Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ponden Mill Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Ponden Mill Camping
Ponden Lane
Haworth
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD22 0HP
Tel: 01535 643923
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/04/ To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 12 Reviews
                7/10 from 12 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Annnick 2 reviews from this member

Campsite is like a derelict car park which we were willing to put up with. However the toilets and showers were unsuitable and dirty. If you were totally self sufficient (ie own washing and toilet facilities) would be just about bearable for a couple of nights stopover. We booked into a hotel for the second night (which wouldn't have been funny if we had a family with us). Please note this a review of the campsite not the bed and breakfast facility in the mill.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gordymoo 2 reviews from this member

Good points. Pitched by the stream under the trees is one of the nicest places I have ever woken up. BUT. Quoted £10 for the night, charged £15 on arrival, as my 3 berth tent was classed as a mid size??? Really?? The area by the stream states room for ten tents, but with three tents pitched you would struggle to place another. The ground is so uneven that pitching could result in damaging tents and people. The toilet block. The Gent's toilet had brown water leaking from the main pipe, which runs through the back of the cabin, every time a toilet is flushed the pipe dripped pooling in the middle of the room. Both ladies and gents are in desperate need of a deep clean, and it didn't look like they were cleaned during our overnight stay. I daren't even step foot in the shower! The touring caravan area was making use of an old carpark. Tidy but not pretty. There seemed to be no noise curfew, a gathering of tents at the rear of the tourers partied till near 2am. Worth noting - Out of the hands of the site - be wary your at one with nature, yes there are plenty of insects in the toilet blocks, there were also rats on the river bank. So keep the place tidy. I hope the owners jump on these issues rapid as this is potentially one of the best sites in the locality. Address the toilets, Drop a few ton of top soil on the river pitches and marshall the site. I will keep checking back to these reviews in hope!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Spyder27 10 reviews from this member

Fantastic gem of a site hidden away from the world in the bottom of the valley next to the river. Yes the facilities are basic but we were quite happy with that, (Iíve seen worse). Park where you want, have a BBQ if you want or even light a fire. This is a site to get away from it all, very poor mobile signal (although I was told the cafe does have WiFi) no TV signal but that was fine by us. Very relaxing.

We walked the 300 yards to the Silent Inn for a meal and it was worth every step! Delicious!

We waited for a bus outside the site to go to Haworth but Saturday running was different to the rest of the week so we walked up the hill to Stanbury and caught the bus to Haworth there (about a 10 minute ride), Be warned itís a good 15 minutes up a fairly steep hill (20 or more if youíre not that fit). Walking back down was fine.

We didnít use the cafe on site but it looked really nice, many campers getting a big breakfast there.

The toilets and showers are a bit rough and ready and could do with the shower screen replacing but there was plenty of hot water. As one previous review said ďthere were bugs in itĒ Of course there was, youíre in the middle of the countryside!

If I was the owners I would be looking at improving those facilities but then everybody would be coming to stay and that would spoil its lovely quiet charm.

Will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireWhiteley 1 review from this member

Lovely site away from it all which is what we wanted. A basic site with rustic charm and a warm welcome. Dogs and teenagers also made to feel very welcome. Barbara and Richard know lots about the local area, visit Wycoller as one of their recommendations. Friendly and helpful hosts who add charm to the stay.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jshaw04 2 reviews from this member

The location of the campsite is fantastic, a very scenic and desolate area however has good bus links to Keighley. There is a bus stop right outside the campsite with about 4 buses a day or a short walk up the hill there are hourly buses. The service from the owners was 'ok' however when we arrived we were met with, 'you were due yesterday' which we were not and they had made a mistake which they then worked out. Also they say you are allowed fires but you have to find your own wood however wherever you seem to go the male owner will come out and say 'you can't go there' or 'no, you can't use that'. So to play it safe if you want a nice relaxed fire this isn't the site for you. The facilities of the site are dreadfully poor. The shower room is quite frankly the most disgusting place I have had a shower in all my life. The amount of bugs in there was unreal and all of the water leaked out of the shower because the plastic shower screen had a massive crack in it, you can not leave any clothes in there or they will be covered in bugs when you get out, and then you feel you are trapped in because the door is ridiculously stiff you need to almost run at it to open it. The toilets were a little better but not by a great deal, no lock if bad enough but when the door actually doesn't shut you get a bit concerned. The toilet was all stained and is clearly never cleaned judging by the odor. The sink or the 'bath' used to clean things is all disgusting with disgusting buckets just left in it and stained all along the bottom- not what I like to get my drinking water out of anyway. The owners need to have a deep clean of the facilities. The site is child friendly however I don't know whether the owners welcome children or not. Very cheap though and in a lovely area with a stream running next to where you put your tents.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dylgeo 1 review from this member

Just got back from a two nights stop at this pleasant site. We had a pitch by the river which is relatively shallow and not fast flowing, our dog was never out of it! The owners Richard and Barbara couldn't do enough for us, from meeting us upon arrival showing us the site pitches to allow us to choose and meeting us when we were leaving. Excellent value for money will be going back.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andie74 19 reviews from this member

First the good points Great location fantastic views, very helpful owners offered lift into Haworth.

The not so good cleanliness of mens toilet only floor mopped toilet not cleaned not even lock on door. Womans toilet fine, but separate shower had crack in glass panel so did not use.

Hard to get rid of waste water as you have to lift it up to empty it. Long non food grade hose used to fill drinking water, that was sometimes touching floor.

Good cafe on site with information leaflets bus stop in walking distance great walks from site. Dog friendly pubs in walking distance but be careful walking on road with no path.

This site has great potential will be great site once water and waste and cleanliness is sorted.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Colliechad 1 review from this member

Just returned from a cracking weekend. Ponden Mill is a gem of a site in an absolutely idyllic setting. The owners are a lovely couple who went out of their way to be helpful. As some of the other reviews have already pointed out the site is a work in progress but this is more than made up for by the warmth of the owners welcome.

Really enjoyed our stay and will certainly be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NicciMac 46 reviews from this member

This was our first stop on a week-long tour of waterfalls in the Dales. It's very handy for walking to Bronte Falls and also Top Withens.

Cost was £30 for 2 nights with EHU. To reach the EHU we basically had to pitch in a car park rather than on grass, but there is grass further down and tents pitched next to the river on a grassy slope.

It is a fairly basic site, with toilet and shower facilities inside an old shipping container, but these were clean and perfectly sufficient for our needs.

Dog friendly (we didn't need to put her on a lead at all), and we received a very warm welcome when we arrived, complete with offers of maps, walking guides, and an invitation to join the owners for a BBQ. There is also free wi fi if you are at the Mill end of the site (just ask for the password).

Drawbacks are:

Biting midges in the evening (though nothing can be done about that I realise!) so bring repellent and citronella (although for us this still wasn't enough).

Washing up point has no hot water.

Otherwise, a great little site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hoglady 1 review from this member

Stayed for the weekend. Were greeted by the owners with offers of extra strong tent pegs and midge repellent! The ground is very hard but our own pegs were fine. I would recommend a hammer though - also offered. The site has basic facilities which were kept clean. Although there's only 1 (spacious and hot) shower, as it's a small site this wasn't a problem. The owners, Richard & Barbara, couldn't do enough for us and even invited us to join their BBQ on Sat. Pm. Bring your own meat. A lovely way to spend the evening and meet other campers as well.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3494 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019