Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ty Mawr Tents And Tourers Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan > Ty Mawr Tents And Tourers Campsite Reviews

Ty Mawr Tents And Tourers Campsite
Ferwig
Cardigan
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SA43 1PZ
Tel: 01239 623613
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 8 Reviews
                10/10 from 8 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RDL 2100 1 review from this member

One of the nicest sites my husband and I have stayed on! Plenty of space between pitches, unlike most other sites these days. Clean, modern facilities & very well kept. Friendly owners. Views at Mwnt were breath taking, even saw a pod of dolphins. Cardigan town is just a short drive away with some little quaint shops, along with Aldi & Tesco too. We will definitely be returning later on in the year.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jol Tudor 1 review from this member

Lovely clean facilities best I have seen. Very friendly and greeted with a warm welcome. Lovely place to go to unwind. Highly recommended. This was our first time in our tourer and being made so welcome really did help. Great large field dog friendly and children were happy here. Beaches near by are beautiful and we spotted dolphins at mwnt.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jackiebrakespear 1 review from this member

We arrived at site and were warmly welcomed. Site was well laid out and facilities were excellent. Lovely views and lambs in the next field plenty of room and very quiet just what we needed to relax. Mary came over to say goodbye before we left and we shall definitely go back

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fens2 1 review from this member

Arrived at site weary and met by Mary, and realised that we needed cash to make payment. Although we were staying just 2 nights Mary kindly suggested we settle up the next day.

The site is just one field, pristinely manicured with flat some pitches and overall gently sloping. It also has 3 hard standing pitches. The bathroom facilities are as clean and new as you would expect from a new hotel! 1 for 5 minute showers was fine as managed to do both my children in the one hit! 21 for ehu was good value.

It's very peaceful and full of birds singing cows mooing in the distance and sheep, views are rolling hills, very nice.

It's about a 10 minute drive into town with an aldi and Tesco and lots of independents to explore. We really enjoyed our stay. Our children even played a little with their children but there were no facilities as such for kids but there was plenty of room to kick a ball and thrown a frisbee. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Solar1952 2 reviews from this member

This was only our second outing and thus still newbies. After a long and tiring journey from Essex we arrived and found that we had the site to ourselves. Perfectly manicured, tidy, breathtaking views, peace and tranquillity beyond measure. Whilst I set about levelling Donna went off to book in. The site is very gently sloping on some of the pitches and level on others. With the whole site to choose from I picked a spot that needed a levelling ramp. I know exactly where they are, in the conservatory at home. Donna had returned from the farmhouse after a guided tour of the renovations by Mary, the owner, to find me struggling to level with a few bits of decking I had in the car. She took herself back to the farmhouse and seconds later Rhodri, the other half of the team was seen hurrying round the barns to return a few moments later with an armful of beautiful offcuts from his timber framing business. The platform I built was probably the best I will ever make having such perfect materials to hand. I offered to pay but was told to keep them and that they were free.

We were blown away by such kindness but that was just a taste.

With the van beautifully stable and level I went off to explore. The washroom. Showers and toilets have had just one season's use but they could have been brand new and us the first to use them. The showers are 1 for 5 minutes which we thought was a small price to pay for using such immaculate facilities. Sleep comes easy after a long journey and we were sung a lullaby by the skeins of geese flying overhead to their night's roost. The next morning they said ' Bore Da' as they flew overhead ready for a day's feeding. The sun shone for most of the week and each day started with a walk up the lane towards the cliffs with our two terriers.

The traffic we met during that week amounted to 1 car, one lady on a bicycle and a rider and pony.

The site comprises one large field of closely mown grass and on the far side a freshwater tap, grey water and cassette emptying points, all neatly segregated from each other.

The NT beach at Mwnt is maybe one mile away through the lanes or by foot along the coastal path. A mile or two back down the lanes is Cardigan. A large Tesco, Aldi and Coop plus a lovely town centre with a host of independent shops. Cross the River Teifi and turn right towards St. Dogmaels and Poppitt Sands. Locally grown food in the weekly produce market, Foxhill's strawberry jam is the best I have ever tasted but then the bread baked from the local flour, ground in the village water mill or the cows cheese or perhaps the goats cheese and squash pasties would tempt you. Space does not permit a full description of the mouth watering delights to be found at this market, you will need to try it yourselves to understand.

After St. Dogmaels carry on to Poppitt. A large expanse of golden sand, backed by dunes and looking out to sea towards Cardigan Island. No time this trip for the dolphin and whale spotting boat ride but next time we shall see. All in all we had a glorious week, our hosts at Ty Mawr, Ferwig were kind and helpful and genuinely friendly and that seemed to apply to everyone we met. I've heard it said in some holiday locations in the UK that 'Tis good enough for visitors', we never felt that during our trip to West Wales. People stopped to talk, made a fuss of the dogs, and helped us in so many ways. A trip to the post office in St. Dogmaels to buy cards and stamps resulted in an impromptu Welsh lesson.

We can't wait to go back but this time we will be storing the caravan down there, booked and paid for already. We fell in love with Wales, the people and the food. Crossing the bridge back into England actually hurt. UKCampsite.co.uk suggests constructive criticism, our one complaint, we didn't go for much longer!

Eleven out of ten.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CamperJohnnyL 1 review from this member

We stayed with our dog, Mick, for 3 nights on this immaculately kept, newly established, friendly site which is within easy walking distance. About 10-15mins. Of the cliff top path and the beautiful NT beach at Mwnt.

Mary and Rhodri Lewis have made a fine job of setting the site up, which opened this Spring, and made us most welcome. We found the facilities spotless.

We awoke to the sound of Skylarks every morning in this peaceful setting looking to the Preseli Mountains, enjoyed the local walks and found some good pubs and the charming towns of Cardigan and St Dogmaels within a short driving distance. Recommended.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Claire Thomas 1 review from this member

I was extremely impressed with the welcome we had on our little family holiday at this campsite. The facilities were amazingly clean and of high spec. The views from our pitch were the best we've ever had and there was plenty of things to do with the local town of Cardigan 5 minutes away and the beach was within walking distance. Would definitely go there again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lak13 1 review from this member

Just back from a lovely long weekend staying at this peaceful campsite! Can't recommend it enough, the facilities were lovely and modern! Everywhere was so clean! Owners couldn't do enough to help and just generally a lovely place! Perfect surroundings too- walking distance to beach, coastal path, lovely little town nearby! Couldn't of asked for more and we look forward to visiting again! Thank you :)


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Cardigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5266 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019