Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Daisy Meadow Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Sturminster Newton > Daisy Meadow Certificated Site > Reviews

CLOSED: Daisy Meadow Certificated Site
The Causeway
Hazelbury Bryan
Sturminster Newton
Dorset   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2021 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 The first time I stayed here, Easter 2018, there was not a single second when it wasn't raining to some degree, so this site definitely deserved another chance. A chance I'm glad a gave it, as it is a nice little site, located in a nice little part of the world.

The pitches are large and flat and it is a good site for the winter. The real bonus to the site are its facilities which are very well appointed and spotless, along with nice little touches such as a charity book stall.

Locally there are some nice walks, although nothing too stunning and maybe nothing for a very keen hiker. There is a great little pub in the village and a nice Italian restaurant up the road which is well priced and good quality. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a couple of nights over what turned out to be a very, very wet Easter.

The facilities were clean and tidy with a good little information point where the owner has taken the trouble to detail some short walks in the vicinity. There's also a washing up sink which is always useful. The showers are on a meter and £1 for 15 mins, they are nice and warm, but I would probably prefer 7 mins for 50p.

Given the really bad weather it was nice to know the car park / hardstanding is nice and flat so no need for chocks, and whilst there was the odd puddle, there was no need to tread out on to mud.

The site is easy to find when you know the village shop is directly opposite, so a handy landmark to look out for. The shop was well stocked and had good opening times.

We did a nice long walk directly from the site using OS maps, it was a shame there was so much flooding, but luckily we wore wellies rather than walking boots.

It'll be nice to return to this site when the weather is a little better as some of the views from the local walking must be great. A good little site. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bonnie84 16 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for a week, very friendly couple running the site, only small field, not much of views just trees at the bottom of the hill, where we did see the deers, but the site needs a lot of work doing to it, the toilets and showers were clean, the road or lane as it is, is very noisy and very busy with lorries and buses etc, also didn't feel very secure, as in the early hours we heard cars pulling up on the gravel on the shop front. Ok for a few days but not for a week. 2 pubs nearby which looked lovely, we didn't use them. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: DarrenElbrow 3 reviews from this member

 This little site is the perfect escape for a relaxing short stay. It's only 30 miles from home and as a members only site we weren't disappointed. A nice level pitch with water and electricity hook up conveniently sited.

Great location for dog walking ( on lead due to livestock) the site owner even provided maps of the walks with a guide to the time it would take.

Can't comment on the child friendliness as we didn't have with us. But they were very dog friendly

The toilet/ shower block was spotless with very new facilities.

The local pub didn't do food on a Sunday evening, so a 3 mile drive led us to The Green Man, as recommended by the site owners. Let's says we didn't need breakfast the next morning.

We even saw a pair of deer, mother and baby, roaming free at the bottom of the field

A wonderful stay in a great site. Will most definitely go back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr+MrsCSP 4 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks at this lovely site.

Things we liked;

* Big pitches and the choice of where and how to pitch so we could position the caravan to get the sun in our windbreak garden.

* Lovely clean toilet & shower block, 2 of each, all housed in one building. I think the £1 for 15 minutes shower is fair enough, bearing in mind the reasonable price of the site (£16. 50 per night for 2 adults, 2 dogs, 1 baby, awning & electric hook up. It's a flat rate for the pitch, none of that money grabbing paying extra for dogs, awning, etc that other sites do. ).

* Local amenities. There is a village shop directly opposite the site, a pub a couple of minutes walk one way up the road and a lovely little cafe a few minutes walk the other way.

* Local walks. There are fields next to the shop opposite the site where I was able to give the dogs a good run around away from roads. (There are 'dogs off lead can kill livestock' signs on the stile into the field. When I was there the field had been used for growing crops so no livestock to worry about, but have a good look before letting your dog off to be sure!). If that field is out of action, there are other fields a couple of minutes walk away up the footpath opposite the pub where dogs can have a good run around.

We also had some lovely walks a little further afield using our OS maps. Blandford Forest is lovely with lots of well marked tracks both in and around the forest, Bulbarrow hill has stunning views and we also did a nice walk from Winterbourne Stickland to Milton Abbas & back (roughly 7 miles). There are also printed walks provided by the owners in the toilet block.

* As well as the very well maintained grass and hard standing areas for pitching, there is also a very big area of longer grass, plus a separate nature field where I was lucky enough to get a rare glimpse of a kingfisher. There are also deer who like to watch what you're up to as well!

* There are water taps by each hook-up so one between 2 pitches, nice and close to the caravan.

* Ths owners of this site are fab and perfectly strike the balance of being around each day should you need them without being overbearing. Both are very friendly and helpful.

Something to note when arriving at the site: The entrance of the site can be easy to miss as you approach from Kings Stag, there are 'campsite' signs but the curve of the road means you don't see it until you're right on it. Thankfully we saw it just in time but my in-laws missed it and had to find somewhere to turn around with the caravan. My parents also visited us and over-shot the entrance too. There is a painted cattle trough with the site name but the grass in front was a little overgrown so obscures it a bit.

All in all, we absolutely loved this site and definitely plan to return. Highly recommended for those who like their sites quiet and relaxed. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hoedown 56 reviews from this member

 This 5 van site is very pleasant and well run. Although it is mainly grass, there are about 6 hard stands suitable for motorhomes, all with hook-up, and water points. The facilities, 2 toilets/2 showers/wash up sink are all housed in one building and are kept immaculate, plentiful hot water and 15 minute showers for £1.

The field is huge, excellent for kite-flying, ball games etc. , but there is no actual play area for children. The entrance is open to the road, so one needs to keep an eye on children and dogs to prevent escapees.

A few minutes walk in one direction takes you to the Antelope Inn which does food at certain times. In the other direction is a café/tea room, open from morning until about 4 pm for breakfasts and brunches. We had a lovely lunch there at quite a reasonable price.

Opposite the site is a village shop selling all the basics, open every day.

The owners are very friendly and come around at least once every day to make sure everything is OK.

This is a quiet, relaxed place to just chill out for a while and we will certainly use it again. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Oddjob1963 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site, the owners were very informative. The site is clean and well set out. The toilet block is excellent with great showers. There is a very good local pup which is very friendly with a good choice of beer, opposite the pub is a play area. The village shop is directly opposite the camp site and has everything you will need. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gerryrys 14 reviews from this member

 Daisy Meadow has been open for just over a year and the finishing touches (including a wildlife area and fishing ponds) are still being fastidiously applied.

It comprises very generously sized level hard standings as well as a large level grass area both with ample hook up points and fresh water taps. There is an immaculate toilet block as good as any we have visited in Europe for a comparably sized site.

The site is situated on the outskirts of the village on the road to King's Stag, within the bounds of the village 30 mph speed limit. It carries local traffic between villages and is by no means a busy road. We walked it with our dog and over a mid morning half a mile we were passed by 3 very sedate vehicles. Possibly at the start and end of the working day there may be a little more traffic.

Debbie and Adrian are friendly and helpful hosts who live about 100 yards from the site. They give you a fact sheet when they greet you with details of local ammenities and will do their best to help you fulfill whatever are the aims of your stay. Once this is achieved they will leave you in peace to enjoy a beautiful tranquil setting.

The newly built, very well stocked village shop is directly opposite and village pub 'The Antelope' is 300 yards down the road. We ate at the pub and could not fault the ambience, beer, freshly cooked food or the prices.

The site, the pub and the village are all exceedingly dog friendly.

Being motor caravaners we like to pitch-up then not drive our van again until we leave. This site ticked all of our boxes with handy local ammenities and miles of safe rural walking straight off site.

Daisy Meadow is one of those rare, truly lovely certificated sites that you are almost selfishly reluctant to share. We will certainly return very soon. 


Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris5mph 46 reviews from this member

 Excellent site in rural north Dorset with a large area of hardstanding and a grass area. Plenty of water points and electrical hook ups, plus possibly the best toilet block I have ever seen on a 5 van site - the £1 charge for showers is good value in these superloos. Charming village shop (open nearly all hours) across the road and proper (dogs and all) village pub down the road. There is a little traffic on the road, but nothing serious. Thomas Hardy's 'Vale of the little dairies' is all around you, along with many other attractions and footpaths. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3149 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement