Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Grantchester Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Grantchester Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Grantchester Caravan And Camping Site
Stripe Lane
Skelton
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO30 1YJ
Tel: 07826 365837
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 32 Reviews
                10/10 from 32 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Merv44 1 review from this member

 I made a mistake when arriving at the site - I had been looking for a road side sign pointing the way ; there was none so I ended up taking a wrong turn.

We were met by a very charming lady - the owner Lisa. Welcome over we were left to hook up and check out the site.

All pitches ; 22 in total I think, were on level ground and the toilet/ shower block was spotless.

Bus stop just across the road was very handy indeed and we used bus regularly - £8 return for two into york. We got off, by chance, just below the tourist info site - useful indeed.

At the bus stop the fixed timetable is on the wrong side of the road and refers to buses going in the opposite direction ! Also it’s 4 Mile to York and not one and a half as the sign beside the bus stop states !

Spoke to Lisa several times on site : she really seems to run this herself ; a big hearty “Well done you and thank you for your smiles and chat “ we used the convenience store nearby to get the Sunday papers - handy indeed.

No grey water disposal for motorhomes - you can of course fill some buckets - we didn’t bother - done that at the next site we went to. Defo place to come back to. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dinsyd 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site just on the outskirts of york.

Easy access to York by car, or a lovely walk into the centre of York from the site following the River Ouse, about 4 miles of flat easy going walking, riverbank or cycle track. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Lynne.morris7 3 reviews from this member

 A little gem of a site. Spotless toilet/shower block. Site itself is very well kept and lovely size pitches.

Owner Lisa is a lovely lady and very helpful.

Bus stop on A19 directly opposite site and was only £2. 40 each way to York Centre or park and ride close by.

Will definitely visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Billmyl 1 review from this member

 Superb site, well maintained by the owner Lisa.

Very helpful and all facilities very clean especially the showers and toilet block. We will definitely be returning.

The bus into York very close to the site and there is a post office/shop in the village.

Thanks to Lisa for making our stay very comfortable.

Bill and Vicky Myles 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tracey78 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site

Not huge but still they give you plenty of space

Grass / gravel serviced pitches

Pristine showers and toilets and the owners are very friendly and approachable.

Last of all not expensive at all 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Annehe 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely, well kept site.

Toilet/shower facilities are good and very clean.

Nice walk into York on the cycle path, good location, not too far from a large supermarket.

Friendly family that run the site.

Nothing negative to say.

We had a wonderful time here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jelray 3 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, very clean & tidy, with a well equipped toilet/shower block.

Owner (Lisa) very friendly/helpful. We were cycle-camping & she made sure we knew where to lock our bikes up, for extra security.

A little road noise early evening, but we weren’t disturbed later.

Picnic table available which was useful. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bish26 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site, small ish but large pegs, very clean,

Good toilet block, and Lisa (owner) could not of been more helpful from start to finish, even leant me a hook up cable for my cool box.

Thanks for a great stay.

Martin 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mckechnie 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely small site, owner kept us informed of changing covid rules and what was or wasn't open, so had to move dates a couple of times, which were no bother to her,

Unisex toilets allowing only I person or family in at a time, don't know how well this works if the campsite is full it was only half full when we went,

Pub opposite closed at the time but would be good if reopened,

We have a canvas top to the caravan so had to lower the roof to stop road and train noise at night,

A good site to walk along river into york about 4 miles or park and ride 2 mins away, lots of local attractions and villages to see,

Nothing on for children so a relaxing site,

If in the area again will definitely stay again at £20 a night and great customer service 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 1jack4 1 review from this member

 Nice pleasant site just off the A19. We walked into York by the river and got the bus back. There was a bus every 30mins.

The site and toilet block are well kept and clean.

We had an ideal weekend break and will be back again. 
via mobile


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Grantchester Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Grantchester Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Grantchester Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3207 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement