Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carnon Downs Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (West) > Truro > Carnon Downs Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Carnon Downs Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Carnon Downs
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR3 6JJ
Tel: 01342 327490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 169
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 71 Reviews
                9/10 from 71 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Jodyc9 1 review from this member

 Loved our stay only one night for a family meal over at the beefeater.

Facilities are amazing.

We didn't pack what we usually do due to the short stay and a couple of members of our family the kids aka the dogs were missing but they would have loved it too.

Defo would come here again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 200 reviews from this member

 Stayed here many times in the past but not since it became a CAMC site.

Looks and feels the same. The main difference is you get to choose your pitch (as with most CAMC sites).

Lovely reception/shop/cafe/bar area and lovely friendly welcome.

Had to advise pitch number once set up.

Large site but in sections so feels much smaller. Lots of 'premium' pitches(at extra cost per night).

3 toilet/shower blocks on site - however one was closed for maintenance over the Easter period. It was our closest block but not an issue to walk for an extra 5 minutes to use the other facilities!

Old block a bit dated but very clean and functional including a family room, toilets and a separate shower section (unisex) and indoor washing up area.

Newer block (Jubilee) that was open was brilliant. Spotless individual rooms (shower, toilet, sink) and 4 WC's with toilet and sink. Also housed here was another indoor washing up area and a laundry room.

For Easter it was VERY quiet (in our 'blue' section), just how we like it. I guess the cost of living crisis AND the £44 per night price tag over Easter put many people off?

Lots of walks from the site to a lovely local garden centre (with restaurant) and the local pub (Beefeater). We biked from the site to Bissoe and then onto the Mineral Tramway. It was very wet on the trail heading towards Portreath so we gave up and went the other way to Portreath and beyond. Ended up at Loe Beach having our picnic. Beware of the 25% hill on the way back up from the beach!

A regular bus also runs from right outside the site to Falmouth - or in the village (where there is also a nice Spar shop with butchers) to Truro. Currently the fare is £5 per adult for all day travel - a bargain!

The cafe/bar on site was open at limited times but we didn't use it. There are also numerous food waggons on site on different evenings, but most of them start from mid/end May.

There is some road noise but it never bothered us overnight. 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gazza1309 50 reviews from this member

 Not the usual standard Carvan and Motorhome Club site, I think it has been bought in the last couple of years from a private owner.

The site is well placed for visiting places in this area of Cornwall. If you have a motorhome, you may need a car as well, as there is little in Carnon Downs itself other than a Beefeater and a Spar Shop.

There is a bus stop out side however. We hired a car from enterprise who picked us up and dropped us of at the site.

The showers and WCs ate the unisex variety and are very good, there are plenty of blocks around the site.

There are a number of dog walking areas too.

There is a bar on site which was supposed to be open 5-8pm, but it certainly wasn't when we went to seek a drink each night. A pizza wagon did come on one night, but we didn't use it.

Wardens were good and helpful though. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sonyaritchie 3 reviews from this member

 Great site with really large flat well drained pitches, a fab toilet complex in fact the best we have ever had. A great walk into Truro and numerous routes and over fields to the pub and places of interest, a spar close by for any essentials, WIFI and a bus stop right outside the site with regular routes to Truro, Falmouth and the surrounding area. The only thing we really disliked about the site was that there was no security barriers and because of that I felt less safe than on other sites we have stayed on, especially when on a couple of occasions I saw some cars hanging around the entrance, there was a warden on site but as it was winter with early dark nights and limited lighting and as the park was quieter it just made me concerned, this wouldn't be an issue in the summer months. We really loved this fantastic site and would return in a heartbeat but I'm hoping that the next time we do security barriers might be installed, as this is a year round site and a site with storage IMO they are essential. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Greg M 40 reviews from this member

 Returned to this site after 7 years and we were not disappointed.

The site is split into various sections most with their own shower blocks, the nearest to us, along with the toilets had 3 unisex shower rooms.

I believe there is also a child's playground at the top end of the site.

Staff were very friendly and a variety of walks and cycle rides are available on maps if you are feeling fit.

For the more laid back of us there are site visits by a fish and chip shop van, Pizza van and also a mobile baker on various days.

Reception on our Avtex aerial was very good and phone signal (Virgin) was also good.

The site is between Truro and Falmouth with bus stops for both just outside the site.

Not the cheapest site by any means, but for a wonderful relaxing week it was hard to find fault. There is a small discount for C&MH club members 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zoeandchris 2 reviews from this member

 This is a well placed large site for visiting west Cornwall. We usually go for something a little smaller with less facilities but we love it here. We had just swapped our caravan for a new one and wanted an easy tow from east Cornwall so we could get used to the new van. The pitches are very large and the toilet block is quite amazing! Lovely walks from the site and an easy drive into Truro. If you want off the beaten track then this might not be for you but for everything else it couldn’t be better. Lovely staff too. We will still do the smaller sites we lovel but will definitely be back here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: TigerJools 9 reviews from this member

 We returned to this site 9 years after our first visit and it was as good as we remembered! It is a 400 mile drive which is why it has taken us so long to return.

Easy access from the main road. Some road noise if you were pitched near to it but we were on Pitch 29 in Carnon Blue and it wasn't an issue. Spacious pitch with a picnic bench which we shared with the friends we had travelled with. Shower Blocks superb - never queued. The site is large but never feels over busy or full. Several mobile eateries visit and the site staff are friendly and welcoming. Plenty of information and maps with local walks available. Ideal site for touring this part of Cornwall. We visited St Ives, Looe, Mevagissey, Cape Cornwall and Porthleven to name a few and had some lovely walks around the River Fal. Would recommend without hesitation. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 200 reviews from this member

 Called in here without booking on a Sunday in the middle of May to be initially told they were full (on hard standing pitches). The friendly staff then found us a choice of 2 pitches tucked away off the main site, which we were happy with. There were a number of other hard standings in our section that were not used while we were there??? Thought £25 per night in May was a bit steep though especially as that's the CC members rate too! Ouch. You get what you pay for though and it's a lovely site.

We have stayed many times before so knew what to expect. Well kept, tidy site, split into a few sections, so feels small. 4 toilet/shower blocks, 2 very modern the other 2 older, dated but spotlessly clean. Plenty of food waggons visit the site regularly too.

Not much for motorhomers within an easy walk, especially when the weather doesn't play ball!

The 'local' pub Carnon Inn used to be a Table to Table but is currently closed (until 24th May I believe?) for refurb and change to a Beefeater.

There's a local garden centre in the village a short walk away. Good food (snacks) and coffee in their café with lovely views. There is also a handy Spar a bit further into the village.

We walked into Truro straight from the site. It's about 4 miles along the old railway line so is mainly flat. We caught the bus back which cost us £2. 70 each return. We were going to catch it into Falmouth the next day but at £7. 80 each return even the bus driver said it was expensive! LOL

Even at £25 a night I'm sure we'll be back! 


Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: James61 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed 13/01/17 to 16/01/17. Its the perfect site to stay on when you want to tour Cornwall, Lands End, St Ives, Padstow, Falmouth and more are all within easy driving distance.

The whole site is very well kept with large level pitches well spaced out.

The shower/toilet blocks are some of the best we have seen, with individual rooms that have a shower washbasin and toilet. There is large pub within 10 minutes walk away. 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Agwilt 2 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site and we were very impressed. Good access off the main road with large serviced pitches on this spacious, well laid out site. Nice touches included availability of picnic tables and benches and individual pitch lights. As previous reviews have stated the washrooms are spotless with individual bathrooms equipped with a shower, toilet, handbasin and a large mirror. Best I have seen at any campsite!

We stayed on site for 5 nights between xmas and New Year and the site was full but it was quiet with a friendly atmosphere. Dog walks were excellent and the child friendly facilities looked good too, even though we didn't require them.

The site is ideally placed for visiting Cornwall with many facilities open all year such as the Eden Project at St Austell and Maritime Museum at Falmouth. Also fantastic walks, either from the site, or a short drive away, especially the Roseland Peninsula accessed via the King Harry Ferry.

Overall this gem of a site will definitely be on our favourites list from now on and a must during the Winter months when good sites in Cornwall are so hard to find.

Alison & Neil Vine 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Carnon Downs Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carnon Downs Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Carnon Downs Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Truro      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2480 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement