Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - West Harris Trust Seilebost

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > West Harris Trust Seilebost Reviews

West Harris Trust Seilebost
Old School
Seilebost
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HP
Tel: 01859 503901
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 4 Campervans
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 6 Reviews
                8/10 from 6 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Reuben 14 reviews from this member

Sadly can’t review this site as couldn’t book it. We turned up & there was one other unit there. Tried the phone numbers advertised but there’s no phone signal. Didn’t fancy settling in then having to move if pre booked units turned up. So we headed back around the bay towards Luskentyre & stayed on another Harris Trust designated pitch with better views. No facilities but we were only there for a night. There are toilets & a water tap at the car park in Luskentyre as well as space for 3 motor homes/campervans - not exactly scenic but OK as a last resort.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gwandtw 5 reviews from this member

You would not believe Luskentyre beach was as close to the site when you book it, a 1 minute walk and you are there and it is stunning.

A early morning walk when the tide is out and you feel like Tom Hanks in Castaway

Fabulous location with pitches big enough for almost any van and awning.

If they build a toilet/shower block with a chemical waste disposal point this will be the best campsite on Harris bar none and that is the plan for 2018

We only stopped over for 2 days/nights but we were all very impressed.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 79 reviews from this member

This is a very welcome four pitch site set up by the West Harris Trust located in the old school grounds of the primary school at Seilebost. We stayed for one night in June 2017.

The site is clearly signed from the road and, whilst the track down to the school is narrow, most outfits shouldn’t have a problem. The location is on a peninsular between Traigh Sheileboist & Traigh Losgantir [OS map has all place names in Gaelic!] and the beach is just yards from the pitches.

The grass/machair pitches are individually roped off but have access to the power supply. Water is from a tap on the school wall adjacent to the pitches. There is a well maintained toilet [& maybe a shower for the next season - 2018] within the school building. You will need the code for the lock on the box to obtain an entrance door key.

The big negative point of the site is that there is no Chemical Disposal Point at all.

Therefore a nightly rate of £21 is, we feel, excessive for a site with no facility for toilet emptying.

The nearest CDP we were told was at the Leverburgh Ferry Terminal [at the back of the CalMac Waiting Room] but, on our visit, this was blocked solid and unusable. In desperation we had to use the Waiting Room toilet for disposal – not the done thing I know, but needs must!

The West Harris Trust also run a new 3 pitch site at Talla na Mara a few miles towards Leverburgh. This is also the location of their office, arts studio & business units. This site does have CDP though.

Also, scattered around the area are official West Harris Trust Wildcamping spots. All located around the marvellous Luskentyre beach – mainly on the narrow road down to Losgantir village/beach. It is “first come – first served” and was generally busy during our May 2017 visit. There are also a couple of spots on the A859 just as you pass the “Welcome to West Harris” sign. These are glorified car parks but you have views down the valley to the expansive beach and we used one for a couple of nights stop.

All users of the wild camping spots are asked to donate £5 per night – payable via. Their website. No problem with that at all.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Neil684 35 reviews from this member

A very useful site for recharging batteries - literally. Apart from the hookup, this was a beautiful spot, the walk on the beach around the headland was a real joy, at low tide, sand as fart as you could see.

The site is well off the road so is very quiet, specially as it only takes four units. The piches are all hard standing and level. The only facility apart from the hookup is a tap.

The site is unmanned out of hours so instructions for unbooked units to phone is not useful as this was an area of limited mobile coverage. It is best to arrive in office hours to confirm availability.

The fee £18 in 2016 is a bit steep for water and hookup only, particularly compared to the facility free 'camping spots' where a very reasonable £5 payment is requested.

Despite this, I still rate this site very highly.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 31 reviews from this member

Words cannot describe the breathtaking beauty of this location. If you are looking for peace and typical Hebridean scenery, look no further. The four grassy pitches in the grounds of the old school were a little more sheltered than I had expected - the nearby sand banks keep off the worst of the prevailing wind. One short stroll along a daisy lined track takes you straight to the open sea, with emerald waters, shell-littered white sands, views of the islands and rolling waves; wander to the right and you come to the enormous sandy bay, which fills and empties gently with the tide, is very sheltered, and looks very inviting for a canoe or a swim (I did neither this time, though the dog swam plenty). There are more rabbits here than on Watership Down in its heyday; plovers, terns and oystercacthers abound, and two large birds of prey (too far off to identify positively) appeared over the mountain near the site. During the day the odd car or coach pulls up with walkers so don't expect to have the place entirely to yourself, but it was never noisy or overly busy. It is a place for dreamers, poets, people who need to unwind, or anyone who simply wants to sample nature at its simplest and best. One thing to note is a single small wind turbine near the site which gives off a gentle hum when the wind is in a certain direction. It is by no means intrusive though and I found it quite soothing. And for the negatives? Well, only that I had to move on - I wanted to stay forever.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Alitho10 1 review from this member

A simple site in a superb location. The four hard-standing pitches are about 50m from a fantastic beach, in the grounds of a small school now used for offices. You pop in and they show you the facilities. However they leave at the end of the day and you have an emergency number for a local resident if needed.

The only facilities are your hookup, a single tap, and wastebins. It is well off the road so no traffic noise. I was fine in my small van, and I had the place to myself due to the ferry strike, but I think if you had four large vans there you would be a bit snug. The pitches are only separated by a rope, so no privacy from your neighbours window. But absolutely fine for a stopover or if you need an electricity boost.

I cooked for myself so didn't check out eating places/shops, but there wasn't anything obviously close. Large expanse of field for picnics/children's games.

The wonderful beach makes it worthwhile. Don't forget there is NO toilet, shower or grey/black disposal, but they do say that on their website.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5151 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019