Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Carnon Downs Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Truro > Carnon Downs Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Carnon Downs Caravan & Camping Park
Carnon Downs
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR3 6JJ
Tel: 01872 862283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 68 Reviews
                9/10 from 68 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sonyaritchie 3 reviews from this member

Great site with really large flat well drained pitches, a fab toilet complex in fact the best we have ever had. A great walk into Truro and numerous routes and over fields to the pub and places of interest, a spar close by for any essentials, WIFI and a bus stop right outside the site with regular routes to Truro, Falmouth and the surrounding area. The only thing we really disliked about the site was that there was no security barriers and because of that I felt less safe than on other sites we have stayed on, especially when on a couple of occasions I saw some cars hanging around the entrance, there was a warden on site but as it was winter with early dark nights and limited lighting and as the park was quieter it just made me concerned, this wouldn't be an issue in the summer months. We really loved this fantastic site and would return in a heartbeat but I'm hoping that the next time we do security barriers might be installed, as this is a year round site and a site with storage IMO they are essential.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Greg M 35 reviews from this member

Returned to this site after 7 years and we were not disappointed.

The site is split into various sections most with their own shower blocks, the nearest to us, along with the toilets had 3 unisex shower rooms.

I believe there is also a child's playground at the top end of the site.

Staff were very friendly and a variety of walks and cycle rides are available on maps if you are feeling fit.

For the more laid back of us there are site visits by a fish and chip shop van, Pizza van and also a mobile baker on various days.

Reception on our Avtex aerial was very good and phone signal (Virgin) was also good.

The site is between Truro and Falmouth with bus stops for both just outside the site.

Not the cheapest site by any means, but for a wonderful relaxing week it was hard to find fault. There is a small discount for C&MH club members

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zoeandchris 2 reviews from this member

This is a well placed large site for visiting west Cornwall. We usually go for something a little smaller with less facilities but we love it here. We had just swapped our caravan for a new one and wanted an easy tow from east Cornwall so we could get used to the new van. The pitches are very large and the toilet block is quite amazing! Lovely walks from the site and an easy drive into Truro. If you want off the beaten track then this might not be for you but for everything else it couldn’t be better. Lovely staff too. We will still do the smaller sites we lovel but will definitely be back here again.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 14+ Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: TigerJools 9 reviews from this member

We returned to this site 9 years after our first visit and it was as good as we remembered! It is a 400 mile drive which is why it has taken us so long to return.

Easy access from the main road. Some road noise if you were pitched near to it but we were on Pitch 29 in Carnon Blue and it wasn't an issue. Spacious pitch with a picnic bench which we shared with the friends we had travelled with. Shower Blocks superb - never queued. The site is large but never feels over busy or full. Several mobile eateries visit and the site staff are friendly and welcoming. Plenty of information and maps with local walks available. Ideal site for touring this part of Cornwall. We visited St Ives, Looe, Mevagissey, Cape Cornwall and Porthleven to name a few and had some lovely walks around the River Fal. Would recommend without hesitation.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

Called in here without booking on a Sunday in the middle of May to be initially told they were full (on hard standing pitches). The friendly staff then found us a choice of 2 pitches tucked away off the main site, which we were happy with. There were a number of other hard standings in our section that were not used while we were there??? Thought £25 per night in May was a bit steep though especially as that's the CC members rate too! Ouch. You get what you pay for though and it's a lovely site.

We have stayed many times before so knew what to expect. Well kept, tidy site, split into a few sections, so feels small. 4 toilet/shower blocks, 2 very modern the other 2 older, dated but spotlessly clean. Plenty of food waggons visit the site regularly too.

Not much for motorhomers within an easy walk, especially when the weather doesn't play ball!

The 'local' pub Carnon Inn used to be a Table to Table but is currently closed (until 24th May I believe?) for refurb and change to a Beefeater.

There's a local garden centre in the village a short walk away. Good food (snacks) and coffee in their café with lovely views. There is also a handy Spar a bit further into the village.

We walked into Truro straight from the site. It's about 4 miles along the old railway line so is mainly flat. We caught the bus back which cost us £2. 70 each return. We were going to catch it into Falmouth the next day but at £7. 80 each return even the bus driver said it was expensive! LOL

Even at £25 a night I'm sure we'll be back!

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: James61 1 review from this member

We stayed 13/01/17 to 16/01/17. Its the perfect site to stay on when you want to tour Cornwall, Lands End, St Ives, Padstow, Falmouth and more are all within easy driving distance.

The whole site is very well kept with large level pitches well spaced out.

The shower/toilet blocks are some of the best we have seen, with individual rooms that have a shower washbasin and toilet. There is large pub within 10 minutes walk away.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Agwilt 2 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site and we were very impressed. Good access off the main road with large serviced pitches on this spacious, well laid out site. Nice touches included availability of picnic tables and benches and individual pitch lights. As previous reviews have stated the washrooms are spotless with individual bathrooms equipped with a shower, toilet, handbasin and a large mirror. Best I have seen at any campsite!

We stayed on site for 5 nights between xmas and New Year and the site was full but it was quiet with a friendly atmosphere. Dog walks were excellent and the child friendly facilities looked good too, even though we didn't require them.

The site is ideally placed for visiting Cornwall with many facilities open all year such as the Eden Project at St Austell and Maritime Museum at Falmouth. Also fantastic walks, either from the site, or a short drive away, especially the Roseland Peninsula accessed via the King Harry Ferry.

Overall this gem of a site will definitely be on our favourites list from now on and a must during the Winter months when good sites in Cornwall are so hard to find.

Alison & Neil Vine

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Monty 1969 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, spotless showers, toilets and it's even got a room with a corner bath in. Very quier site and there's a bus stop just outside to Falmouth for great beaches and Truro for top shopping and a great pub within walking distance. Staff unbelievable helpful, a credit to Simon

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Axchal 10 reviews from this member

There is nothing to say about this site other that EXCELLENT In every way, from the very attractive entrance, general layout, maintenance, luxurious showers and toilets and very helpful wardens it cannot be bettered. Very easy access from main road and ideally situated for touring the entire county. In one day we went from the worst site we have ever seen to the best, in the same area. It is not on the cheap side and It may appear expensive, £24 pn for a basic pitch (including electricity and dog) in late September but you gets what you pays for. Menallack Farm in the area was £19. 50 pn, no comparison. Highly recommended without hesitation.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bess1 1 review from this member

Having just got married we decided to visit Devon and Cornwall for our honeymoon and I have to say that both when I booked this site and then arrived, we were seriously impressed.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a wedding card and a bottle of prosecco, which I thought was amazing and would like to officially thank you for that.

The pitch size was huge and the site in general was extremely well kept and maintained. The shower units etc were impeccably clean and well stocked.

I cannot tell you how brilliant the site is and how helpful the owners and staff are. Hats off to you.

The only downside is that Devon & Cornwall are not place for large motor-homes like ours and we had to hire a car to really appreciate the fantastic places around.

The other downside is that the pubs around are excellent, however its not advisable to walk as the roads are narrow and the traffic is busy.

So just another thank you for such a fabulous stay.

Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5527 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019