Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sutton Vale Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Deal > Sutton Vale Country Park Reviews

Sutton Vale Country Park
Vale Road
Sutton By Dover
Deal
Kent   (Browse area)
CT15 5DH
Tel: 01304 699 061
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 25 Reviews
                7/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jayjay86 1 review from this member

 It was amazing very welcoming. Very good facilities and great evening entertainment.

Every thing they have listed they have on site.

Toilet were being cleaned regularly 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: F13dev 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights as a weekend getaway that wasn't too far from home. The site is located down some typical Kent countryside lanes with little passing space; having lived in Kent for 23 years I'm used to driving on this kind of road.

The site itself seemed to be well presented with level camping pitches and a tap by each pair of electric hookups. The toilet blocks are nearby the camp site and appear to have been recently renovated; they are checked/cleaned once an hour throughout the day.

While we were staying the main hall and bar area of the site was closed off as it was being renovated too, given some time to complete the work this may well turn out to be quite a nice campsite.

Other than the swimming pool there isn't much here for kids throughout the day, but there are certain clubs and events at the main building such as a Cinema club, kids bingo etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Becksbee 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived to Sutton Vale up a very long and winding Kent country road, beautiful views over the fields and through little pockets of houses, quite hairy at night though because it was a one track road with passing places.

The campsite is located in the sports field at Sutton Vale Caravan Park, easily found after directions from the helpful receptionist.

We were camping, without electric, and there seemed to be only around 8 or 9 non electric pitches, but plenty of electric pitches.

Unfortunately our pitch was on a slope and so whilst we pitched as flat as possible, we were on a slight incline, which proved a little uncomfortable at night.

We camped on a Bank Holiday weekend, and there were lots of families/large groups of people. We were on our own, but those who were in groups all seemed to have been able to camp together, probably helped by your being able to book specific pitches, which were numbered. The pitches were large enough to pitch our 6 man family tent, we could have easily had a larger tent in the space. There was also plenty of water standpipes at regular intervals around the site providing fresh water.

There were toilets located on the sports field, along with a washing up area. The toilets, whilst kept clean hourly, could have done with a little TLC.

The showers were located a short walk away and, again, kept clean hourly. I liked the showers which were not push button type, they had good water pressure, meaning you were able to get a thorough shower. They never seemed to be busy, and I only ever encountered one other person in the shower per day, despite the campsite being full. In this area there was also a laundry with washing machines and dryers, a sluice room, another washing up area and more toilets.

There was also a swimming pool on site, which, whilst could have done with being a little cleaner, was a welcome addition for my two children, we enjoyed a good hour in there, again, it was not too busy.

There was also a bar which served food and advertised Sunday Lunches, they had entertainment on Friday/Saturday night, but I did not go in myself so cannot comment on this.

The campsite would benefit from a small shop for essentials, since the nearest shop was three miles away, all be it a very large Tesco. Around the area of Tesco, there was also a few other local shops, including a very lovely fish and chip shop.

Be warned, the campsite has a joining fence with a local farmer who, when we were there, was spraying his crops which cause a bit of a pong, but. We were in the country, so what else could you expect!

All in all, despite it being a very busy Bank Holiday Weekend, we had a lovely time. The other campers, whilst making quite a bit of noise within their various groups, all kept to the music/noise curfew meaning our children were able to get a good night sleep every night.

Good value for money, and we would go back. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RMartin 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for one one night

First the positive points

Staff and permanent residents are extremely friendly and welcoming

Bar prices are reasonable and the food prices look good (didn't eat in)

Camping area is just a field but its pretty flat with electric and water on each pitch

Now for the negatives

Pretty much the same as all the other reviews. It's very tired and quite grubby

Swimming pool looked grimy so much so that my sons didn't want to go in

Toilets don't have paper soap etc dryers don't work

Playground non existent

In conclusion

It's a shame because this could be a lovely little site and the people are so friendly unfortunately it looks like the owners have decided to stop investing in even basic maintenance 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sussexgirl 4 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were directed to our 'weed' ridden pitch. The approach to the campsite is down a very narrow lane where we encountered a huge tractor pulling a trailer. This caused total gridlock with me having to ask multiple annoyed drivers to reverse. Then the old lady whose house this was happening outside decided to use this moment to start shouting at me about how she's 'sick of it always happening'. The response from the lady in the campsite reception? Just laughed at me. As the previous review mentioned, the shower block is very tatty and in desperate need of an update. One of the showers didn't work but no sign was up to say this which made it very annoying when I'd stripped off and got myself ready only to find it was a slow drip rather than a shower. The pool is about the only saving grace here. The bar is shabby and there's nothing for the kids. Do not go here, I'm sure there are better places around located for an early morning ferry from Dover. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul+Dawn 6 reviews from this member

 Don't bother going if you have kids. No playground, except for one hand made swing from a tree, no Kids Club - despite this being advertised on their website! No hardstandings. The campsite looks shabby as you drive in and the toilet block is awful, a portacabin type of building. This could be a lovely site if time and money were put into it. We left after one night and moved to another site. Say no more. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SwiftNick 5 reviews from this member

 I spent a VERY enjoyable week at the site but this was due to the weather, its location & the attractions around it rather than the facilities on site.

The visitors camping ground is large & fairly flat with electric hook-ups & water on most of the pitches. The pitches are quite generous in size. The site claims quite a few facilities on its page but some are exaggerated & some non-existent. Showers are grubby & rarely work properly being either far too hot-scalding, in fact, or coming out at a cool dribble. Touring toilets are in a Porta-cabin near the field entrance, again VERY grubby & basic with no soap or hand drying available. Units were in place for these things but never filled. The wash-up place is another Porta-cabin next to the toilets & very basic with hot & cold water & 3 sinks. The shower block is about 100mtrs from these. Cleaning is, maybe, once a day. There is a laundry but I never used it. There is NO TV room or even a working TV in the 'clubhouse' (the Sky box had been removed to the local pub). The 'games room' is a pool table (untried) & 4 10p slot machines. Evening entertainment is, maybe, on a Saturday evening late in July & during August. Nothing else! The bar is quite good & can provide bar snacks like burgers & chips & coffee etc. So, I suppose it could be construed as a 'café', of sorts. There is NO restaurant or café (other than the rather limited range from the bar) although if pre-ordered, on a Sunday (only) a lunchtime meal can be sent down from the local pub, the owners of which are the same as that of the camp site (food at the pub is excellent, by the way!). Internet access is available in the clubhouse ONLY even though I was told by phone that it was site wide.

The pool is very good although rather run-down. It has been partly filled in to make it shallower so no life-guard is needed but gives a good swim & does have a reasonable working shower. There is a toddler’s shallow section in the pool & 2 changing cubicles on the surround.

The on-site staff are very friendly & helpful & a pleasure to interact with, as are the permanent residents seen in the clubhouse/bar.

This site needs investment to bring it up to anything like modern standards but if you are self-reliant & don't want all the 'frills' of a busy, fun filled, entertainment packed holiday site then this one is fine & at, what I think, are reasonable rates (book on-line for a generous discount).

There are many places to visit around the whole of the area but be aware of the local roads! They are often single track with passing places & some idiots use them as racetracks! Be Warned!

As I said at the start, I had a very enjoyable weeks stay. It was a beautiful, relaxing & peaceful stay, but don't expect anything glamorous if you visit! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Stevegcot 1 review from this member

 Pros, great site for Dover and surrounding areas. Lovely pitches with EHU and water standpipes. Not cramped with plenty of room.

Cons, toilets and showers very run down. Although its stated they are cleaned hourly they were filthy and had not been deep cleaned for sometime.

If they paid more attention to keeping standards up this site would be A1. As it is its 'could do better'. Great pub just up the road serves good honest pub food called the Plough Inn. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gwen so tall 1 review from this member

 ' We did have 2 years ago' was the standing joke on this holiday. On the web site they clam to have a children's play area, there is sign posts directing you to one, but we couldn't find it. So we asked the cleaner who replied ' we haven't had it for about 2 years. ' The next day I need some bread so I tried to find the shop that is advertised on the web site. After looking for a while I asked the receptionist who replied ' We haven't had a shop for about 2 years. '

However this didn't put us off the pitches were lovely and flat with a water tap in between every 2 pitches. Although a lot of campers it wasn't crowed there was a very large area in the centre of the camping field for playing ball games etc.

The toilets by the camping field were basic but were very clean. The shower block is more modern with 3 showers in each man and ladies again clean with plenty of hot water, once I had worked out how to use them.

There was children's entertainment but my daughter felt she was a bit old for it ( she is nearly a teenager) we did go to children's bingo one night which she enjoyed.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The best thing on the site is the heated indoor swimming pool all not that big the kids and adults a like loved it.

Tescos is only a short drive away As is Dover and Deal.

There is a short walk through the corn field which leaders to a friendly country pub.

We went with friends for 4 nights and are all ready planing to go back for a week next year. They did say they are hoping to build a new children play area in the autumn. We had a great holiday at a very responsible price. Book on line to get a discount. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Stewartandcharlene 2 reviews from this member

 This is our 2nd visit here. We come here because its close to where we live, so ideal for a weekend break. Very close to Deal, Walmer and Dover Castles and Dover ferry ports. A trip to Fowlmead country park is a must if you have kids and dogs. It has one of the best play parks in the area. You can rent bikes and there's a cafe.

The pitches all go round in a circle around the field, about 30 pitches, this makes it child friendly as all the kids play together in the middle. The rope swing is no longer there. They are still advertising a children's playground. We came here last year and there wasn't one here then or now. They should remove this from their advertising as this was one of the main reasons we came the first time. Also they still have up their sign post for it outside reception.

Shower and toilet blocks were nice and clean. The ladies toilets near the camping field has no bins inside, really this should be a must. We showered at night, so no waiting. The distance from the door to shower is good so your clothes don't get wet. Could use a few more hooks though.

They have a pool, but no life guard and was busy. Pub/cafe is good size and decor nice. They often have evening singers. They have a small kids club during peak periods. Playing rounders, bead making, nature walks etc. We didn't take our kids to this as they were happy to play outside with the other children. The Bar is pricey!Glad to see that they sell milk, bread, bacon, sweets etc. We didn't need any so cant comment on prices. The pool is free.

The bins by the campsite didn't get emptied at all, which ended up over flowing and lots of mess on the floor. More bins are cleary needed if they cant get emptied daily.

By booking on their website you normally get a 25% discount. We arrived and they lost our booking. Staff were not very friendly, it took 2 people to find us a space, even though we already booked and had a pitch number. They then tried to over charge us. I would recommend when you book ring up a few days before to check your booking, and also on the day. They seem to frequently over book.

Over all its child friendly and safe. 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sutton Vale Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Sutton Vale Country Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sutton Vale Country Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Sutton Vale Country Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Deal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2457 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement