Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackburn Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Hawes > Blackburn Farm Campsite > Reviews

Blackburn Farm Campsite
Gayle
Hawes
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL8 3NX
Tel: 01969 667524
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bikerhiker 16 reviews from this member

 Nice little camping field beyond the campervan field. Great view of the fells and the church tower in Hawes. Slightly sloping field but flat at the top.

Did hear dogs kicking off around 6am realised later that the resident dog barks when someone hits the shower and the farm-dog opposite kicks off with him, did get used to it and didn't bother me.

Basic toilet and shower but serviceable, could do with a pan-wash though for campers, and maybe a chair to put dried dishes on/ sit to dry your feet? Short walk into town for lovely company in the several pubs.

Didn't arrive till late so spar was closed (6pm), so no supplies. Didn't realise I could have maybe used the garage? Didn't meet John (hide n seek champion?) so left his money through the window.

Great value, would gladly stay again. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Myfanwy Couple 47 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed our stay at this lovely rustic site.

Great views and sunsets.

Basic facilities but OK, good value.

Easy walk into Hawes a nice little town.

Will recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Steveand babs 12 reviews from this member

 Working farm caravan and camping site, friendly site owners.

Five electric hookups for motor homes and tourers(£20 per night for two), with a separate field on the other side of a small stream for tents.

One toilet and shower each for men and women, thus maintained social distancing as only one person in each facility at a time. No extra charge for shower. Tended to run out of loo paper at the weekend when the site was busy but not a problen during the week as the site was less busy with tents.

Fresh water tap next to the farm house front porch. Waste water disposed on the other side of the yard.

Pleasant 15-20 minute stroll into Hawes for SPAR shop, pubs, tea shops, fish&chips, museum, the Market House, the Tuesday street market & the creamery.

Short walks around the river Ure & slightly further to Hardraw to see the waterfall or lunch time food at the cafe or pub. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Matthewhuk 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely little small farm site in a beautiful location above the pretty little town of Hawes.

The owner was quite difficult to get in touch with to check if they had room for our motorhome and after several attempts at phoning with no joy we took a chance and just turned up.

Lucky the site was empty on our arrival so we could have our choice of the 4 gravelled hardstandings.

Facilities are certainly rustic, think grannyís old outhouse! But we didnít mind that at all.

Weíre a bit dubious of using the fresh water tap for drinking water as the only tap seems to be located above the chemical disposal drain.

The only slight annoyance to our stay were the incessant barking dogs mostly it seems from the surrounding farms and the idiot who turned up and pitched his tent literally one foot away from out motorhome despite the rest of the field being empty! Why do people do that?! Still the beauty of having a motorhome was we just upped and moved pitch leaving him gawping in bewilderment!

That wouldnít put us of returning one day to this beautiful location the views across the dales are magnificent and itís an easy walk down into town. Pay a visit to Hardraw Force if you get the chance the beautiful walk up to he impressive 100ft waterfall is certainly worth the £2. 50 entrance fee via the Green Dragon pub. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kelkawitch 4 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site. Peaceful, quiet and away from the rat race. Whilst this is a working farm, we have not been been bothered by noise. The horses are friendly, the lambs adorable and the fishing lake is ideal to break away from the norm once the owners get around to it (the recent rain saw the weir being washed away and them losing their fish). The owners are really friendly and leave you to it. If you want a peaceful retreat, with or without the opportunity to pop down the road to the pub. You'll not go wrong here. Finally, the facilities are basic but work perfectly, are clean, lashings of hot water and we'll be back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingerfreckles 15 reviews from this member

 A great little find this. Very friendly owners, who just leave you be. No site rules, so you have to rely on your common sense, and general courtesy - how refreshing. Facilities are certainly rustic, but this is what I enjoy when camping - back to basics. A short walk from shops and pubs in Hawes. Dog friendly too. Dog barking is an issue, probably more from the neighbours than the farm itself, but give it a while and you get used to it and stop noticing it. Could do with some dishwashing facilities though. I shall be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HappyHippie 9 reviews from this member

 What a great site this is, a working farm so animal noise at various times of the day is to be expected but all goes quiet when its time for bed. The owners are very busy with the farm so didn't see anyone on arrival but was told this when I booked and to just take my pick of plots. Clean basic facilities, friendly owners, peaceful, well maintained and in a fantastic location. It's a small site, 5 hard standing with ehu, and space for a few tents. The fresh water and chemical waste can be found in front of the farm house.

A ten minute easy walk to Hawes which has shops/ pubs/ tea rooms and a smashing fish and chip shop.

There are lots of nearby attractions and numerous walks straight from the site. Will be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gail-force 14 reviews from this member

 Just had a Friday night at Blackburn Farm. Had friendly e-mails confirming our stay and a warm friendly welcome when we arrived. There are 5 pitches, all hardstanding, one with a caravan that looks to have been there a while and was unoccupied and 4 empty so we had our pick. There is a toilet and free shower with hot water for the ladies and the gents. The ladies was clean and tidy but the husband said the gents was in dire need of a clean! It's an easy 10 minute walk into Hawes with lots of pubs and shops and loads of walks from the site. At £17 a night with electric, toilet, shower and close to a village, we will be back. 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lolandmol 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 11 nights over Christmas and New Year. Small site on a working farm(expect some noise from tractor/dogs early in morning). One toilet and shower each(nice and warm) male/female. Many walks straight from the farm. 10-15 min walk into Hawes to 4 good pubs, Spar, butchers etc. Owners John & Mary very friendly (and busy)so your left in peace. Perfect for us. Would return again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cockerspadgers 41 reviews from this member

 What a great site this is. Ticked all our boxes; clean facilities (although basic and dated), friendly owners, peaceful, well maintained and in a fantastic location. It's a small site (5 units) a bit like a CL but nothing to do with the CC so no memberships required.

A ten minute easy walk to Hawes which has shops/ pubs/ tea rooms and a great fish and chip shop.

There are loads of nearby attractions but we had our Border Terrier with us so we spent most of our time visiting the nearby waterfalls. There are numerous walks straight from the site and we were blessed with decent weather.

Although we aren't into fishing, we did visit the lake and spoke to other campers who were up there casting their nets. The lake is very well stocked so they were more than happy to boast about how successful they had been. We, on the other hand, were happy to visit the lake in the evening with a glass of wine in hand, enjoying the peace and tranquility, under a lovely night sky.

We will be back. Thanks to the owners for providing this little piece of heaven. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackburn Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blackburn Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Blackburn Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hawes      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3849 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement