animals instead of cars, takes you back to before camping sites became commercialised money makers using every square inch of grass.

We were invited to roam and walk around the farm to view the valley scenes and if lucky some wildlife.

A short drive and the village has most of what you may need on a break, and I can highly recommend the 'Farmers Arms' for the real ale and carvery.

If you want peace and tranquillity and not the club/ pub/ entertainment side of a holiday then try this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spencer-willacy 1 review from this member

 I promised Farmer John I'd let everyone know on here that hot showers are now included in the price.

No sea view but that doesn't mean it didn't have lovely country views.

This is a lovely spacious site and very dog friendly.

Very clean toilets and showers and very friendly owners.

This site is very close to the centre of Padstow where you can get the ferry to Rock. We also visited Port Isaac where Doc Martin was filmed and then went on to Boscastle.

We stayed for 2 nights as we only live in Exeter.

We'll return again soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suenmike 2 reviews from this member

 This will be the 15th successive year we have visited Tregavone.

Although it is a farm site, it is well looked after and Farmer John ensures you pitch your caravan to get the best sun. Unless you go in school holidays, the site is fairly quiet. Even in school holidays, the children are so busy playing football or cricket, there is no noise and most children are out all day on the beach.

The toilets and showers are fine and eggs can be obtained from the farm which also does B&B. The site at St Merryn, a most convenient spot for '7 bays for 7 days'.

It has caravans and tents but unless you want a hook-up for your tent, the tents are in a different area. Any extraneous noise is dealt with but John likes everyone to have a good time.

There is a good Tesco in Padstow and a splendid fish and chip shop at St Merryn 'Friar Tucks' but you do need to go by car.

I can't imagine ever wanting to go to another site in Padstow. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: VR73 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Tregavone Farm and we plan to go again next year.

The site is lovely and quiet, set in wonderful countryside. It has electric hook ups and elsan disposal points but apart from that it's just a field which is just the way we like it. The showers and toilets are basic but nice and clean. The owners are friendly and helpful. It's only a 5 minute drive to the glorious Constantine Bay which is brilliant for surfing and body boarding and only the same again into Padstow itself.

I would recommend this site to anyone who wants a quiet, relaxing holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JAT22 1 review from this member

 We arrived at the site after a long journey and were made very welcome by farmer John and his wife, shown where to pitch and where toilets / showers etc were.
A mix of tourer caravans, tents, trailer tents and motorhomes all pitched with more than ample space. Although it was August and I expected it to be busy I didn't have to queue for showers or toilets once, but my husband and sons sometimes had to wait for a shower but only 5 minutes. The boys could have a shower for 10p/20p but for the girls if you've got long hair and want to condition it definitely 30p! water hot and showers and toilets always clean. There's a big trough to rinse wet suits out which is very handy.
Very peaceful site, no play area or anything like that, but lots of space for kids to play with balls or kites etc. Trevone beach we found the nicest, a nice clean family beach with no dogs allowed, rock pools to explore and body boarding and skim boards very popular its 3/4 mile away with an excellent beach shop and toilets, 3.50 to park all day, didn't mind having to pay to park as campsite fees are very reasonable.
Tesco 5 minutes away in Padstow, and village shops, pub and takeaways in St. Merryn a bit to far to walk and not a very good road especially with children. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dudezoom 1 review from this member

 Have been visiting this site for the last 10yrs or so. After registering with Ethel, John shows you to your pitch on his quad. The site is a large field with modest facilities. For the surfers amongst us when the winds right you can hear the sea and the waves crashing on the beaches. St Merryn has shops, fish and chips, two pubs, Waves restaurant and take away pizza and chinese. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nellanoo 2 reviews from this member

 As mentioned before by the other reviewers, a family run camp site with basic facilities.

We were met by Farmer John on his quad bike which both of my children thought was just fantastic!

The cost of pitches was so minimal I didn't object to paying 20p to wash up and 40p for a shower. All the facilities were clean. There was a communal freezer where you can store your ice blocks. We didn't enquire about the option of a hook up.

This site is close to beaches and Padstow, although the use of a car essential, a bike would be the bare minimum!

For the price and the friendliness of the farmer we were really happy. More like old school camping! 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tregavone Farm Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tregavone Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tregavone Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Padstow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2763 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement