Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Summer Valley Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (West) > Truro > Summer Valley Touring Park > Reviews

Summer Valley Touring Park
Shortlanesand
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR4 9DW
Tel: 07933 212643
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2024 to 29/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paull5 1 review from this member

 This site is brilliantly situated giving access either north or south coast.

We were there before it got busy and with less than 20 pitches occupied the site was very quiet.

The thing that lets this site down if it gets busy is the single facilities block with 3 men's and 3 ladies showers and a limited number of toilets.

We will be going again, probably out of season again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Sambw2 2 reviews from this member

 I’m not sure where to start with my review as there are some positives but most definitely more negatives. I try to be fair when reviewing anywhere so I’ll be as constructive as possible. Firstly, we have done a fair bit of camping in lots of different areas across the south coast and southwest. This was our first visit to Summer Valley.

The positives…

A very central location for touring all areas of Cornwall. We were no more than 45 mins from most places we wanted to see, which was great.

The shower block had a constant supply of hot water and the showers worked well. Also a good supply of toilet roll!

We also like the washing up area as it was spacious and clean.

The owners were friendly and helpful, particularly with sorting out power to our tent and campervan.

The negatives…

Upon arrival, Claire told us the number of our pitch and even walked us down to it (as I wanted to make sure we had understood correctly). Once at our pitch, Claire seemed confused as to exactly where we should pitch but told us to leave two pitches behind us and one in front, which we duly did and pitched up.

An hour or so later Chris turned up and told us we were too far down and did we want to move!? We politely declined since a 6 man family canvas tent takes a lot of work to pitch and to his credit, he was very apologetic.

However, we then had a tent pitch right in front of our doorway, leaving no view and to be honest was probably way too close for fire regs. Chris said that the pitch behind us wasn’t being sold and that Claire had misunderstood so we could park our camper there and make up for the lack of space to the front of the tent.

Later in the week a family turned up behind us…looking confused…they had also been given vague instructions by Claire about where to pitch so we told them where the spare pitch was and that a gap was being left unsold. So all fine…. Until…….

We came back to the site one day to find a tent pitched in the ‘unsold’ pitch where we had been told to put our campervan! The family had been booked onto the wrong pitch by Chris so he had to squeeze them in between us.

Chris did come over and personally apologise for the mess up and by then we were used to being so close to other tents anyway. The point is it’s not how we had envisaged our week to be and the result was it was not relaxing as we had planned. We have stayed on busy, family sites which are laid out accordingly, so that each tent has space and more importantly are clearly marked out and managed well.

In addition we struggled with the amount of kids running around, in between tents, over guy lines, which I know is down to the parents but I’ve never known a site like it. Maybe too small to welcome lots of families…?

We also struggled with loud groups in the evening. One group were loud for several evenings and well past 1am but we put up with it…. Then a new group arrived at the lower end of the site, who had no regard for other campers and who were clearly annoying others as well as us.

I saw little attempt by the owners to check that campers were adhering to the ‘quiet by 10 (or was it 10. 30??) that’s printed on the welcome paperwork. I had to call the owner at 11pm to let them know that the group were making no signs whatsoever of quietening down so he happily agreed to walk down and speak with them.

We have been to plenty of sites where this issue doesn’t arise as the owners are on it…. As they should be.

My last tiny gripe is that the toilet block needs some updating, it’s an old fashioned layout with one shower blocked off between the mens and ladies showers (for covid? but caused a queue by 10am), door locks that need replacing and old fashioned shower curtains.

The entire block closed for two hours a day, leaving nowhere to go to the toilet. Hopefully a new block of loos can be added at some stage to allow for cleaning of the main block?

All in all we loved the area, thought the on site animals and bar a nice touch but so much needs improving in terms of management. I wish you luck in the future with this. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Hapcaravan 2 reviews from this member

 Loved our stay on this very friendly site.

Owners are always on hand if you need help.

Facilities are kept very clean small shop with a few goods to buy. Will be visiting again in July.

Large pitches and kept well.

Lovely to see rabbits and chickens on site. A hidden gem. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cody Marsden 4 reviews from this member

 What a lovely friendly site

Very clean and owners were very welcoming

Location is perfect to go and see all of the amazing cornish beaches

Toilets and showers were immaculate, very clean and tidy

Pitches where incredible decent size

Will definitely be returning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 17 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mallyj 1 review from this member

 Fabulous site. clean and well kept

Great location for visiting a lot of Cornwall

Kate and her team are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area

Very spacious pitchers 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Romer 1 review from this member

 Stayed late July early August.

Like other reviews, you cannot fault the owners, they were very friendly and would bend over backwards to help.

Didn't matter what time of day or night the facilities block was used, either the owners or wardens seemed to be in there cleaning or attending to something - pretty much spotless most of the time.

Have marked them down slightly as the on-site shop is only open twice a day for short periods only and the children's play area "closes" quite early.

However having said how good the owners and facilities were, we won't be staying here again. The photos don't show how much of a slope the site is on. Our pitch was sloping in two directions making it impossible to pitch the tent in the correct orientation for sleeping. I have now had my worst nights under canvas - very difficult trying to sleep whilst not rolling along the tent.

A shame really otherwise it might have nudged closer to full marks. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stutz 1 review from this member

 Don't know how this site has got 4 stars --- it deserves a minimum of 7 !

From the moment we arrived, and were shown around the facilities and toilets ( which were that clean and sparkling, you could eat you breakfast in there) we were treated as old friends and not paying guests.

Kate and Phil could not do enough for us and two nicer people you could not wish to meet. We were let down by another campsite and as we wanted to have a pitch for 4 weeks, we were really struggling until Kate & Phil did a juggling act and managed to find us a hard standing, fully serviced (sunny) pitch for the month of July, although all the pitches are spacious and sunny or shaded dependent on your choice.

This is a gem of a site and ideally situated for the beaches of Perranporth, 7 minutes away, and Portreath and Porthtowan, 15 mins away.

It is also ideally situated only 2 mins from the A30 with easy access to St Ives, Penzance and Newquay etc, and Truro is only 5 mins down the road.

All in all we cannot praise this site and its facilities enough, and when we holiday in Cornwall again it will be to here.

Thank you so much for looking after our van when we had to return to Nottingham unexpectedly for a few nights, although with the coded barrier entry and Cornish walls, it felt safer than our current storage!’ 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: CHobson family 1 review from this member

 We stayed here last year and really enjoyed the site so we were keen to come back again. The couple who run Summer Valley are really friendly and obliging, ensuring all their campers enjoy their stay.

The shower block is amongst the best we have known, it is very clean and well equipped, and the shop is convenient and well stocked. We were even able to order warm pasties, including gluten free, to be delivered in the morning.

The location is also excellent allowing us to visit Truro but also from Penzance to Newquay and up to Bodmin. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: TandB 9 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a site, quiet, rural but easy to get to Truro and everywhere else in Cornwall!

The facilities are amazing, private cubicles as well as good showers and probably the best washing-up area anywhere. Lovely owners keep everything sparkling.

Only stayed 3 nights but will return for longer, I hope. Small grandchildren visited us and enjoyed the play area as well as the numerous butterflies and a grasshopper! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Clivefearly 3 reviews from this member

 This was my third visit to Summer Valley and this time I had my tent. I am a bit 'old in the tooth' for camping in a tent but I wanted to give it a go.

I originally booked for 3 nights but extended my stay to 10 because the weather in June was amazing. I sat and watched the local farmer bale the hay in the field next door.

The facilities were once again immaculate and the owners very welcoming. I have stayed on many, many campsites and this is by far my favourite. Quiet, peaceful and yet well connected to explore.

I have seen comments amount the sloping pitches; some of which are. However, if you listen to the advice given on arrival you will know which way to pitch your tent to ensure it's flat.

I'll be back again this year. Well done on the awards too - very much deserved! 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Summer Valley Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Summer Valley Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Summer Valley Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Truro      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3411 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement