Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Limeburners Arms Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Billingshurst > Limeburners Arms Camp Site Reviews

Limeburners Arms Camp Site
Newbridge
Billingshurst
West Sussex   (Browse area)
RH14 9JA
Tel: 01403 782311  or  07564819804
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 42
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 36 Reviews
                8/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debja2 1 review from this member

 Good Sunday lunch

Staff friendly and easy going

Owner was very helpful

Facilities clean need updating though

Pitch was only just big enough. Road noisy during day

Felt £30 for one night with no hook up a bit steep. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robert 1 review from this member

 This is one of those gems that you long to find.

Beautiful old English pub with excellent food and service. All staff very friendly and eager to please.

Rob the owner was very helpful and polite.

The pitches were large with country side surroundings.

So pleased we found this place and will definitely be going back soon.

Many thanks to all at the Limeburners.

Julia & Rob Anscomb. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Nimish 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite and great service from Rob and team. Rob definitely makes sure you are taken care of.

Facilities at the campsite are great. Perfect for families. Location to venturing out to South Downs was great.

Pub on site adds to the charm of this place. Great service from Lisa and team.

Thank you all for making it a great break for us. We will be booking again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Daveca 6 reviews from this member

 The site is behind a beautiful, traditional pub. The host and his team are very friendly. The site itself is grass and trees, the pitches spaced out, the facilities very clean.

It is convenient for the South Downs, Petworth, Midhurst, Amberley, Fishbourne, Chichester, Lewes and the coast. All are worth a visit.

The pub itself does good pub grub and close by in Billingshurst is the excellent Curry Village and in Pulborough the excellent Labouring Man. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: 999pez 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights in Summer 2020. It's a small site behind a pub and was very pleasant.

There were plenty of trees to provide some shade. The ground was not too stony so no problem putting tent pegs in.

Facilities were old but kept clean.

It's very close the the A272 which you could hear at night, especially motorbikes but I won't complain too much about this being a biker myself. As it's near Gatwick there was a bit of plane noise but we stayed during Covid19 partial lockdown so less planes than usual.

I don't understand the need to charge 20p for a shower (or 40p if you're as slow as me).

No play facilities for kids but mine are older now so not an issue for me.

Would definitely stay again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ChrisBradburn 5 reviews from this member

 Our second camp after lockdown lifted and this was perfect. A field behind a pub.

No issues with "social distancing" being a smallish site.

Basic facilities, but always spotless.

Very relaxed Landlord with good beer and reasonably priced, slightly upmarket food with two of us more that adequately fed and beers for under £40.

Lovely quiet and secluded walks just cross the road. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wendall 1 review from this member

 Pretty little campsite behind pub.

Owners are very friendly and laid back.

Pitches are a good size.

Lots of lovely trees

Showers are very basic and take 20p's

Dogs are allowed, and no charge for them!

Overall, very good, would go back 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bricklayer 22 reviews from this member

 Did and weekend stay here recently, site is small and compact, ( I guess 50 pitches max ) arrival is through a set of double gates, - we went into the pub and were told our pitch number, landlord doesn't mind which way you pitch ( good for us we have a foreign van with door on the wrong side )

We pulled up and set up, pitches are basically between trees and electric boxes, the area is all grass and level.

The big space in the middle is ideal for kids to play.

As I say not a huge site and units felt a bit close, but it was fine for the weekend.

Close to petworth house, and goodwood, the coast is 22 miles away and a good base to tour around,

Nice and quiet site even with a busy pub, the food in the pub is awesome, but book a table it gets busy

Friday night was dry and it rained heavily for 6 hours on the sat, despite earlier reviews our grass pitches coped well, no flooding, no mud.

As stated there are separate toilets and basins for ladies and gents at each end of the block, and then about 5 ' unisex' cubicles for showers,

Showers were 20 p and there was plenty of hot water - however the cubicles decor were a bit tired,

For a weekend it was adequate- would go again 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camp David 69 1 review from this member

 A small site which due to sensible management is never allowed to be overcrowded. Clean facilities and an excellent pub which has got the balance of being family friendly rather than a crèche. An excellent site, welcoming, well run and friendly. There is a wealth of activities within five miles of this site including Billingshurst itself. Excellent shopping surrounded by beautful countryside.  


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Duffnut 30 reviews from this member

 Don't go here if there is rain planned.

All the reviews of the nice owner are correct, he is a great guy. But I won't let that cloud my review.

We were to stay here for a week and on arrival we were given a pitch just vacated by a long termer.

So we squeezed our van onto the pitch so the dirt/ mud was under the van not the awning. We had a reasonable amount of rain on the first night not a huge amount and we had a flooded awning in the morning. What I didn't understand was come the Monday pretty much everyone on site left. Why put someone staying for longer on a rubbish pitch when you know some people are only staying for 2/3 nights and rain is forecast.

Pros.

Food in the pub was brilliant

The owner was very friendly and helpful.

In the dry there is room for the kids to play.

Cons

Site liable to flooding

Dogs not kept on leads

Showers are old, and it is odd having a waist night window in them.

Gate to site is a pain when towing a van.

Unfortunately our experience of a flooded out muddy awning, wading about in a waterlogged field, means we will never go back. It has it's good points but the bad far out way them. Guaranteed sun and dry weather might have been different but this is Britain that's never going to happen.

I can thoroughly recommend Amberley heritage museum for a day out the kids aged 7 and 12 loved it. Lots to do and not as expensive as some places. Arundel castle is very good too but not cheap. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Limeburners Arms Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Limeburners Arms Camp Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Limeburners Arms Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Billingshurst      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2185 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement