Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ponden Mill Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Haworth > Ponden Mill Camping Reviews

Ponden Mill Camping
Ponden Lane
Haworth
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD22 0HP
Tel: 01535 643923
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 27 Reviews
                7/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LindaG 5 reviews from this member

 A beautiful location in a stream's valley. You can walk from the campsite onto the moors and up to Wuthering Heights and the Bronte Bridge and falls.

Blissfully quiet when we were there.

The shower was excellent and modern and hot! The toilets a little more simple - 3 for women, 1 for men - but clean. Washing up facilities are open air which is lovely on a nice day, but less so when raining.

The best local village pub was the Wuthering Heights in Stanbury, only 20 mins walk away.

The bus to / from Haworth also runs from Stanbury. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Debora 1 review from this member

 Having read so many reviews of this place before turning up I had an element of worry as to how we would find our stay here. I very much needn’t have worried, it was our kind of place.

When we go camping we want to feel immersed in nature, we want to feel outdoorsy and like we’re practical people but we choose campsites rather than wild camping so that we can have a loo and showers (we aren’t that practical in reality)!

The shower was lovely and warm (and most importantly not on a meter), the toilets ran smoothly and there was running (cold) water to wash up in.

The site was phenomenally beautiful and the stream at the bottom provided free white noise for our 3 and 1 year old to sleep to!

All of the reviews stating ‘disgusting’ and ‘dirty’ I think are wrong. The buildings that house the facilities are fairly old, there’s a kind of wonky 90’s feel to them, but they are not dirty. I think recognising that difference, that clean doesn’t have to mean new, is a useful one.

Camping is an outdoor hobby, I think reviewing a campsite like it should be a hotel is madness! It rained for days while we were there, all of our stuff is filthy, but we had the best holiday.

Haworth is minutes away by car and has all the lovely food and coffee you might want but there are much closer pubs for walking to. Walks from the campsite meant not using a car was possible too. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nkle12 1 review from this member

 Great place to camp while walking the Pennine Way.

No shops or pubs close by (nearest pub about 1 mile away} so stock up before you arrive.

Tent pitch is only small so best to book in advance. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ctourn 1 review from this member

 Idyllic spot and made to feel very welcome, thank you!

A few hook up, hard standing, spaces for motorhomes (ours is 8m long) and some lovely, by the water, spaces for tents.

Several nice walks to the Pennine Way,

We’ll be coming back with more time. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chrisbris 1 review from this member

 Hi Bit of a mixed bag here. John the campsite owner manager was great, very helpful and pleasant. He said prior to the visit that the loos were closed due to covid etc, they didn't exist.

The hard standing smelled and was obviously the scene of a previous fire with rubbish and black stuff under the surface leaving stains on the groundsheet.

The chemical disposal left a bit to be desired and the drainage seemed poor.

Generally it felt neglected but it was ok for a stop over. Sorry John but it felt as if your heart wasn't in it anymore. All the best for your future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dragon 1 review from this member

 Quiet site next to a stream. Very pleasant and helpful site owners.

Good for a short stay with some lovely walks nearby, and the town of Haworth.

Facilities basic but adequate.

Due to Covid restrictions we didn't use toilet / showers provided, just our own in the caravan so cant comment on those. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Helenm 1 review from this member

 This is a basic site, only (very clean) portaloos, no running water, but that was OK we knew that before we booked.

A field high above Trawden with fields and hills behind we had great views and there is good walking from the site.

Had a lovely evening here with a roaring campfire under the stars and blue moon. We didn't get into Trawden,

Unfortunately the pub was closed because of covid but we will definitely be back so hope to visit it then. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Tbex01 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for one night.

The owners were very friendly. We were able to pitch our tent by the river - in the perfect spot for the sunset.

Facilities were decent and clean. Beautiful surroundings. Very peaceful.

Will definitely visit again and absolutely recommend this site! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Leerai 1 review from this member

 We arrived Saturday morning to pitch the tent and the owners were friendly and helpful,

My grandson is 2 and the owner put a gate across the opening to our pitch so he couldn’t run onto the road, super nice of them,

Facilities were basic but clean, shower was lovely and warm,

Site was next to a stream and lots of beautiful surroundings,

Had an awesome camping trip and it was Noah’s first one,

Defo going again and it was only £10 per night! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Bodie Clayton 1 review from this member

 This site has a lot of potential but perhaps it appears that the owners have lost interest a bit or are too busy doing something else.

The site is in two halves, the first is basically a tarmac car park the second is grass, gravel and woodchipping mix which actually is a bit muddy as there isn’t enough of any of those other things to sort it out. There is a single gents toilets, 3 female toilets and a shower. The shower is the cleanest with a new curtain and loads of space while the gents was clean as long as you don't look up and a little tired.

There is one water point near the house as you come in leaving you thinking surely it needs another tap at the other end of the site. We couldn’t find the wastewater point, it was neither signed nor obvious nor was there anyone around at the time to point it out. What really lets this place down is neglect - the pile of soil dumped on the walkway, the scrap used timber lying on the car park, plant pots with half dead plants in them. At £26 per night (2 adults and ehu) we found it overpriced and won’t be hurrying back.

When we went it was really windy the first night then the second night was still the only problem being the amount of bugs and midge. Make sure you bring appropriate spray and protection and hope for strong winds!

The nearby pub the Silent Inn has shut down but there are two further up the road in Stanbury. Our favourite was the Wuthering Heights as they have made an effort with a really nice outdoor area. 
via mobile


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ponden Mill Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ponden Mill Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ponden Mill Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Haworth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4372 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement