Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tollesbury Marina Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Maldon > Tollesbury Marina Camping Reviews

Tollesbury Marina Camping
The Yacht Harbour
Tollesbury
Maldon
Essex   (Browse area)
CM9 8SE
Tel: 01621 869202  or  01621 868471
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 18
Open: 01/05/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fazebo 1 review from this member

 Tranquil setting at the rear of the Marinaís boat yard & car park.

Level grass site.

The on-site swimming pool is the star attraction & due to Covid is currently booked for exclusive use timed sessions.

Will go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Marlis 2 reviews from this member

 We Enjoyed our stay immensely. Lovely location, very friendly, great natural surroundings.

Lovely grass to pitch tents. Marina Restaurant excellent.

We will be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Johns2 1 review from this member

 Friendly staff at site. Restaurant & Bar well decorated and comfortable.

Showers & Toilets a bit of a walk but new facilities are being built and near completion.

We will definitely go back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Alex mountain 3 reviews from this member

 Booked back in January. And with the Covid pandemic going on I wasnít sure we would be able to go. Got a bit frustrated that no one answered my emails when asking for info. I left several messages on the voicemail no one came back to me. In the end I spoke to someone else hoping to get answers and she mentioned that they had received my emails. I was grateful that we were still going so I didnít complain.

Camping with a group of 14 arrived on the 28th. No toilet when we arrived at the booking station which I feel would have been beneficial for those travelling a distance. Staff were helpful when we booked in but didnít give us the code for the toilet.

I was a bit shocked at the entrance to the campsite Field as there weíre building works going on. No explanation of this when booking or on arrival.

Later found that there were only 3 toilets and all of which were in the restaurant area which was fine until I found out that there is no entry to theses toilets and showers between the times 12am to 7am so if you needed the toilet in the night there was no where to go. Which is just not good enough. We had people in our party that needed access to a toilet and couldnít go. I myself got up early to use the toilet walked to the restaurant with a the code I had got from a waitress thinking I could go in but then a saw a sign stating it was shut between 12 to 7 am. So I was really upset by this and to be honest when you need the toilet you really need to go.

The camp field was great loads of space and I didnít feel they have over booked itís also pretty flat. There were a few hook ups and a tap for fresh water.

There was a large noisy crowd close by but we werenít disturbed by them.

Showers were hot and I didnít have to queue the shower heads need some attention the water hits the walls of the shower rather than the person standing under neath them.

We later found out that the building works was for a shower and toilet block that had been delayed by covid which would have been good to know.

Unfortunately the weather wasnít kind so we cut our weekend short and left early.

We had a great weekend as we had a fire in our own fire pit lots of space beautiful surroundings access to a pool great for my 4 year old niece and the food was lush in the restaurant if not on a budget.

With better toilet and showering facilities could be a fantastic campsite ! Not sure we would pay that amount again purely for the lack of toilets at night time! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Melvin 1 review from this member

 This was our 3rd stay at Tollesbury which as always very enjoyable and relaxing, the staff are very helpful and friendly. The site and surroundings are quaint.

There are nice walks around the harbour/ marina with cafes. It has an indoor pool and a salt water pool great fun for all the family.

We will being staying there again, its ideal for all families with children. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Dawnwe 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet site set in a marina. The salt marshes make for quite a unique setting. Site is lovely for all.

The pool is a great addition particularly as its been so hot.

The showers need some attention but they were always warm. The clubhouse offer a great menu. A backwater treasure. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: H00fy 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite promises so much, offers so little and gets away with it.

Firstly, the cost is £34 per night. Compared to a site nearby, offering beautifully manicured lawns, heated bathrooms, wifi throughout and a 24 hour warden on site, all with a similar cost, I thought Tollesbury would offer similar options.

On the listing Tollesbury offers the following

- Wifi

- Disabled friendly

- Sea views.

- Recycling options

None of this is true.

- Wifi is only provided at the restaurant which is nowhere near the campsite

- The campsite is not disabled friendly. The toilets and showers are a very long walk away, in the restaurant and can only be accessed by climbing several stairs. The rules of the campsite also specify that cars should not be parked on the site, only in the carpark next door, again, a long walk

- The campsite has a view across a boat/car park and some ugly solar panels.

- The campsite doesn't offer recycling bins as advertised, the only bin on the campsite is for ash. The nearest bins are in the boat/car park which is a very long walk away

In addition to what is listed above the campsite also does not have hot water or washing up facilities. It has 1 water tap which the entire site uses to wash their dishes, their teeth and themselves. It's just a field, with 1 tap, some electric pitches, overlooking solar panels and access to toilets/showers in a nearby restaurant. You need to walk though customers eating in the restaurant to get to the toilets and showers

One of the main issues I have with this campsite is the toilet/shower facilities. Not only are they too far to walk to and accessed only by stairs, they are used by too many people. I purposely chose this campsite knowing it was small, only 15 pitches so that the risk of spread of coronavirus is minimal. Instead the showers and toilets are used by the campsite, the boats in the boat yard, the restaurant and all the boats in the marina.

The site is also difficult to find, there are no signs and we had to ask several people before we knew where to go for the harbour master and campsite and toilets/showers

We couldn't find a water/chemical waste area. I dread to know where it all goes

I have rang the owners several times to discuss my issues and have left a few voicemails, but they have not responded. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tinawa 1 review from this member

 Tollesbury is a lovely village. The cafe has been open a couple of weeks serving good food

The campsite itís self is really just a field with two electric hook ups and one water.

It does have a swimming pool covered over, so you can sit round it.

But all closed down at mo COVID 19

Just a 5 minute walk through boat yard you can get to the Harbour, which is beautiful. There is a lovely restaurant called The Harbour looking out at the water.

A little bit expensive site really, cost us £100. 00 to stay Friday Saturday and Sunday

When really only offering a field, toilets located in the Harbour pub 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Richard7 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed staying at Tollesbury Marina Campsite with our friends, liked being near the boats and being able to make a group booking!

The harbour masters are fantastic guys and do a great job of taking bookings and making you feel really welcome.

Keep up the good work,

See you again soon! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tapwat 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite. We had electric hook up too and there was a lot of space for our pitch.

The sounding are beautiful too. The swimming pool was open and we had full use of it to.

The marina view restaurant does beautiful seafood menu too 
via mobile


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tollesbury Marina Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Tollesbury Marina Camping have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tollesbury Marina Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tollesbury Marina Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maldon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2937 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement