Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Limeburners Arms Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Billingshurst > Limeburners Arms Camp Site Reviews

Limeburners Arms Camp Site
Newbridge
Billingshurst
West Sussex   (Browse area)
RH14 9JA
Tel: 01403 782311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 42
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendall 1 review from this member

Pretty little campsite behind pub.

Owners are very friendly and laid back.

Pitches are a good size.

Lots of lovely trees

Showers are very basic and take 20p's

Dogs are allowed, and no charge for them!

Overall, very good, would go back

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bricklayer 22 reviews from this member

Did and weekend stay here recently, site is small and compact, ( I guess 50 pitches max ) arrival is through a set of double gates, - we went into the pub and were told our pitch number, landlord doesn't mind which way you pitch ( good for us we have a foreign van with door on the wrong side )

We pulled up and set up, pitches are basically between trees and electric boxes, the area is all grass and level.

The big space in the middle is ideal for kids to play.

As I say not a huge site and units felt a bit close, but it was fine for the weekend.

Close to petworth house, and goodwood, the coast is 22 miles away and a good base to tour around,

Nice and quiet site even with a busy pub, the food in the pub is awesome, but book a table it gets busy

Friday night was dry and it rained heavily for 6 hours on the sat, despite earlier reviews our grass pitches coped well, no flooding, no mud.

As stated there are separate toilets and basins for ladies and gents at each end of the block, and then about 5 ' unisex' cubicles for showers,

Showers were 20 p and there was plenty of hot water - however the cubicles decor were a bit tired,

For a weekend it was adequate- would go again

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camp David 69 1 review from this member

A small site which due to sensible management is never allowed to be overcrowded. Clean facilities and an excellent pub which has got the balance of being family friendly rather than a crèche. An excellent site, welcoming, well run and friendly. There is a wealth of activities within five miles of this site including Billingshurst itself. Excellent shopping surrounded by beautful countryside.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Duffnut 30 reviews from this member

Don't go here if there is rain planned.

All the reviews of the nice owner are correct, he is a great guy. But I won't let that cloud my review.

We were to stay here for a week and on arrival we were given a pitch just vacated by a long termer.

So we squeezed our van onto the pitch so the dirt/ mud was under the van not the awning. We had a reasonable amount of rain on the first night not a huge amount and we had a flooded awning in the morning. What I didn't understand was come the Monday pretty much everyone on site left. Why put someone staying for longer on a rubbish pitch when you know some people are only staying for 2/3 nights and rain is forecast.

Pros.

Food in the pub was brilliant

The owner was very friendly and helpful.

In the dry there is room for the kids to play.

Cons

Site liable to flooding

Dogs not kept on leads

Showers are old, and it is odd having a waist night window in them.

Gate to site is a pain when towing a van.

Unfortunately our experience of a flooded out muddy awning, wading about in a waterlogged field, means we will never go back. It has it's good points but the bad far out way them. Guaranteed sun and dry weather might have been different but this is Britain that's never going to happen.

I can thoroughly recommend Amberley heritage museum for a day out the kids aged 7 and 12 loved it. Lots to do and not as expensive as some places. Arundel castle is very good too but not cheap.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davies4321 1 review from this member

Only stopped for the one night which I thought might be a problem with it being a Bank Holiday but the owner was great, he was so helpful and managed to squeeze us in between two vans that weren't in use.

The site is a reasonable size and well maintained, the toilets and showers are a little dated but clean. I would say that this site is ideal for a couple of days but not sure I'd stop there for longer, in a caravan yes but not in a tent.

The pub next door is really nice and the food looked good even though we didn't get the opportunity to eat there.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mmick 5 reviews from this member

I was very impressed when I arrived at this site, both the campsite and pub looked good and looks did not deceive.

Well kept and well-run and organised campsite with spacious pitches defined by planted trees.

Toilet facilities clean and cleaned regularly. Showers were only 20p.

Friendly landlord and staff in the pub. Pub itself serves good food and good beer.

Location of site excellent for touring.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickeyb 17 reviews from this member

Great site if you like the peace and quiet of the countryside. We had three nights there as a trial run for the new van. Large square field of about an acre, flat and well maintained.

Grass kept mown. Pitches of adequate size and each separated by the young trees that have been planted for that purpose. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly warden, Rachel, who opened the gate and showed us to a choice of pitches.

The toilet block was immaculate and regularly cleaned. Four showers and washing up facilities, wastewater/Elsan tip all spotless and easily accessible.

The whole camping area is surrounded by a high hedge which gives it a rather secluded feeling. Beyond the hedge, open fields and countryside.

The Limeburners is essentially a country pub and serves good reasonably priced meals, the beer's not bad either. Small children's playground adjoining pub but nothing else for young children.

No shops in the immediate vicinity although everything you need foodwise in Billingshurst about 5 minutes away in car: Tesco Express, Pizza, Chinese, chippie & Indian. The only thing lacking was a filling station. We tanked up at Tesco in Horsham about 12 miles away.

All in all a very pleasant stay and within reach of the seaside resorts of Brighton, Worthing & Littlehampton

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Slou-999 8 reviews from this member

Just had a week at Limeburners. We were informed by the campsite that it was waterlogged due to te terrible weather but decided to go anyway.

The owner was extremely understanding and we could just pay for however long we decided to say due to the state of the field. It was extremely wet and muddy but I don't think this is the campsite's fault. We went for a walk and the surrounding fields were the same.

The campsite is relatively flat and the facilities are basic but cleaned daily. The elec didn't trip on us at all but the site was quite empty due to the weather. Pub was pleasant, quiet, didn't eat ther sO can't say about the food.

There is a sainsbury's three miles away And a local shop in billings hurst for bread and milk etc.

Cut our stay short in the end due to the weather rather than the site although I do think it was a little overpriced for the facilities provided. Also had to pay 20p for 3.75 mins in the shower which was a bit cheeky I thought. Other than that good site

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thewelshman 3 reviews from this member

We have been going to this site for many years, progressing from tent to folding camper to caravan.

It's a basic site relatively level and sits behind a lovely pub run by the site owner. Good food and beer!

The owner and all of the staff are very friendly and helpful and are one of the reasons we keep returning.

This year the gents toilets have been refurbished which is nice to see.

The only downside to this site is the electric which trips very easily.

A great site for people of all ages!

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ericthefisch 3 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site! We stayed last weekend (23-25th Sept 2011) for 2 nights. We stayed in our camper and our friends stayed in their tent, on neighbouring pitches.

We all arrived a bit late, as it was getting dark but the owner couldn't have been nicer or more friendly. We found him behind the bar of his lovely country pub. (Busy but nice pleasant atmosphere)He was polite and helpful.

Came out to show us around straight away, no dictated rules and the site is fab. Large spaces with little trees in a medium sized field. The toilets and showers were basic, but clean and close to all the pitches (but not too close!).

The next morning we were pleased to find open fields spread out behind the site as an added bonus!

The pub is great for ales, atmosphere and food. Highly recommended for a fun night where no one has to be the designated driver! Billingshurst is nearby with more nice pubs, good small shops and good parking.

We all had a great time and can't wait to go back next year! Definitely 10/10 for this site on location, facilities and price!

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6281 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019