Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ponden Mill Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Haworth > Ponden Mill Camping Reviews

Ponden Mill Camping
Ponden Lane
Haworth
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD22 0HP
Tel: 01535 643923
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 21 Reviews
                7/10 from 21 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helenm 1 review from this member

 This is a basic site, only (very clean) portaloos, no running water, but that was OK we knew that before we booked.

A field high above Trawden with fields and hills behind we had great views and there is good walking from the site.

Had a lovely evening here with a roaring campfire under the stars and blue moon. We didn't get into Trawden,

Unfortunately the pub was closed because of covid but we will definitely be back so hope to visit it then. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Tbex01 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for one night.

The owners were very friendly. We were able to pitch our tent by the river - in the perfect spot for the sunset.

Facilities were decent and clean. Beautiful surroundings. Very peaceful.

Will definitely visit again and absolutely recommend this site! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Leerai 1 review from this member

 We arrived Saturday morning to pitch the tent and the owners were friendly and helpful,

My grandson is 2 and the owner put a gate across the opening to our pitch so he couldn’t run onto the road, super nice of them,

Facilities were basic but clean, shower was lovely and warm,

Site was next to a stream and lots of beautiful surroundings,

Had an awesome camping trip and it was Noah’s first one,

Defo going again and it was only £10 per night! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Bodie Clayton 1 review from this member

 This site has a lot of potential but perhaps it appears that the owners have lost interest a bit or are too busy doing something else.

The site is in two halves, the first is basically a tarmac car park the second is grass, gravel and woodchipping mix which actually is a bit muddy as there isn’t enough of any of those other things to sort it out. There is a single gents toilets, 3 female toilets and a shower. The shower is the cleanest with a new curtain and loads of space while the gents was clean as long as you don't look up and a little tired.

There is one water point near the house as you come in leaving you thinking surely it needs another tap at the other end of the site. We couldn’t find the wastewater point, it was neither signed nor obvious nor was there anyone around at the time to point it out. What really lets this place down is neglect - the pile of soil dumped on the walkway, the scrap used timber lying on the car park, plant pots with half dead plants in them. At £26 per night (2 adults and ehu) we found it overpriced and won’t be hurrying back.

When we went it was really windy the first night then the second night was still the only problem being the amount of bugs and midge. Make sure you bring appropriate spray and protection and hope for strong winds!

The nearby pub the Silent Inn has shut down but there are two further up the road in Stanbury. Our favourite was the Wuthering Heights as they have made an effort with a really nice outdoor area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wlred9 2 reviews from this member

 Joined daughter and her family at this site. It would have been useful to be told you required rock pegs and eco fluids for the toilet. Luckily daughter arrived 2 days before us.

Was expecting a peaceful couple of days however a group gathered under a tree more or less opposite us. This wasn't a problem but come 1. 30am we had to tell them to be quiet. Around 2. 30 a radio was switched on we had enough at 3. 15 we had to tell then to sod off and go to bed. Not one person came to apologise and it ruined the weekend.

Couple of the family got bitten by the flies which comes for being so near a river. The road was closed one way but the owners rang to advise before we set off. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tubby2 27 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night camping whilst walking the Pennine Way. There are a few places to put your tent. We camped by the river which was a lovely location.

There is another area but ground is not suitable for pegged tents only free standing or caravans.

Richard and Barbara very nice and gave us a pot of tea on arrival. Also full cooked hot breakfast for very reasonable price.

I think the shower and toilets could do with bit of TLC however was warm and plenty of hot water. There is a pub 10 mins away for evening meals. Old silent inn.

This is a beautiful site with historical building

Also tea shop on certain days 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Miland 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, clean and tidy, good clean, hot showers and clean toilets. Great little site, next to the river.

Lovely staff. Great coffee and cake in the cafe.

Will definitely be booking again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Katyhawes74 1 review from this member

 The campsite at Ponden Mill (is set in the grounds of a Georgian Cotton Mill set in the beautiful area of Haworth). Perfect as a base for walking and exploring.

The couple who run the camping site couldn't be more charming, helpful and kind - we felt so welcome and the couple went above and beyond to ensure this - Barbra and Richard run a cafe along side the campsite (where we enjoyed fellowship and a welcome hot beverage). We will definitely be returning!

The campsite was peaceful, secluded and had every amenity one would need for a rural retreat. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Annnick 2 reviews from this member

 Campsite is like a derelict car park which we were willing to put up with. However the toilets and showers were unsuitable and dirty. If you were totally self sufficient (ie own washing and toilet facilities) would be just about bearable for a couple of nights stopover.

We booked into a hotel for the second night (which wouldn't have been funny if we had a family with us).

Please note this a review of the campsite not the bed and breakfast facility in the mill. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lhug 2 reviews from this member

 Well there isn't anything nice I could say about this site. Reading the reviews on this site (now) and I have to say that I totally agree about the toilet facilities. They were disgusting. Didn't even look in the shower room I dreaded to think about it. The ladies toilet had 3 urinals in it with tape across so we didn't use them (what a laugh) the men's didn't even have any urinals in at all apparently.

They looked like they hadn't been cleaned for months or years even. Normally that does bother me cos I would just use my own toilet in the caravan, however, when we arrived we were told that if we didn't have the green Elsan in your caravan toilet instead of the blue you couldn't use the Elsan disposal pit.

We were also told when we arrived that you wouldn't get a television signal because we were in a dip. That also included the mobile phones. Another big issue for us was that when using the sat nav to get us to the site it directed us across a steel bridge and was telling us to go right.

At the end of the bridge you had another little bridge to cross and there was not enough room to pull the caravan across so we had to unhitched from the car and literally pull it through. Thankfully a man delivering goods in the area stopped to help us and told yes it was left we should have gone.

The right turn was the house owned by the owners of Ponden Mill. We should have stayed on the original road for a further couple of hundred yards before turning right. Nightmare and wasn't told we needed to pay extra for the electricity.

I thought it wasn't worth £18 per night. Just be careful if you decided to go to this site. 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ponden Mill Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ponden Mill Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ponden Mill Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Haworth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2701 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement