Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping La Petite Foret

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Hauts de France > Aire Sur La Lys > Camping La Petite Foret > Reviews

Camping La Petite Foret
16, Rue Du Canal
Aire Sur La Lys
Hauts de France   (Browse area)
62120
Tel: 00 33 3 21 93 67 42
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/04/2024 to 15/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Haydn brown 1 review from this member

 We are pleased to provide a review for Le Petite Foret campsite.

On arrival we found the owner to be welcoming and the campsite itself to be friendly, relaxed and charming!

It has generous pitches, a quiet atmosphere and ideal for those who wish to be at one with nature- we even had a chicken visiting our pitch which we found slightly endearing.

The owner is free and easy and offered us some local produce which was great.

We will definitely return soon! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Danksj 1 review from this member

 This campsite was a stopover after long drive from north of scotland over to France & was perfect, had everything we needed.

Originally it was for one night, changed to 2 as weather & pitch were perfect. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Catarinabod 74 reviews from this member

 Had 2 nights here before returning to UK by Eurotunnel. Irritating pull cord to operate shower - you need to permanently hang on to it to get a proper flow. Wash-up sinks had hot water.

We walked along the canal into the town which took probably 50 mins as it was hot. Unfortunately for us, on Saturday lunchtime, the entire town seemed to be on holiday.

Most shops and restaurants were shut so we were unable to treat ourselves to a last French meal before returning home. Our second night was spoilt by 3 French people who arrived in a tent.

They were up until the early hours talking loudly and generally being noisy. As we had a fairly early start and a long day's drive to get home, this was bad timing for us.

Check-in was good and I was offered info on the area.

Overall though, our experience of this site was not great. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CERB 1 review from this member

 We’ve just enjoyed a lovely stay here. They were reallly welcoming and spoke fantastic English (phew!). The site is basic with very clean facilities.

The staff are incredibly knowledgeable about the area and are always happy to give advice. My only tip is to take your showers in the evening when the showers are warmer.

Definitely worth another visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hevseys 7 reviews from this member

 We rang in the morning to book this site for 2 nights on our way back to Calais after reading reviews. It didn't disappoint, it was exactly as others had described it.

The man who greeted us was very friendly but didn't speak English however another chap soon appeared who spoke very good English and turned out to be super friendly and always happy to chat.

We were able to choose from all the vacant pitches and the one we had next to the toilet block was very large with a picnic bench.

The site is mainly static vans all personalised with lots of gnomes, picket fences and other decorative items. It has a homely feel. It was a quiet site other than the children who always played around the toilet block, not a problem they were just enjoying themselves.

The toilets are mixed and very clean at all times. They weren't too busy as they're only really used by the tourers and there weren't many of them. There were spare pitches but as people find out about the site I expect you will need to book. It's about an hour from Calais, we had 2 nights chilling after a long drive and before returning home. We walked into the town along the canal bank getting lost a little so suggest you look at a map first. The town has a number of shops and it was a pleasant walk but took us much longer than the 40 minutes we were expecting, we took about an hour but it was hot and we were strolling rather than walking briskly.

There is a bar on the site but it's a casual affair and only open at weekends or for special events, these are held for the residents but open to all, there was nothing on when we were here.

There is no motorhome service point and we were instructed to empty the toilet in the end cubicle which has a Turkish style squat toilet which was no problem ( my husband assures me) the other toilets are all usual style, no seats though. Take your own toilet roll which is usual in France.

We will definitely use this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Big Roy 4 reviews from this member

 I would just like to add an update and can can only agree with the previous positive reviews of this excellent site.

The main change is that there is now an intercom system situated on the left hand side of the gate, the barrier closes at 8pm so if you arrive late or if there is no-one at reception you can now use this.

I would also like to add that the Town is a 5 minute drive from the site with a small retail park (which you cant miss) where you will find all the shops you are likely to need, including a Carrefour (with fuel station) Lidl, E Leclerc, Mcdonalds, Norauto, plus many more.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, I would definitely return here and couldn't fault it. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mucker1884 40 reviews from this member

 Second of two overnighters en-route home from Frejus back to the Tunnel.

Paying full whack (No ACSI Card or other such saving scheme!)

Turn up on spec without booking, but with fingers crossed!

Stayed Thurs 15th Sept.

Cost:

Pitch inc. 2 x adults & EHU all in €15. 00

Picked totally out of the blue, whilst still on the road, using a combination of Archies App, a very quick check of UKCS reviews and Tom Tom, this site proved to be our favourite of the 4 overnight sites to and from Chunnel/ Frejus. And also the cheapest!

We had lush green grass, a good sized, flat pitch, all on a very nice “homely” site. Ok, we had rain too, which may explain the grass, but beggars can’t be choosers!

We arrived. Unannounced. Just after 6pm, to find the barrier up, but reception locked. On the door was a sign, inc. In English, giving a ‘phone number to call. Monsieur answered promptly, and in English far far better than my French, he said he’d be there in 15 mins, which he was. In all honesty, I was expecting him to say “Help yourself to a pitch, and I’ll see you later” but instead, we had to wait. Nervously, as it happened, as the clouds grew blacker and blacker! Ultimately, the worst of the rain fell whilst we sat in the car awaiting his arrival, and we avoided a soaking, so I guess on this occasion, this possible negative (the waiting) ended up being a positive, even if only by chance!

After unlocking reception, and a welcoming handshake, he took my money, and advised on 3 or 4 neighbouring vacant pitches to choose from. All very amiable and welcoming. We weren’t made to feel guilty about interrupting his evening meal, if indeed we had!

He enquired whether we were likely to be going out, which we weren’t. I believe if we were, he would have given us a key (or card?) for the barrier, which was due to come down later. We didn’t need one though.

The choice of pitches offered were all similar, in a good way, so little to choose from. For the first time ever, we chose the nearest to the loo/shower block, but as the site was very quiet, we didn’t expect any disturbance. And we were proved right!

There were a few nice and cosy looking statics/chalets occupied, which appeared to be residential rather than holiday lets(?), but it appeared we were the only tourers, as we set up. Ultimately, one average, and one supersized motorhome arrived later, just after dark, so I guess it’s pretty much “Anything goes”, with regards to arrival time?

The showers had a pull string, as opposed to push buttons. But as they dangled in yer face, directly under the overhead shower, they were just as annoying! The shower cubicles were also a little on the tight side. But we liked the site so much, and were so relieved at not getting soaked setting up, we didn’t care a jot! There was a choice of “normal” loos and Turkish. There were also wash basin cubicles. Maybe a bit short on hanging hooks, but it’s not the end of the world, is it!

All unisex/mixed, by the way.

The whole lot was spotless, and the site itself very tidy and well tended to.

Admittedly, partly due to the damp, showery weather, and partly due to being lazy, we didn’t exactly explore the site as a whole, and certainly saw nothing of the surroundings/nearest town etc, so cannot give a full and fair overview, but we certainly liked what we did see of the site.

Our favourite overnight site, just 10mins from J5 of the A26, and with just under an hour’s drive to Eurotunnel check in, so we’ll certainly come back, should we be heading back in this direction. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kon-tiki 1 review from this member

 Good site for stop overs for 1/2 nights, toilets showers clean, pitches good, owners very helpful and friendly, mobile phone operated barrier so late arrival not a problem.

Easy walk into town choice of walking road or canal, supermarket and few eating places before you get into town, every thing you want there. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Buckchamp 1 review from this member

 I absolutely loved this little campsite for many reasons one of them being how truly helpful and friendly the owner, Gerry and his son were in accommodating me and my little dog.

Situated within an easy drive from Calais or Dunkirk (less than an hour from memory) I arrived around 10pm without a reservation. The owner wasn't on site but a friendly person in one of the static vans telephoned the owner who came out immediately to greet me and show me to a lovely, little, quiet plot. The small, but beautifully formed, site mostly accommodates what I assume are French holiday-makers staying in static vans but there's several plots (maybe a dozen) for motorhomes or tents.

I spent three nights on this site and would like to have stayed longer but I had a ferry booked to return to the UK. It was obvious, during my stay, how much care and attention is lavished on the site. Lots of thoughtful details and the toilet block was a delight (if toilet blocks can be such). Very clean and well appointed.

My little plot was surrounded by four foot hedges with a really pretty, little purple flower (don't know what it was).

The little site is located a walk away (40 mins. Along a canal which ferried large barges which I found very exciting) from a fabulous, medieval town full of friendly people.

In a nut shell, I highly recommend this campsite and a visit to the town of Aire-Sur-La-Lys wont let you down. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kiaora 3 reviews from this member

 We stopped for one night on the way to Calais, friendly man in the office, directed us to a nice pitch.

We didn't book, and in hindsight were lucky, only about two pitches left, probably e, mail or call next time.

The wc block was typical French, mixed ladies and gents.

Young kids hanging around block, no problem, but was strange little kids chatting through the doors!

Not the sort of site we would stay more than one night.

But felt safe, that's important to us. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping La Petite Foret child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping La Petite Foret?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping La Petite Foret dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aire Sur La Lys      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Hauts de France

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58739 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement