Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Colemere Caravan Park And Glamping And Camping Pods

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Ellesmere > Colemere Caravan Park And Glamping And Camping Pods Reviews

Colemere Caravan Park And Glamping And Camping Pods
The Birches
Mill Lane
Colemere
Ellesmere
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY12 0QL
Tel: 01939 272999  or  07947 827585
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Juanita hughes 1 review from this member

 Love this place. Peaceful, clean, friendly. Dogs welcome.

Right next to the woods and lake.

Lovely owners and nice little communal area for get together and drinks.

Oswestry town just a short drive away.

Been twice and definitely will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Apurned 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, and so friendly/helpful owners.

The site was clean and the toilet facilities regularly cleaned with hand sanitiser available.

The pitches are well speed, so social distancing no problem.

Enjoyed the local walking, even if the weather was unseasonably wet 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Frankcamper 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, owners Dave and Ingrid are really nice,

Facilities are very good, showers and toilets are very clean, covered communal kitchen area with fridge, microwave, toaster and two kettles, also large flat screen TV, big tables to sit around,

Pond area landscaped with hot tub, excellent value for money,

Will definitely return and will recommend this site to others, as it's good location allows you to explore local area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fyldefemale 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely area but its easy to miss the entrance to this site down the winding lane. There are 2 fields - 1 with EHU, a small gypsy caravan, a cute shepherds hut a couple of pods and room for a few tents.

The other field is not level all over so the first to arrive get the best pitches. All the necessary facilities are present but need sprucing up. The communal kitchen and eating area with piped music is a nice touch. But the electric appliances are piled up on the draining board fed by a scary looking extension hanging precariously on the edge of the worktop.

The ladies toilet is adequate in size but lacking in detail eg no soap dispenser, only a grubby towel slung over a door next to the sink and no hairdryer. The men's toilet is not practical as there is only one of everything all in the same room making for queues. Portaloos in the first camping field smelt terrible when we were there.

Also the chemical toilet emptying pit was disgusting with no water for rinsing as it had been diverted to to the portaloos. It was obviously a popular site with a constant flow of campers. But there appeared to be no rules and dogs wandered freely and fires were lit late at night dangerously close to other tents.

The owner was a nice enough guy but too laid back to supervise. Lots of dragonflies and birds for those who like nature. A walk round the Mere is a must. But would not return unless facilities improved. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Jadring 1 review from this member

 The owner was friendly and the site was clean. The toilet block was clean and well looked after.

There was a little area with kettle, toaster, fridge etc which was also clean.

We stayed in the bow top gypsy caravan which was smaller than I thought it would be but again was clean and adequate for our needs with a TV. The caravan was situated next to a wildlife part of the garden where we saw rabbits, birds, butterflies and dragonfly, I also heard an owl hooting in the night, brilliant. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hmv4u 39 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at this adult site. Its situated along single track lanes which I found a bit nerve wracking towing a caravan especially leaving, as the thought of meeting another coming the opposite way was daunting but all was well.

The site has 2 pods and a horse drawn Gypsy caravan, all of which were occupied, there were 4 caravans and a number of tent's in the 2 fields, apart from some noisy dogs and the odd airplane it was quiet, the facilities are basic but work ok and the music playing in the pot washing area is a nice touch (and very low volume).

The main field slopes gently down, the grass was cut short although the perimeter not so much, there is a sty at the bottom over which you get to the mere, you can walk the well trodden path, and it seems well used although my wife found it a bit spooky in the late evening.

We went into Ellesmere and Oswestry both nice little places to visit.

Constructive criticism wise - I found the elsan point overgrown with thistles -they need cutting back and a little bit better sign at the entrance as you don't want to miss it on those single track lanes. 


Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: WENDY09 18 reviews from this member

 We visited this campsite at the end of November, it was our first time in a pod (we have a tent)so not sure what to expect.

We were greeted by the owner who explained about the site and showed us to the pod. He had put us another little heater in there as it was very cold, but we didn't need it the pod was very warm even during the night, in fact too warm for me but other half liked it.

There was a sofa bed to sleep 2 adults, but the centre join was a pain and it was very narrow so for our second night my other half slept on the bean bag bed, again meant for 2 adults but to be honest both beds were only really suitable for 1 adult. As was the size of the pod only large enough to accommodate 2 adults not 4. Yes you could say you spend more time out and about but you have to sleep in there with all your bags and what not, it just isn't big enough. We did mention this this to the owner, who understandably said he is trying to recoup some of his outlay.

We also lost our T. V signal many times and could only ever get 2 channels, as we don't usually have a TV when camping but due to time of season and location this was supposed to be a bonus, the owner told us that when he had the ariels fitted, he was told they both worked, and he checked the other pod and yes that one did work, but not ours!

The shower facilities are a little strange, the only wash basin (ladies washroom)is directly in front of the entrance door, so as you are cleaning your teeth and someone wants to come into the washroom you are exposed to the field and have to move away from the basin to allow other campers to enter, then move again to allow them to go into the toilets, which are directly behind the basin, not very practical at all and annoying!

The gents washroom I am told is more like a shed with a corrugated plastic roof.

The kitchen is very useful and we used it many times, as did the other campers on site, we know this because they left their dirty dishes in the sink. Only gripe hear was the load music blaring out 24/7, don't get that.

There are some lovely walks around the mere, and we tried to walk into Ellesmere but after a an hour plus, along the tow path with still about 30 mins to reach the town we turned back.

Ellesmere is a lovely little place and while we were there it was their Christmas Wonderland night when they turned on the Christmas lights and Father Christmas visited, the locals are friendly.

Further afield is Oswestry, a bigger town with great restaurants, pubs and shops.

I booked this pod, as I have many campsites from reviews on this website, so I feel I have to say how the experience was for us. Its a new site that needs some rethinking and perhaps if the owners use the facilities as we campers do, it will highlight areas for improvement. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JennyJH 5 reviews from this member

 Dave and Ingrid were the perfect hosts - we booked very last minute with an email enquiry and Dave called back the same day and squeezed us in. From the minute we arrived, he was warm and friendly, providing a map of the local area and ideas of things to do and see. He was always about on site should we have need to talk to him and Ingrid juggled her work outside with keeping the site nice and clean. We were situated on the edge of the lake, which was perfect for cycling around.

If adventurous, we could have also walked to Ellesmere along the canal. We had foolishly forgotten our electrical adaptor, but Dave loaned us a brand new one, still in it's bag. He also invited us for drinks on the Saturday night, in the very useful kitchen/dining area, along with his own guests and friends which was extremely kind of him. The ladies' facilities were great - a nice thought to have a bath mat as many campsites have you standing on a cold wet floor to dry off following a shower.

They were kept clean, tidy and well-stocked. As mentioned previously, the kitchen area was well-made and included a communal 'fridge which was useful for milk kept in a hot tent! The pitch was well-mown and no clippings in sight. There are also braziers for rental should campers wish to sit outdoors at night. Overall a lovely find and we would definitely recommend this site and hope to return again one day. Thank you Dave and Ingrid for your hospitality!

(My rating for child-friendliness reflects the fact that this site is advertised as an Adults-only site, which we were extremely pleased with) 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shareena01 1 review from this member

 Just spent three nights at this adorable campsite with friends. Owners Dave and Ingram very welcoming and nothing too much trouble. Showers block well equipped and lovely hot free showers.

Kitchen area abundant with everything you need including fridge tea and coffee facilities and large seating area with barbecues available. Although a small site plenty of space to enjoy the idyllic peaceful surroundings.

We walked along the canal to Ellesmere where there were plenty of narrow boats and ducks for company. As avid canoes all agreed this is a great site to pitch. We will definitely be returning. Denise, Jenny, Julius and Kerry 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: KARAMAC 10 reviews from this member

 Had to return to this beautiful place after being one of the first campers through the gates last year when it opened and as I expected it was still as peaceful and pretty as it was.

The welcome from owners Dave and ingrid was sincere as usual this time we decided to try one of their pods which was very nicely finished with heaters, lights, leather sofa, double mattress bed, bin, mirror candles and even a tv for the football.

Our friends booked the one next to us we had fantastic warm weather

Another beautiful walk to welshampton to the sun inn pub for a few drinks,

A nice night in the campers kitchen with food and drink,

As before toilets and showers were spotless friendly campers from our neck of the woods in the same field was a nice surprise too

All in all another great visit and we will return again soon even our dogs love this place. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Colemere Caravan Park And Glamping And Camping Pods child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Colemere Caravan Park And Glamping And Camping Pods?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Colemere Caravan Park And Glamping And Camping Pods dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ellesmere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3189 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements