Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Newperran

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Newperran Reviews

Newperran
Hendra Croft
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 5QJ
Tel: 03333 700 555
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 322
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: XSASSx 16 reviews from this member

A fantastic holiday park all round, starting with a friendly and helpful welcome from Keith and Christine. Our pitch was spacious even for a 10 man tent and two cars. All the fields have plenty of green space for the kids to play; we effectively had a back garden, plus there's a playground. The toilet / shower / washing up facilities were fantastic. The indoor swimming pool was great, although I didn't see any reference in advance to having to pay for it, 2 per pitch per day is a bargain on a cloudy day (we were lucky with the weather). I was really impressed with the site security; the won't barrier won't let you in unless it recognises your car reg. Be prepared to drive everywhere; the driveway itself is half a mile long but Newperran is well located, and Perranporth and Newquay are easy to get to. We loved the place so much we decided to stay an extra night, which was easily accommodated.

My only criticism is the limited opening hours of some of the facilities. I felt like I was always waiting for 8. 30am for breakfast; either to buy milk from the shop or when the restaurant opened. Also the pool closes at 6pm which ruled out an evening swim and meant it was very busy between 5pm - 6pm when everyone had returned from their day out.

Thank you Newperran for making our first family holiday one to remember; I think this is the start of a family tradition!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JAMMBO 1 review from this member

We've just spent our second consecutive yearly holiday at Newperran and will definitely return for a third time next year. The customer service is second to none. Last year our dog was very ill whilst we were there and the owner directed us to the vets she had used for her pets, and continually asked after him. Another small matter arose this year, but Christine and Keith were on top of it straightaway and it was sorted.

We pitched our tent on Edmonton 14, a super pitch with it's own wc and wash basin. The pitch was HUGE, we could have easily had another 2 tents the same size as ours on there (Montana 6). There was a shower block and washing up room very nearby but this was closed (I'm wondering if it was due to be refurbished?) but it didn't bother us as there was a shower block in another corner of the field. It's true that sometimes the showers have grass in them, but this to me is just part and parcel of sharing facilities with lots of other people. I learnt last year to wear flip-flops in the shower, it's not a problem. The showers are cleaned regularly, although certain campers abuse the facilities (one shower I went into had make-up smeared up the wall) which makes it unpleasant for other people to use.

The electronic numberplate recognition system entrance barriers are brilliant for making you feel secure and the 'streetlights' are just enough for you to see at night without intruding on your sleep. Camp rules state that noise should be kept to a minimum between 11pm and 7am, I have to say that I agree with this because not everyone has gone camping for a all-hours party, if that's what you want then go to a festival!

The children's play area is well used, from 8 in a morning until late at night and it's safe enough that parents let their children ride their bikes and scooters all over the park. The covered in swimming pool is a bonus for when the weather is a bit grotty and 2 per pitch per day isn't a hefty price to pay in my opinion if it occupies my children.

We only used the on site shop once as we do a supermarket shop in Newquay when we arrive but it's handy if you get stuck for something. I used the laundrette last year, they're usually expensive so I wasn't too surprised at the price, although it puts the detergent in so at least that's something else you don't have to pay for.

I can't comment on the Cottage Inn as we like to go out and explore ourselves, so we didn't try it, but certainly wouldn't rule it out.

All in all, we've found Newperran to be the best site we've ever camped at, all the facilities you could want, and helpful, cheerful owners who welcome you like old friends.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nevets87 1 review from this member

We have just returned from 5 nights camping at Newperran Holiday Park and really enjoyed our stay. We were situated in Gerrans field on pitch 3, which is a corner pitch. The electric hook up was situated at the rear of our pitch and also was used by pitch 1, 2 and 4. Our large tent did fit but we had to park at the front of the tent with the car facing it as the pitch narrowed at the front. We had consistent heavy rain one night but the pitch drained well and no mud. The grass is kept short as it is cut often. We noticed they returned to cut grass that they were unable to previously, the morning the particular tent / caravan had left. The bins are situated on the entrance driveway with large general waste skips and recycling bins (a shame some people did not bother and threw in whatever they liked). The bins were not far for us to walk as our field bordered the top end of the entrance drive. I liked the fact the bins were here as it avoided bad smells and wasps etc experienced at other sites. If you are feeling lazy you can quite easily drive and park at them. The site is nicely lit at night. Enough to enabled you to walk around, but not over powering. This enable us to see the fantastic night sky featuring the milky way (you don't see this in Manchester!). The location was ideal as it is more or less central for exploring Cornwall. Hollywell Bay can be seen in the distance from some of the fields. The site felt secure as the barriers are operated by number plate recognition. The site overall we found to be clean and modern. Hot water was always hot and water at a good pressure, even at busy periods. I would say to wear flip flops to shower as during busy periods grass tends to get walked in. Not sure how often the shower / toilet block were cleaned but they were always at an acceptable level of cleanliness and I felt comfortable in there. On the odd occasion we found untidiness caused by laziness of other campers with no thought to the person using the facilities after them. We went into the on site pub and found it a nice place to be of an evening. Looking into the restaurant which is next door it appeared to be closed. On going into the pub we discovered we had to order for at the bar and choose a table in the pub. Maybe the restaurant is used during busier periods? The food was nice and reasonably priced when comparing to pubs at home. Bar and serving staff friendly. You can tell there has been a lot of effort and investment put into this site. We found it to be spacious and not to have the large campsite feel despite it actually being of a fair size. The owners are very welcoming and do all they can to help make your stay an enjoyable one. We had a nice long chat, despite having to answer the phone and deal with people coming into reception, She still found time to continue chatting in between. Only been home 1 day and already missing being here. Looking forward to returning to this great site!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Crasher600 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a five day stay at newperran over August bank holiday weekend. Unfortunately very disappointed with the site.

Firstly the positives

The site is nicely situated away from any busy noisy road and within easy reach of perranporth and newquay.

The fields are lovely with large pitches and hedges or fences which enclose the fields making it safe for young ones to play. The best thing is the open grassed areas in the middle of the field which are brilliant for the kids to play on.

The field we were in also had traffic only for the pitches in it so very safe indeed

The play area was quite good and engaging for kids of different ages

The shower blocks have been recently refurbished

Now for the negatives

Most importantly hygiene was very poor in the toilets/ showers. The floor in the showers never seemed to be cleaned properly.

In one of the shower blocks there was a sink in the cubicle with every toilet, there was only a soap dispenser in two out of seven. Who wants to wash next to a toilet which hasn't been cleaned for two days anyway.

In the ladies the only soap dispenser wasn't filled at all in five days.

The extract in the gents showers clearly hasn't worked for ages and most evenings or mornings you could barely see in there.

There are no bins on site, not in the fields or outside the shop bar area or even at the dish washing sinks. This means people were leaving food scraps in the plug holes and the sinks never seemed to be clean.

There was waste in the washing and toilet areas that was there for two or more days. Cleaning just isn't being done properly.

We were camping about 30 yards and two hedges away from the open skips where rubbish had to be amen. These skips were constantly surrounded by a swarm of wasps. We had to put up with a ridiculous amount of wasps in and around our tents which resulted on 7 out of 8 of us being stung over five days. Two of Hesse were one year olds and I have suffered a reaction to the sting resulting in a massive swelling. I'm not surprised was the answer I got when raising the issue of the stings when leaving !

We had to pay a 10 deposit for a key fob and two pounds a day to use the pool. The one time we used the pool we were all out within. 15 mins as it was so ridiculously cold. And the key fob never worked either, a fellow camper had to let us in. The changing rooms/ toilets here were also filthy, there was a soiled nappy and a shampoo bottle covered in excrement left in a cubicle. It's easy to blame the camper responsible for leaving it there but if there are once again no bins available what are they supposed to do f accidents happen with kids.

The shop was open from 8:30am until 10 and then I think 6 until 8pm, the shelves were empty, not even selling charcoal ffs !

Newperran are charging a premium price but are obviously not spending the money on the important basics that we consider essential

Very disappointed, will not be returning, I really have no idea where the five stars are from.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sbro 1 review from this member

Returned to newperran which was where I spent my childhood and all my memories were happy ones. The site was under different ownership then, and was always clean, tidy and very welcoming as well as busy and a hub of activity. I returned

This year bringing my own family and friends with their children, hoping for them to experience my own happy times spent on the park.

We had a fantastic holiday but this was sadly not as a result of Newperran. The field we stayed on - Hayle - was fine and the huge pitches and large open spaces great for our twin axle and for the kids to play. The site was also quiet

And peaceful which was great, BUT.

Newperran is very tired looking and needs sprucing up ALOT. The entrance drive is lovely, hydrangeas line the drive, but then the security barrier (which didn't work properly) made it feel like colditz - just a wall of grey concrete and the main reception area was very plain, unwelcoming and sad looking. There was nothing going on, this area was never busy, the new indoor pool was nice but personally I preferred the older outdoor one. But the indoor pool was full of human hair every time I swam so maybe the filters weren't working properly? The changing facilities didn't feel like they were cleaned as often as they should be and one day someone had been to the toilet on the floor and it had been left there for children to step in - not good enough.

You also has to pay 2 every time to swim per pitch which wasn't widely publicised until arrival.

We didn't try the restaurant as it just didn't look very appealing and was always empty and the shop was a joke only being open a few hours every day and the shelves were empty. This shop used to be jam packed full of everything you could possibly want, like a mini mart and even had caravan bits and bobs to buy, and gas. We had a drink in the pub one night and overheard the bar lady moaning about being dragged into work - got the impression all of the staff on site (there were hardly any - were just casual and we never saw anyone about cutting grass, doing gardens or general maintenance work.

This site definitely needs more staff in every sense.

Cleanliness was a big issue for me, the toilets were absolutely disgusting. Luckily we have a beautiful shower etc on our caravan and I avoided the block at all costs. The cubicles were filthy, covered in cobwebs, smelly on occasion, no soap and if there was a dispenser it didn't work! The sanitary bins were basically unlined waste paper bins that didn't get emptied often enough and were open for all to see, human hair lined the walls as well as a thick layer of dust - not good enough.

We had no water on our field one day due to a tap that was faulty. There were also no bins at all on the site not even dog bins - you have to walk halfway down the drive to the supposed recycling skips which were a joke as they were always overflowing. We didn't mind the walk at first but we were on holiday after all and it soon became a pain. Not only that rubbish built up around the site anyway as a result when people couldn't be bothered to walk and it would be left down the drive, on the fields even in the gents toilets!

The icing on the cake was when the proprietor wouldn't let our friends in the pool saying they hadn't paid the 10 deposit. We had all swam for a week with no issues at this point (the deposit had been covered by our credit card on the first day). So after telling me my daughter and friends children to go in the pool, he would not allow my friend in. When my husband complained the owners were absolutely appalling in how they handled it, no apology for their misunderstanding and then told us we couldn't use the pool again!

Another disappointing point to note was that despite ringing ahead to check if our pitch would be free a day early, which it was, it had been given away to someone else when we arrived. Although they said this could happen, the site was half empty so that tent could have been pitched anywhere and we could have got settled earlier and not have the disruption of moving pitch on day 2.

After talking to other campers all had experienced similar issues, some had asked for money back (unsuccessfully)

Newperran charges a lot of money because it is 5 star and we didn't mind paying this (until we arrived that is) - no way is it a 5 star site. I would be interested in understanding how this can possibly be awarded. As a result of our experience we started looking at other local sites that charged less yet were pristine, welcoming, had more amenities at no extra charge, an abundance of helpful staff and were CHEAPER!

Cracking holiday, love Cornwall we will be back next year but not to Newperran which is a disappointment to me. Site had potential but would suggest a massive overhaul and a load more staff to improve it to adequate standards.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Collied 10 reviews from this member

We have been here twice now and stayed in one of their static caravans, we were so impressed with the standard of the van we booked the same one for the following year, but how standards had dropped on that second visit. The van had not been cleaned properly with tea cups left unwashed behind the sofas, it smelt musty and damp too on the second visit. We could not get the gas oven to work, it failed to ignite. The swimming pool was not open on either of our stays there. The shop had limited stock and was a bit pricey so we went a couple of miles down the road towards Newquay and used the huge Morrisons and Lidl shops at Quantrell Downs retail park. Great little dedicated path for walking the dogs at the side boundary of the site. One of the downers on this site is that the groundsman/handy man arrives at 8. 30 with his car radio blaring out, he then gets his tractor out of the nearby shed and sets to work oblivious to holiday makers relaxing and having a lay in. One of our visits the same handy man started up a pneumatic drill at 8. 30 and was drilling out what appeared to be a disused indoor games area - not nice to hear when you are away supposedly relaxing. This site has potential but is lacking, we wont be returning, far better to go the bit extra and get the Mcoy at Perran sands holiday park about 2 miles down the road on the outskirts of Perrenporth.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clare97 4 reviews from this member

Arrived after a very long 7 1/2 hours in the car due an accident on the A30 and arrived after 8pm, our car reg plate was recognised instantly and so no problems entering site. Christine was lovely on reception and directed us to our pitch, it was a corner pitch on Hayle and a very good sized pitch for our tent.

Site itself is well maintained and grass cut every time someone packs up, its a nice big site, but still has that small feeling due to the fact that you are not sitting on your neighbour and that you only pitch on the outside of the fields and it has a lovely open feel.

Toilets and showers were ok, water was hot, and was used by a push button which lasted about 1 minute, toilets were ok, no soap in every toilet in the ladies and mens, only two toilets had soap, so you really needed to take soap to wash your hands each time you visited the loo in case the ones with the soap in were engaged.

I have to say that the floor in the toilets and the showers were not that clean, I did see a man in the morning going into the facilities but I am not sure what he did as they always looked grubby, the site itself was quite busy and so really could have been cleaned or at least checked twice a day for refills. Also maybe a mop that you could use yourself to mop up after your shower, I would have no problem doing this. But to be fair, there are some disgusting women out there !

Swimming pool was freezing, what can I say, kids managed 20 mins tops even when the weather was good.

Shop does not look anything like the picture on website, the shelves are empty and only open 1.5 hrs in the morning and in the evening, do not rely on this shop as you will be very disappointed, there are lots of supermarkets all within a 3 mile radius so be prepared.

Cottage Inn was pleasant and the owners are there in the evenings too and are really lovely with an old charm about them. We ate there three times, first time wasn't great but the other times were fine, food was hot and portions were ample, good prices and a varied menu and also specials. I really enjoyed the food we didn't however stay for the entertainment, it was a bit ropey !

Launderette looked very pricey, 6.00 for a large wash and 1.00 every 6 mins and not 10 minutes as stated, but the machines were great, detergent is all included in the price and the dryers were fantastic, clothes dried really quick, and it only cost me 1. 20 for a load.

The site is about 3 miles from Perranporth beach which is fabulous, the area is stunning and apart from the horrendous 50mile an hours winds for 3 days and nights, I have to say that we totally enjoyed our time at the site, and if we venture down to Perranporth again in the future I would definitely stay at this site.

The owner explained to us that they are upgrading the pool hopefully next year to include indoor swimming with a patio for sunbathing which would be fantastic.

Great site and would visit again if in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Macsta1 1 review from this member

Just spent a week at this park and had a lovely time. Owners very pleasant and welcoming. Site nice and clean as are the toilet and shower blocks.

Pool a little cool but kids still loved it. Small shop with basic items but a Londis shop round the corner and Morrison's not far away.

Site has all that is needed for time spent on it, as you will be off site visiting the lovely beaches and places nearby. Pitches nice and big so you don't feel on top of each other and have plenty of space.

All in all a nice site and will definitely be going back next year

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Usandthetinies 1 review from this member

This is an extremely well thought out site - it feels secure. Everything is kept clean and tidy despite its size and the showers and washing up areas are brilliant.

The owners are friendly and helpful - they were happy to move us when a family two pitches down threatened to spoil our holiday with incessant loud sports coverage - they offered to talk to the individuals if needed but were accommodating with our decision just to move.

The weather was kind initially but the wind got the better of us and sadly we left early.

There is a small shop on site but we walked or drove into Goonhavern and got hot pasties etc there (great shop!) the swimming pool was cold but ok once in and very clean.

We would definitely recommend this site and would come back again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmaddy 1 review from this member

Excellent site, fantastic facilities. The shower and toilet blocks were always very clean and are ultra modern - no queuing.

The pitches are extremely large and you certainly don't feel on top of your neighbours. We went with a family group and took 4 pitches and had masses of space for us all.

Keith and Christine, the owners were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble for them and a smile always awaited you.

We unfortunately had the worst weather whilst we were there - 50mph winds and torrential rain and Christine spent a lot of time contacting those who had gone out for the day if their tent had been damaged - you don't get service like that everywhere.

The food in the restaurant is excellent and all home cooked with a lot of pride taken by the kitchen on presentation - some of the dishes were a little pricey by on the whole good value for money. Would definitely go back to this site.

The pool is well maintained but can get a little crowded - parents did tend to leave their children there and not stay with them as we only had one day of sunshine this was a little annoying!

Perranporth is a 3 mile drive away and Newquay is 5 miles so unless you are feeling fit, its a drive and not really walking distance as all up and down hills!

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3746 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019