Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Squirrel Pub And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > The Squirrel Pub And Campsite Reviews

The Squirrel Pub And Campsite
Kidderminster Road
Alveley
Bridgnorth
Shropshire   (Browse area)
WV15 6LW
Tel: 01746 780235
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 10 Reviews
                10/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Val E 13 reviews from this member

Booked last minute for one night, myself, hubby and reluctant 28 year old son who is Down’s syndrome, had a friends party in afternoon, then stopped one night here, last spot in the middle of flat field, no electricity where we were, but we didn’t need for one night so all good

Toilets clean, had a key for toilets for emergency (£10 deposit)

People helpful and friendly And to Sams joy there was a karaoke night so Sam had an amazing time,

So thank you to the squirrel and staff and friendly customers who were very nice about his unique singing style 😀

We thought it might be a noisy site but no very quiet,

Will definitely return again as also fantastic value for money 😀
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jillygumbo 14 reviews from this member

I stayed for a couple of nights at this pub campsite as it was relatively near to someone I needed to visit in Birmingham on the Saturday. Despite being a pub with a large pub garden and play area, and it was the tail-end of half term, this was a lovely quiet site.

The pub does really good meals and although there was an anniversary party on in the old skittle alley at the back, no noise filtered down to the campsite. Well kept level site. Plan to return.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JP Bonner 1 review from this member

Nice site, nice pub with good food. No showers but we knew that in advance - and was also told over the phone when we booked. Both site & pub are dog friendly.

Look forward to going again sometime.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: David viggers 1 review from this member

Terrific site, well looked after and great country pub. Manager and staff are brilliant. Good pub food.

Not for 'glampers', for real tourers who don't always need showers and washing up facilities. Booked two more visits this year. Love the place.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thoroughbred72 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site very good value for money. The staff were more than helpful which helped us to have a enjoyable weekend. Great for children.

The only thing that is missing from this place is a shower but toilets are accessible 24 hours a day and a very clean I cannot wait to go again

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davendeb 9 reviews from this member

Easy site to find sat nav spot on. Nice little site. Out of site and turn right to kidderminster 11 mins drive is The Range and plenty of shops.

Turn left 11 mins Bridgnorth, what a great place, fish shop near library is to die for we had meal in the Squirrel pub nn friday - half chicken n chips if that was half chicken a full one would feed a family of five!

Can stop on site till 2 oclock, so if its sunday have dinner before you leave. Enjoy

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizzy10 1 review from this member

We have recently come back after a a couple of days at this campsite. It is a very pleasant field, well tended.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, I asked if it is advisable to book a table for the evening, she said no, but on entering the pub she had saved us a table by the door as we have a dog. The food is well presented, and quickly arrived.

The only drawback was that there was no shower block or anywhere to wash up. There is a key for which you pay a £10 refundable deposit to use the toilets at night.

Hardly any noise from the road, it's a lovely little site and well worth the visit with towns close by.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobsan03 14 reviews from this member

A little gem of a site at the back of a public house £15 a night with electric, toilet inside the pub a deposit of £10 for the key is required. The ground can be a little wet depending on the weather but very spacious site. A small shopping area 2mins walk also a kiddies park. Bridgnorth 5 minutes drive away, 5 minutes to a lovely nature walking area and Kidderminster. We ate at the pub very good plentiful food presented well and good value. The host Alan was very helpful and couldn't do enough to make our 5 night stay pleasant. We shall visit again.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fowler65 1 review from this member

On arriving at the site we were greeted by Alan, the owner, who escorted us to our pitches and pointed out all the amenities. Once we had set up we thought it was time for a bit of refreshment and a pint of their own Alveley ale did the trick. The locals and Alan immediately made us feel welcome in this homely pub. During our two night stay we dined twice in the pub and the food was excellent. Quantity and quality damn good value. Nobody could do enough for us and we shall return many times. We would like to thank all the staff and locals for making us so welcome and for all there efforts.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

There are 12 pitches, approx half have ehu. A large field just behind the pub which is off the main Bridgnorth - Kidderminster road. When we arrived we were told to go and pitch up and given a form to fill in and come back and pay with when ready. Other than that we didn't have any contact with owners.

Pitching was all on grass, well mowed and flat with good drainage. Several seasonals on site, well kept and tidy looking with only 1 exception of a folding camper that was centre front, it had seen better days in terms of being cleaned and spoiled the look of the site. The site is next to a beautifully kept bowling green with plenty of benches set around the pitch. Despite proximity to the road we weren't bothered by road noise.

Toilets are in the pub and available all day, to use over night you need to give a £10 deposit for a key. They were clean and tidy throughout our stay. No showers or washing up facilities. Pub served good food at a reasonable price, wasn't overly busy but we were asked to book a table for the evening. We asked for 7. 30 but were told need to come at 7pm - no one else came into eat after us so maybe its a case of they want food service over as early as possible.

There is fresh water and chem disposal, these are both situated back down at the pub alognside the outside sitting and eating area. Due to this you can only empty toilets before 1130 am in the mornings.

The leaflet on booking in said dogs to be kept on a lead but the pub dog was wandering around the campsite all weekend. There is a large area in the centre of the camping field which was used by families to play ball games and by many to exercise their dogs.

Plenty to do in the area, a 10 minute bus ride into Bridgnorth which is well worth a day out or a 15 minute walk to the Severn Valley Park which you could spend all day walking around.

Overall a good site, not much in the way of customer service but it did what it said on the website - offered a reasonable pitch for £12 per night.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3739 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019