Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Meadow Farm Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Bishop Auckland > Meadow Farm Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Meadow Farm Camping & Caravan Park
Ramshaw Lane
Ramshaw
Bishop Auckland
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL14 0NB
Tel: 07840 828617
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 7 Reviews
                7/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Hennis 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights during the week to see how we managed camping again after a number of years. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Owner was very friendly and kept popping over for a chat. Weather was wet and windy but that didn't bother us.

Campsite kept very clean with chickens wandering around. Toilets and showers very clean.

Not many on the site as it was midweek but it suited us with pandemic going on. Nice quiet site. Plenty of places to visit around and about.

Would definitely recommend this campsite. Will be visiting again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Deborah jane 1 review from this member

 Lovely little campsite.

Owner very friendly, plenty of room for kids and a good little park to keep them entertained!

Shower/toilet block clean and plenty of hot water! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TomsNotGotTomTom 4 reviews from this member

 Myself and my son stayed for one night, in a tent without electricity.

We came here at short notice and were welcomed at the gates.

They keep livestock in pens and locking the gates is necessary to ensure nothing escapes.

The price was very, very reasonable. I won't state how much, here because it was an agreement for our first visit and I wouldn't want the owner to be held to it for everyone.

We wanted a simple pitch without electrical hookup but they were available.

Pitches with fire pits were also available which is a nice touch.

You get the impression you're on top of a hill and there isn't a lot to see beyond the hedges that surround, except fields. It's a real sun-trap though so be sure to pack sunblock and dress for warmth if the weather is promising.

There was plenty of space for myself and my son to set up a small footie pitch (enough for just us) without disturbing our neighbours.

Younger children seemed happy wandering here and there, which didn't seem a problem because the site is small enough to be able to see where they are.

There is gentle slope to the field but not so much it makes it awkward to pitch.

A small, enclosed area in the corner of the site holds pigs, piglets and some different hens, cockerels and geese. Yes, you could hear the cockerels now and again but it certainly wasn't loud enough to wake me up. There is more general noise from the children and people's chat - which wasn't any louder than you would expect.

The toilets and showers looked clean and maintained. I see facilities like this as a functional part of a site and as long as they are there and working, that ticks the box, for me.

The play park was new (a day old) and has still to be enclosed. It would suit younger children, up to ten years old, I would say.

Fresh water taps are in an area in the centre of the site.

The pitches are not marked out or bordered; you get shown to your pitch.

There is a retail park five or ten minutes drive away with McDonalds, Tesco, Sainsbury's and B&M, among others.

Recommend you see Raby Castle if you stay. Only half an hour drive away and worth every penny - spectacular.

If you want a no nonsense site with enough to keep the kids amused, this is for you.

The owners were chatty and easy to get on with.

I would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ma22a 1 review from this member

 I visited this site recently and wanted to leave some feedback for the site.

The site itself is very pleasant and has been under construction for several years, but is still basic in terms of facilities, there is a small play area for children which consists of two swings and a small toilet area, two loos and two showers situated in a porta cabin type structure. There was no plate washing up facilities.

The site warden seemed a decent enough fella and was pleasant in our limited interactions. The main point I wish to raise is the pricing structure at this camp site. It is excessive to say the least. Sadly itís the most expensive camp site Iíve ever been to and it has the least facilities for that cost.

I was charged £10 per adult (x2), £5 per child (x2) £5 electric and £3. 50 for our small awning per night. A whopping £38. 50 per night. There was also the option of a fire pit and logs were £6. 50 a bag. As you can see that would have been quite some outlay per night.

I canít see how they can justify charging such a high cost when the facilities are so basic. If there are more facilities, then fair enough but currently there are not.

On the camping and caravan club site the charges are £5-£11 Family and unit

Other local sites that we have visited in the past are considerably cheaper and have vastly superior facilities

We paid for 2 nights but we just couldnít stay the another night as the whole pricing just left a sour taste in our mouths. A refund was requested and refused which is perfectly within the rights of the site.

The aim of my review is to provide constructive feedback to the site and I wish them all the best in developing their site and hopefully as more facilities are available to the campers they can justify the current pricing structure. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Missym811 1 review from this member

 We stayed at the site for two nights and had a great time. The children loved the play area but unfortunately half of it was dismantled on our second day due to a malfunction.

Toilet block was clean and was well stocked with toilet roll. There wasn't hot water to wash dishes as it also had a malfunction. We loved the fire pit but the site is on a slight incline making it harder to pitch tents.

Would not return here Simply because of the cockerels wake up calls at dawn each morning which continued for the next two hours. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CW52 26 reviews from this member

 This is a new campsite and owner is in the process of clearing land to build a shower/toilet block. At present there is a clean shower and toilet in a porta cabin, men/ladies

Slightly sloping field for tents but flat area at the top, Problem is at the moment, the ground is very uneven and could actually do with a roller going over it, and also was very wet when we visited. Areas for fires with some pitch sites. In a nice peaceful area, not far from main road. There are a few hard standing pitches for caravans, with more to follow. Not a huge site, only the one field, and as yet no other facilities, but nice to see a new site in Co Durham being developed, Will take a look again next season 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bettyfc 1 review from this member

 10 of us stayed here Sept 2015 for 2 nights. It was fantastic, in a lovely location, very secure, with lovely clean toilets and showers. The owners could not do enough for you. We had a fab Camp Fire, which made the weekend. 15 minute walk to a very nice local pub, and about the same again to shops. We will def be going back, loved it. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Meadow Farm Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Meadow Farm Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Meadow Farm Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bishop Auckland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2426 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December