Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pilgrims Retreat ( Was Hogbarn )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Maidstone > Pilgrims Retreat ( Was Hogbarn ) Reviews

Pilgrims Retreat ( Was Hogbarn )
Hogbarn Lane
Harrietsham
Maidstone
Kent   (Browse area)
ME17 1NZ
Tel: 01622 859648
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Holiday Homes Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 7 Reviews
                7/10 from 7 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chelseagang 10 reviews from this member

 We booked this site for the facilities and location and initial booking all went smoothly. Kat in the office was nice and friendly when we drove over to pay and initial call to site to book was with Jim who was great and welcoming.

When we arrived for our stay however our greeting was not so good and we met a very unfriendly and frosty reception and were referred to as this staff members tea and coffee money! as they are not too bothered about camping and touring side of things now they make all their money on the homes that are being built there.

We wanted to turn around and go there and then but luckily the rest of the staff there made up for this mans rudeness and and made our stay a very welcome one, as did the local residents we met around the park and in the bar who were friendly and sociable.

There was building work going on around the site and during our stay heavy machinery such as diggers, cement mixers etc were working all day laying foundations for the new homes being built at the top of the park near the pool and clubhouse.

We stayed at Easter and paid peak season prices but did not find peak season facilities. The pool was only open 4 hours a day 10-2 and at times when anyone visiting the area would probably be out visiting local attractions, and the club house the same times apart from at the weekends when was open in the evenings.

One of the reasons for choosing the site for us was to be able to use the club house of an evening to have a drink, get something to eat if didn't want to cook and have somewhere to socialise after a day out.

The pool would have been good to have used when got back from a day out and have a swim before dinner or an early morning swim before going out- none of this we could do as was closed most of the times that we wanted to use it. There was nothing we could see on any advertising or the site website that said facilities would be this limited.

My husband and son managed to go to the pool and club house during the stay a couple of times and I managed one evening and the clubhouse (I was working still during the day) when open was excellent and could not be faulted. Staff in there were great, very friendly and made to feel welcome and chatted away like they had known you for years.

The toilets and showers were clean and plenty of them and the pool was warm and well looked after with good changing facilities. The tourer ground was right at the bottom of the park with woods behind which are great if you need to walk your dogs as right on the doorstep and there are lots of lovely longer walks around this site.

The location is as the title of the site would suggest qiet and tranquil. The touring site is quite a bit of a way from the loos, pool and clubhouse down a steep slope behind the static caravans.

There is a water tap down at the tourer are but that is about it, when we were there there wasn't even a rubbish bin down there although plenty around the site we had to take the rubbish up to the clubhouse area to fnd a wheelie bin.

The chemical loo point is between the permanent homes and the static caravans in an area I was told was where the tents go when they are there. The tourer area is flat and has about 12 plots but the soil is solid (hard ground pegs advisable if putting up awning) and there's not much grass there its mainly soil and weeds and wouldn't be pleasant in wet weather. Needs seeding badly to get a better surface it looked to us like it had been dug and levelled at some point but no grass replaced just left to sort itself out naturally.

Would we return?? we liked the site location, loved the staff in the clubhouse, the faciliies were clean and great when open!, its local to us so can have a break and still go to work if need to, great for our dogs so yes we would on those points. Would want more available facilities for the amount of the pitch fee, better surface of pitch rather than weeds and thistles and a wheelie bin down on the tourer site would have been good and possibly some washing up facilities.

I cant imagine that from the camping/touring side there's ever going to be anything different to whats there now as its clear that in a couple of years time there's not going to be anything other than statics and permanent homes there but in the meantime all the time they are taking your pitch fees happily they could make some small improvements that wouldn't cost a lot or take much effort.

The area is beautiful and really convenient for lots of local attractions and we found some nice local pubs servig great food in the area. Leeds castle is just up the road, Maidstone the nearest main town and if attending anything at the county show ground its just a short drive away. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aatch 2 reviews from this member

 We've visited this campsite twice now. The price is reasonable for what you get.

The touring field with electric hook ups is past the clubhouse and facilities and down past the permanent homes down a fairly steep hill. It seems a little bit out of the way down there but is very peaceful.

The toilets and showers are extremely clean and modern with hot water at all times of day but it really is quite a trek from the touring field.

The swimming pool is again very clean and my daughter loved it in there, although I wouldn't say it was particularly hot it is heated so it doesn't take your breath away when you get in!

The clubhouse is very reasonably priced and the food is excellent. The people that run that clubhouse are very friendly and helpful.

There are no facilities for washing up but that wasn't a problem for us, we just boiled the kettle and used the hot water from this to wash up.

The site is mainly catering for residents in the long stay chalets and when we were there, more concrete bases were being put in place. I think this will eventually be a residents only park and the camping side will become a thing of the past which is a shame as it really is a perfectly good site for a short stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caroline76 1 review from this member

 We've just returned from a 3 day break here. The ground where we put our tent was not the best. There were a lot of stones that needed moving before we could put the tent up.

This is a fairly basic campsite for those with tents. We were down on the bottom pitch and the toilets were quite a walk away so definitely not suitable for the less able.

There was no soap in the toilets and when I let the lady in the bar know I was told that campers normally brought their own. I've never experienced that before as I would have thought soap in the toilets was fairly basic. The hand dryers didn't work either. The toilets and showers were clean however.

The next thing we noticed is there was no facility to do your washing up. We had to use the drinking water, boil it up and wash the dishes by the tent. Again, a sink & hot water I thought would just be standard for any campsite?

The bottom camp area felt quite secluded and not very secure (there were woods and a walkway on either side). This was probably because we were the only people down there but one evening when we went out we took anything of any value with us. The bar on site is only open at the weekend.

A fairly basic campsite to say the least. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Happee-campers 4 reviews from this member

 If want peace & quiet & walks then this is a good site.

The residents & Jim & Debbie who run the club house are diamond people, they all make you feel so included & are very friendly. The food in the club house is yummy & excellent value.

There's no play park & nothing for the children apart from swimming pool & in the club house they have board games for them & as the previous review had wrote they are spot on, ie swimming pool times & the grumpy old bloke in the reception.

The Ringlestone inn is a good 10 minutes walk from the site, turn right out of site then at the T junction turn left (grumps told us to turn right at the T junction) the pub is expensive for food & the only real ale they had was Spitfire on pump.

We would go back only for a 1 or 2 nights because its close to us & the residents, Jim & Debbie make you feel very welcomed. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scoobysi 2 reviews from this member

 We and 2 other families visited this site over the Bank Holiday weekend. First impressions were good, nice reception area (gated entrance, secure after 10pm, password provided), surrounded by modern Holiday bungalores and lodges. We were escorted to our pitches (with EHU's). Nice secluded pitches, plenty of room for family tents, with trees on both sides. Now for the not so good news, the pitches itself had no grass, just weed, thistles, nettles and bare earth. This turned into a very muddy area after 2 significant rainfalls.

The pitches opposite the clubhouse, indoor swimming/ shower and toilet block were much better for tents (No EHU’s). The clubhouse was great (very affordable), showers and swimming pool very clean. 20 minute walk outside the complex will take you to the “Ringlestone Inn”, great food (albeit a bit expensive), homemade wines and real ale, families made welcome. All in all a good stay, but they must consider grassing the EHU area 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheThrashers 7 reviews from this member

 We booked this site for a six night stay as all the details indicated that it would be ideal for us. We was not able to find any other details from the internet apart from the details on ukcampsites.Co.Uk so we took a chance. Well it turns out that the old site(Hogburn)as it was called then had had some very bad feed back due to the then owners.The site has now been taken over by new management(Nov 2009) and from our experience it was worth the visit. The new owners have spent a lot of time and money making the site camper friendly and are doing a good job, a few more things to get sorted and it will be worth a 10/10.

The site is 5 mile off the M20 Junction 8 near Leeds castle, you drive up a narrow lane into a wooded area to the site. The welcome was warm and and friendly.The site has some static vans and bungalows on it (not for rent),an indoor swimming pool and Gym next door to a bar and cafe with TV and pool table, the club is well run and serves light snacks and meals and has some entertainment on the weekends. The changing rooms for the pool are also the washrooms for the campers and are clean and tidy with hot showers.

There seemed to be two camping area's, one being on the main green next to the club and swimming pool that does not have EHU,but does have the only waste water point.The second area is down the hill behind the static vans and trees, these pitches have EHU but you need to walk further to the washrooms and club (take your bucket you will need it). The pitches could do with a little more work some are stoney and lack grass(muddy under foot and hard to keep out of the tent)all the pitches have new EHU points and a new fence around the rear between the pitches and a wood.A fresh water point and rubbish bin are provided down near these pitches.

The site has some wonderful walks through the woods and the site is clean and tidy I would rate it a bit higher had it had washrooms and waste water point in the lower site and had the pitch had less stones and more grass.I am sure these things will come in time as I said the new owners have only been on site since Nov and it looks as if they have done quite a bit so far. Most of the static vans and bungalows are lived in or used for most of the year,the people we met in the club and pool made us feel welcome. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GeriB 2 reviews from this member

 We have never received such a warm welcome upon arrival on a campsite before! When the member of staff came over to speak to us, I thought we must have parked in the wrong place or something, but he came to personally welcome us, and to show us what the site had to offer by way of a tour of the pool, bar and lounge etc.

As we were the only tent on the site (it is predominantly mobile homes and retirement chalets) the toilets we spotlessly clean at all times and were well stocked with toilet paper, although sadly no soap. The showers were hot.And free!

The indoor pool was clean, warm and we mostly had it to ourselves.

We didn't see a shop on site, but the bar served reasonably priced, and very nice food. There was a good supply of leaflets about things to do in the area which we found very helpful. On the first night we arrived, there was a 'Wii bowling night' which they asked us to join in with. On the second night we were informed there would be a horse racing night, we didn't go, but the lounge looked full so it was obviously popular.

There weren't any playground facilities, however as a couple this wasn't a problem for us. There is the pool the little ones would enjoy although it isn't guarded. There is also plenty of space to play, and the rabbits in the evening may entertain them, they certainly entertained me!

The surrounding area is what would be described as rural.Trees and grass. We did pass a pub on the way to the site, but I couldn't tell you how far down the lanes it was. Take provisions and you'll be fine!

If you like peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings and have sat nav, or a map it is well worth finding this site, as it was very well maintained and the staff were really friendly, but not in an over bearing way. The price was very reasonable too.

Don't be put off by the website which doesn't seem to even mention camping facilities, apparently this in it's very early stages and will be updated soon! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pilgrims Retreat ( Was Hogbarn ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Pilgrims Retreat ( Was Hogbarn ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Is Pilgrims Retreat ( Was Hogbarn ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maidstone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2224 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement