Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Harlyn Sands Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Padstow > Harlyn Sands Holiday Park Reviews

Harlyn Sands Holiday Park
Lighthouse Road
Trevose Head
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8SQ
Tel: 01841 520720
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 61 Reviews
                7/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Debsg4 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed the site and the area. The site is a five minute walk to the beach which is clean.

The site was clean and toilet block checked and cleaned regularly.

Only issue was the 20p for 3 minute shower with 40p being a maximum and also the showers were dirty after people came from the beach so it would have been handy to have some cleaning equipment at the showers so people could clean up after themselves. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Suepr2 1 review from this member

 Clean, very COVID aware. Efficient staff. We had a problem finding our pitch as they weren’t marked out very well, but hey, if that’s you’re biggest problem on a camping holiday then you’re doing ok.

Small walk to the beach although may be a difficult uphill walk back for some. It is a gentle slope and you’re on holiday so take your time 👍. Large flat pitch and a very reasonable Price.

A smashing park for the little ones. We’ll be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Angela 1 review from this member

 Caravan was fab! Thought the children’s play area! Needed a good tidy up grass mowed ! Better and reception area needs a paint up looked scruffy on arrival !

Everything else was good 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 31+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BAZ0083 1 review from this member

 We were looking forward to our stay but unfortunately with the covid-19 the trip was cancelled. Looking forward on our future trip if we're to survive this dreadful virus. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kellyrad 1 review from this member

 We have recently returned from our 3rd visit to Harlyn Sands. We spent two weeks on the Beachfield, which does not have any facilities, this is not an issue as we have our own toilet. The views from the beachfield are fabulous and this makes up for the short walk to the sites main facilities. Swimming pool, showers etc.

This year the cleanliness of the site had vastly improved, the toilets were always spotless and the staff seemed more enthusiastic towards their jobs.

The prices for this site are excellent, when you consider that you can walk to the beach in 5 mins. Other sites which may be slightly more polished charge over £30 per night for the same type of locations and facilities.

We will be returning again next year for another two weeks. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sv246 22 reviews from this member

 An average site for an average price.

Good points, short walk to the beach, bar prices good, kids entertainment and play areas good. Didn't try the food or the pool ( extra money).

Bad points. Pitches seem to be taken over by groups who think they own the place, music blaring from dawn to dusk, complaining to staff didn't sort it out. Only 10 showers for at our reckoning 140 pitches so long queues in an evening. The pre mentioned toilet paper issues. Not the cleanest or tidiest site.

BUT would go back and go in the beach field with only ehu and taps as its a lot cheaper and much bigger pitches.

But the greatest problem but far is when you arrive, the site and surrounding areas are of the single track variety and there traffic management system is woeful. People unhitching and pushing into fields and utter carnage that could be made easier with some instructions when booking. Follow a map and approach through the golf club. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: VDub Dilly 3 reviews from this member

 I stayed on this site many years ago when my now 26-year-old daughter was just 8 or 9 - so I thought I knew what to expect. I knew the location of the site was absolutely fabulous, beautiful scenery and a lovely short walk down to the most marvellous Harlyn Beach.

The pitches themselves are flat and with enough space (provided you don't have a mahoosive van or tent!) with an electric hook-up included in the price of the pitch - again, the price of the pitch was very reasonable (considering it was the Easter hols!)

If you have children there is a lovely, safe park for them to play in (much updated since our previous visit!) and there seems to be lots of entertainment (including an Easter Egg hunt on the Easter Sunday we were there). I understand the food/drink in the clubhouse is reasonable - we didn't use it because we have a dog.

Small shop, adequate for basic stuff (like milk, bread and cider - haha) and seemed to keep good hours.

Indoor swimming pool - looked like fun.

The staff we met were extremely pleasant and helpful, from the reception to the shop to the handyman!

The downsides are these:

Toilets - old and shabby with communal toilet roll dispensers (very frustrating if you rush in and forget to get any!)

Showers - even older and shabbier - also no curtain to keep the dry part dry (I went in one but it was so soaking wet I couldn't use it as I couldn't put my dry stuff anywhere)

It's a dog friendly site (hurray!) but unfortunately, there seemed to be only one dog waste bin (on the path down to the beach)

Taps/standpipes for water seemed very sparse and some of them didn't work.

All in all however, I would recommend it for its fantastic location, reasonable prices and if you are a family, with children, plenty to keep the little ones amused. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyns 26 reviews from this member

 This was well priced for a the school holidays but the site leaves a lot to be desired. The Beach field has no toilets, bins or washing facilities. While we were there it was strewn with litter including a sanitary towel and glass bottles. The facilities are very tired, not particularly clean and insufficient for the numbers of people staying, resulting in frequent queues for toilets and showers in the mornings. Bizarrely, toilet paper dispensers are located outside the toilet block and you have to take in what you need! With toilets being a 5 minute walk from the Beach Field, you would be well advised to take a camp toilet if you have one.

The showers cost 20p for 3 minutes which is inconvenient as the coin box is outside the cubicle and a bit of a cheek given the poor condition of them.

The entertainment was pretty good and the kids were happy, with staff even joining guests on the beach for sandcastle competitions and crab races on one day.

The Pool is OK, but you do have to pay extra for that. There is a water slide that they open up for 10 minutes every hour if they have staff available with a shallow and a deeper pool. It is however a bit grubby with names scratched into the scum in one area. The lights were not working in the changing rooms during our visit and there were no showers, but it looks like they are in the process of installing some new ones.

You can however, forgive the site for some of it's failings given the location. Camping in the Beach field you are only 2 or 3 mins walk from the beach, which is a great beach, reasonably sheltered and felt safe. You are also within walking distance of a Lifeboat station, Lighthouse, a great coastal path and some other nice bays.

Overall the facilities are tired, a bit grubby, insufficient and there seems to be an approach of make do and mend. There are better beach side sites, but for the price and allowing for the location you can look past some of these failings. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LissyJo 2 reviews from this member

 The positives about this site are the great location, all amenities on site that you could need, the fact they are happy to accept just the odd night or a discount for 2 rather than the standard 3 or more during school holiday, very reasonable price and if you're into night time entertainment there is plenty on offer.

The negatives, going during peak season we were in the overflow field. We were shown to our plot by a very helpful man on a bike as it wasn't clearly marked out. Asking for electric hook up when booking we found that the one nearest our pitch was completely used up by other campers. I had to fetch a warden to ask advice. He was great at sorting it all out for us. It seemed those with very long extensions were using ours! I plugged in only to find half an hour later someone trying to take it out as they couldn't find a spare electric hook up for their pitch! The view from the pitch is fantastic but the pitch was cramped. We used our old tent that had seen better days and we were slotted between a caravan with a gazebo and a very large tent. We struggled to get our tent pegged properly with the limited room and at night time with no lights in the field a torch was essential because of trip hazards! I doubt very much that our new tent & porch would've fitted into the same plot. The shower/toilet facilities were rather a trek. A case of thinking you need to go at least half an hour before you do in case of queues and it was only after the 3rd visit we discovered the toilet roll on a dispenser on the door! The showers seemed a bit dated and my children weren't keen.

The pitch was on a slope but not too bad, water taps were at the end of each row of tightly packed tents and not too far to carry. The bonus of being in the overflow field is that you're closer to the path down to the beach which is just minutes away.

We didn't make use of any of the extras on offer such as the swimming facilities as that was extra cost.

Would we visit again? I suspect we would, although I would attempt to get a slightly better pitch next time if possible as those nearer the hedge at the top seemed to have more room. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marcusopp 36 reviews from this member

 You can't beat the location. Numerous perfect beaches within walking distance and spectacular views en route.

We stayed on one of the permanent pitches, which was flat and a decent size. Some of the other reviews state sloping pitches, this is just in the overflow field. The pitch fee includes electricity, which we don't use.

The facilities are clean and look nice, although the layout is a bit weird with no showers in the gender specific blocks (just toilets and basins) and ten showers in the laundry/ washing up block.

Showers are 20p for a few minutes, which is only just enough and the water was a bit too hot (no adjustment available).

The bar was typical holiday park, with cheesy DJ's and loads of stuff for kids. Food and booze was reasonably priced. Swimming pool is great, but only required if the weather isn't good.

Shop has the basics, more in St Merryn and more still in Padstow. We cycled through the other local sites, and this appears the best of the three (others are sloping). 


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Harlyn Sands Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Harlyn Sands Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Harlyn Sands Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Harlyn Sands Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Padstow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3918 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement