Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fat Apples Wild Camping & Honeysuckle Hut

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > Fat Apples Wild Camping & Honeysuckle Hut Reviews

Fat Apples Wild Camping & Honeysuckle Hut
The Old Vineyard
Porthallow
St Keverne
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR12 6QH
Tel: 01326 281559
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 7 Reviews
                10/10 from 7 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: LeedsCampers 1 review from this member

 Travelled down from Leeds

Had a great time

Beautiful family run campsite

Cannot recommend enough and breakfast was 10/10

Provided table and fire pit at no extra cost which was an added bonus 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: ChrisYeovil 2 reviews from this member

 An idyllic "wild" campsite directly on the SWCP, incredibly friendly and helpful owners.

Spotless facilities but if campsite full you may need to wait to use the 1 shower. That said it is supposed to be wild camping. 5 star wild camping in my opinion.

Open hearth fires make it very relaxing after dark.

I'd happily return tomorrow and stay a while. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Amanda 1 review from this member

 Loved everything about our stay - perfect place, area and lovely people running the site.

Wish we didnít have to leave and canít wait to come back.

A perfect idyllic getaway 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Alibra 1 review from this member

 Fantastic overnight stay in this beautiful peaceful site. A lovely welcome from Ed the owner and Freddie the dog!

Everything I needed. Plenty of space, a quiet tent site, open fire, hot shower and scrumptious food in the Fat apple Cafe nearby.

Lots of wonderful coastline nearby to explore too.

Best canmpsite I've been to in a long time 5 star! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Team Barber 1 review from this member

 Wild camping at the fat apples cafe

I had a superb wild camping experience last month with my two kids. This was our second time camping here. Originally, in 2015 we were looking for a place to camp near the South West Coast Path & during a recce, found the fabulous Fat Apples Cafe with wild camping pitches just on the edge of Porthallow.

The cafe is family owned & run and on a recce, we were welcomed by Hector who showed us our pitch in a grassy clearing by an orchard. When we walked into camp later the next day and set up our tent, we had the place to ourselves (apart from some comical ducks, some logs and a fire basket).

The 5 pilchards inn just down the road was perfect for our evening meal and when we returned by torchlight, the guys had left us some marshmallows for us to toast. Magic!

In the morning when the rest of the family came to collect us, the cosy cafe was on hand for a hearty, beautifully cooked breakfast. The best mushrooms I think I've ever tasted and the warmest of welcomes from Jacci. Highly recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yardstick 5 reviews from this member

 Have camped at several wild sites, Fat Apples beats them all.

When all you need is a tap and a toilet (very clean), peace and quiet, and easy access to the cafe, the sea and the coast path, £5 per night is amazing.

The owners are very friendly and helpful, ferrying my gear into and out of the site ( all cars stay in the car park ), and supplying logs - for a bit extra.

Enjoyed 8 nights of bliss in the woods and will be

Re-visiting very soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Platypus19 5 reviews from this member

 My husband and I have just returned from a week of wild camping at Fat Apples in Porthallow. We cannot recommend it more highly.

Firstly, the family who run Fat Apples Cafe could not do enough for us - the hardstanding for our car was some distance from where the field for camping is, and the contents of our car were taken by quad bike and trailer to the field, which we really appreciated.

The only noise we were aware of during our stay was birdsong, plus a few other wildlife noises during the night! There was a picnic table for our use and bricks were provided so we could have a barbecue. Fire baskets were also available for the use of campers who required them, and a very comfortable hammock was there for our use.

The well equipped toilet is available 24/7 outside the cafe, as is free internet access. The owners have two friendly dogs, four runner ducks and some chickens - so fresh eggs are available daily.

The cafe is immaculate with generous portions of imaginatively presented home cooked food served daily. There is a public footpath running through the campsite, so plenty of country walks are very close at hand.

Porthallow beach is about 5 minutes walk away, complete with village amenities.

What a brilliant place this is, and all for £5 per person per night. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fat Apples Wild Camping & Honeysuckle Hut child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fat Apples Wild Camping & Honeysuckle Hut?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Fat Apples Wild Camping & Honeysuckle Hut dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2658 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement