Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Berry Barton Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Seaton > Berry Barton Caravan Park > Reviews

Berry Barton Caravan Park
Branscombe
Seaton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX12 3BD
Tel: 01297 680208   or  07717 485111
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Vicky8 1 review from this member

 Great campsite! Laid back, kind hosts, tonnes of space and lovely clean showers, toilets and wash up area.

We stayed for two nights with two young children and had a lovely time. It was exactly what we wanted: basic, clean and spacious (with the added bonus of many many cows!)

The only downside was the walk to beach. The cliff path was very sketchy for the kids in places (poor maintenance to public footpath) and the ‘easy’ route home along the southwest coastal path was long and very steep in places.

The walk to and from the beach is in no way the fault of the campsite but we did struggle to find out much about the route to the beach prior to booking so thought it was worth mentioning.

We will definitely visit again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Samantha Jane Guest 1 review from this member

 My adult son liked going for walks straight from the caravan however the walk down to the cove was too difficult for my husband and I.

After a long journey to get there we didn't find the owner to be very welcoming and we were surprised that duvets and pillows were not included.

My husband had to drive down to the farm to collect some duvets which weren't in good shape and therefore unusable.

The worst thing for me was that the toilet in the main bathroom had not been cleaned. There were poo splashes on the toilet seat and stains around toilet porcelain plus the shower could have done with a good clean.

There wasn't even a small shop nearby for essentials and narrow lanes were a nuisance.

The concrete area around our caravan was cracked and scruffy and after tidying up the caravan by 9am on the day of departure all that the owner could say was, had we brought the duvet and pillows back to the farmhouse? My husband replied that we had left them in the caravan ( we wouldn't have had room in the car to take to the farmhouse anyway. ) Some niceties wouldn't have gone amiss. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jen78 3 reviews from this member

 Great access to coastal path and we wandered down a lovely path to the beach through the woods and down the cliffs.

Very quiet site which we loved!

Beautiful peacock on site too! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rachel Hamlin 1 review from this member

 Second visit to this beautifully located quiet site.

Friendly and helpful owners and plenty of space to pitch.

Lovely well marked footpaths direct from the site to and along the coast. Great sunsets in fine weather.

Easy to find. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cat64 1 review from this member

 We love Berry Barton and have been coming here for years. We have never had a problem with the location or the cleanliness of the caravans.

The site is in such a lovely location away from it all if you want and some lovely walks or you can jump in the car and visit the surrounding area.

You have to provide your own bedding since covid but it quite clearly says this in the correspondence you receive after booking ( the website does say they provide blankets and pillows which needs updating) but I'd rather take my own anyway.

The Fountain head pub is great and they do lovely food and just down the road albeit a steep one!

We can't recommend Berry Barton enough! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mikede 31 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant site with easy access to the Coast Path. Camping field is quite uneven with some very sloping pitches. Facilities are very nice although limited so they will be stretched when the site is busy.

Access is "interesting" for larger units- the last lane is very very narrow.

Bus stop and pub down the (steep) hill at Strete about 10minutes down and 20 back! 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Angie3 1 review from this member

 Have used this campsite before and will use again.

Ideal for a base with plenty room.

Toilet and shower block spotlessly clean.

Staff around the site friendly and always a feel of a nice atmosphere. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jillwi 1 review from this member

 We had an electric hookup in the large field. Grass short plenty of choice, quiet in the evening.

Went to the local pub down the road, very good food and lovely ale.

Had a good 3 nights getaway, walked to Beer one day and a trip to Sidmouth another.

Facilities very clean. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kath+john 8 reviews from this member

 We booked here with other friends in 6 tents and one campervan in the midst of the Covid-19 pandemic. We were apprehensive about holidaying, but this seemed as safe as we could get for a holiday.

The lanes are narrow, and it's best to avoid coming up from Branscombe beach if you have a camper van, but it's easy to find. It's a short walk to the coast path.

We camped in the large field behind the static vans. This had a mix of touring caravans, campervans, and tents. There was always lots of space, and our van friends used an electric hook up. Our mobile phone network had very poor coverage here, but that wasn't a problem.

The site is very quiet at night, quite dark at night, and the starry sky wonderful to a city dweller. There is a relaxed feel to the site, but everything was very clean and tidy. Payment is by cash or cheque only, no cards. We paid £14 per night for our pitch.

The toilet block was small, modern, and very clean. During our stay it was closed for around 75 mins twice a day for thorough cleaning (check the times, as they are not well notified, and there is no alternative loo). There were many hand sanitiser points around, and disinfectant sprays in toilet cubicles and showers. Signs dictated only 2 folks in the washrooms at any one time. Each shower cubicle had an electric domestic type shower that was free to use. Lots of solar PV panels on the roof too. The wash up room was closed, but I guess they were focusing the cleaning on the loo and shower area and wanted to avoid campers being in together.

We went into Sidmouth each day, so didn't explore local shops. The nearby Fountain Head pub has a good reputation, as does the Sea Shanty Beach Cafe in Branscombe (it's a steep walk to the beach).

We recommend this site, and it would be first choice when we come to the area again. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ratty 316 reviews from this member

 We loved Berry Barton Farm. I enquired by email initially and they responded quickly and let me know the price and that they had space and advised me to just turn in, pop in to the farm house, pay and off you go, which is exactly what I did.

The roads in a bit narrow, but in a campervan it was fine. The site is easy to find and sat nav took us straight there.

Check in at the farmhouse across the road from the site and then up through the statics to reach the camping field. The field was huge and square and had a few electric pitches around the edge, but as we were non hook up we found a space that gave us sun all day and sheltered from the wind.

The facilities are absolute first class, two showers, one toilet and one urinal for gents, and the same, but two toilets for the ladies. The showers were hot, spacious and perfect for our needs, and the facilities were al clean and tidy. There is a paid for laundry and also a washing up area free to use.

We didn't explore the area as we were only stopping for one night around 16 hours, so we decided to walk through the site, out the back and across to the S W Coast Path, which once you are on offers miles and miles of walking in both directions with great views in all directions.

I loved this site and would be back for a stay again if I am in the area. We paid £12 for two adults and one dog in a VW camper. Bargain. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Berry Barton Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Berry Barton Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Berry Barton Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seaton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3131 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement