Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Nurseries Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > Nurseries Caravan Park > Reviews

Nurseries Caravan Park
Askham Bryan Lane
Askham Bryan
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO23 3QY
Tel: 01904 797427
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 32
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 69 Reviews
                10/10 from 69 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: KathP29 33 reviews from this member

 Good location and attractive site. Facilities were clean and heated. Wash up area is good.

Great for kids with park and a field for games, the young children enjoyed the freedom of riding their bikes on the site.

Nags Head 1mile away and had a nice meal on Saturday, starters and mains were better than desserts.

The key code barrier system didn’t work so well if you had 2 cars and we had to mess about to make it work. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: HighSlayer 14 reviews from this member

 This is one of those campsites which is difficult to review, as the overall stay is much better than some of the comments would suggest, so please take everything in context

The staff at Nurseries are great. Warm welcome from reception upon arrival, explanation of where our pitch was, details of the site etc from a really friendly lady. Reception is also a small, basic shop which is open whilst reception is.

Behind reception is a welcoming games room with a pool table, table tennis table and some machines plus a sofa. Unfortunately you do need to get table tennis balls from reception so if they are closed you cant use it. Really nice area and good for keeping the teenagers happy I should imagine.

Access to pitches is a bit of a nightmare, depending which pitch you have, for hours we had to spin the whole unit all the way around, drive onto the grass and then reverse a very angled dog leg to get onto the pitch. It would be nice to see a bit more thought put into the pitch layout, especially in terms of access. Pitches are (very) hardstanding and you'll need good quality pegs for any awning. There are a lot of overhanging trees too which means leaves and sap dripping onto awnings in many of the pitches. The pitches themselves are a decent size on the hardstanding but with only a tiny patch of grass between each, making them appear very close to each other even though there is sufficient room between the units themselves

EHU and Water Points are all nearby and easy to access. A bit of a walk onto the woodland trail for the chemical disposal and waste water but easy enough to access so no issues there

The facilities block is just a short walk away, though it is down a woodland trail with bark chippings, so make sure you have suitable footwear. There are 3 showers, 3 loos and 3 sinks in each of the Mens and Ladies, plus an accessible loo/ babychange. The block is heated and was kept clean throughout. Hot water from the mens sinks was non-existent. You press a button on the tap and get 4 seconds of a dribble of lukewarm water. It wasn't possible for me to get a wet shave so I'm pleased I took my electric razer.

Showers are a reasonable size with a shower curtain separating the wet area from a tiny dry area. No temperature or flow controls on the showers, just press the button for 9 seconds of water then press again. The water was too hot for me, varying from 'too hot' to 'skin strippingly hot'. My partner, who has her showers at ridiculously hot levels said it was too hot for her too. The water is slow to drain out so you do have to stand for a couple of minutes in the soapy water to wait for it to disappear. Due to the backlog of water the 'dry' area isnt! You do get a long handled squeegee in each cubicle so it is best to wait a while and then squeegee water away from the dry area. There is also a small fold down stool

In the facilities block there is also a washing up room with 2 sinks plus coin operated washer and dryer. Unfortunately only 1 plug between the 2 sinks and not connected to a chain so it is very difficult to get out when you've finished. If you have a washing up bowl of your own this isnt a problem, and I usually take a portable plug with me in any case. Loads of hot water so washing up is fairly pleasant

Outside the facilities block is a small playground for the kids, and on site there is also a football pitch

There is a small amount of traffic noise from the main road but it isnt intrusive, and quite a bit of air traffic too but again it isnt too intrusive.

All of the above, whilst worth noting is pretty minor. In general the site is extremely pleasant, with lovely staff. On an evening it is quiet, other guests all seemed friendly and well behaved. There are a couple of other fields around the touring field for seasonal pitches and speaking with some of the residents there, they all love the site and speak highly of the owners, which is always great to hear

There are several species of birds around the site, squirrels running around and overall a peaceful, woodsy feel to the place. It is fairly close to the York Park and Ride - York is always great for a walk around and for some great restaurants and sights. It is also handy for the York Designer Outlet which is huge and easy to spend most of a day in if the weather is poor

Prices are reasonable, especially for the area. We paid £25 per night including EHU in September 2023. Arrivals are from 1pm and departures before 12 midday

Would I stay here again? Yes I really wood. Minor quibbles aside this is a really pleasant site with lovely staff and a peaceful, relaxed feel 


Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shapeshifter 2 reviews from this member

 I can not recommend this site any higher, the staff was super friendly and accommodating.

The Toilet block is super clean, the location of this site is very good as you can catch a bus into York and the location of the bus stop is a very short walk.

There are information boards all around giving clear instructions.

There is a large supermarket just up the road, the site was clean and well-maintained

Would I stay there again absolutely. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Campermark71 17 reviews from this member

 This site is a wonderful place for all the family and is ideally located for exploring the local area.

There is a bus stop in Woodthorpe which is around 10 minutes walk and is very straight forward to find and get to. The no 12 bus runs every hour into York City centre.

If you walk for about another 30 minutes you will reach the bus stop on Moor Lane in Dringhouses where you can catch the Coastliner bus which will take you to Scarborough or Whitby from the left side of the road (there are only 4 buses there and back to Whitby Mon to Sat so check your times).

Also the last Whitby bus back only goes as far as the city centre so you will also need to catch the 12 back to woodthorpe. Scarborough buses are much more frequent there and back. Leeds buses leave from the stop on the right. Currently only £2 each way!

The site has a play park for the youngsters, games room, football pitch and small shop.

There is a heated shower and toilet block which also incorporates a laundry/ washing up room which is regularly cleaned.

All pitches are hard standing with a shale like surface and a grass area next to it for your awning.

There is a Tesco Express, co op and Greene King pub just a short walk away in Woodthorpe/ Foxwood. There is also a big Tesco in Dringhouses.

A very quiet and relaxed site which is also very sheltered and well drained.

Would definitely visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mayas8 1 review from this member

 Staff were friendly, the pitch is well maintained and was quiet.

We had a warm welcome and staff even took our waterproofs in over night after we accidentally left them drying in the toilets.

The site is small and feels safe.

We didn't get as far as the sports pitch or picnic area but our children enjoyed the play area. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: MaryKin 13 reviews from this member

 We love this caravan site and have stayed several times. What makes it special is the ‘can do’ approach from staff (we needed to change out booking for family reasons and were accommodated with cheerfulness!) and the fact that it appeals to families with children.

It feels like the sites we used to visit when our own children were small, with well behaved children making friends and having fun together even in the dreadful weather we experienced.

The play park and games field were very popular. The toilet block is kept very clean (probably let down mostly by its old tiled floor which gets a bit muddy at times) and facilities are better designed than some of the newer wet rooms we’ve experienced recently.

The drawback of having so many trees is that in heavy rain the caravan was very noisy at night. But that’s not something that the owners can change nor should they.

All pitches are now hard standing, which for us was a drawback because we attempted but failed to manage to put awning pegs in and gave up on our awning for the stay. It was not a big deal as we were mostly out and about in weather that wasn’t conducive to sitting out.

We used the park and ride nearby which is very handy for York.

We will be back I’m sure. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tearlach98 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely 8 nights on this site.

Nicola and her team were very friendly and helpful throughout.

Even in July it was very quiet.

The site and surroundings are very nice. Facilities very good.

The superpitch with electric and water station was a good size and flat.

Would thoroughly recommend this site and will definitely be returning there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Keitht 1 review from this member

 Very picturesque and quiet site with plenty of squirrels and birds. A small shop on site and a kids playground. Close to York for the attractions etc.

The negatives were that in our opinion the pitches were to close together and were awkward to get into…luckily we have a caravan mover which made it a bit easier but without one we probably wouldn’t have got into the pitch.

The only other negative was that the toilet and shower block are pretty dated and could do with modernising (3 toilets, 3 showers and 3 sinks in the gents) I believe the ladies had the same.

Push button showers which means constantly having to re push the button and a set temperature so you can’t have a cool or hot shower, and the floor of the shower gets wet throughout so getting back into dry clothes can be tricky. We have been to many sites and perhaps have been a bit spoilt by some of the more up to date ones? 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: AnaD 1 review from this member

 The caravan is definitely my ‘Happy Place’ and being at this site makes it even more so.

Such a convenient site but also beautiful, quiet and well maintained and would not hesitate in recommending this site.

We love it! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: DylanOES 28 reviews from this member

 An excellent small, quiet site located close to York city centre. Close to an A-road but no road noise. Good facilities, though shop stock limited and no bar / cafe. The Nags Head at Askham Bryan is about 2km down a quiet road - dog friendly and excellent food and beer.

The games room has a number of games machines, but most switched off or not operational (?) - small pool table and table football were working. Ablution facilities reasonable, if limited. One washing machine and one drier, but they were available when needed.

Other facilities include a 5-aside football pitch and picnic area. Staff very friendly and helpful. Overall we wished we had booked for longer. 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Nurseries Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Nurseries Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Nurseries Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


55597 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement