Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fox Wood Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Patching > Fox Wood Camping Reviews

Fox Wood Camping
Fox Wood
Selden Lane
Patching
West Sussex   (Browse area)
BN13 3UL
Tel: 07983151780
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: 30/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           29/04/2022 to 18/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: James9 1 review from this member

 Very friendly owners. Clean facilities. Good space between the pitches with your own firepit.

Kindling, firewood (and matches) are available to purchase on site.

Nice location in a wooded area close to Arunel and Littlehampton.

This is our second visit and will definitely be booking again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Fox Wood 1 review from this member

 Fox Wood is a beautiful family focussed woodland campsite nestled within the South Downs National Park, West Sussex.

Pricing is based on a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children), which is extremely good value when compared with other wooded campsites which allow campfires (logs and kindling bags are also reasonably priced at £7 a bag, a price which has not been increased for the last 3 yrs and will be held again for the 2021 season).

Quiet talking around the campfire after 10 policy is taken seriously - The Fox Wood managers operate a number of site evening walkabouts and politely approach any campers being noisy after the 10pm curfew. Campers are asked to text the site mobile number when occasionally a small number of campers who forget the late hour and can make a bit more noise than they intended.

Fox Wood has always been grateful to family campers and they are amazing at respecting the quiet rules, but appreciate that if more mature visitors camp without children that the excitement of the surrounding camper’s children could prove to be a little noisy at certain times.

Finally – for 3 days last year a commercial pump broke on some showers, which meant a temporary shut down of a number of the on site showers whilst awaiting repair parts. It should be noted that other showers were available during this period and that campsite guests were remarkably positive about a situation which was beyond management control.

During all times other than the 3 days discussed Foxwood has 8 high powered showers available for camping guests which are clean and very well received after a day’s walking in the park or down at the beach.

We hope that this review helps you make an informed decision with regards to planning your visit to camp at Fox Wood. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gordon 1 review from this member

 The site is lovely, with areas set amongst mature woodland, however nearly £150 for 3 nights is exorbitant, especially when the majority of showers were not working, there were only 2 working showers for the whole site. There was no evidence of anything being done to rectify the situation.

The site was also exceptionally noisy with kids running around screaming at gone midnight. No evidence of the operators doing anything to ensure that they stopped screaming at a decent time.

Overall a very nice site but massively overpriced for everything including logs and kindling. I understand this is a business not a charity, but you shouldn’t rip people off. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Campingtons 4 reviews from this member

 What a lovely campsite! The pitches were really luxuriously spaced so you were far from your nearest neighbour. You could camp on one side of the carpark and it’s more open with grass, or the other side which had far more trees and no grass. Some pitches on the margins were super private.

Toilets were spotless. Staff were lovely.

My only tiny criticism is that they appeared to have a secondary space for cars that was closed off, so all the cars were on top of each other. It was hard to park if you arrived late and some people had to park up on banks.

Also wish they had another swing or two. It was always very busy - difficult in a time of social distancing to tell your kids they can’t go on the swing because there’re too many kids there. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Joyule2 1 review from this member

 Our first visit to fox patch camping and truly amazing

Very welcoming

Children had a amazing time on the tree swing and walk about the woods

Very clean facilities and amazing experience and happy to return anytime again 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debisaurus 1 review from this member

 Booked this campsite last minute with a couple of friends, couldn't have been more pleased!

The staff were incredibly accommodating- I phoned ahead to be sure we were okay to book as a group of singles, as they are a family based campsite, and they put us out of the way so that no one had to worry (we're not a rowdy group mind you).

The forest and surrounding areas are stunning, and all the pitches have plenty of space each with their own fire pit. The owners have really thought this place through and it has paid off!

Amazing facilities- the eco loos were cleaner and better maintained than any plumbed loos I've used at other sites, the washing up room is very nicely done and the showers were better than mine at home!

Could not have been happier we had a lovely time, would love to come again and would highly recommend! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neil 1978 1 review from this member

 An amazing place!

It has a special balance of being off track and a feel of being in the middle of nowhere but all of the facilities you need are there and are immaculately clean and tidy. The showers, washing facilities and toilets are the best I've ever used while camping.

My children explored and played for hours in the vast woodland. A chance for them to be free and safe.

The owners are attentive and make you feel very welcome.

I would highly recommend this place.

Thank you so much and we will see you again soon.

Neil 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Newbie74 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Fox Wood camping very recently and had a wonderful time. We are relatively new to camping and so our expectation were high and we were not disappointed. The site itself is in a lovely setting. There were lovely walks around the site as well as three pubs within walking distance.

We tried two of them and particularly liked The Fox. On the site, the pitches are set within woodland clearings which gives a wonderful sense of being emmersed within nature. Each pitch has its own campfire with logs for sitting on. There's a good distance between pitches so although you can see your neighbours you still have a sense of having your own space.

The facilities are very good. Lovely and clean. The showers must be experienced. Lovely and hot and spacious. You could easily all fit in as a family! Good washing up facilities. The loos are composting loos but with a difference.

The collecting container is a large cartridge that is removed (by the owners) and replaced clean so the actual composting takes place elsewhere. Meaning they are regularly cleaned out and never get too full or too smelly. Brilliant!

The surrounding woodland is great for children. Our two are 6 & 8 and kept running off to play with other children but we could always glimpse them in amongst the trees.

The owners were helpful and friendly. Their own children were delightful company for our children. The wood which can be bought on site is super dry and burns beautifully. We could not fault this place and we're sure to return in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Belinz 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful stay and will definitely go back to this campsite. It is quiet and peaceful in woodland with plenty of space between pitches. We loved camping in the woods with our own fire pits.

Toilets and showers were great and spotlessly clean and lots of hot water for showers and washing up. Two good beaches for dog walkers - Lancing (fabulous restaurant called the Perch) and Goring beach (great café called the Bluebird café).

Ian and Sarah were perfect hosts - friendly and helpful whenever needed. Perfect family campsite (large noisy groups please go somewhere else!) 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kuppenbender 3 reviews from this member

 I love woodland campsites that allow campfires. Fox Wood is exactly that, and I really liked the place. We were there over the August bank holiday weekend, and the campsite was fully booked. However, the pitches are spaced so generously around the site that it didn't feel at all crowded. We were made to feel very welcome and it was quite nice to be there in its first year of operation,

The campsite's in a great location, close to Worthing and a short drive from Arundel and Arundel Castle. West Wittering beach is within reasonable driving distance for a day trip. We didn't get to try out the local pubs, but there were at least three within easy walking distance.

While there is no camp shop to speak of (it is 'an off grid' campsite after all), firewood was delivered around the site every day, and was reasonably priced. The composting toilets are in a large, clean, modern toilet block, as are the two gas heated showers. The site asks for £1 a shower via an honesty box.

My only complaint would be that the washroom (a sort of converted shipping container) has quite a low ceiling. If you're above average height, be sure to bring some short people with you to do the washing up. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fox Wood Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fox Wood Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Fox Wood Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Patching      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2874 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement