Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Huttopia Beaulieu Sur Dordogne

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Midi - Pyrenees > Beaulieu Sur Dordogne > Camping Huttopia Beaulieu Sur Dordogne > Reviews

Camping Huttopia Beaulieu Sur Dordogne
Boulevard Rodolphe De Turenne
Beaulieu Sur Dordogne
Midi - Pyrenees   (Browse area)
19120
Tel: +33 05 55 91 02 65
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 185
Open: 19/04/2024 to 29/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: RoamfromHome 34 reviews from this member

 Really lovely site: staff friendly, cheerful and hardworking; able to order bread, nice pool, good laundry provisions and clean fully equipped sanitary facilities.

Large, comfortable pitch by the river and lovely surrounding countryside.

Short, easy walk into wonderful town with shops, restaurants and medieval buildings.

Would make excellent centre for touring the area.

Good value for money and would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Morepints 40 reviews from this member

 First time back here since lockdown, and it is as beautiful as ever. It’s like camping in parkland, with well-managed tree cover; in hot weather the river cools the air, with occasional morning river mists.

Half our group were in one of the lovely chalets, which had roll up front doors.

The location is really special, just a short stroll into the ancient town, one of the many stops on the Compostella pilgrim trail.

For those who are regulars ( I know there are many) the long term managers here have moved on to develop another Huttopia acquisition; the new managers seem nice and are maintaining the high standard of care.

The bakery opposite the church has closed, but there are two others still going; the pizza takeaway, for when the site isn’t doing their own, has moved into larger premises. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 20 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chinster1957 34 reviews from this member

 This is a 4-star campsite situated on a small island next to the picturesque medieval town of Beaulieu-sur-Dordogne. There are two entrances into the site.

The main entrance is down a small side street, then through a narrow bridge which is only 3 metres high. Reception is immediately on the left, but you cannot park outside as this would block entry to and exit from the site.

You have to continue over a small bridge onto the island, park in the car park on the right and walk back to reception. English is spoken so no problems checking in. The car park is awkward as you have to turn your unit around to get out of it again.

The other entrance to the campsite is for taller than 3m units. This unfortunately is also awkward as the road in has a very sharp bend and is on a hill.

The campsite has a rustic feel to it which Huttopia seem to specialise in. Roads on the site are narrow but perfectly usable. Pitches tend to be large and have 10 amp electricity. Water taps are dotted around the site.

There are no fully serviced pitches. We had a riverside pitch with views across the Dordogne. I was expecting to be able to watch river traffic passing the site, but there is a weir which stops river traffic passing and is also extremely noisy.

It was fun watching the wildlife, though. Apart from the touring pitches, the site also has a variety of units for hire. There are three toilet blocks.

They have a rustic look about the buildings but the quality of the fitments are very good.

Toilets have seats and paper is provided in the cubicles. Showers are push button with no temperature control. Two of the blocks have chemical disposal points. There is a third cdp in the main car park.

The campsite also has a small shop (in reception), a decent sized swimming pool and a children’s play area. In main season there is also a snack bar and takeaway.

Although the site is situated next to the Dordogne river it is actually in the Correze region of France. This area is far less crowded than the Dordogne.

There is plenty to do in the area with a large number of France’s prettiest villages close by. Beaulieu-sur-Dordogne is a five minute walk from the site and has a supermarket and a number of bakers and other shops.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants in town. It is worth walking across the weir to the other bank as views of the town from this side are spectacular.

We stayed here for three weeks and were sorry to have to leave. If you fancy this area then I would certainly recommend this campsite. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ianandgilly 27 reviews from this member

 Lovely site set on an island in the Dordogne. Big pitches - we paid the extra Euros4 and got a riverside pitch in the sun which was good value for money.

Superb facilities - spotlessly clean and hot hot showers! Liked the games room and the pool was very warm (and it's a big pool).

Swam in the river which was shallow but invigorating and really enjoyed walking around the delightful medieval city; even the Huttopia reception is housed in a quirky old building. Birdwatching is excellent in and around the river and lots of walks to do.

Staff at Reception were really cheerful and helpful.

Only downsides were short reception opening hours ( not a massive issue and it's only because this was the last week of opening for the season) and rather poor wifi - but it was free!

Definitely go back here again. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 108 reviews from this member

 We chose to pitch by the river where we had been before but had to pay more than the ACSI price for this. The sanitaires close to us only had one toilet open as it was June which we thought was a bit mean as the pitch cost more than others by fully one sanitaires! However the view across the river was lovely and it was very pleasant to be able to wander into the little town to explore.

The pool was very welcome. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Torrin40 3 reviews from this member

 Simply beautiful site, right on the river. Lots of trees and greenery, large pitches and nicely laid out.

We arrived for 3 nights at the end of the season and so were able to select our pitch. We found an enormous pitch with shade and electricity right on the bank of the river.

Lots of fun riding down the current on inflatables - we did this day after day! The pool was also nice but not deep enough for my boys to dive which was their favourite skill to practice this year.

Staff were really friendly and helpful. There are a few items to buy in reception (water, wine, a few fridge items) but as the delightful town is only a 2 minute walk away this was no problem. Also a choice of good supermarkets within a 10 minute drive.

Lovely, modern, clean toilet block with plenty of hot water.

Overall probably my favourite site from this years road trip. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Awaydayfreddy 3 reviews from this member

 Site adjacent the Dordogne, plenty of options for paddling and messing about on the river for the children. We didn't get a riverside pitch but access to river is easy and close to all. Our pitch size was good but close to the sanitary block which wasn't a problem except at night as it seemed to be bit of a social area for the French at about 10pm with lots of loud talking, banging, music, playing, tap dancing etc. All pitches seemed generous in size and relatively flat and all shaded. The swimming bar and pool area were good, facilities clean, hot showers, bread for daily collection. We organised a canoe trip on the Dordogne with a drop off about 20km away and canoe back to site which was really good fun and scenic. Seemed to be mostly Dutch and French but enough British families about for our kids (9 & 12) to make friends with. Local town is about 2 min walk away, some nice medieval streets to walk around and there is an amazing creperie near the abbey which we recommend. The weather did rain a couple of days so we were running out of things to do- luckily the sun came out for our canoe trip. I would recommend site for a 4 day stay and would stay again. (as long as pitch not opposite the sanitary block!) 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 51 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 4 nights. As ACSI customers we weren't entitled to the riverside pitches, but the river is only a short walk anyway. There is a river beach with picnic tables. Good, large pitches on a very green site with lots of trees and hedges. We backed onto a small canal on a shady pitch close to the playground and pool. The weather became quite cloudy and cool while we were there, with thunderstorms, so we were hunting the sun a bit. However, on hot days the shade was very welcome.

This is obviously a very popular site with Brits, as most of the people there came from the UK. A sprinkling of French and Dutch, but not many.

Excellent sanitary facilities - paper and seats in the loos and also hairdryers. Some of the cubicles had both shower and hand basin. WiFi is free.

We found walking for the dogs across the other side of the river by using a footbridge across the weir.

Reception is across a small bridge and sells a few basics. Bread and ice creams also available. Some English spoken, but on the whole we usually try out our French.

A short walk to a pretty town, part of which is old and walled. One day we had menu du jour in the village - Bar des Voyageurs, which we wouldn't recommend. The food was OK, but we waited 1 hour between courses 1 & 2 and then another 30 minutes before our desserts arrived. Meanwhile others around us were arriving, eating and leaving! We wondered whether it was because we are obviously foreigners. This was the worst service we have ever received in France and we have been going for getting on for 30 years.

Total cost of site 79. 60 euros. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Morepints 40 reviews from this member

 We stayed here twice this year, in May and September; and had been here twice in previous years. I think I reviewed last year on the wrong site, as Kelper noted. At the moment, it's our favourite site.

Well appointed, the bar and playground were being refurbished in May. (Bar only open in high season). One toilet block had been rebuilt, with an accent on natural materials and low energy use. The main block, with stronger showers and laundry, is looking a little tired, though very clean (staff are to be commended on their efforts). The change from Flower to Indigo, with its accent on natural surroundings, is noticeable. The pool is solar heated, with a small children's area.

Reception is across a small bridge from the site (reception parking is just beyond the bridge). While we were there, it was closed for lunch 12 - 3. Tokens for laundry (€4 each machine), wine and ice creams are available. Staff speak good english, and are very friendly. And ACSI at €15 is a snip; riverside pitches cost extra. The site seems to be in the process of taking over the former municipal site next door. A gate from this end leads to a back entrance (main entrance can be tight for larger units), and to the town rugby pitch (fixtures on Facebook page. They lost!).

The site sits in open woodland, on the edge of the Dordogne river, downstream from a mechanically controlled weir, and a few steps from a pleasant small town. Wildlife is abundant; were regularly visited by begging ducks; red squirrels feed from hazel bushes; Jackdaws roos in the trees; The town has a historic centre, a former medieval religious foundation, and a small commercial district with bakeries, small shops, a few hotels and bars, and pizza takeaway. We can recommend the Hotel Beaulieu and the Bar des Voyageurs; poor experience at the Flots Blues down by the river.

The town sits in a pleasant valley in the foothills of the Massif Central, and gets mountainous beyond Argentat. There are several beautiful villages a short drive away: Martel (has a great steam railway) Collonges la Rouge, and the Jean Lurçat museum at St Laurent-les-tours. As it's off the beaten track, this is a lovely area, not overrun with visitors like the middle Dordogne. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kittiwake 15 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic campsite facing the Dordogne river.

It's at an area of the river that is relatively shallow so lots of fun building dams and rapids and playing on inflatables.

It's relatively small with a good mix of nationalities staying on site. Pitches are large and well shaded and having visited after being to the med it felt extremely spacious. The premium for riverside pitches is I think worth it although not essential to enjoy the site.

Several clean well equipped sanitary blocks. This site is now in the Indigo group and it felt like the bar area had been recently spruced up but still felt relaxed and informal. Pizzas are available which looked nice but we didn't try.

There's a good playground next to the bar. Pool is clean and a good size and there is also a small water play area for younger kids. The atmosphere around the bar area in the evening was lovely. There was some low key relaxed entertainment and a few organised activities during the day.

We loved the fact the site was right in the town. It's a gorgeous quaint old town with all the facilities and shops you need. We ate in the Voyageurs restaurant which was lovely with a nice garden and play area at the back. Whilst the town clearly has tourist visitors it didn't feel too busy at all.

We spend a day canoeing down the Dordogne and if you were inclined there are many day trips you could do. We were happy spending a significant amount of our time just relaxing at the site.

The site felt relaxed and safe and there was enough English families for our children (7 & 9 years) to make a few friends. We loved the location, the river and the general feel of the site.

We would definitely go back. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Huttopia Beaulieu Sur Dordogne child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Huttopia Beaulieu Sur Dordogne have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Huttopia Beaulieu Sur Dordogne?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Huttopia Beaulieu Sur Dordogne dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Beaulieu Sur Dordogne      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Midi - Pyrenees

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53956 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement