Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Des Conches

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > Damvix > Camping Des Conches > Reviews

Camping Des Conches
Route Du Grand Port
Damvix
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
0033 85420
Tel: 02 51 87 17 06
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 89
Open: 01/04/2024 to 15/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 9 Reviews
                10/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kelper 93 reviews from this member

 Third time I have been here.

It just got better:

A fantastic new swimming pool. Fully covered. With lovely surrounding lounger area, and extended children's play area.

The bar/snack terrace has extended its fare a little, though still fairly basic. But pression is available!

This year I had the pitch adjacent to the gate that opens directly onto one of the canals. So no distance to put the kayak in and out!

Everything else has been said before. By me and others.

The only big disappointment this year is the Marais itself. Well, certainly this area. The water level is not far short of a metre down on its usual height. Leaving large muddy 'beaches' in many places, and lots of un-navigable waterways.

The rivers and large canals are OK, but so much of the joy of this area is the lacework of smaller canals and waterways for exploring. Many are dry of so shallow that paddling is more like punting, and grounding is frequent. I do hope they can sort this problem. They have extensive water control systems in the area.

Biking, of course, remains unaltered. And marvellous. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Oxter 80 reviews from this member

 If you read previous reviews by Kelper and others as well as myself, you’ll get the vibes that this is a great site. Reasonably priced at €16 pn

Same as ever but the pool is superb and bouncy castle and play park great for kids.

Nice baker in village and choice of supermarkets within a few km 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kelper 93 reviews from this member

 Returning to a favourite site in the exceptional Marais de Poitevin area.

I'll not repeat information I submitted in my 2017 review, as it all remains relevant.

The site remains, essentially, the same. And is very well maintained. Some of the hottest showers on the planet!. Though you can vary the temperature. There is loo paper provided before entering your cubicle (I'm sure this is a wasteful concept as you're almost certain to take more than you need, just in case!).

Been camping in this area for over ten years now. It always rounds off the holiday in a perfect way (we store the caravan not too far away).

Still recommending this site. A lot! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: LesleyMA 21 reviews from this member

 We loved this campsite. Previous reviewers have already given excellent information on the site facilities and local amenities so I won't cover them in my review. Some extra things that pleased us were:

The inexhaustibly cheerful and helpful site managers, always ready with a joke and a laugh.

The wonderful atmosphere provided by the French families of all ages enjoying camping holidays. The French were by far the majority here with a scattering from other European countries. Very few campers came just for an overnight stop.

On-site bike hire. We rented 2 bikes for 24 hours at 12 euro each. We took them from late afternoon so that we could have a practice run in the evening before striking out on a longer route the next morning. Buy a cycle map from the Arcais tourist office to stop you getting lost in the shady network of canal towpaths and off-road tracks. Remember insect repellent.

The circular swimming pool for cooling off - too shallow to swim much.

The ice-cold drinking water tap for filling up bottles.

Chips from the campsite or a gourmet meal at the Marais restaurant in the town, depending on mood.

And just being in a beautiful, quiet part of France. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kelper 93 reviews from this member

 Continuing our use of several campsites throughout the Marais Poitevin, this one has to rank near the top.

A wide variety of pitches, varying in size from good to very large, and from very shaded to quite open, this site is well laid out and good value for money.

The sanitaires are well maintained. As mentioned below. And two new disabled 'rooms' have recently been added, and are very well equipped.

The water-filling/drainage area (for MH's) also has a tyre pressure inflator!

There is a TV tent, small pizza/drinks area, modern small pool, excellent boules pitches, a ping pong table and BBQ facilities with undercover tables and benches.

There is direct access to one of the 'canals' if you have your own boat, which is an added attraction for us.

Within walking distances (100m) of the attractive village of Damvix, which has bars, restaurants and a few shops, plus boat hire and the starting point for a large motorised floating restaurant that offers gourmet cruises (three and a half hours) with commentary, on the river Sevre.

Supermarkets are available within 5-7 kms.

Cycle tracks link uo with the huge Marais network. Maps are available from the local tourist office at Arcais (5 kms), as is a map of the canal system. Indispensable when boating. All major canals are signposted so that you do not get lost in the maze of waterways.

Apart from the many delightful Marais villages and their picture postcard potential for photographers. It's not far to La Rochelle for a day trip. Likewise, Niort and Poitiers are within range. As is Puy du Fou.

This is a fabulous and picturesque area, unlike any other in France. For bikers/boaters it is a paradise. We return almost annually. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Plantpat 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely, welcoming site. Originally planned to stay a week or so, but ended up over two weeks in both heatwave and wet and windy conditions. Not many Brits on site, but those who want to mix can join in with the weekly Thursday bring your own BBQ with music and singing after!

Facilities very clean and well kept, with plenty of adjustable hot water in the showers.

Good dog walking, bike riding and a selection of restaurants in the small town. Fresh bread from the local baker just over the bridge from the site.

We will most certainly be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oxter 80 reviews from this member

 I see I am the last member to review this site two years ago, and as promised we have returned, mainly because France is in the middle of a heatwave and in this area there are plenty of wooded tracks for walking and cycling and it's possible to get out of the intense heat for a while.

Facilities as before but site now covered by wifi of decent standard. 10mb download during the day but drops to 2/3 at night due to use by campers. Upload is poor so go easy on photos and videos. Still €12 per device for a week

One almost unique feature is a tap which delivers ice cold water from a refrigeration unit below. Very welcome in the current temperatures

Site is in the ACSI Camping Card Scheme 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oxter 80 reviews from this member

 Butterflies has written an excellent review and there is not much I can add. It certainly is a typically French site but well maintained pitches with small and large hedge divisions.

Good pool which was a perfect temperature in June. Wifi on site which we received on our pitch cost €3 per day or €12 per week. Around 3mb download so not bad at all and I'd say worth the money if you like to keep in touch or surf for information on the area.

The Marais Poitevin is a marsh area reclaimed so it is dead flat and the tracks and lanes for walking and cycling are everywhere - a €1 map will lead you to easy to follow (mainly) off road cycle ways leading to charming villages around the whole area.

Lots of alternative sites in the area if you want to vary your walking or cycling. Definitely on our agenda for a return visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Butterflies 60 reviews from this member

 We had selected this site before we left home because in was situated in the Marais Poitevin, and for us it turned out to be a good choice. The site itself is situated near the banks of the river where there are boats for hire, and there are paths suitable for cycling and walking in the area.

The whole area is very picturesque. From the campsite a short walk over the bridge takes you into the small town of Damvix, which has a boulanger, boucherie and a small Casino (Spar type shop), one of our days there, there were a few market stalls selling veg etc. These shops look like they are well used by the locals and very useful for us not having to find a supermarket.

There are also a few restaurants/bars. We didn’t find a tourist information at Damvix, but there is one in the nearby town of Arcais (along the road, or cycle through the back lanes 5km).

The campsite itself is kept clean and the owners are very nice, I think they speak a little English, but this is a very French site, ourselves along with another English couple were the only non-French at the site. This site is a great find, tucked away in a non-touristy part of France.

You will need to take loo roll to the toilets, and womens & mens facilities are not separate as is usual in France, and everything is very clean. There is plenty of hot water here, and a good area for washing up, there are also laundry facilities. What I particularly like about the showers is that there is a small sink in each one, and the water temperature is adjustable.

There is also a top-up and dump area for campervans. There is some seating near the reception area, and they serve, coffee, chips etc. There is also a small heated pool with a few loungers. This is a site we would definitely return to. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Des Conches child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Des Conches have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Des Conches?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Des Conches dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Damvix      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


51735 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement