Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hare And Hounds Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Rye > Hare And Hounds Campsite Reviews

Hare And Hounds Campsite
Rye Road
Rye
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN31 7ST
Tel: 07747 608794  or  01797 230483
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: RA93 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely site with good flat pitches for tents. The toilets and showers are kept very clean, especially at the moment during the Covid 19 pandemic.

The camp site is on a fairly busy, noisy road but after the first night you get used to it. Would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Betty000 2 reviews from this member

 Had a great stay here as a family of 4. It doesn't have a play area but my daughters were really happy playing in spare bits of the field with the other children, and the site is small enough to be able to keep an eye on them which made for an extremely relaxing stay.

The owners were very friendly and helpful, and the facilities were really good - loved the fridge and freezer and microwave cupboard near the sinks, and there were some charging points for phones.

There were set pitch areas, so you can book a space and know you won't be left squashed in a corner if you arrive later in the day.

Some nice footpaths are accessible from the site or Rye is a short drive away. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Firemonkey 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a wonderful long bank holiday weekend at the Hare and Hound campsite. Everything about the experience was wonderful, from booking our pitch (good communication from the owner), to the stay.

Facilities were clean and tidy. There are 4 showers in total (and hairdryers!), and despite the site being fully booked for the weekend, we never had to wait more than 5-10 minutes for a shower. There's a covered washing up area with hot water, washing up liquid, washing up bowls, drying racks, and also a microwave, a fridge freezer (with stickers to label your items), and mobile charging points. Everything seems very well thought out and designed to make the camping experience go smoothly.

We hired a fire basket for the weekend which came with wood, kindling, matches and firelighters for 10. There's nothing better than sitting round a campfire watching the sun go down with a glass of wine.

The pitches are really big - almost everyone these days seem to have enormous tents and we're no exception. There was lots of space to camp, and we didn't feel too close to any of our neighbours. There's lots of space in the middle for children to play, and there were lots of games of football, cricket, etc going on.

The site is very close to Rye, and not too far from the lovely beach at Camber Sands. It's also close to a number of vineyards. We enjoyed a few hours at the Sedlescombe vineyard which is about 20 minutes away by car.

This place is an absolute gem, and we'll definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizintwicks 3 reviews from this member

 Very well run family campsite just off the A road north of Rye.

The new owners of the site have refurbished the facilities to a very high standard. They could not be friendlier, or more willing to help.

Firepit hire is great, they delivered to our tent flap, complete with matches, firelighter and safety water bucket! Very clear safety instructions for the fire, too.

This site is not completely level. So won't appeal to anyone with a large tent+ extension+ enough windbreaks to cross the Outback, but that is very much a plus point for me!

Great Dixter is about 10 minutes away, there are enough National Trust sites within hailing to occupy you for a whole week, and Rye is five minutes' drive away. The owners directed us to a brilliant Fish Shop just on the Camber road out of Rye. Superb locally caught flatfish!

The only things it lacks are a shop within walking distance, phone charging facilities, and open access fridges. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: CBee20 1 review from this member

 Everything in the campsite seems to have just been newly refurbished for opening in May 2015, so the toilets, showers and washing up areas are all clean and new. The site is spread over two fields and there is a lovely relaxed feel to it.

There was plenty of room for the children to play football, and there were even goal posts on site. We hired a fire basket and logs and that made even a chilly evening a pleasure to sit out in.

There is a large car park and the entrance is gated, so feels very safe. The local area is full of fun day's out and Camber Sands is only a short drive. The new owners are full of enthusiasm and can offer a wealth of advice on where to visit locally.

I would definitely recommend this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taitin 1 review from this member

 Just stayed here for the long weekend and I believe it's the first weekend they are open to camping. It is a free range field, but not entirely level so arrive early and pick a good spot. We were with friends and were in the top right far corner near the woods which was a lovely spot. I believe they did not fully book that weekend to ease into it, but it didn't feel crowded at all.

The facilities are all new and some not yet complete, but very clean! There were 4 showers in total and 4 loos too. We didn't have to wait once and water was always hot. Washing up facilities were probably the best I've come across. Covered, hot water and drying racks and basins supplied (handy as I couldn't find ours when packing).

The owners are very friendly and hospitable. They're often around if you need them for anything and very approachable.

They were very keen to get feedback and it appears they were taking that on board immediately. I suggested some wooden 'mats' at the showers so you don't drip water everywhere or stand on the wet floor, and I believe they had been ordered by the time we left, amazing! I think once they are fully complete this will be a perfect spot.

I don't believe there were hook up facilities, but could be wrong as we didn't enquire. There were a couple of motor homes that arrived the day we left.

It's close to the wonderful Bodium castle and camber sands, but for the most part our kids just wanted to play football in the field and their children are just lovely and my older daughter really enjoyed their company. There is no playground and the owners did seek my views on that, I don't think that's necessary. The kids played beautifully without it and when you have younger kids you can find yourself stuck supervising at the swings or struggling to pull them away.

The other campers were very pleasant and all seemed to respect the campsites 'rules' or guidelines. Nothing unreasonable, just the usual list.

There is wood to hire (5 per bag, we used about 2-3 bags a night to cook and sit chatting with vino and marshmallows) and you can even hire a fire pit, but we had our own.

Our only regret is that we are now back home writing this review (and washing clothes) whilst our friends are enjoying another couple of nights, but sadly work beckons.

Thanks for a wonderful weekend and the bonus of great weather. We hope you do very well with this new venture of yours. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hare And Hounds Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hare And Hounds Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Hare And Hounds Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5752 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement