Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Canterbury Fields Holiday Park (was Yew Tree)

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Canterbury > Canterbury Fields Holiday Park (was Yew Tree) > Reviews

CLOSED: Canterbury Fields Holiday Park (was Yew Tree)
Stone Street
Petham
Canterbury
Kent   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that the touring site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches, it's now luxury lodges only. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Hp1701 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed in a static so cannot comments on showers, toilets etc. Site small and in Sep was hardly anyone there, so nice and quiet for us. As the pool was closed it was additionally quiet. Easy enough to find, thanks to the sat nav. You'll need a car to go anywhere though, as it's in the middle of no-where.

Caravan was similar to others I've stayed in. Looks about 20 years old, and quite old fashioned décor. However, it was clean. The children's beds are only about 2ft wide, so just like sleeping on a campbed. And very firm, not good if you need more support for your back though. The double was fine, but it's a small double, so big adults would find it cosy.

However they do provide bedding, a hand towel, a tea towel, an electric kettle and toaster. This is more than other campsites do, so was a bonus.

It rained a lot whilst we were there, and there was some large puddles we had to walk through, but handy-Andy was happy to try to sort things out, with a smile.

Small old tv, with basic satellite connection. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melee 6 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a week at Canterbury Fields. The swimming pool was closed but as we had terrible storms it didn't really affect us anyway. The site is mostly flat and nicely laid out, we found it to be clean and tidy at all times. I was a bit worried about the showers being so small with no curtain but belongings hung on the door remained dry, I found 4 mins (20p) was long enough to wash my hair and the water was lovely and hot, so no complaints. Also the shower settings were easy to see and adjust, a bonus when you are as short-sighted as me and hate fiddling around in strange showers getting alternately scalded and frozen! Even in August with the site full we never had to queue (but maybe everyone else gets up earlier than us!). The disabled facilities are excellent inside but there is a step outside which could be awkward for some. VERY hot water in the washing up area, which is great for cleaning pots but maybe get kids to be careful. There are laundry facilities but we didn't use them so can't comment on price etc.

The nearest shops are miles away so the site is really missing a trick in not supplying essentials. Can recommend the park and ride if you go into Canterbury, very good value and stress-free (£3 for the car and up to 6 occupants). Pub next door (literally but we only heard any noise on the Saturday night which is fair) is lovely and has great food. Have a wander out of the back of the site and a little way down the road towards Petham village if you want to see some stunning views. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Flaxlandblue 1 review from this member

 What a massive disappointment this site is. It has changed hands and they have closed the swimming pool. We always come early July and see family nearby and pay extra for them to use the pool. The prices have stayed the same but with no pool it's very expensive.

Shower is only the size of the shower - no room to dress or change so do bring a towelling dressing gown. Looking for an alternative nearby at better rates.

The ground is well kept and it is neat and tidy. A small play park for young children, probably 5 and under. Nice views over countryside. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Avalon19690 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this campsite for a few days last week. The owner was very helpful in getting us in at short notice.

Overall this is a great campsite and we enjoyed our time here very much (so much so I am leaving this review).

The campsite itself is sectioned off nicely with trees and hedges so it doesn't feel crowded or over full at any time. The pitches as far as I can see are for the most part level, ours certainly was.

There are plenty of bricks positioned around for BBQs which is a nice touch.

The play area is very small with some balance logs and beams and a few small sit on toys, mainly aimed for younger children I am sure.

The pool was really nice and we spent a fair amount of time here. We had the good weather so the water temperature was lovely, although I am told the pool is heated. The pool was a big selling point for us coming to this site and it didn't disappoint.

The toilets are OK - had better but also have had a lot worse. There are only 4 showers and these are small, but perfectly useable. They do cost 20p, but I found that the time allowed was enough. The toilets are closed from 10:30 - 11:30 for cleaning.

We found it a great base for sightseeing in Canterbury (use the park and ride, they charge per car and not per person), but also good for travelling further afield.

Overall I would like to thank the owners, we had a fantastic stay and will definitely like to return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Busy Mum 1 review from this member

 Disappointing.

Great site if you like to pay for very short showers, queueing for toilets and washing up, and petty swimming pool rules.

Have been coming here for several years but now under new ownership. Might be my imagination but there seem to be more pitches squeezed into the same space so the 2 washing up sinks and toilet blocks didn't really cope at peak times.

All in all, more crowded & less welcoming - we won't be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Amanda Burgess 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a disappointing two night stay at this campsite. There were many positives, the location was great, the pitches were roomy and the pool was lovely but the whole experience was let down by the state of the toilets and showers. Both the toilets and showers were crammed into a very small space and they did not look clean at any point during the day, we're talking chunks of hair, and mud and grass all over the floor. One of the toilets kept blocking up and two out of the four didn't have any toilet roll for the best part of a day. Such a shame as this will stop me coming again to what is otherwise a lovely site. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simondawn 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here at easter had a great time me the wife and ten year old little girl site very clean and well maintained toilets and showers also very clean, showers were 20p for 4 minutes never went cold on me, pub next door great food perfect. If you want a basic clean well looked after site this is the one, local shop about 3 miles away so get every thing before you settle down will return thanks a lot simon 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Irvine45 87 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site after the Easter holiday. This is a nice site and when we were there very quiet. The site is well run and clean. Location to Canterbury a couple of miles so pretty good. I found the site very easily, so towing absolutely no problem. The pitches are a mixed of level for caravans and a bit of a slope for tents.

My only gripe is the washrooms need a mop to keep the grass at bay and the shower cubicles larger.

Didn't use the pool, if the weather was a lot hotter maybe.

All in all l would recommend the site 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Doverover 44 reviews from this member

 We live locally and just wanted a site to checkout the new leisure battery and we'd driven past the site a few times so we thought we'd give it a go.

We booked the day before and managed to get in and then added another day whilst there. No problem.

The pool wasn't in use being April but looks more than large enough for the size of the site.

Very helpful owner and a reasonable price for the facilities available. Everything immaculately tidy and clean and a good level pitch near the exit with electric. I didn't see any hardstandings.

The Chequers public House just outside the gates is a real gem, lovelly food and real ales.

If we have a critisism it would be the showers, the four minutes I can put up with and even having to put in 20p before I start but the shower cubicle in our motorhome is bigger then they are, not only that but there is nowhere to put your washing kit. At least in the gents we had curtains to cover the clothes hanging on the back of the door but apparently the ladies didn't even have those.

Would we stay there again? Definitely yes, much helped by the presence of the local pub 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2985 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement