Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of West Harris Trust Seilebost

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > West Harris Trust Seilebost > Reviews

West Harris Trust Seilebost
Old School
Seilebost
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HP
Tel: 01859 503901
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 4 Campervans
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helenr 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location perched on top of an outstanding stretch of beach.

Very clean spacious shower and toilet facilities that were warm. Indoor washing up area with a washing machine and dryer ( much needed with all the rain).

Ideal for adults wanting to escape the pressures of everyday life. Small quiet isolated site which we liked but might not be everybody’s cup of tea.

Not much for children if travelling with them.

All details via email, very clear and easy to follow so no contact with a human for ‘customer service’ review 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: George 1 review from this member

 Peaceful site with 4 grass pitches with electric hook up. The toilets and showers are modern and spotless.

The beach is a short walk across the Machair. This beach is one of the best beaches I have ever been on and is one place you should not miss while visiting Harris.

I have spent 4nights here and it will be sad to leave. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lee 60 24 reviews from this member

 This location was our clear favourite during a week on Lewis & Harris. The schoolhouse sits in the middle of a small peninsula surrounded by some of the most gorgeous beaches Harris has to offer.

The site has only four camper/motorhome grass pitches with EHU. The very clean and modern facilities (two bathrooms with toilets and showers) are within the schoolhouse, along with a small laundry.

There is fresh water on site, but no waste facilities, for that you have to drive to Talla Na Mara about two miles away. Entry to the facilities is by a code that is emailed before you arrive.

All booking is done via the West Harris Trust website and the site is unmanned, so no check-in. Only payment in full is accepted at the time of booking, which for us was three months before our stay. At £32 per night it isn't cheap, but the location makes up for it.

We would have liked to stay for a few more nights, but this is an extremely popular site, so we made do with a mixture of other West Harris Trust pitches. I believe there may be a restaurant in the schoolhouse and certain times of the year, but it wasn't open during our stay.

Seilebost beach with turquoise water and white sand is only perhaps 150m away. It offers stunning views across to Taransay, Luskentire beach across the bay and the mountains beyond.

The walk around the peninsula at low tide was a highlight of our time on Harris, it helped that the sun was shining that day. We also cycled to Luskentire beach car park from this site which is only a few miles away and a great afternoon out.

If we get to Harris again, this site will be the first I try to book, not cheap, but a real gem of a location. 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cathd7 1 review from this member

 This is lovely site near a beautiful beach.

The facilities are excellent, very clean and roomy.

A peaceful site with good walks and a Gneiss workshop and shop on the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helen6 1 review from this member

 Fabulous location with sea views and superb beach within 5 minutes walk.

Excellent quality, clean facilities and a restaurant on site where we enjoyed a delicious dinner - the waitress was excellent!

Our stay was for 2 nights and we found this camp site perfect for exploring the locality and an evening walk along the beautiful beach. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Melj62 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite in an amazing location on a gorgeous white sandy beach.

The shower block was in need of some upgrade, but otherwise the campsite provided everything we needed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elizab 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, close to beautiful white sandy beach.

Brilliant showers and toilets.

Kitchen, laundry all on site in brand new condition.

Overall couldn't fault it 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Colin5 2 reviews from this member

 The shower room was very clean.

The pitch, T01, felt like it was on a building site with rubble from a wall and path being built next to the pitch.

The main toilet was locked after hours when it should have been left open according to the notice on the door. The other toilet (disabled and baby changing) was open and this was very clean. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: MachairMan 10 reviews from this member

 Again another site not really a site and screaming kids running round our van from coming off the beaches I presume

Could not get hold of anybody on site so we left after the 1 night ! 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Angieb 1 review from this member

 This is a marvellous campsite with a great walk to the nearby beach and dunes. Quite difficult to find as the sign from the road says Seilebost school rather than campsite.

It has a great laundry room with a very quick efficient washing machine and tumble dryer. However, you have to obtain the discs for these from Talla na Mara 2 miles up the road when the staff are there. Likewise, the chemical toilet can only be emptied at Talla na Mara, not at Seilebost.

Things have greatly improved at this site from when we were there in 2017.

Please remember to only use green toilet chemicals in your toilet before you arrive on the island as this site and probably other sceptic tanks can not cope with formaldehyde based products. It damages their tank.

Great shower room and toilets including disabled facilities and ramp. Code access keypad on doors.  
via mobile


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is West Harris Trust Seilebost child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to West Harris Trust Seilebost?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is West Harris Trust Seilebost dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet National Outdoor Expo 23/03 to 24/03
Held at the NEC in Birmingham, bringing outdoor enthusiasts all of the kit, tech, nutrition, activities and advice under one roof for a jam-packed weekend of outdoor inspiration Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7623 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement