Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Piethorne Valley Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Rochdale > Piethorne Valley Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Piethorne Valley Caravan And Camping Site
Huddesfield Road
Newhey
Rochdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
OL16 3TA
Tel: 01706 840978  or  07845 795247
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 8 plus 4 pods, tent area
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 19 Reviews
                10/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Manc Kris 3 reviews from this member

Having always dismissed this site, as it is only 10 minutes from our caravan storage, we have missed out for so long! What an absolute joy. It's small but not at all cramped. Lovely stream runs behind the pitches, clean shower/toilet block and friendly owner.

We have been twice now and due to return again in a couple of weeks, this is now our local 'go to site'.

Only drawback is no telephone or internet signal (even with our mifi box), but didn't find this that much of an issue.

2 local pubs, The John Milne and Black Bull serve good food and give a friendly welcome. Morrisons a 10 minute drive away.

Love it!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Suzie2poos 10 reviews from this member

We stayed in a pod for the first time ever at Piethorne during half term. The pod was excellent value for money being the cheapest I have seen and cheaper than many sites ask for a basic camping pitch!

The pod was small and provided a fold up table, two garden chairs for use inside or outside the pod and also a small heater which was adequate for October but probably not powerful enough for the winter.

The pod was large enough for us to fit our double SIM on the floor but we had to move the mattress each morning to put the table up which was a slight hassle but not a major problem once we had found the best way to achieve this.

The facilities are clean and tidy however the toilet and shower block could do with better ventilation or heating. One evening the ladies was covered from top to bottom with condensation which smelt rather unpleasant but they were thoroughly cleaned each day so were back to normal early the next morning. I very much doubt this would be a problem during the warmer months.

Very little in the way of tourist attractions in the immediate area but the site is convenient for local shops, pubs and the tram to Manchester plus being close to the M62 it's easy to get out and about in a car. I liked the Bull at nearby Ogden in particular but the pubs in Newhey are also pleasant enough.

There are plenty of walks which can be accessed direct from the site including Rochdale Way, Oldham Way and the Pennine Bridleway. Some of the paths are quite hilly for those with mobility issues but most would cope.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Jody82 1 review from this member

Glamping!

Perfect glamping hut with locked doors and blinds as well as having a table and chairs outside to use. The glamping hut also has lights inside and plug sockets to use a little heater and a fold away table.

We had so much fun. The location is fantastic perfect for walks and relaxing. Plenty of shops near by for food, snacks, supplies and take away. The campsite is very well looked after with excellent and clean facilities. Lovely showers with hot water and clean toilets. Helpful and friendly staff. Not really sure I could ask for much more and can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gorsius 3 reviews from this member

Great little site, right by a small river with lots of wildlife and not far from Manchester. Perfect spot for grabbing the tram (15 mins walk) into central Manchester. Very clean facilities and the owners are super helpful and friendly. Nice quiet spot which is a surprise given you are 10 mins drive from the hustle and bustle of Rochdale and such.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ryano.13 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the bank holiday weekend with friends also in a caravan it was a really nice place to stay, owners very helpful on arrival walked us to our pitch and even helped to set up.

Once we were set up we went and paid, they helped us with places to eat and walks with the dog also shops near by for groceries.

Toilet block very clean and showers a tad small except the disabled one.

I would definitely visit again as its only about 1/2 hour away for us

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

I have driven past this site a few times and have noticed changes going on so I was curious as to what was going on. I am glad I did, site is located within 5 mins of the M62 which is a real bonus as it very easy to access. On site it may look a little daunting at the entrance but I managed to get in with 27ft twin wheel caravan towed by our trusty galaxy (if we can get in anyone can). The site itself is very misleading, its small but has huge pitches theirs plenty of room and is very spacious.

Toilets are spotless, and that is the general mind set around the site very well run and clean.

Plenty of great walks for all ages and ability, small londis 1/2 mile down the road very nice chinese opposite. We were very glad we booked here for a weekend away close to home so ideal for last minute weekends ( if there is room) we will return and look forward to seeing the ongoing upgrades which just seem to happen with out you noticing ( no WORK/upgrades went on when we stayed) so don't know when the owner gets time to do the improvements.

Great site, very pleasant staff who are extremely helpful 18 per night for us which I think was reasonable.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MDEHSDG8 8 reviews from this member

Just come back from two nights here in our tourer. It's a small site just off the road but is delightful. Bob one of the owners couldn't be more helpful. The toilet and shower facilities are spotless. We ate in a lovely pub in Ogden (The Bulls Head) which was tasty and good value for money. We'll definitely be back to the site.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Smec 8 reviews from this member

We stayed at the site with our folding camper whilst visiting relatives in the area. Bob and Norma cannot do enough to help you enjoy your visit and have a wealth of local knowledge. All the facilities are kept spotlessly clean in fact the whole of the site is immaculate. There are lovely walks in the area around the nearby reservoirs. We will certainly visit again.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bopp 4 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. Norma & Bob run this site so well. They are very friendly and helpful. Opened earlier this year so all facilities were excellent. We were given a choice of hard standing pitch with 16amp electric hook up.

Great walks from the site and an excellent Pub just 10 minutes walk away. Only stayed 1 night and unfortunately this was a Monday so no restaurants open and had to drive to one. However 'we will be back'. Bob tells me he is doing lots more work on the site this winter ready for next year. Thank you to you both.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: JudithG 1 review from this member

We stayed in the camping pods last weekend and I really can't recommend this site enough. Beautiful location, clean, tidy, warm and friendly.

Lovely walks and a nice pub, but what really makes this site are Bob and Norma who are such kind and generous people, I have never felt so welcome in a campsite or hotel anywhere in the world. Thank you to both of you and we will see you next year!

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3330 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019