Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Mile Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > York > The Mile Campsite Reviews

The Mile Campsite
The Mile
Pocklington
York
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO42 1TW
Tel: 01759 305420  or  07970 663975
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

Photos (23)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Philip Howarth 10 reviews from this member

 We have recently returned from a stay on this site. A friendly informative welcome, good level well drained pitches with water points & 16 Amp power points nearby.

A quiet site with good shower facilities and Wi-Fi, the Farm shop & cafe are excellent- can recommend the breakfast.

A short walk into Pocklington, also handy for York (via the Park & Ride), the Elvington Air Museum, the Wolds and the coastal towns of Whitby and Bridlington.

The owners can give solid recommendations of places to eat nearby.

Can only recommend and we will be returning in the New Year 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Janet# WYorks 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely flat clean site with several hard standings. Toilet/shower rooms always very clean and tidy and available even when the site was full over the weekend.

Only downside was that the lights inside appear not to work, but later found you have to get right inside before they come on automatically! Obvious when you know. Site was quiet even though busy. Free WiFi on site if needed.

Good Farmshop and cafe on site and staff extremely friendly and helpful. We ran out of milk and had forgotten to buy some so went down to the shop even though it had closed half an hour earlier to see whether we could get some. They’d sold out but gave us a small jug full from their own supply so we could have a cuppa!

Children’s play area at entrance, nicely fenced off so safe for little ones (our 3 year old granddaughter loved it) and can have a Brymor ice cream too. What more can we ask.

Pocklington is 5 minute drive away and lots of cafes, restaurants and shops and a good market on Tuesday. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cookiekid 52 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed another few days at this lovely site.

Its so convenient for walking into Pocklington with its array of pubs, cafes, independent shops, takeaways & supermarkets.

An additional toilet block has been added since our last visit.

We look forward to visiting again soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bluesvan 2 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant and quiet campsite, clean and well serviced, big pitches and not full at the beginning of this week.

The owner went more than the extra mile to help us after a very sudden and intense hail storm accompanied by gusts of wind wrecked our canopy awning not long after our arrival!

He had tools on hand to saw up the broken components into manageable chunks, safely removed the canopy housing on top of the van so that we would have a safe onward journey and gave us very clear directions to the nearest recycling centre so that we could dispose of the wreckage.

We are totally indebted to the owners. They didn't hesitate to assist us and were completely understanding of our predicament.

This was a short trip made even briefer by sorting out after the weather event, but we want to return, maybe with a car as well because the site is well placed for further exploration of the Wolds and more and the owners were very welcoming. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Steve rochford 1 review from this member

 The camp site is peaceful and quiet and exceptionally clean and tidy. The shower and toilet blocks were spotless and the farm shop is also outstanding.

I cannot thank Steve enough who was looking after the site whilst the owners were away, he was constantly ensuring the site was cleaned, and ensured our stay was an enjoyable one.

I have to say that Steve went the extra MILE to ensure our stay was to the highest standard.

Would definitely stay here again 10/10. Children loved the horses and the play area 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Karlmonty 1 review from this member

 Lovely little site, flat, toilets and showers excellent. Colin and staff very friendly and helpful.

Site shop does breakfasts and stocks local produce although a little pricey but lovely sitting outside by the play area eating.

Pocklington is a lovely village with everything you need and is thriving.

Pity the play area is at the front of the site rather than in view of the caravans but an understand why when I seen the layout.

Would visit again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Currie.a 2 reviews from this member

 Returned today from a very relaxing break at the The Mile Campsite. Was very glad to have extended our original 1 week booking for a futher 6 nights (would have stayed longer but needed to be home for son's GCSE results).

This is a fantastic CL with everything you could possible need on site (superb farm shop with excellent quality produce for sale) and a lovely walk into the local town (outdoor market on Tuesdays) with access to a wide range of great shops as well as larger supermarkets and of course the stunning Burnby Hall Gardens.

Collin and his wife, as well as all other staff, are extremely helpful, welcoming and clearly know what they are doing. They will go out of their way to help you should you need anything.

This campsite has everything: excellent waste disposal, an abundance of fresh water taps all around the site and a super shop with its own café as well as a lovely view of the Wolds in the distance. Post pandemic, visitors will also benefit from a great play area for children and what look to be excellent on site washroom/wash-up facilities.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Mile Campsite! 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dennis 1 review from this member

 A very pleasant and friendly site with a very good farm shop and cafe and in very easy reach of Pocklington town centre.

Also, a very good area for cycling. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Magsie 51 reviews from this member

 Pleased to find that the Mile Camping had re-opened after the lockdown, we returned there as we have found it an ideal base for cycling in the Yorkshire Wolds area. The site is run by the family at the Mile Farm Shop, which was open along with take-aways at the café.

Normally, the facilities (included in the camping price) constitute a row of modern washrooms with toilets and hot showers, as well as two outdoor washing up sinks with hot water. (There is no laundry). At present these are all closed ‘due to Covid’. Fair enough – but it is hardly fair to charge the same rate, making it £22 per night to park in a field with just a hook-up, a tap and a dump-point, like the most basic CS with ‘own san required’. In fact, it is not like a CS (although it is listed as such on the C&C Club website), since there are 15 hard-standing pitches and an equal number on grass, spread over two fields. No membership requirement (and no discount for C&CC Members).

There was no price reduction despite the owners saving on their own costs for hot water, cleaning, loo paper, soap, etc. They had not even provided a hand gel dispenser at the chemical disposal point. Instead, each camper was supplied with a printed instruction on arrival: ‘Please use your own gloves and sanitiser when using the water points, bins and CDP’, absolving the management from all responsibility for hygiene.

Given the overpriced cost of camping here without facilities (and no mention of a VAT reduction), plus the very unsympathetic attitude of the owners when we raised the matter, we left early and will not be back. Other sites we used on the same tour (for example at Pickering and Wombleton) kept their facilities open, deep-cleaning two or three times a day and providing plenty of hygiene products without increasing their normal charges. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Hotel Harry 1 review from this member

 The location is excellent, just 10 minutes brisk walk into Pocklington although you'll need a torch on winter evenings as there is very little light towards the site.

Plenty of space, electric on pitch, ok waste and water facilities. Ona open field area so can we windy if the weather isn't playing ball.

Our main gripe was the facilities. Four (one always locked) wet rooms with toilet, basin and shower which simply were not cleaned all the time we were there. The same stones, the same soaked toilet paper and the same mud (hope it was mud) stayed in place the whole time and frankly it was grotty.

Also not a fan of poorly lit outdoor washing up facilities, especially in the wind.

Low price but we definitely won't return! 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Mile Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Mile Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Mile Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3882 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement