Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Riddings Wood Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Alfreton > Riddings Wood Holiday Park Reviews

Riddings Wood Holiday Park
Bullock Lane
Riddings
Alfreton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE55 4BP
Tel: 01773 605160
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 42 Reviews
                8/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (29)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Lois Riley 1 review from this member

 A group of four tents/families on grass pitches, we stayed on the bottom field, two of us booked electric, other two didn't.

Electric hookup worked super.

There is a park on the field, which the kids (aged between 9 and 12) spent quite a bit of time on, they loved the swings, but enjoyed having somewhere to go away from us adults more I think.

The views were lovely, and felt like we were miles away from civilisation. Lots of wildlife in the trees - was lovely.

Toilets were so so clean, not once did we go in and were met with a nasty surprise, hand driers worked well, as did the showers, we couldn't get the hair dryers to work, but tbh we just let our hair dry naturally - and I could have dried it in the tent if I had brought my own drier - totally wasn't a problem and only mentioned it as want to be honest.

The pot washing facilities were again clean, make sure you take a plug or washing up bowl though.

They have washing machines, it does cost and we didn't need to use it, but they deffo worked as someone else was using one.

We are definitely wanting to book again, hopefully with a bigger group than this time, which I am sure wont be a problem as the bottom field was huge.

Hard standing pitches looked lovely too, flat and well spaced out.

Lovely site, couldn't believe something so nice was so close to home. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Elaine 1 review from this member

 Love this campsite. So peaceful. Great facilities. Well equipped. Friendly staff.

Well kept and clean. Love the rule that no music or noise after 10. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mariac 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite, this is our 2nd stay. We had electric hookup for our tent, the pitches are really spacious,

Playground is great for younger kids and the facilities are clean and well maintained.

The site is really pretty with done lovely views. There are ships and pubs within walking distance.

We we will Definitely be visiting again x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Tejada 1 review from this member

 Lovely place. We stayed for two nights and almost three days and we liked it very much.

The place is full of nice people, the facilities are tidy and clean and when we asked for help with a couple of things they were more than happy to help us in the reception.

Again, we had an amazing experience and we will repeat again in the future, no doubt! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Bear2609 4 reviews from this member

 Great campsite where our grandchildren could play safely.

Only thing was it was a bit of a walk when we ran out of milk, however we knew this prior to booking and certainly won't let it put us off returning in the future. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Angela 1 review from this member

 Stayed in a lodge for 3 nights.

Not too far from beautiful countryside and Buxton, Matlock and Bakewell. A short walk into the village. Lovely facilities, very roomy and clean.

Comfortable bed and sofa bed. Fabulous spot in a little wood with an amazing fire pit/BBQ. Was looking forward to the hot tub but this had been removed and each lodge had its own newly fitted instead. Unfortunately these hadn't been commissioned yet so a bit disappointed.

Would have liked to have had some information on how to work things in the lodge when I picked up the key. Managed to work it out but my friend had a little trouble.

Would definitely come again though. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Atkinbrown 47 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for one night on the way to South Wales. Campsite was easy enough to find, although the satnav took us through a housing estate. We did not read the instructions from the website which maybe would have taken us a different route.

Very friendly welcome, and pitches well spaced. The toilets were open and very clean as were the showers, although we did not use them. There is a charge for the showers of £1. For ten minutes which we did not see on the website.

We had a lovely walk through the woods with our dog and would be happy to return to this site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: PaulBex 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for two nights with friends and were able to pitch our tents next to each other in the bottom field where there are no allocated pitch numbers.

The site is well laid out with Caravan, Motor Homes and electric hook up pitches for tents at the top field near the toilet and shower facilities (very clean).

Then there is a middle part with a children's play area and then the bottom field where you can just pitch up where you like. There is a slight incline from the bottom field to the toilet blocks, which doesn't seem steep but I certainly felt the several trips up and down on my thighs the next day!

One thing about the very bottom field is that there is a church nearby somewhere which rings their bells every hour even through the night, so if you're a light sleeper like me, then you'll know when its 1am and 2am and 3am.

We had two tents side by side and we were quite separate from other campers, although there was generally no noise after 11pm anyway (except for the bells!), with people just sat outside tents talking over fires which are allowed in off the ground fire pits / BBQ's.

There doesn't seem to be a lot to do in the village, (which is not a small cute village as I envisioned) but its centrally located for a drive out to loads of nice walks and surrounding towns within half an hours drive, and it also has two pubs within a five minute walk.

The camp had a good atmosphere and all other campers seemed friendly and chatty, dogs were allowed and most stuck to the "always on a lead" rule but some didn't and I didn't notice that the rule was enforced, although the dogs in question were very well behaved and stuck mainly to their owners tents.

All in all a very nice campsite and an enjoyable weekend. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sylvie64 2 reviews from this member

 Fairly large site, plenty of pitches, Easy to find and surrounded by mature woodlands. Could do with a second shower/toilet block as not enough toilets and showers to cope, Bins overflowing with paper towels, toilets not being flushed properly (assume this must be kids going in unattended) toilets only appeared to be cleaned once a day and paper towels ran out quickly.

Didnít use the showers so canít comment, but only three showers in the ladies with 6 toilets. Could of done with someone going in early morning, lunchtime and after dinner to give a quick clean and replenish the towels etc as hand driers are switched off at the moment.

Only two potwash sinks, one of which didnít have hot water, the other was scalding! A lot of the pitches with electric hook ups are on a slope which isnít so good for tents.

Good location though, a short walk to Local pub and village with good selection of shops for essentials. The Thack is the nearest pub, just a short walk, however There is no food available at lunchtime and a very limited menu at dinner.

We camped fri to sun and The site had a van for breakfasts and evening snacks. Ideal for when packing up too.

To summarise, the site has the potential to be very good if a little more is invested in the facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Philldj76 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely site with contact less check-in during COVID. 1 way system for traffic is a good idea. Pitches have plenty of space.

The play area is well maintained and lots of space for the kids to run around.

The toilet block is clean however the floor is showing its age and can be soft under foot. 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riddings Wood Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riddings Wood Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Riddings Wood Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alfreton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3075 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder