Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Mile Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > York > The Mile Campsite Reviews

The Mile Campsite
The Mile
Pocklington
York
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO42 1TW
Tel: 01759 305420  or  07970 663975
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

Photos (19)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Currie.a 2 reviews from this member

 Returned today from a very relaxing break at the The Mile Campsite. Was very glad to have extended our original 1 week booking for a futher 6 nights (would have stayed longer but needed to be home for son's GCSE results).

This is a fantastic CL with everything you could possible need on site (superb farm shop with excellent quality produce for sale) and a lovely walk into the local town (outdoor market on Tuesdays) with access to a wide range of great shops as well as larger supermarkets and of course the stunning Burnby Hall Gardens.

Collin and his wife, as well as all other staff, are extremely helpful, welcoming and clearly know what they are doing. They will go out of their way to help you should you need anything.

This campsite has everything: excellent waste disposal, an abundance of fresh water taps all around the site and a super shop with its own café as well as a lovely view of the Wolds in the distance. Post pandemic, visitors will also benefit from a great play area for children and what look to be excellent on site washroom/wash-up facilities.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Mile Campsite! 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dennis 1 review from this member

 A very pleasant and friendly site with a very good farm shop and cafe and in very easy reach of Pocklington town centre.

Also, a very good area for cycling. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Magsie 49 reviews from this member

 Pleased to find that the Mile Camping had re-opened after the lockdown, we returned there as we have found it an ideal base for cycling in the Yorkshire Wolds area. The site is run by the family at the Mile Farm Shop, which was open along with take-aways at the café.

Normally, the facilities (included in the camping price) constitute a row of modern washrooms with toilets and hot showers, as well as two outdoor washing up sinks with hot water. (There is no laundry). At present these are all closed ‘due to Covid’. Fair enough – but it is hardly fair to charge the same rate, making it £22 per night to park in a field with just a hook-up, a tap and a dump-point, like the most basic CS with ‘own san required’. In fact, it is not like a CS (although it is listed as such on the C&C Club website), since there are 15 hard-standing pitches and an equal number on grass, spread over two fields. No membership requirement (and no discount for C&CC Members).

There was no price reduction despite the owners saving on their own costs for hot water, cleaning, loo paper, soap, etc. They had not even provided a hand gel dispenser at the chemical disposal point. Instead, each camper was supplied with a printed instruction on arrival: ‘Please use your own gloves and sanitiser when using the water points, bins and CDP’, absolving the management from all responsibility for hygiene.

Given the overpriced cost of camping here without facilities (and no mention of a VAT reduction), plus the very unsympathetic attitude of the owners when we raised the matter, we left early and will not be back. Other sites we used on the same tour (for example at Pickering and Wombleton) kept their facilities open, deep-cleaning two or three times a day and providing plenty of hygiene products without increasing their normal charges. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hotel Harry 1 review from this member

 The location is excellent, just 10 minutes brisk walk into Pocklington although you'll need a torch on winter evenings as there is very little light towards the site.

Plenty of space, electric on pitch, ok waste and water facilities. Ona open field area so can we windy if the weather isn't playing ball.

Our main gripe was the facilities. Four (one always locked) wet rooms with toilet, basin and shower which simply were not cleaned all the time we were there. The same stones, the same soaked toilet paper and the same mud (hope it was mud) stayed in place the whole time and frankly it was grotty.

Also not a fan of poorly lit outdoor washing up facilities, especially in the wind.

Low price but we definitely won't return! 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cookiekid 45 reviews from this member

 Just returned from another lovely weekend at the mile campsite.

Lovely welcome as usual from Colin the owner.

Facilities warm & clean with plenty of hot water.

The little town if pocklington seems to get better the more we visit. A few more shops have opened as well as a couple more bars.

We didn't use the shop/ cafe on site this time but we were given a 20%voucher to use in the cafe; which is excellent.

Keep up the good work, we'l be back next year. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Leshick 4 reviews from this member

 What a lovely time we spent at the mile campsite. Everything was spot on.

Great facilities.

Will definitely visit again.

Had a short walk into Pocklington. Grandson didn't want to leave.

Above all nice and quiet. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Janet1 7 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were asked if we’d booked, & we were directed to a pitch, although we were given a choice.

It’s quite a small site, & we found the pitches to be close together, however we did go on a Saturday night.

The site is surrounded by a paddock with a rural feel to it, but the village is in walking distance with an Aldi & Sainsbury’s.

The facilities are immaculate & plentiful. Each toilet is a wet room. The pot washing station is clean with 2 basins. We were asked the following morning (I believe by the owner) if we’d experienced any noise the previous evening.

They are obviously keen in taking an interest in the site & ensuring the campers are happy. There is also a basic outdoor playground & a small soft play area in the shop.

We paid £17 without EHU, & would happily visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: EstherP 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night as part of a cycle tour around Yorkshire with our tandem, trailer and tent.

Locations is OK and convenient for facilities in Pocklington. Shop and cafe on site looked good but we didn't use.

Facilities - outside washing up was sort of undercover and worked fine. Toilets and showers are all wet rooms which were pretty clean and warm but I wasn't keen on the lack of ventilation as the doors shut themselves and there were no windows etc.

Pitches all looked flat. Quiet at night when we were there.

Chap who welcomed us recommended JJs in town for food and this was really good - really nice vibe and very tasty food - highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aidanz 1 review from this member

 Loved every thing about it. The breakfast in the cafe was lovely as was all the people that worked in it and on site. Very friendly. Within easy reach of lots of places, including the Yorkshire Air Museum, which was great. Good pitch sizes, we have a folding camper and lots of room.

The town is lovely with a market on Tuesday when we got there. The surrounding countryside is amazing.

The only thing I could say was wrong is it could do with a few toilets only as it's hard bursting for the loo when someone is having a shower

Will definitely go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jaxandtony 1 review from this member

 Fantastic dog friendly site. Great wet rooms.

The site was full but always plenty of hot water. We did have to wait for a wet room to be available, maybe a couple of extra toilets needed?

Did not put us off though so much so we booked to go again before we left. 
via mobile


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Mile Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Mile Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Mile Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4404 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement