Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Corner Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Caerlaverock > Castle Corner Campsite Reviews

Castle Corner Campsite
Castle Corner
Caerlaverock
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG1 4RU
Tel: 01387 770605
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12 Motorhomes Only
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 11 Reviews
                10/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised by the site managers that this motorhome parking area has reopened for 2020

They still donít ask for payment, though the Caerlaverock Community Association relies on donations to help maintain the area etc., so your donation in the honesty box is much appreciated! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Castle Corner 1 review from this member

 I would like to thank everyone who has supported our wee campsite business over the past three seasons since taking over. It is with regret that I will be closing my business due ever rising services, maintenance costs, local competition and the lack of flexibility by others to adjust to the changing business environment.

I can confirm the campsite will return to the Caerlaverock Estate, unfortunately I cannot give any reassurance or information in what condition, shape or form the campsite will run if it reopens in 2018?

AGAIN! Thank you to all for your support & kind words

And also to the team at UKCampsite.co.uk

Kind Regards

Kim 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paulgough 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 3 nights and could have stayed 30! It is tucked away in woodland giving access to Caerlaverock Castle and the WWT on foot plus New Abbey Corn Mill and Sweetheart Abbey by car. All well worth a visit. Pitches are spacious and all hard stands. Perfect for motorhomes but also a good tent area. Very well kept by the manager who has gone to great lengths to provide off grid power to two pitches and the very functional toilet/washroom. This is a perfect site to slow down and enjoy the beauty of things natural around you. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 31 reviews from this member

 This is one of those special little places which linger on in your memory long after you have gone home. A small, peaceful wood-fringed glade, with facilities as clean and lovely as described by others and with 5 well spaced, hardstanding pitches, two of which have solar hook ups. John called a couple of times to ensure everyone was ok as the wind was pretty gusty outside, but apart from the trees tossing overhead and the occasional acorn landing on our van, the shelter was surprisingly good, given the proximity to the estuary. The walk through the adjacent native woods to Caelaverock castle is both beautiful and easily manageable, and there were lots of little birds flitting in and out of the undergrowth to give additional interest along the way. We don't have children so have to give a 10 for child friendliness based on the previous reviewer's comments, but dog and I found it simply delightful for our country rambles. We look forward to returning and exploring more of the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Meekin 1 review from this member

 Simply wonderful. We have been there twice now with our caravan and will keep coming back. Such a tranquil and peaceful place. Lots of wildlife, and great walks along the coast to the castle and wetlands centre. John is a great guy who takes great pride in his site. It's immaculately clean and cared for and he regularly checks in to see if you need anything ( but not to the point of being intrusive). The toilet facilities are excellent, as is the chemical disposal point and we love that the electric hookup is solar powered. The kids loved the woodland area and the fairy doors (nice touch). I have to give the site a ten rating, only because the scale won't let me give it higher than that. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trlostagain 1 review from this member

 A wonderful small site on the edge of the Caerlaverock National Nature Reserve and a pleasant woodland walk away from ancient Caerlaverock Castle and slightly further, the hilltop fort at Wardlaw. The nearby Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust centre is also within easy walking distance on well maintained paths alongside the Nith estuary. The campsite is extremely neat and well managed. It has a flushing toilet and hot water and some solar-powered electrical hook-ups. In addition to enjoying the wildlife and birdwatching, the area is ideal for walking and cycling and there is a regular bus service to Dumfries and would suit anyone in search of an energetic stay or a peaceful and tranquil stopover. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pie*face 9 reviews from this member

 This site is a hidden gem,

We stayed here as an overnight stop whilst on our way to the Isle of Arran.

5 pitch site with a very clean and tidy toilet, 6 amp solar hook up on two pitches.

The owner makes sure every thing is how it should be and is very welcoming.

The location beside the nature reserve and castle creates a calming atmosphere.

Perfect for an overnight stop to break the journey to the Highlands, but it also makes an excellent base to visit the local area.

It is obvious that a lot of work has been put into this site to make it special.

It's definitely on our list to be revisited in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HARDRAINE 2 reviews from this member

 A little gem

We are not fans of big commercial camp sites so we were lucky to find Castle Corner close to Caerlaverock Castle (on the estuary of the river Nith). The Campsite is situated just on the edge of the nature reserve with pathways close by leading through stunning walks and up to the castle.

The site is very reasonably priced; the owners could not have been more helpful they pop in regularly to check if everything is as it should be. We were still asleep and they brought leaflets for us leaving them outside the van. They gave us information on the local area and seem very passionate about the site and local area.

It is only a very small site, 5 pitches and room for a few tents, (wild camping) it is very well kept, clean and tidy. You have plenty of space between you and the next pitch. There are no toilets or hook ups, however I believe this is on the cards for next season, (all environmentally friendly, e. G. Sola powered hook up). The site has a very peaceful and secluded feeling. There are some very nice little touches, hammocks etc. If youíre looking for complete luxury itís not for you, but if youíre happy to chill in a peaceful environment itís a real gem and I will be going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cankervanman 1 review from this member

 This was the second visit to this little gem of a site.

Located within walking distance of both caerlaverock castle and the Wetland Trust centre, it is an ideal site for a short stay or even a short break. We used the site as a base and on sunny days we enjoyed the great walks to the casle and wetland centre through the very well set out woodland paths and on other days visit indoor attractions in dumfries and surrounding area which are only a short drive away.

The facilities are fantastic for self contained units and wildcampers alike. Elsan, grey and fresh water area is very easily accessed and is kept spotlessly clean by the warden. Pitches are level on a shale type base with well kept grassed area's which even have their own picnic benches. Recent additions to the site are free WiFi and on speaking with the warden I hear a green energy mains electric point maybe coming in the future.

At £10 for non mcc members and £8 for mcc members, this site offers fantastic facilities and value for money that other sites offer at double the price.

The warden and his family are very welcoming, approachable people who will go out of their way to make sure yor stay on the site is the very best it can be.

We WILL be returning whenever we are in the area. Thanks again. Mrs & Mrs wilson. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vangran 8 reviews from this member

 Excellent spot for peace and quiet. Grassy site with large hard standing and tables for eating outside. Shady too. Easy to get water and for emptying the cassette. There is also means for getting rid of grey water.

New Owner is nearby and very friendly and helpful. We will return especially as open all year. Very similar to aires as on the continent so you need your own facilities.

There is also a tent area which looked very nice and again shady. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Corner Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Corner Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Castle Corner Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Caerlaverock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2949 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement