Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Ty Mawr Tents And Tourers Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan > Ty Mawr Tents And Tourers Campsite Reviews

Ty Mawr Tents And Tourers Campsite
Ferwig
Cardigan
Ceredigion   (Browse area)
SA43 1PZ
Tel: 01239 621277
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 26/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           26/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robert 2 reviews from this member

 Faultless from first contact to the last minute there. Beautiful location, calm and peaceful, spotless facilities, large pitches.

We’ll be back.

As is made clear, there are no nearby shops, pubs or restaurants but the cafe at Mwnt is 2 miles, as are the Gwbert Hotel and Cliff Hotel in Gwbert.

Cardigan is 3 miles away and has a huge choice of places to eat and drink as well as supermarkets and small, independent providers. Plan well, you won’t starve 😀

I must add, the owners have made this the safest, most covid-aware site we’ve visited. With reduced capacity and an excellent system for booking showers, it felt pretty risk free. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kampervankeeny 5 reviews from this member

 Immaculate field, excellent clean facilities, and very peaceful. The odd system of having to book showers didn't affect us, mainly because we didn't want to pay £1 anyway.

We chose this site because in its detail and description, it said it had glorious views, was within 1 mile of the beach, and walking distance to Mwnt Beach. Indeed the photos even led me to believe we would have some sea views being so close to the coast.

Our enthusiasm was tested as we left the suburbs of Cardigan where other sites were signed except Ty Mawr. So I had to rely on a post code entry in my satnav, and the route to Ferwig was all on single track road, and no way would you pass if you met a caravan coming the other way. There were no signs to Ty Mawr until you reached the site entrance.

Then on entering the site field, there were no sea views, and no way was any beach within one mile. The views from the site was the surrounding sheep fields near the local farms, and I wouldn't describe them as glorious - pleasant maybe but not glorious.

No way could you walk to Mwnt - it was another narrow drive - some ten minutes away, not the walking distance as in the site description, and it required payment for parking, and then we found that dogs were not permitted on the beach from May to end of September.

So very quickly we found Ty Mawr was not what it was cracked up to be.

If the owners provided signage to the site and were more truthful in their description it may have been more acceptable, but although immaculately clean and tidy, it just doesn't have enough extras to lure me back 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Plug hole 1 review from this member

 Absolutely loved our week stunning views the owners are a lovely couple

We would of stayed longer

Booked up for next year

The facilities were very clean everyone doing there thing

Camp site very clean

Sea views great walks if you want or just pop to the beach short walk away, take a chair and sit and watch the sun set and if your lucky see the seals and dolphins 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Emst78 9 reviews from this member

 Very clean site only 5 pitches used at the most which was a good thing as one of the showers was broken so this only left one working one.

We were not informed until arriving that there was an additional fee to pay for the showers £1 for 10 minutes (had to leave and go get change) and that you also have to book your showering slot (30 mins slots) we had to book 2 each time as you could not all shower in 30 mins.

This is not really possible as to knowing what time you would be back to be able to shower and the office closed at 8pm so if like us you arrived back late and missed your slot you were not allowed to shower without booking and we could not re book as office closed for the evening. I think this is unreasonable of them to expect of campers especially when only one showered actually worked.

The site is a good mile and a half away from the beach with a steep descent to it. Driving is recommended about 5 mins to Mwnt beach which is lovely also Aberporth and Poppit Sands all of which we found for ourselves we were not advised on anything to do in the area. It really was arrive pay and left to it.

The closest pub is cardigan 3. 5 miles away hilly and not safe to walk. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Btc1h4 1 review from this member

 A beautiful site only 5 or 6 pitches used very quiet.

Facilities were the best I have experienced they were spotless and all other campers kept to the rules too.

My only gripe was having to book a shower in advance. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: ChrisnPaul 2 reviews from this member

 Fabulously quiet site and well situated for travelling around the area.

Good access to the most amazing beaches by car.

The toilet block is spotlessly clean and cleaned on a regular basis. My only niggle as was the same for fellow campers was, you have to book your shower slot and therefore have to know when you might like a shower! If your out all day you really don’t want think you have to rush back to get your shower slot!

It made the stay a little stressed and we were unaware when other campers were having a shower and if we were able to use the toilets or wash up facilities!

My wife walked in the block to wash up to the horror of a man who was near naked getting dressed having had a shower! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wull19 1 review from this member

 A bit much to pay for showers and camping fee (?) after also paying £25 per night. That should surely have included showers, and the booking system for showers was ridiculous.

I think they are trying toooooo hard. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Willjs 1 review from this member

 Lovely small & peaceful, away from it all site, with excellent facilities.

Safe & thorough covid cleaning protocol in place.

Thank you, we will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gilder 1 review from this member

 Super clean facilities

Peaceful location

Staff unobtrusive

Very well kept field

Convenient for access to Cardigan walks to Mwnt

Cycle to Tresaith and Penbryn 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: SanJ61 2 reviews from this member

 Ideal location for coastal and country walks. Great place if you want nothing more than peace and quiet.

All facilities cleaned after each use which gave me peace of mind in this current situation.

The only thing missing was an on-site shop for essentials as there were no local shops close by, the nearest that I was aware of are in Cardigan which is about a 10 minute drive away.

I can’t really comment on it being child friendly as I traveled on my own but there is certainly enough space for kids to run around and have fun. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ty Mawr Tents And Tourers Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ty Mawr Tents And Tourers Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ty Mawr Tents And Tourers Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cardigan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ceredigion

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3235 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder