Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Ardfern Motorhome Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Lochgilphead > Ardfern Motorhome Park Reviews

Ardfern Motorhome Park
Ardfern
Lochgilphead
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA31 8QN
Tel: 07808 276944   or  01852 500360
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 10 Motorhomes
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Swimming librarian 1 review from this member

 Lovely lovely site, quiet and friendly.

Two wonderful nights in a beautiful location, nice pub in walking distance. Great cafe near by too.

Would definitely recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michaelmorris 17 reviews from this member

 A somewhat quirky little site.

12 or so hardstanding pitches all with electrical hook up, very close to a sea loch down a very quiet road. All sounds rather normal up to now. The free wi-fi is handy too.

Now it gets a little unusual - there are NO showers. There is just single wooden shack spilt in two with one somewhat public unisex loo on one wide and a combined handwashing/ dishwashing sink in the other half, separated by a less than sound proof wooden slatted wall.

Payment is via an honesty box for your £20 a night cash only payment.

There are waste bins and a chemical loo point, but nowhere for grey water disposal.

As I said - quirky 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Purplepiglet 8 reviews from this member

 Ardfern is a simple site entirely intended for use by motorhomes, i. E. Those with bathrooms on board. It's therefore only got a single well-kept loo, and a simple well-presented wash-up area, wifi and water provided, with about 10 hard-standing pitches about 100 yards from the loch edge.

You'll be fine there if you're in a campervan and don't mind not having a shower for a few days (like us). The site is peaceful and well situated - sheltered from the worst of the wind but with enough of a breeze to keep the midges away.

Had an enjoyable night there. Possibly a little pricey for the facilities. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 31 reviews from this member

 Whilst I can agree with some of the comments made by the previous reviewer, I feel I need to balance this out a little so that people can weigh up the pro's and the con's and decide for themselves whether to visit. First, the bad stuff.

Yes, it was excessively muddy - we arrived after a period of exceptional rain and wind. However the access road to the pitches is very narrow and this means motorhomes are churning up mud when they turn on and off pitches, so widening this with hardcore would help.

We used the big washing up sink in the hut so had no grey water to dispose of. I agree that one WC is not enough for 10 pitches, however there is chemical disposal so in case of need one can use the van facilities.

The fee was advertised as £15 on the website for the date we came and I had even written 'assuming late season tarrif by then' in my email when I booked -this was not contradicted in the confirmation reply, so I had £15 ready in an envelope - however it clearly stated £20 in the hut so we paid up. I note on return that the website now says £15 after 10th October and no mention of price between August and October, and I am unhappy about this being altered between our setting off and our atrrival home. I also agree £20 is high for what is on offer late season and would have booked elsewhere had I known I would be charged this.

The good stuff - the site is in a truly wonderful location. You are in walking distance of a very pretty village with marina and pub; within spitting distance of a mountain-edged sea loch, and on a quiet little road which runs along the waterside and has views and wildlife along the way.

It was peaceful, we had a hook up, fresh water, washing up facilities, bins, chemical waste, a good hard standing pitch (wide enough by my standards); the dog had good walks, the photos were worth taking. Would I return? Given the superb location it is likely, but only if the owner sticks to the agreed price and the weather forecast is dry. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cyfareddol 4 reviews from this member

 This site is quiet and has a pleasant view over the loch. We only walked to the road on the site perimeter because it was raining.

There's 'free' wi fit but it works intermittently, most of the time it was not working. The owner was aware of the problem, there were complaints in the visitors book. The site was very wet and muddy. It had been raining for a long time, but it could be improved with a load or two of hardcore and some drainage work. The facilities in a very small wooden shed were clean but no shower and not adequate for ten pitches. There wasn't a dry path to the shed.

The pitches are too narrow so however I parked we had to step out of the van into mud. The owner blamed the mud on the rain but hadn't done anything to reduce the problem.

There is no grey water dump accessible to motorhomes with waste tanks, the owner told me to throw my dirty water at the back of my pitch. This was impossible.

The site is advertised as being for motorhomes and campervans only but while we were there there was a tent and a caravan on pitches.

The charge of £20 a night is too high for the poor condition of the site, minimal facilities, and very poor wi fi.

I have motorhomed in Europe, Scotland, Ireland and Wales for six years and stayed on over three hundred sites. This is my first review. I was annoyed by the £20 a night fee and because having driven to this isolated spot it was difficult to find another site nearby. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: K n V Latham 6 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site, basic with a toilet and washing area in a purpose built shed.

Good hard standing pitches, water hoses reach all pitches and deliver water fast, your tank is soon full!

Lots of local walks, good pub in the village that is dog friendly, good corner shop stocks everything you would need, it is also the post office.

The owner is very friendly and helpful.

We were staying 4 nights but had to stay for another.

A fantastic site to relax and unwind.

Will be staying again :) 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vulture 1 review from this member

 To set the tone, we are a forty something couple from Notts who enjoy the great outdoors, walking and enjoy all weathers, we try to get away during most seasons. We found the site with no problems and received a very warm welcome from the owner, who showed many acts of kindness such as a lift home from the pub and even offered a free nights stay in light of the approaching 'storm Doris' toward the end of our stay !

Please please this is a no frills site but still with all the amenities of a large commercial site, free wifi, independent toilet and washing up area, toilet emptying and water filling up facilities as well as generous hookup. We found the location fantastic with a great dog friendly open fired pub and well stocked shop minutes away. The locals were very friendly.

All pitches have great views over the water and pitches are well sheltered and spacious. Walks in the area are great and have spectacular views over the various islands. A real gem and a credit to its owner. One of the VERY FEW sites to open year round. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 622 reviews from this member

 The site is well signposted from the main A816, although its a single track road it's wide enough for the bus to get up and down and there are loas of passing places.

Facilities as mentioned before, we found wifi worked well on the further pitch from the loo. Honesty box still in place, no envelopes to say who you are so you just put £20 in the tin and guess you hope everyone else staying does too.

For us the main plus is the location, beautiful area, the marina and village and we walked along the track to the furthest point - Aird - where you stand and look over at Jura and Scarba.

No negatives from us, we would use again. However have to say £20 for the night is close to campsite prices - we stayed 30 miles away on a campsite that had showers included for less money, agree Moho stops are the way ahead but must be difficult to give everything moho's want for a price they accept. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Para4909 1 review from this member

 Loved the only Motorhome park in the UK to my knowledge. On holiday with my Son & Intended. Next to each hardstanding is a fairly level grass section, we pitched our new Airbeam awning.

First night we were battered with rain and considered going home but we persevered and were rewarded with Glorious sunshine and great views. The site is very rustic & basic but suitable for the true Motorhome/Camper. 2 giant water hoses reach every pitch.

Elsan behind wooden toilet like the old coal bunker style, lift up the lid it catches allowing you to empty no dragging a big manhole cover two simple ideas well done Simon.

Free Wi-Fi best signal by toilet. Good cycle up to the old grave yard, stunning photo opportunity. Went to the Galley of Lorne good beer, Good quality meal not cheap but fair. Got seafood platter for starter £10 would be £30 down London, Rib eye steak was great.

Between us we spent at least £300 in the 2 nights, income they would have missed if it was not for Simon's foresight to use a piece of land that otherwise was non-productive.

How many times do we Motorhome/Campervans drive past a good location and imagine a few parking bays would be ideal because of the nice views convenience of a Pub/Shop.

Well done Simon will be back soon wake up crofters income to be made! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Walters-world 13 reviews from this member

 A nice level site with hardstandings and electric hookups on the edge of Loch Craignish. Facilities consist of one toilet and a small room with a sink. We don't have a shower in our campervan so that was the only thing missing for us, but as we were only there one night it wasn't essential. We were the only people on the site so it was very quiet.

Free wifi is available but you need to be in/next to the toilet block - it was not connecting reliably when we were there but again, for one night it wasn't essential for us. Payment was into an honestly box on site, although Simon the owner lives nearby in the village and is easily contacted by phone.

You pass through the village on the way to the site - there is a village shop and PO, cafe/gift shop and The Galley of Lorne Inn with Rooms which is a tardis! It looks small on the outside but has a bar, seating areas and huge restaurant with lovely food, overlooking the loch.

The village and marina at Craobh Haven (pronounced Croove Haven) is worth a visit to see the tiny street of pretty fishermen's cottages and gift shop, and to have a drink or eat at The Lord of the Isles pub watching the boats and yachts go in and out of the marina against a background of beautiful scenery. 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ardfern Motorhome Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ardfern Motorhome Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Ardfern Motorhome Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lochgilphead       Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


128 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window