Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fox Wood Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > Site Reviews

Fox Wood Camping
Fox Wood
Selden Lane
Patching
West Sussex   (Browse area)
BN13 3UL
Tel: 07900 017514
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 25/05 To 27/08

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 13 Reviews
                10/10 from 13 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debisaurus 1 review from this member

Booked this campsite last minute with a couple of friends, couldn't have been more pleased!

The staff were incredibly accommodating- I phoned ahead to be sure we were okay to book as a group of singles, as they are a family based campsite, and they put us out of the way so that no one had to worry (we're not a rowdy group mind you). The forest and surrounding areas are stunning, and all the pitches have plenty of space each with their own fire pit. The owners have really thought this place through and it has paid off! Amazing facilities- the eco loos were cleaner and better maintained than any plumbed loos I've used at other sites, the washing up room is very nicely done and the showers were better than mine at home!

Could not have been happier we had a lovely time, would love to come again and would highly recommend!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neil 1978 1 review from this member

An amazing place!

It has a special balance of being off track and a feel of being in the middle of nowhere but all of the facilities you need are there and are immaculately clean and tidy. The showers, washing facilities and toilets are the best I've ever used while camping.

My children explored and played for hours in the vast woodland. A chance for them to be free and safe.

The owners are attentive and make you feel very welcome.

I would highly recommend this place.

Thank you so much and we will see you again soon.

Neil

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Newbie74 1 review from this member

We stayed at Fox Wood camping very recently and had a wonderful time. We are relatively new to camping and so our expectation were high and we were not disappointed. The site itself is in a lovely setting. There were lovely walks around the site as well as three pubs within walking distance. We tried two of them and particularly liked The Fox. On the site, the pitches are set within woodland clearings which gives a wonderful sense of being emmersed within nature. Each pitch has its own campfire with logs for sitting on. There's a good distance between pitches so although you can see your neighbours you still have a sense of having your own space.

The facilities are very good. Lovely and clean. The showers must be experienced. Lovely and hot and spacious. You could easily all fit in as a family! Good washing up facilities. The loos are composting loos but with a difference. The collecting container is a large cartridge that is removed (by the owners) and replaced clean so the actual composting takes place elsewhere. Meaning they are regularly cleaned out and never get too full or too smelly. Brilliant!

The surrounding woodland is great for children. Our two are 6 & 8 and kept running off to play with other children but we could always glimpse them in amongst the trees. The owners were helpful and friendly. Their own children were delightful company for our children. The wood which can be bought on site is super dry and burns beautifully. We could not fault this place and we're sure to return in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Belinz 1 review from this member

We had a wonderful stay and will definitely go back to this campsite. It is quiet and peaceful in woodland with plenty of space between pitches. We loved camping in the woods with our own fire pits. Toilets and showers were great and spotlessly clean and lots of hot water for showers and washing up. Two good beaches for dog walkers - Lancing (fabulous restaurant called the Perch) and Goring beach (great café called the Bluebird café). Ian and Sarah were perfect hosts - friendly and helpful whenever needed. Perfect family campsite (large noisy groups please go somewhere else!)

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kuppenbender 3 reviews from this member

I love woodland campsites that allow campfires. Fox Wood is exactly that, and I really liked the place. We were there over the August bank holiday weekend, and the campsite was fully booked. However, the pitches are spaced so generously around the site that it didn't feel at all crowded. We were made to feel very welcome and it was quite nice to be there in its first year of operation,

The campsite's in a great location, close to Worthing and a short drive from Arundel and Arundel Castle. West Wittering beach is within reasonable driving distance for a day trip. We didn't get to try out the local pubs, but there were at least three within easy walking distance.

While there is no camp shop to speak of (it is 'an off grid' campsite after all), firewood was delivered around the site every day, and was reasonably priced. The composting toilets are in a large, clean, modern toilet block, as are the two gas heated showers. The site asks for £1 a shower via an honesty box.

My only complaint would be that the washroom (a sort of converted shipping container) has quite a low ceiling. If you're above average height, be sure to bring some short people with you to do the washing up.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JHowell 1 review from this member

We spent 3 nights in Fox Wood and had a really wonderful time. Large pitches spread out through the forest, each with its own fire pit. Logs and kindling were delivered each day right to your pitch and grills could be hired to cook over your camp fire. Felt truly back-to-nature.

Plenty of woodlands to explore, my son enjoyed cycling through the trees on his mountain bike.

The owners Ian and Sarah were very welcoming and gave advice on places to eat and walks to go on.

The facilities were clean. The showers were a good size with plenty of hot water whenever I used them. Washing up facilities were clean with plenty of hot water too.

I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here if you are visiting West Sussex.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JeremyT 1 review from this member

Just got back from four nights at Fox Wood with my children and we all had a wonderful stay! We camped in a woodland glade, amongst towering oaks - what a brilliant place to camp. I have no hesitation in recommending Fox Wood for a family camping holiday.

We had loads of space and privacy, despite the site being (I believe) fully booked. Being allowed, even encouraged, to have our own camp fire every night was a real treat. Most of the other campers as far as I could see were families with young children, so it was peaceful at night. Lots of woodlands for kids to play, room to ride their bikes and play games.

The facilities are fine. Plenty of hot water for washing up and showering, and facilities always clean when I used them.

The location was really good for us: rural but easy to reach, walking distance to Angmering village, a short drive from seaside resort towns for buckets and spades fun. There are several pubs within walking distance, but we never made it past The Fox about five minutes walk away which is family friendly, good pub food and real ale, and a nice big beer garden with climbing frame.

So, to sum up, a really brilliant place to stay.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heatherbrake 1 review from this member

AMAZING! Just what camping should be, couldn't ask for more. A wonderful hidden gem. More than what we have paid at other sites but worth every penny. Set up camp after the owners Ian and Sarah welcomed us and explained in great detail about there site. Pitches are well spaced apart and all come with there own fire pit. Facilities are basic but all you really need for a real camping experience, showers with an honesty box, composting toilets, washing up sinks and drinking water, , like I said all you need. Our son had a great time exploring the forest and the potential for days out exploring the local lanes and woodland are endless. Nights surrounded by trees and sitting chatting with our friends under the stars makes for a majical weekend. Great pub food up the road at The Fox. Sarah and Ian are a fantastic couple and are living the dream as far as we're conserned.

WE WILL BE BACK!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Drdoc 1 review from this member

We stayed in Fox Wood for one night, my twin girls (aged 7) and I as the girls really wanted to go camping and especially a place where you are allowed to have a campfire. The site is wonderfully maintained and it looks and feels stunning. A lot of attention has gone into preserving the wildlife and the natural environment which gives the entire place a very natural vibe. The site is very well maintained and the facilities are super. Ian and his team run the site with a love for nature and the way they run things is meticulous, giving everyone top service whilst never being intrusive (we love the evening wood runs). As a result this site attracts people who genuinely want to spend some time in nature with friends and family by a camp fire. If lots of noise, rowdy and drinking people and caravans is your thing, you will not like this place. If you are a nature lover who wants a serene experience, you will absolutely love it. What a great place - the kids loved it and it is safe for them to run around day and night.

Didier Roekaerts

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Justine Parkinson 2 reviews from this member

Lovely in forest rustic camping. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Facilities were as described and generally kept clean and tidy. I would say the pitches were quite large and each one had a designated fire pit which was great, there was plenty of room. We had a lovely private area and barely noticed the other campers. The children had a great time & really enjoyed the freedom. Stayed here for 3 nights and it was very peaceful (apart from the wind on the third night). Only draw back I would say was having to lug everything from the car to the pitch as cars couldn't drive into the forest (understandably). Wheelbarrows were available though.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


498 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019