Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Grantchester Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Grantchester Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Grantchester Caravan And Camping Site
Stripe Lane
Skelton
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO30 1YJ
Tel: 07472 694380  or  07863 694380
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Vampavan 1 review from this member

3 vans stayed here 23rd october 2019. This site has recently got new owners and they have done a very good job to make this small friendly site very useable, stayed here recently and was really pleased with the site, it has got 20 pitches that are hardstanding with electric.

Its got a grey waste and an elson point, the toilets and shower block is communal and is spotlessly clean. 18. 50 with electric at time of feedback.

We would like to thank lisa for her help a wonderful lady and will be returning again.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Frenchcamper 2 reviews from this member

This site has the potential to be a good site. When we stay on a site all we want is a decent pitch, and decent showers with hot water.

When we arrived at this site the owners were just cutting the grass, but because it was long there was grass cuttings everywhere.

In 3 days while we were there the toilet block wasn't cleaned. The floor covering has ingrained dirt which needs washing with a strong cleaner. To use the shower I had wipe out the tray and floor with paper towels before it was usable. Window sills and frames were covered in dead bugs and have not been cleaned for months. Sorry, but I cannot recommend this site as it is today.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Theresa C 7 reviews from this member

We were in 2 units (a tent with 2 adults and one child) and a motorhome with 2 adults).

The owners (Jacqui) / staff could not have been more helpful from first booking until the day we left.

The site itself was close to York, off a busy road, but far enough down the road so that the noise was not too much of a problem (although you could hear it). The site is very reasonably priced.

The toilets / showers are unisex with 2 showers (which could be busy in the mornings, but manageable). The facilities were fantastically clean which to me is the main thing you can have on a site for tents (and even for caravans / motor homes which use the facilities)

The pitches were big and you felt like you had room to move. The site is a great size if like us you prefer a slightly quieter less hemmed in site.

Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rob/Tra 2 reviews from this member

Me and the mrs here for 3 nights in July, what a lovely little site. Pitches plenty big enough. Toilet and showers were clean in fact the whole site was very well kept. Only one toilet and shower block( unisex) but it was never crowded. I will be returning.

Rob

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Axchal 10 reviews from this member

A very pleasant site, well maintained, all necessary facilities, excellent toilet block AND FREE WIFI. Just off A19 and close to amenities. Very good pitches which are well spaced out in irregular configuration. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peter howard 11 reviews from this member

Lovely site and what an excellent host Jacqui is. We've stayed here before

And really enjoyed it but now with the new plots installed its even better. Once everything has settled down this will be one of the best sites to visit in York. There is a great walk from the site along the river into the town center which takes about 1 hour then you easily catch

The bus back which drops you 100 meters from the campsite. Toilet block

Was always nice and clean and we have no problems with it being unisex.

A decent pub over the road if you just fancy a pint and at 3. 65 for a pint of bitter and a pint of lager can you go wrong??Book a visit to stay

With Jacqui and I promise you'll return.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janetreid 15 reviews from this member

A lovely little site on the A19 just north of the Rawcliffe park and ride for York. 6 hardstandings and lots of grass. 12 pitches all told with ehu situated in a lovely orchard of apple trees. Unisex toilet block with 2 showers, 3 toilets, urinal an 4 whb. I would have liked a privacy cubicle as it was unisex but didn't encounter any problems and they were spotless. When we arrived there had been heavy rain so the grass was understandably a little boggy so you would need wellies for the toilets and the waste disposal which was in the far corner. Excellent long hose to fill up with water but no motorhome water disposal drain. Lots of bird life and almost on the cycle route into York.

The bus stop is at the end of the lane with frequent services to York or a 20 min walk to the P&R (although this is more expensive than the service bus!)

Skelton Village across the main road has a pub that does meals and there is a shop/post office in the village for essentials that gets a travelling chip van 1 evening a week. There is also a pub/ restaurant further down the road.

This is an ideal spot if you want to explore York and we will certainly use it again!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wildewarrens 3 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site for 3 nights, we were met by the owner who was lovely and friendly she showed us to our pitch which was nice and flat, the toilet block is as everyone says immaculate although it being a unisex building was a little strange but it didn't bother us. The only problem we had was we needed somewhere to freeze our cooler blocks to keep our milk fresh! And there wasn't anywhere to do this (i would normally check first but I'd left this site booking to my husband!) we did try finding the owner to see if she could help us but we didn't see her again. Thankfully a kind couple in a motorhome offered to freeze them for us.

I also found the noise from the main road a little to loud for my liking

York is fabulous we used the rawcliffe park and ride which was a 5 minute drive from site

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracey78 1 review from this member

Where do I start this site is a little gem, its a new site showers and toilet block spotless 'when camping in my view is the most important'. When we first arrived the owner (Jackie) came over introduced herself very friendly lady made us feel like we'd known her for ages. The site itself is nice and flat some hard standing some with electric we just had a tent we didn't need electric I highly recommend this site will definitely be back very soon

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JGash 1 review from this member

We have just returned home from this site and we have had a lovely time. The site was perfect for us, it is very personal and not to big. The facilities are very clean and most importantly the showers are clean and the water is hot. The location is perfect if your a walker or cyclist. The cycle network path into York is on the doorstep and it a gentle four miles next to the river. York is magnificent. There's pubs on the doorstep and a bus if you fancy a trip

Into York. There's an option of hard standing or grass pitch depending on your requirements. The owners were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful

We will definitely be back. Thank you.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


13058 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!