Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forest And Wye Valley Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Lydney > Forest And Wye Valley Camping Site Reviews

Forest And Wye Valley Camping Site
Bearse Farm
St Briavels
Lydney
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL15 6QU
Tel: 01594 530777
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 43
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 67 Reviews
                10/10 from 67 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Louise Parker 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite is absolutely fantastic.

The facilities are immaculate, I’ve never stayed at a campsite with such clean showers and toilets.

There are lovely walks from the site into a local village with stunning views. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Demono 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite, good sized pitches and really friendly owners.

Fantastic toilet and shower block, very clean.

Plenty of fresh water taps, with motorhome fill up/disposal point.

Lots of scenic walks.

Only little gripe is having to pay extra for wifi, (which wasn't the best) but would definitely stay again,

Can't recommend this place enough. 10/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Osborn 1 review from this member

 Very clean friendly camp site

Enjoyed the peace and quiet and lovely places to visit

Would definitely recommend and hopefully be back.

There are two pubs nearby and a village store in Stock Briavels. nearest superstore is Lidl in coleford about a 10-15 minute drive

Overall a nicely situated site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: TrixieBovine 1 review from this member

 We’ve just come back from a fabulous weekend at Forest and Wye Valley Camping Site. The site is fairly small and compact with code operated barriers so only guest are able to enter.

We arrived at 12:30 but as our pitches were free (we had 3) the staff allowed us to start pitching straight away. The pitches were grassy and fairly flat and well-looked after.

There is a small shop on site by the reception open from 10-6 every day and the staff are very approachable and helpful. We hired a fire-pit for £15 which they filled with wood and a firefighter and carried over to our pitch for us. (We didn’t actually get to use this as it hammered down in the evening so we kept it (unlit) in our porch to keep it dry and returned it the next morning - we were unfortunately unable to get a refund as the one member of staff who could make the decision whether or not to offer a refund was not on site that morning).

There is a lovely enclosed paddock with chickens and goats on site and a grassy path (away from the road) leading to the nearby village of St Briavels. The town of Lydney is a 15 minute drive away and has restaurants, cafes and supermarkets etc.

The camp site has a modern purpose-built shower block. The showers and toilets are cleaned throughout the day and there was plenty of hot water to go round. We never had to queue for a shower and only had to queue for the loos once when someone had managed to lock three of the cubicle doors from the outside! There is also a small laundry and shelving for drying boots.

The washing machine and separate condenser dryer were domestic but perfectly adequate and were free whenever we needed to use them. The tokens for washing cost £4 which included a washing pod and the dryer was £1 for 30 minutes.

There are also separate washing up facilities and adequate waste disposal/ recycling and water stands for easily accessible drinking water.

This is a child-friendly site and it was lovely to see people walking their dogs and children riding their bikes during our stay (there is no play park which suited us).

There is a no-music policy after 10pm and no noise after 11pm which most people managed to adhere to. All in all we really enjoyed staying here and felt very welcome.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The facilities were good and exceeded out expectations, they were clean and well-maintained.

The site is situated within an easy car ride of the most popular attractions in the Forest of Dean (we kayaked for the full day on the Wye).

We will most definitely be back for another visit and would recommend to other campers. :) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Worsye 1 review from this member

 A friendly reception and roomy pitch which was clearly demarcated.

The toilet block was clean and spacious with ample showers and washing up facilities.

It was a shame that we paid £1 per device for Wifi but were still unable to get a regular signal. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Adamp5 1 review from this member

 What a lovely little site tucked into a little woodland, very clean and relaxing site. Although we only stayed 1 night touring. We will definitely keep this one on our list of sites to come back to.

Surrounded by beautiful scenery and easy walks. Either to the nearest village (St Braivels) or through the woodland following a stream.

Thankyou very much to all the friendly staff. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Traff2709 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site that is well maintained with very good facilities -however reception is only open 10-6 and closed on the Tuesday we were there without notice to us ( don't know if this is every week)

Watch out as there is no signal and you need to purchase Wi-Fi vouchers (£1 per day for 24 hours per device) unfortunately we didn't enjoy our visit -with them calling as we driving to site to see when we were due to arrive as it turned out they wanted to close reception early (4. 30pm !) this resulted in no local information (the Gardner was most helpful by talking us through places to visit)

No Wi-Fi codes until the following lunchtime when we were able to contact site owner -

This site wasn't right for us- the things we picked the site for were not there - no café insufficient providore and no longer family run - however this is to our experience 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Biljul 2 reviews from this member

 The site is very well kept. The hard standing pitch we stopped on was large and we could pitch how we like.

We had a problem with one of the grass cutting contractors chopping through our cable but the way Jason handled this was very good. We had repaired the cut cable but unfortunately it was now 5m shorter. He arranged for a replacement which was delivered to our home address the day we returned.

Covid precautions on site were good and all facilities were open. The surrounding area is great for walking, with routes straight from the site, including a nice area for dog walks. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona f 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely 3 night stay on this spacious, clean, beautiful site. Pitches large whether grass or handstanding.

Toilet block immaculate with obligatory hand gel available. Lots of walks direct from the site.

All the staff were friendly, helpful & knowledgeable about the area. They found us a pub doing evening food on a Tuesday evening which is not easy in the current situation & booked us a table. And great bacon butties available every morning! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bev staples 1 review from this member

 One of the best sites we have stayed at. Beautiful well run site. Generous pitches with excellent facilities.

Very friendly and knowledgeable owners. Shop on site for daily necessities and fire pits for hire.

Stunning walks and so many places to visit with short distances.

Highly recommended we will definitely be going back. 
via mobile


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Forest And Wye Valley Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Forest And Wye Valley Camping Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Forest And Wye Valley Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lydney      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7265 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement