Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tai Hirion Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Pentraeth > Tai Hirion Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Tai Hirion Caravan And Camping Site
Pentraeth
Pentraeth
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL75 8YY
Tel: 07884 088433
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 14/3

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 24 Reviews
                10/10 from 24 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gaynor Woolley 1 review from this member

Spotless everywhere. Loads of space for the van and very flat. Warm welcome from the owner. Excellent value.

When it stopped raining the views were spectacular.

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Shytot4x4 2 reviews from this member

A very quiet and peaceful rural site adjoining a working dairy farm. The spacious hard standing touring pitches have their own 16 amp EHU, TV aerial point (bring a very long length of coax), water supply and grey water drain (bring a drain hose extension). The Elsan disposal point is in the bin area next to the shower block. The 'hard standing' is actually made of Welsh slate chippings which will inevitably find their way into your caravan, especially if it's wet. (Your vacuum cleaner won't like it. )

The site has a spotlessly clean modern shower & toilet block with lots of hot water. The block also has a separate disabled WC and a small coin operated laundry as well as the site office. There is also an unmanned 'Honesty Shop' where you can buy some (very) basic provisions and some of the farm produce. You take the stuff and put the money in the tin provided.

Don't expect to be mollycoddled here, Alun is always on the other end of the phone but he is often busy on the farm and may not be in the office when you arrive but his contact number is clearly displayed in the office window and a quick call is all it takes to find out where to pitch up.

The site is only about 5 miles from the Queen Elizabeth Bridge on the A55 but it feels like it's in the middle of nowhere (in a nice, quiet sort of way). And that brings a word of warning. DON'T follow your satnav once off the A55 as it may take you down some VERY narrow single track roads. Follow the directions on the Tai Hirion website which take you down some moderately narrow single track roads.

So, Tai Hirion is a very well priced spacious touring site with very clean facilities suited to those of us who don't want the hustle & bustle of a holiday camp type site. Would we go again? Yes (if we wanted to visit Anglesey again, that is).

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Derek+Kath 6 reviews from this member

Great rural family owned site, huge pitches which are mainly hard standing and fully serviced. Shower blocks are fantastic, immaculately clean, large showers, plenty of hot water.

Campers have a huge area some with electric hookups. The site is flat and well drained offering great views of open countryside with Snowdon and the other mountains in the distance. The owners make you feel very welcome and are on site offering help and advise.

Great site for discovering and exploring Anglesey and North Wales with several beautiful beaches within a short drive of under 3/4 miles - the area offers an excellent country walks. The site also has a small honesty shops offering a limited range of basic foods and milk, excellent local shop in the village of Pentraeth.

Site suitable for touring caravans, motor homes, tents etc. Highly recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JCele52 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from our first stay here with our folding camper. Lovely site with flat pitches. Toilets clean and great honesty shop. 16a electric hook up and great wifi at 1 a day.

The owner was very helpful and was often seen walking around making sure everything was ok. Fresh pizza made on the farm wax delicious. Newborough beach is a much see as is Beaumaris castle. Looking forward to our next visit.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fattyfisher 1 review from this member

Fantastic site! Owners couldn't have been more friendly, helpful or welcoming. Spotlessly clean facilities, although shower heads need adjusting downwards a little as clothing on door hooks got sprayed. Good level camp field, good space from neighbours.

The honesty shop is brilliant (especially for cheese connoisseurs). Can't really comment on locality or nearby features as was there purely to use as overnight stop to enable visiting nearby Bangor uni, in preparation for my daughter starting a zoology course in September.

As such, she also enjoyed watching the cow milking in the morning and conversation with the owners, whilst the rest of us enjoyed a few more zzz on the peaceful and quiet site. I didn't hear a cow once!

Truly can't wait to go back, but for longer than a weekend next time. Thank you

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen20c 1 review from this member

Very well presented camping & caravan site. Good facilities - clean & modern. Honesty shop is a lovely touch with very yummy cheese made at the farm & raw milk.

Quiet & peaceful site in a good location on Anglesey. Would stay again & would recommend.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Graeme_Cooke 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night whilst we attended a christening in Pentreath. Alan met us at the office and showed us to our pitch. There was no communal hose as each pitch is serviced and we didn't have one with us so Alan lent us one to fill our tank. We also asked him if we could leave our moho on site after check out and he even let us leave it in our pitch until 4pm. Top bloke!

The site is nice and level. Not too big but with great showers and loos. There is an on site shop selling fresh produce. The milk and cheese is directly from their farm. The Brie is excellent. As I mentioned the pitches are all full serviced and at 21 per night it was bargain. It was spotlessly clean too. Many of the caravans there were seasonal but given the wind that weekend it was quiet.

The site is well located for touring Anglesey but be warned the last couple of miles of lane are narrow. Pentreath is only a short drive away as is Red Wharf Bay. Both have excellent foodie pubs.

We'll definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jcjbears 11 reviews from this member

A lovely, relaxed campsite with glorious views of Snowdonia.

Taihirion is away from the main roads, and therefore quiet and peaceful, but the 'coast road' is easily accessed, in about 5 minute's drive down quiet, narrow roads, so it is a good location for exploration of the whole island. There are 2 pubs, both of which serve meals all day, in nearby Pentraeth. Also 2 takeaways (one only does breakfast and lunch - as it's not open in the evenings) and a garage with attached Subway and well stocked Spar; open until 11pm. The Menai Suspension and Britannia bridges are both about 10 minutes drive, allowing trips to the mainland.

Alun and his family were welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful, giving useful advice on what to see, where to eat and working hard to maintain the site to a high standard. Although there are not intrusive rules pasted everywhere, the owners took steps to ensure everyone had a pleasant time, for example: by speaking to one large group of campers about their noise. (I have been on many sites where there are strict rules displayed everywhere you look, but no-one does anything to enforce them, so this more relaxed, but responsible attitude is wonderfully refreshing!)

The toilets and showers (female had 4 of each and I think the male were the same) were always clean and well stocked; we never had to queue, even at busy times. The ladies toilets had radiators in, so I assume they are heated when necessary: (the separate disabled loo/shower's radiator was on in the middle of the night in August!) There was an indoor wash room with washing up sink with free hot water, and reasonably priced, coin-operated washing machine and tumble drier.

The site has hard standings for 20 caravans, around the edge of the field (although the majority of these seem to be taken for the whole season), and another dozen or more electric hook-ups for caravans, campervans and tents around the edge of another field. Units requiring no electric were expected to pitch in the middle of the caravan field. This is my one bugbear with the place!

Anglesey is renowned for it's wind (hence all the wind farms!) and it was particularly bad whilst we were there - several tents were damaged. Alun and family did their best to provide some protection from the wind, using farm vehicles, and letting people pitch in slightly more sheltered spots when the wind was at its worst, but it is not - yet - a sheltered site. There are hedges planted all around the tent field, which will provide good shelter (but only for EHU pitches) in a few years time, but in the meantime: be prepared!

There is no children's playground, but there are 2 small football goals which can be moved easily so that small children can use them near to their tent/van.

I can thoroughly recommend this site and wish Alun and family every success with it in the future. Oh, and the cheeses are delicious!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dawnnlee 1 review from this member

Booked this little 'gem' campsite on a Friday of a bank holiday weekend after spending hours on the phone with countless campsites. Allun was very helpful and told us he would squeeze us in somewhere if we were stuck.

The site is gorgeous and immaculate with the toilets and showers being cleaned constantly. The pitch was pitch perfect and we definitely did not feel like we had been squeezed in.

Saturday night was Pizza night cooked on a wood burning stove from a converted horse box, although we didn't get to sample them they really did go down a storm with the other campers. The site is family run and you are invited to go and watch their cows being milked.

The views are beautiful and we had a very relaxing weekend.

There is no shop or play area for the children however there is plenty of room for children to play and also some small football nets, the nearest shop is about 2 miles away and open until midnight. We were also given a map and given some fantastic places to visit.

We will definitely be returning to this site and I can't recommend it enough.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bobbygirl63 1 review from this member

Just back from a fabulous bank holiday weekend in Anglesey. Made even better by the great welcome and facilities at TaiHirion. Every one who arrived was greeted by Alun and shown to their plot. The site was immaculate with loads of room for each unit and for the kids to play. The toilet

Well done to Alun and his family for the pizza night, I know it all didn't go to plan but we didn't mind the wait cos the pizzas made with the farms own cheeses were amazing. Hope they do it again.

The site is out of the way so quiet and peaceful but close enough to shops, beaches and places to see. The kids loved Beaumaris castle we went twice and a beach each day.

I will definitely be returning I'm just annoyed I found this gem toward the end of the summer.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2898 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019